DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention Group 1, claims 1-11, 13-18, drawn to a display device in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 12 is amended to depend upon independent claim device. This is not found persuasive because claim 12 is directed to the method of manufacturing which requires using a photolithography method to form layers.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, FIG. 1A and Species A, FIG. 2A-2D in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 12 is amended to depend upon independent claim device. This is not found persuasive because claim 12 is directed to the method of manufacturing which requires using a photolithography method to form layers.
Claim 12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 30, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 6, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al (CN111580269) with English Translation, and further in view of Yamazaki et al (U.S. 2021/0279449).
Regarding claim 1. Du et al discloses a display device (FIG. 3) comprising a first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), a second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel), a third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel), and a fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel), which are arranged to be adjacent to one another in this order in a first direction (FIG. 3, top to bottom),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) and the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) emit light of the same color (Page 8, last paragraph; FIG. 3, item G), wherein the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) and the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) sense light (FIG. 3, item S) of the same color (Page 6, second paragraph),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) comprises a first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G; abstract, light emitting layer) and a first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G ; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel) comprises a second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) comprises a first light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item S),
wherein the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) comprises a second light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel, item S),
wherein the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G) and the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G), and
wherein the first light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item S) and the second light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel, item S).
Du et al fails to explicitly disclose light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently.
However Yamazaki et al teaches light-emitting devices (FIG. 7B; [0155], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2.) are configured to be driven independently ([0156]-[0157]), the light sensing devices (FIG. 7A; [0152], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1) are configured to be driven independently ([0153]-[0154]).
Since Du et al and Yamazaki et al teach light-emitting devices and sensors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the display device as disclosed to modify Du et al with the teachings of light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently as disclosed by Yamazaki et al. The use of A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2, and A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1 in Yamazaki et al provides high accuracy where an eye and the vicinity of the eye are detected where a region to be detected is small (Yamazaki et al, [0151]).
Regarding claim 2. Du et al discloses a display device (FIG. 3) comprising:
a first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), a second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel), a third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel), and a fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel), which are arranged to be adjacent to one another in this order (FIG. 3 shows first to fourth subpixels are adjacent in this order) in a first direction (FIG. 3, item first direction) ; and
the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), a fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel), a sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel), and a seventh subpixel (FIG. 3, item seventh subpixel), which are arranged to be adjacent to one another in this order (FIG. 3 shows first, fifth, sixth seventh subpixels are adjacent in this order) in a second direction (FIG. 3, item second direction),
wherein the first direction and the second direction intersect with each other (FIG. 3 shows first direction and second direction intersect each other),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel), and the fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel) emit light of a first color (Page 8, last paragraph; FIG. 3, item G),
wherein the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) and the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) sense light of the same color (Page 6, second paragraph),
wherein the sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel) and the seventh subpixel (FIG. 3, item seventh subpixel) emit light of a second color (Page 8, last paragraph; FIG. 3, item R),
wherein the first color (FIG. 3, item G) and the second color (FIG. 3, item R) are different from each other,
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) comprises a first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and a first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel) comprises a second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) comprises a first light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item S),
wherein the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) comprises a second light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel, item S),
wherein the fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel) comprises a third light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the third light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),,
wherein the sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel) comprises a fourth light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel, item R; abstract, light emitting layer) and a second coloring layer (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel, item R; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the fourth light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel, item R; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the seventh subpixel (FIG. 3, item seventh subpixel) comprises a fifth light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item seventh subpixel, item R; abstract, light emitting layer) and the second coloring layer (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel, item R; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the fifth light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item seventh subpixel, item R; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the first to fifth light-emitting devices (FIG. 3, item first-second, fifth-seventh subpixel; abstract, light emitting layer) are configured to emit light of the same color (Page 9, first paragraph),
wherein the first to fifth light-emitting devices (FIG. 3, item first-second, fifth-seventh subpixel)
wherein the first light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) and the second light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel); and
wherein the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) and the second coloring layer (FIG. 3, item R; abstract, colour conversion layer) transmit light of different colors (Page 8, last paragraph, i.e. the red sub-pixel unit R emits red light, green sub-pixel unit G emits green).
