DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to. The lateral dimensions of the fins in drawings showing a cross-sectional view (see at least Figure 4) do not appear to align or match the lateral dimensions of the fins in bird’s eye view drawings (see at least Figures 8, 11, and 12). Specifically as seen in the bird’s eye view, the fins that have the injection and vent holes, 116 and 118, appear to be much larger in width than neighboring fins. This feature is not reflected, however, in the cross-sectional views of the fins. The Examiner suggests correcting the drawings to appropriately show the difference in lateral width between the fins with the injection and vent holes relative to those without.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “wherein the second opening includes a filter to prevent leakage of the injectable conductive component during injection” and claim 23, from which claim 25 depends, recites the limitation “an opening extending through a fin of the plurality of fins and through the base plate to the cavity, the opening having a plug disposed therein.” The combination of these features would require an opening in a first fin with a plug disposed therein, and an opening in a second fin with a filter disposed therein. However, Applicant has not set forth an embodiment that includes both a plug and a filter disposed in the first and second openings, respectively. Rather, Applicant has indicated that these features exist in separate embodiments, specifically embodiments which describe the apparatus at separate stages of manufacture. Figures 11 and 12 and para. [0063], [0064] of the instant specification explicitly disclose that the filter 1104 and the injection syringe 1102 are removed from the openings 116/118, and the plugs, e.g. set screws 1200, are then disposed to seal the openings. Therefore, the features required by claim 25 in additional to the features required by claim 23 are considered new matter as Applicant has not disclosed that the embodiments can exist together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 12-13, and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 2023/0413476) and Hayashida (US 2019/0206757).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses an apparatus (Figure 14), comprising:
an electronic [power] assembly (chip package 320B);
a heat sink (100B) having a base plate (see horizontally extending plate structure in Figure 14, labeled as 101 in Figure 13) and a plurality of fins (see fins in Figure 14 and fin-like structures 102/103) extending vertically from the base plate (101, see Figure 14, fins extend upwards);
a perimeter wall (107, labeled in Figure 13) extending vertically from a surface of the base plate (101, see the perimeter wall extending vertically in Figures 13 and 14) and being disposed between the electronic [power] assembly (320B) and the heat sink (100B, see Figure 14);
an injectable conductive component (130, liquid metal thermal interface material) disposed in a cavity defined by the electronic [power] assembly (320B), the base plate (101), and the perimeter wall (107, see Figure 14, these elements defining a cavity with the injectable conductive component therein);
an injection hole (see processing steps in Figures 5 and 6, where an injection hole within fin 102, injectable conductive component 130 being injected therein) extending vertically through the heat sink (base plate 101 and fins 102/103) and to the cavity (see Figure 6 which shows the injection hole leading to the cavity within injectable conductive component 130 therein); and
Shen does not explicitly disclose a power electronic assembly and an encapsulant disposed around the electronic power assembly, at least a portion of the heat sink, and the perimeter wall to form a power module.
Hayashida discloses in Figure 1, however, a power electronic assembly (substrate 2/3/4, solder layer 7, and chip 8) and an encapsulant (13) disposed around the electronic power assembly (2/3/4/7/8), at least a portion of the heat sink (1), and the perimeter wall (seal 11) to form a power module (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Hayashida into the teachings of Shen to include a power electronic assembly for the purpose of utilizing wide-bandgap semiconductor of a power semiconductor chip for high current density (Hayashida, para. [0035]), and the encapsulant as claimed for the purpose of covering the components of the power module (Hayashida, para. [0021]). Additionally, it is apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art than any electronic device may be used in the embodiments of Shen according to the function the device serves.
Regarding claim 4, Shen discloses wherein the perimeter wall (107) is an elastic seal (see para. [0043], which discloses that the sealing ring/perimeter wall 107 can be flexibly designed, thus is a seal and has elasticity).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashida discloses wherein the electronic power assembly (2/3/4/7/8) includes an electronic component (8) and a direct bond copper (DBC) structure (2/3/4, ceramic substrate 2 with lower and upper surface electrodes 3/4, which is the known structure for a DBC structure/substrate).
Regarding clam 7, Hayashida discloses wherein the electronic power assembly (2/3/4/7/8) includes a spacer (solder layer 7 is interpreted to be a spacer as it increases the vertical distance between the heat sink 1 and the power assembly, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Shen discloses wherein the injectable conductive component (130) is in a liquid phase at an operating temperature of the electronic power assembly (para. [0002] discloses that the liquid metal TIM or injectable conductive component includes gallium, which has a melting point of about 29°C, and Applicant has disclosed that a material used for the injectable conductive component which is liquid at an operating temperature of the device has a melting point of below 30°C, see para. [0032] of the instant specification, thus the gallium used for the injectable conductive component 130 would also be at a liquid phase at an operating temperature of the device).
Regarding claim 10, Shen further discloses a cover plate (PCB 510, interpreted as a cover plate because the PCB covers the apparatus and has a plate-like structure, see Figure 14) over the electronic power assembly (320B), wherein the cover plate (510) is secured to a cap on the base plate (100, the cover plate 510 is secured through fixture 500, which has a cap like structure on the base plate 101, see Figure 14).
