DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US 5,482,722).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 6-11, Cook discloses a chewing gum base comprising zein (i.e., base filler component that is an insoluble protein) and an elastomer, e.g., styrene butadiene rubber, isobutylene rubber, chicle, Pontianak gum, jelutong gum or polyvinylacetate (i.e., non-filler base component (C1/L52-C2/L10, C2/L62-C3/L67, C4/L45-57, C11/L25-67/Example 5).
Given Cook discloses zein, a protein obtained from corn, inherently the protein must be purified to some extent.
While Cook discloses the chewing gum can comprise mineral filler, the reference does not require that the chewing gum base comprise mineral filler (C7/L13-17). The gum base is considered to be free of mineral filler. Note, the chewing gum base of Example 5 does not include a mineral filler (C11/L25-C12/L6).
Regarding claim 2, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Cook discloses the chewing gum base comprises 18% by weight zein (C11/L54-56/Example 5).
Regarding claim 3, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Cook discloses a chewing gum base comprising about 58 % of an elastomer, (i.e., styrene butadiene rubber or isobutylene rubber-C11/L45-56/Example 5), the reference is silent with respect to an amount of from 75% to 99.5% by weight of the chewing gum base. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust, in routine processing, the amount of elastomer in the chewing gum base to obtain a chewing gum would desired chew and texture (e.g., elastic) properties while maintaining the intended reduced stickiness.
Regarding claim 5, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Given Cook discloses zein (i.e., water-insoluble protein) and claim 1 only requires a filler selected from the group consisting of water-insoluble polysaccharides and derivatives thereof, water-insoluble bamboo fibers, water-insoluble proteins and combinations thereof, the limitations of claim 5 are satisfied.
Regarding claims 12, 15, 17-22, Cook discloses a chewing gum comprising a chewing gum base wherein the chewing gum base comprises zein (i.e., base filler component that is an insoluble protein) and an elastomer, e.g., styrene butadiene rubber, isobutylene rubber, chicle, Pontianak gum, jelutong gum or polyvinylacetate (i.e., non-filler base component (C1/L52-C2/L10, C2/L62-C3/L67, C4/L45-57, C11/L25-67/Example 5).
Given Cook discloses zein, a protein obtained from corn, inherently the protein must be purified to some extent.
While Cook discloses the chewing gum can comprise mineral filler, the reference does not require that the chewing gum base comprise mineral filler (C7/L13-17). The gum base is considered to be free of mineral filler. Note, the chewing gum base of Example 5 does not include a mineral filler (C11/L25-C12/L6).
Regarding claim 13, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Cook discloses the chewing gum base comprises 18% by weight zein (C11/L54-56/Example 5).
Regarding claim 14, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Cook discloses a chewing gum base comprising about 58 % of an elastomer, (i.e., styrene butadiene rubber or isobutylene rubber-C11/L45-56/Example 5), the reference is silent with respect to an amount of from 75% to 99.5% by weight of the chewing gum base. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust, in routine processing, the amount of elastomer in the chewing gum base to obtain a chewing gum would desired chew and texture (e.g., elastic) properties while maintaining the intended reduced stickiness.
Regarding claim 16, Cook discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Given Cook discloses zein (i.e., water-insoluble protein) and claim 1 only requires a filler selected from the group consisting of water-insoluble polysaccharides and derivatives thereof, water-insoluble bamboo fibers, water-insoluble proteins and combinations thereof, the limitations of claim 5 are satisfied.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759