Du et al fails to explicitly disclose light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently.
However Yamazaki et al teaches light-emitting devices (FIG. 7B; [0155], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2.) are configured to be driven independently ([0156]-[0157]), the light sensing devices (FIG. 7A; [0152], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1) are configured to be driven independently ([0153]-[0154]).
Since Du et al and Yamazaki et al teach light-emitting devices and sensors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the display device as disclosed to modify Du et al with the teachings of light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently as disclosed by Yamazaki et al. The use of A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2, and A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1 in Yamazaki et al provides high accuracy where an eye and the vicinity of the eye are detected where a region to be detected is small (Yamazaki et al, [0151]).
Regarding claim 3. Du et al discloses a display device (FIG. 3) comprising a first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), a second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel), a third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel), a fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel), a fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel), and a sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel), the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel), and the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) emit light of the same color ,
wherein the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel), the fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel), and the sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel) sense light of the same color (Page 6, second paragraph),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) is adjacent to the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel) in a first direction (FIG. 3, item first direction) and is adjacent to the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) in a second direction (FIG. 3, item second direction),
wherein the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) is adjacent to the fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel) in the first direction (FIG. 3, item first direction) and is adjacent to the sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel) in the second direction (FIG. 3, item second direction),
wherein the first direction and the second direction intersect with each other (FIG. 3 shows first direction and second direction intersect each other),
wherein the first subpixel (FIG. 3, item first subpixel) comprises a first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and a first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the second subpixel (FIG. 3, item second subpixel) comprises a second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the third subpixel (FIG. 3, item third subpixel) comprises a third light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) and the first coloring layer (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item G; abstract, colour conversion layer) overlapping with the third light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item third subpixel, item G; abstract, the colour conversion layer is used for converting the light emitted by the light emitting layer into different colours),
wherein the fourth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel) comprises a first light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fourth subpixel, item S), wherein the fifth subpixel (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel) comprises a second light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item fifth subpixel, item S), wherein the sixth subpixel (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel) comprises a third light-receiving device (FIG. 3, item sixth subpixel, item S),
wherein the first to third light-emitting devices (FIG. 3, item first-third subpixels, item G) are configured to emit light of the same color (Page 9, first paragraph),
wherein the first to third light-emitting devices (FIG. 3, item first-third subpixels), and
wherein the first to third light-receiving devices (FIG. 3, item fourth-sixth subpixels; item S),
Du et al fails to explicitly disclose light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently.
However Yamazaki et al teaches light-emitting devices (FIG. 7B; [0155], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2.) are configured to be driven independently ([0156]-[0157]), the light sensing devices (FIG. 7A; [0152], i.e. A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1) are configured to be driven independently ([0153]-[0154]).
Since Du et al and Yamazaki et al teach light-emitting devices and sensors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the display device as disclosed to modify Du et al with the teachings of light-emitting devices are configured to be driven independently, the light sensing devices are configured to be driven independently as disclosed by Yamazaki et al. The use of A pixel circuit PIX2 illustrated in FIG. 7(B) includes a light-emitting element EL, a transistor M5, a transistor M6, a transistor M7, and a capacitor C2, and A pixel circuit PIX1 illustrated in FIG. 7(A) includes a light-receiving element PD, a transistor M1, a transistor M2, a transistor M3, a transistor M4, and a capacitor C1 in Yamazaki et al provides high accuracy where an eye and the vicinity of the eye are detected where a region to be detected is small (Yamazaki et al, [0151]).
Regarding claim 4. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 1 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device emits white light ([0179], i.e. light-emitting elements 210 are preferably light-emitting elements emitting white light).
