DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3-10) in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that
“Amended claims 1-10, claim 11 and claim 12 include the same special technical features and have unity of invention because the prior art-and US20070137671A1 to DiVergilio, in particular-at least fails to disclose the following feature of claim 1:
... the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber, and the method further comprises: injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the
etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object.
DiVergilio discloses the ion implantation system and injecting the cleaning gas to remove the deposits from the ion source of the ion implantation system. Viz.:
An ion implantation system 100 comprises an ion source 102, a deposit cleaning system 122, a
beam line assembly 110 and an end location 118. The ion source 102 includes a fluorine-based cleaning system 122 that can remove these deposits from interior surfaces of the ion source. The fluorine- based cleaning system 122 flows a highly reactive gas, such as fluorine, through the ion source 102, where the gas species is chosen such that the reaction with the deposited material results in a high vapor pressure material which leaves the ion source 102 as a gas.
See paras. [0021] - [0028]. DiVergilio fails to disclose, however, an etching chamber and injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber. Because DiVergilio does not disclose any technical feature about the etching chamber, DiVergilio fails to disclose the following feature of amended claim 1:
... the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber, and the method further comprises: injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object.
Because all pending claims share this novel and nonobvious technical feature, including DiVergilio, the pending claims meet the requirement of unity of invention.
Moreover, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of the restriction requirement pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.143 because the claimed subject matter of Groups I,11 and Ill are sufficiently related such that an undue burden would not be presented to the Examiner by maintaining all of the claims in this application.”
This is not found persuasive because Group I, Group II and Group III still lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of:
injecting a cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma;
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the
first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber, and
injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to be etched object.
This technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of new cited prior arts Hu et al (CN 110571120 A1).
Hu discloses a method comprises injecting a cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber (6) to generate first plasma (paragraph 0020-0025;
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the
first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber from the ion source chamber (6), (paragraph 0020-0025; 0030, 0032; Fig 1-4) and
injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber (1) to etch a to be etched object (paragraph 0007; 0042-0045).
Further searching and examining Group I, Group II and Group III certainly create serious burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 110571120 A1), English translation is provided via Espacenet (See attachment)
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a method for processing using plasma, applicable to a plasma processing device which comprises an ion source chamber (6), wherein deposits are located in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0007), and the method comprises:
injecting a cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber to generate first plasma (paragraph 0020-0025, Fig 1-4); and
ejecting a gaseous compound, which is generated through reaction between the first plasma and the deposits in the ion source chamber, from the ion source chamber (paragraph 0020-0025; 0030, 0032; Fig 1-4),
wherein the plasma processing device further comprises an etching chamber (1), and the method further comprises:
injecting an etching gas into the ion source chamber (6) and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber to generate second plasma, wherein the generated second plasma enters the etching chamber to etch a to-be-etched object (paragraph 0021, 0038, 0043-0044, fig 1-4).
As to claim 3, Hu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed after a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0023, 0046, Fig 4).
As to claim 4, Hu discloses wherein a process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed during a process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0021-0025).
As to claim 5, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed simultaneously with the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0021-0025).
As to claim 6, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber and the process of injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas are performed alternately (paragraph 0020-0028; 0046, Fig 4).
As to claim 7, Hu discloses the process of injecting the cleaning gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the cleaning gas in the ion source chamber is performed intermittently, while injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (paragraph 0028, 0048).
As to claim 8, Hu discloses the plasma processing device further comprises a baffle (7) disposed between the ion source chamber (6) and the etching chamber (1), (paragraph 0038) and the method further comprises:
disposing the baffle in a first state, when injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber and ionizing the etching gas in the ion source chamber (6), wherein the first state of the baffle enables an inner space of the ion source chamber (6) and an inner space of the etching chamber (1) to connect (paragraph 0042; 0043, Fig 2-3) and
disposing the baffle (7) in a second state when stopping injecting the etching gas into the ion source chamber or when completing etching the to-be-etched object (i.e. wafer or substrate), where the second state of the baffle disconnects the inner space of the ion source chamber (6) and the inner space of the etching chamber (1) are blocked by the baffle (7) (paragraph 0012,0038 0043, Fig 1)
As to claim 9, Hu discloses the etching gas is a fluorine-based gas (e.g. SF6, NF3, CF4; See paragraph 0044-0045).
As to claim 10, Hu discloses the cleaning gas is oxygen (O2; See paragraph 0044-0045).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713