Regarding claim 12, Shen discloses wherein a plug (281) is disposed in the injection hole (see para. [0039] which discloses plugging or sealing the injection hole with an adhesive or glue, i.e. a plug 281).
Regarding claim 13, Shen discloses wherein the injection hole (injection hole within fin 102, see Figures 5/6 and 14) extends through a fin (102) and through the base plate (101, see Figures 5, 6, and 14).
Regarding claim 23, Shen discloses an apparatus (Figure 14) comprising:
an electronic [power] assembly (chip package 320B);
a heat sink (100B) having a base plate (see horizontally extending plate structure in Figure 14, labeled as 101 in Figure 13) and a plurality of fins (see fins in Figure 14 and fin-like structures 102/103) extending from a bottom surface of the base plate (101, Figure 14 inverted would show the fins extending from a bottom surface of the base plate);
a perimeter wall (107) extending from a top surface of the base plate (Figure 14 inverted shows the perimeter wall 107 extending from a top surface of the base plate 101) and being disposed between the electronic [power] assembly (320B) and the heat sink (100B, see Figure 14);
an injectable conductive component (130, liquid metal thermal interface material) disposed in a cavity defined by the electronic [power] assembly (320B), the base plate (101), and the perimeter wall (107, see Figure 14, these elements defining a cavity with the injectable conductive component therein); and
an opening (see opening in fin 102, shown with more detail in Figures 2-10) extending through a fin (102) of the plurality of fins (fins on the base plate 101, and fin structures 102/103) and through the base plate (101) to the cavity (see Figures 2-10 and 14), the opening having a plug (plug structure 141, see Figure 1D, which plugs the hole) disposed therein (see Figure 1D).
Shen does not explicitly disclose a power electronic assembly and an encapsulant disposed around the electronic power assembly, at least a portion of the heat sink, and the perimeter wall to form a power module.
Hayashida discloses in Figure 1, however, a power electronic assembly (substrate 2/3/4, solder layer 7, and chip 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Hayashida into the teachings of Shen to include a power electronic assembly for the purpose of utilizing wide-bandgap semiconductor of a power semiconductor chip for high current density (Hayashida, para. [0035]). Additionally, it is apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art than any electronic device may be used in the embodiments of Shen according to the function the device serves.
Regarding claim 24, Shen discloses wherein the opening (opening in fin 102) is a first opening, the fin (102) is a first fin, and the plug (141) is a first plug, the apparatus further comprising a second opening (opening in fin 103, see Figures 2-10 and 1E) extending through a second fin (103) and through the base plate (101) to the cavity (cavity with 130 therein, see Figures 2-10).
Regarding claim 25, Shen discloses wherein the second opening (opening in fin 103) includes a filter (see vacuum pump tool 230 including a needle tip allowing air to be pumped out of the cavity in order for the injectable conductive component 130 to be injected, along with the self- to prevent leakage of the injectable conductive component during injection, thus the opening includes a filter allowing air to escape but not the injectable conductive component fluid 130).
Regarding claim 26, Hayashida further discloses an encapsulant (13) disposed around the electronic power assembly (2/3/4/7/8), at least a portion of the heat sink (1), and the perimeter wall (seal 11) to form a power module (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Hayashida into the teachings of Shen to include the encapsulant as claimed for the purpose of covering the components of the power module (Hayashida, para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 27, Shen discloses wherein the perimeter wall (107) is an elastic seal (see para. [0043], which discloses that the sealing ring/perimeter wall 107 can be flexibly designed, thus is a seal and has elasticity).
Regarding claim 28, Shen discloses wherein the plug (141) includes a screw (see screw threads 141e, along which the piston and cup are moved, thus forming a screwing mechanism).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Hayashida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Atwood et al. (“Atwood” US Patent No. 6,281,573).
Regarding claim 2, Shen does not disclose that the perimeter wall is monolithically formed within the heat sink, since the perimeter wall is a separate element not part of the heat sink’s monolithic structure.
Atwood discloses wherein the perimeter wall (protrusions of the heat sink that extend downward towards chip 12 in Figure 1) is monolithically formed within the heat sink (14).
It would have been obvious to include the perimeter wall as a part of the heat sink as taught by Atwood. The features were known in the prior art and the combination of the features of Atwood into the features of Miyagi would result in the predictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art with no change in their respective functions, the predictable result being a simpler manufacturing process because a separate perimeter wall would not have to be added separately if it was a part of the heat sink itself. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Hayashida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyagi et al. (“Miyagi” US 2023/0010169).
Regarding claim 5, Shen does not disclose that the heat sink is made of copper.
Miyagi discloses in Figure 1, however, a heat sink (2) made of copper (see para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Miyagi into the teachings of Shen to use copper for the heat sink because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, Hayashida does not disclose wherein the encapsulant is an epoxy molding compound (EMC).
Miyagi discloses in Figure 1, however, an encapsulant (sealing material 15) wherein the encapsulant (15) is an epoxy molding compound (EMC) (epoxy resin, see para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Miyagi into the teachings of Hayshida to use an epoxy molding compound for the encapsulant because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Hayashida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dishongh et al. (“Dishongh” US Patent No. 6,752,204)
Regarding claim 11, Shen and Hayashida do not disclose a clip assembly.