Regarding claim 5. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 1 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211), and wherein the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211).
Yamazaki et al discloses an island-shaped first EL layer ([0331], i.e. The EL layer 786 included in the light-emitting element 782 is provided over the insulating film 730 and the conductive layer 772 in an island shape)
Regarding claim 6. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 5 above.
Du et al disclose further comprising an insulating layer (FIG. 1, item 230), wherein the insulating layer (FIG. 1, item 230) covers (Page 7, second to last paragraph) at least part of a side surface of the first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211) and at least part of a side surface of the second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211)
Regarding claim 7. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 6 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the insulating layer (FIG. 1, items 230 and 250) comprises an inorganic insulating layer (FIG. 1, items 230; Page 7, second to last paragraph, i.e. the material of the first isolation layer 230 may be, for example, aluminum oxide (Al2O3)) in contact (Page 7, second to last paragraph) with at least part of the side surface of the first EL layer (page 7, second to last paragraph) and at least part of the side surface of the second EL layer (page 7, second to last paragraph).
Regarding claim 8. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 7 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the insulating layer (FIG. 1, items 230 and 250) comprises an organic insulating layer (FIG. 1, item 250; Page 8, second paragraph, i.e. organic thin film is stacked on the inorganic film) overlapping with at least part of the side surface of the first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211) and at least part of the side surface of the second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211).
Regarding claim 9. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 5 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer (FIG. 1, item 214) over (page 7 second to last paragraph) the first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer (FIG. 1, item 214) over (page 7 second to last paragraph) the second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 211; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211), and wherein the common layer (FIG. 1, item 214) comprises at least one of (Page 7, fifth paragraph) a hole-injection layer, a hole- transport layer, a hole-blocking layer, an electron-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer.
Regarding claim 10. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 1 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses A display module (FIG. 19A, item 900) comprising and at least one of a connector ([0344]) and an integrated circuit.
Regarding claim 11. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses an electronic device (FIG. 19A, item 900) comprising: the display module according (FIG. 19A, item 900) to claim 10 above.
Yamazaki et al further disclose at least one of a housing (FIG. 17A, item 902; [0344]), a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone.
Regarding claim 13. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 2 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device emits white light ([0179], i.e. light-emitting elements 210 are preferably light-emitting elements emitting white light).
Regarding claim 14. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 2 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211), and wherein the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211).
Yamazaki et al discloses an island-shaped first EL layer ([0331], i.e. The EL layer 786 included in the light-emitting element 782 is provided over the insulating film 730 and the conductive layer 772 in an island shape)
Regarding claim 15. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 2 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses A display module (FIG. 19A, item 900) comprising and at least one of a connector ([0344]) and an integrated circuit.
Regarding claim 16. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 3 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device emits white light ([0179], i.e. light-emitting elements 210 are preferably light-emitting elements emitting white light).
Regarding claim 17. Du et al and Yamazaki et al disclose all the limitations of the display device according to claim 3 above.
Du et al disclose wherein the first light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item first subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an first EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211), and wherein the second light-emitting device (FIG. 3, item second subpixel, item G ; abstract, light emitting layer) comprises an second EL layer (FIG. 1, item 210; page 5 second to last paragraph, i.e. the first and second sub-pixel units 210 from the left to the right comprises a light-emitting layer 211).
Yamazaki et al discloses an island-shaped first EL layer ([0331], i.e. The EL layer 786 included in the light-emitting element 782 is provided over the insulating film 730 and the conductive layer 772 in an island shape)
Regarding claim 18. Du et al and Yamazaki et al discloses all the limitations of the display device according to claim 3 above.
Yamazaki et al further discloses A display module (FIG. 19A, item 900) comprising and at least one of a connector ([0344]) and an integrated circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du et al (CN-212083821-U) discloses a display panel and device based on eyeball tracking technology.
Wang et al (CN-108900750-B) discloses image sensor and mobile terminal
/S.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815