DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 06/23/2026. Claims 1, 3-13 are pending. Claims 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 11-12 are withdrawn claims. Claim 13 is new claim.
The examiner maintained the previous ground of rejection with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10. The applicant’s amendment raises new ground of rejection for claim 8 as discussed below using new cited prior arts Xu (CN 110571121). Since the applicant amended claim 1, the examiner provides additional new ground of rejection using new cited prior arts as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
3. Regarding to previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 110571120 A), the applicants stated:
“For example, the cited prior art, including Hu et al., fails to disclose at least the following feature (emphasis added):
... injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma, wherein the inlet is located at the ion source chamber and "ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion
source chamber. ...
In Hu et al., the gas is introduced directly into the reaction chamber, rather than directly into the ion source fixing chamber. With reference to claims land 2 and citing para. [0020], Hu et al. describes:
An etching chamber is composed of a reaction chamber and an ion source fixing chamber. An insulating cylinder is installed on a sidewall of the reaction chamber, and the insulating cylinder is provided with a gas inlet port. A stable electromagnetic field is formed inside the insulating cylinder. An external gas is connected to the ion beam generators. The ion beams
are used to clean contaminants in the etching chamber.
Hu et al. does not anticipate claim 1 because it fails to disclose "injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma, wherein the inlet is located at the ion source chamber" and "ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber." The differences between Applicant's Claim 1 and Hu et al. include:
" The position where the gas is injected in Hu et al. is different from the position
where the cleaning gas is injected in Applicant's claim 1, which recites injecting
cleaning gas into the ion source chamber via the inlet, which is located at the ion source chamber.
The gas in Hu et al. is used to remove contaminants in the reaction chamber,
while Applicant's cleaning gas is used to remove deposits in the ion source
chamber.
For at least these reasons, amended claim 1 is patentable considering Hu et al. Claims 3-10 depend variously on claim 1 and are likewise patentably distinguishable for at least the same reasons, as well as for the additional features each claim recites”
The examiner disagrees. First, Hu discloses injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet (piping after MFC1, MFC2, MFC3, MFC4, MFC5, MFC6, MFC7 or MFC8) into the ion source chamber (100, 200, 300 or 400) (See Fig 2-3), paragraph 0044-0045). Second, Hu discloses the contaminants occur in both etching chamber and ion source chamber (paragraph 0007). In addition, it is noted that ion source chamber (100, 200, 300, or 400) is exposed during the etching process. Thus, the contaminants must occur in the ion source chamber. Thus, the examiner still maintained the previous ground of rejection with respect to claim 1 as being anticipated by Hu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 110571120 A), English translation is provided via Espacenet (See attachment)
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a method for processing using plasma, applicable to a plasma processing device which comprises an ion source chamber (100, 200, 300 and/or 400), wherein deposits are located in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0007), and the method comprises:
injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet (pipe of MFC1, MFC2, MFC3, MFC4, MFC5, MFC6, MFC7, or MFC8) into the ion source chamber (100, 200, 300 or 400) and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma (paragraph 0020-0025, 0044, Fig 1-4); and
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber (paragraph 0020-0025; 0030, 0032; 0044, Fig 1-4),
wherein the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber (1), and the method further comprises:
injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber (6) and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object (paragraph 0021, 0038, 0043-0044, fig 1-4).
As to claim 3, Hu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed after a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0023, 0046, Fig 4).
As to claim 4, Hu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed during a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0021-0025).
As to claim 5, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed simultaneously with the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0021-0025).
As to claim 6, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber and the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas are performed alternately (paragraph 0020-0028; 0046, Fig 4).
As to claim 7, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed intermittently, while injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0028, 0048).
As to claim 9, Hu discloses the etching gas is a fluorine-based gas (e.g. SF6, NF3, CF4; See paragraph 0044-0045).
As to claim 10, Hu discloses the cleaning gas is oxygen (O2; See paragraph 0044-0045).
As to claim 13, Hu discloses wherein injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber comprises injecting into the ion source chamber via inlet (pipe of MFC1, MFC2, MFC3, MFC4, MFC5, MFC6, MFC7, or MFC8, Fig 2-4, paragraph 0042-0044).
7. Claims 1, 3-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (CN 110571121A), English translation is provided via Espacenet (See attachment)
As to claim 1, Xu discloses a method for processing using plasma, applicable to a plasma processing device which comprises an ion source chamber (6), wherein deposits are located in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0006, 0012-0013, 0038), and the method comprises:
injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma (abstract paragraph 0012-0013, 0021-0022, 0038, Fig 2-3); and
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber (paragraph 0022-0028; Fig 2-3),
wherein the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber (1), and the method further comprises:
injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber (6) and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object (paragraph 0018, fig 2-3, Xu’s claim 6).
As to claim 3, Xu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed after a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0018-0024, Fig 2-3).
As to claim 4, Xu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed during a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0018-0028, 0042-0043).
As to claim 5, Xu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed simultaneously with the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0018-0028, 0042-0043).
As to claim 6, Xu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber and the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas are performed alternately (paragraph 0018-0028).
As to claim 7, Xu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed intermittently, while injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0018-0028).
As to claim 8, Xu discloses the plasma processing device further comprises a baffle (7) disposed between the ion source chamber (6) and the etching chamber (1), (paragraph 0038) and the method further comprises:
disposing the baffle in a first state, when injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (6), wherein the first state of the baffle enables an inner space of the ion source chamber (6) and an inner space of the etching chamber (1) to connect (paragraph 0043) and
disposing the baffle (7) in a second state when stopping injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber or when completing etching the to-be-etched object (i.e. wafer or substrate), where the second state of the baffle disconnects the inner space of the ion source chamber (6) and the inner space of the etching chamber (1) are blocked by the baffle (7) (paragraph 0043-0045, Fig 2-3)
As to claim 9, Xu discloses the etching gas is a fluorine-based gas (e.g. SF6, NF3, CF4; See paragraph 0048, 0050).
As to claim 10, Xu discloses the cleaning gas is oxygen (O2; See paragraph 0048, 0050, 0052).
As to claim 13, Xu discloses wherein injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber comprises injecting into the ion source chamber via inlet (Fig 2-3, paragraph 0038).
8. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikuchi (US 2010/0140221 A1)
As to claim 1, Kikuchi discloses a method for processing using plasma, applicable to a plasma processing device which comprises an ion source chamber (60), wherein deposits are located in the ion source chamber (paragraph ), and the method comprises:
injecting a cleaning gas via an inlet (60a) into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma (paragraph 0035-0037, 0044-0046, Fig 1); and
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber (paragraph 0044-0068),
wherein the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber, and the method further comprises:
injecting an etching gas (66) into the ion source chamber (60) and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object (paragraph 0077-0091).
As to claim 3, Kikuchi discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed after a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0046-0048).
As to claim 4, Kikuchi discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed during a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0059-0067).
As to claim 5, Kikuchi discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed simultaneously with the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0049-0050, 0059-0067).
As to claim 6, Kikuchi discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber and the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas are performed alternately (paragraph 0046).
As to claim 7, Kikuchi discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed intermittently, while injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 046-0047).
As to claim 9, Kikuchi discloses the etching gas is a fluorine-based gas (e.g. SF6, paragraph 0060).
As to claim 10, Kikuchi discloses the cleaning gas is oxygen (O2; See paragraph 0049).
As to claim 13, Kikuchi discloses wherein injecting the etching gas (66) into the ion source chamber (60) comprises injecting into the ion source chamber via inlet (60a) (Fig 1, paragraph 0035-0036).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713