DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by Entralgo et al. (US 2005/0276665).
Regarding claim 1, Entralgo discloses a subsea system for recovering and launching flexible pipes and umbilicals (cable 99; paragraph 0019), comprising a marinized reel (40), a motorization and torque transmission system (motor system 41), at least one floater (one or more buoyancy blocks 31), at least one motor (electric motor of hydraulic power unit 33; paragraph 0033), a structure to support the system (upper frame 30), a positioning system (guidance system 35), a DP (Dynamic Positioning) system (thrusters 52), and positioning sensors (depth sensors, not shown, housed on upper frame 30; sensor units 97) (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; paragraphs 0013 - 0022, 0025, 0026, 0028, 0031, 0033, 0034, and 0037).
Regarding claim 2, Entralgo further discloses the floater (31) maintains a neutral weight of the system (paragraph 0022). Although Entralgo fails to explicitly teach the floater maintains a neutral weight of the system, the floater (buoyancy block) as disclosed by Entralgo is capable of maintaining the weight of the system neutral and, therefore, the floater as disclosed by Entralgo reads on the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Entralgo further discloses the subsea system has visual control by cameras for launching or recovering (0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Entralgo et al. in view of Hasegawa et al. (WO 2016/067416).
Regarding claim 4, Entralgo discloses the subsea system as defined in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Entralgo discloses a method for recovering and launching flexible pipes and umbilicals, comprising the following steps: lowering the system to a working depth (the system 10 is lowered to a position proximate the seafloor 101); lowering one of the umbilicals to provide electrical power from the vessel (paragraph 0034); controlling lowering and positioning movements of the subsea system with a DP (Dynamic Positioning) system (thrusters 52); monitoring the system using position sensors (depth sensors, not shown, housed on upper frame 30; sensor units 97); anchoring (anchor point 103; paragraph 0041) an end of one of the flexible pipes to a seabed; driving a reel (40) (using motor 41); launching or recovering the flexible pipes (paragraph 0037); after exhausting the reel (40), lifting the reel (0039); replacing the exhausted reel with another reel (40) (paragraph 0039), and the system (10) lowers supported by a winch cable (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; paragraphs 0013 - 0022, 0025, 0026, 0028, 0031, 0033, 0034, 0037 - 0039, and 0041). Entralgo fails to disclose supporting the system at four vertices by winch cables. Hasegawa teaches lowering a subsea payload (140) supported at its four vertices by winch cables (Figs. 1 and 4E; paragraph 0015). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill the winch cables supporting a subsea system as taught by Hasegawa for the single winch cable as disclosed by Entralgo to provide more control over the positioning of the subsea system as it is being launched or recovered from a vessel.
Regarding claim 6, Entralgo in view of Hasegawa discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the specific depth (20 - 50 m) to which the system is lowered. Examiner takes the position that the specific depth to which the system is lowered lacks criticality in the claims and is a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon environmental factors within the water body, such as water currents.
Regarding claim 8, Entralgo further discloses the launch or recovery operation is controlled directly from the vessel and maintained on track by the dynamic positioning system (35; guidance system 36 as shown in Fig. 4; thrusters 52) (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0025, 0026, 0028, 0031, 0033, 0034, 0037, and 0040).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Entralgo et al. in view of Hasegawa et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Webster (GB 2522339). Entralgo in view of Hasegawa discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the specific distance (20 - 50 m) from the seabed to which the system is lowered. Webster teaches lowering a subsea system to a distance of 10 - 30 m above the seabed (page 8, lines 6 - 18). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the distance from the seabed as taught by Webster as a design consideration within the skill of the art. Where the range of article sizes disclosed in the prior art envelopes the recited range, and there is no showing of criticality of the recited range, such recited range would have been one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reven, 390 F.2d 997, 156 USPQ 679 (CCPA 1968).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 4, 6, and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 04 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hasegawa does not control controlling lowering and positioning movements of the subsea system with a DP system. Examiner replies that Hasegawa was not relied upon to teach controlling lowering and positioning movements of the subsea system with a DP system. Examiner only relied upon Hasegawa to teach supporting the system at four vertices by winch cables. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill the winch cables supporting a subsea system as taught by Hasegawa for the single winch cable as disclosed by Entralgo to provide more control over the positioning of the subsea system as it is being launched or recovered from a vessel.
Applicant argues that Webster does not disclose controlling lowering and positioning movements of the subsea system with a DP system. Examiner replies that Webster was not relied upon to teach controlling lowering and positioning movements of the subsea system with a DP system. Webster was only relied upon to teach lowering a subsea system to a distance of 10 - 30 m above the seabed.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
3/30/2026