Dishongh discloses in Figure 1 a clip assembly (146) over the electronic power assembly (104), wherein the clip assembly (146) is secured to a cap (heat dissipation surface 132) on the base plate (base portion 126 of heat sink), see Figure 1 and col. 3, lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Dishongh into the teachings of Shen to include the clip assembly as claimed for the purpose of ensuring adequate heat dissipation (Dishongh, col. 3, lines 63-67).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (“Yoshida” US 2023/0223314) and Shen (US 2023/0413476).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida discloses:
An apparatus (Figure 4), comprising:
a heat sink (top plate 11, fins 13) having a base plate (11) and a plurality of fin structures (13, see Figure 4);
a first power sub-module (2, leftmost sub-module in Figure 4) coupled to a top surface of the base plate (11, see Figure 4);
a second power sub-module (2, middle sub-module in Figure 4) coupled to the top surface of the base plate (11, see Figure 4);
a first perimeter wall (adhesive B, portions around first sub-module 2, left side, connecting case 3 and base plate 11, see para. [0057]) between the first power sub-module (2, left side) and a first of the plurality of fin structures (see Figure 4, the adhesive is disposed in a region interposing the sub-modules and the fins), the first perimeter wall (B) extending from a top surface of the base plate (11, see Figure 4);
a second perimeter wall (B, portion around the second sub-module 2, middle) between the second power sub-module (2, middle sub-module) and a second of the plurality of fin structures (see Figure 4, the adhesive is disposed in a region interposing the sub-modules and the fins), the second perimeter wall (B) extending from the top surface of the base plate (11, see Figure 4).
Yoshida does not disclose an opening extending through the heat sink between the top surface of the base plate and a bottom surface of one of the plurality of fin structures and an injectable conductive component disposed between the first power sub-module and the base plate, the injectable conductive component being surrounded by the first perimeter wall.
Shen discloses in Figures 2-10, however, an opening (see processing steps in Figures 5 and 6, where an opening within fin 102 and injectable conductive component 130 being injected therein) extending through the heat sink (plate 101, fin like structures 102/103) between the top surface of the base plate (101) and a bottom surface of one of the plurality of fin structures (102/103, if Figures 2-10 are inverted, the hole extends downward from a top surface of the base plate to a bottom surface of fin 102) and an injectable conductive component (130) disposed between the first power sub-module (300) and the base plate (101, see Figure 10), the injectable conductive component (130) being surrounded by the first perimeter wall (107, see Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Shen into the teachings of Yoshida for the purpose of allowing for heat transfer from the electronic device (Shen, para. [0004], [0025]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida discloses wherein the first perimeter wall (B, portions around first sub-module) and the second perimeter wall (B, portions around the second sub-module) are elastic seals (adhesive B is comprised of an epoxy-based material, which is known in the art to have elastic properties, adhesive B also seals the case 3 to the base plate 11).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida further discloses a cover plate (case 3) coupled to the first power sub-module (2, leftmost sub-module) and the second power sub-module (2, middle sub-module), the cover plate (3) secured by a plurality of base plate fasteners (through holes 38, shown in Figure 1, are formed in the cover plate 3 which are used to fasten the cover plate 3 to the cooler 10, which comprises the base plate 11, using screws, see para. [0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's drawings and remarks regarding the drawing objections filed February 26 2026 have been fully considered but do not fully overcome the drawing objections. Specifically, regarding the lateral dimension of openings 116/118, Applicant argues that the “specification does not state that FIGS. 8-12 are alternative views of FIGS. 4 and 6. As such, the devices shown in FIGS. 4 and 6 need not reflect the same dimensions as the devices shown in FIGS. 8-12. Moreover, the specification states ‘It is noted that, in accordance with common practice in the industry, various features are not necessarily drawn to scale. Dimensions of the various features may be arbitrarily increased or reduced for clarity of discussion.’” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The specification at para. [0068] reads “FIG. 7 is a flow chart illustrating a method 700 for fabricating a power module, e.g., the power module 400, in accordance with some implementations of the present disclosure. Operations 702-210 of the method 700 can be carried out to form the power module 400, according to some implementations as described below with respect to FIGS. 8-12” (emphasis added). Thus, the grounds of the Examiner’s drawing objection specifically regarding the lateral dimensions of the openings 116/118 in the fins relative to the lateral dimensions of other fins is on the grounds that Applicant’s method 700 and Figures 8-12 are manufacturing steps to form the power module 400 in Figure 4, thus at least the power module 400 of Figure 4 should reflect the scale shown in Figures 8-12.
Besides the above aspect of the drawing objections, the drawings filed February 26 2026 overcome the remaining drawing objections made in the nonfinal Office action mailed November 26 2025.
Applicant's amendments to claim 24 to obviate the 112(a) rejection of claim 25 filed February 26 2026 have been fully considered and improve the new matter issues introduced into the claims. Under further consideration, however, claim 25 still introduces new matter to the claims in light of the limitations of claim 23 from which claim 25 depends. See above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11-12, and 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899