DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment / Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on 11/25/2025. Claims 1-2 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN202010475185) in view of Yamanaka (US PGPUB No. 2018/0050436), hereinafter referred to as Okamoto and Yamanaka, respectively.
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Okamoto discloses a processing apparatus [Okamoto, fig 1, 10] for processing a workpiece in a first processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 13, 101 is the processing chamber and fig 1, A1 showing the first of at least three], comprising:
a chuck table for holding the workpiece thereon [Okamoto, fig 1, 20];
a processing chamber cover [Okamoto, figs 12-13, 102] having a first side plate [Okamoto, fig 13, 104a] with a first delivery port defined therein [Okamoto, figs 13, 103] to allow the chuck table that is holding the workpiece to be delivered therethrough into and out of the first processing chamber [Okamoto, figs 13, 103 allows for delivery of 2 within 103];
a first processing unit for processing the workpiece delivered into the first processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 12, 40A] with a first processing tool [Okamoto, fig 13, 4]; and
a pedestal positioned in the first delivery port when the workpiece is processed in the first processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 2, 30],
wherein the processing chamber cover [Okamoto, fig 13, 102] includes a first transverse member [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B] extending from a lower edge of the first side plate [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B extends from a lower edge of 104a] in a region above the first delivery port [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B is above 103] and in a direction outwardly of the first processing chamber [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B extends outwards from 104a and 102a], whereby the first transverse member defines an enlarged gap between a lower surface of the first transverse member and an upper surface of the pedestal which inhibits processing water from being scattered out of the first processing chamber [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B extends outward and creates a gap and is capable of inhibiting processing water from being scattered out of 101].
Okamoto does not explicitly disclose a first processing water supply unit for supplying first processing water to at least one of the workpiece or the first processing tool when the workpiece is processed in the first processing chamber.
Yamanaka teaches a processing apparatus for processing a workpiece in a first processing chamber [Yamanaka, fig 1, 1], comprising:
a chuck table for holding the workpiece thereon [Yamanaka, fig 1, 300];
a first processing unit for processing the workpiece delivered into the first processing chamber with a first processing tool [Yamanaka, fig 1, 4 which has tool 44]; and
a processing water supply unit [Yamanaka, fig 1, 9] for supplying first processing water to at least one of the workpiece or the first processing tool when the workpiece is processed in the first processing chamber [Yamanaka, figs 1 and 2, 9 and 91 supply water through 4 in channel 90 to the wafer W].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the processing water supply unit through the processing units as taught by Yamanaka to the first processing unit of Okamoto such that the processing unit of Okamoto has the supply through the first processing unit, as taught by Yamanaka, because this processing water source allows for the slurry to be supplied to the processing tool in order to process the wafer as required by the apparatus of Okamoto and allows for an efficient use of space to supply the processing water as evidenced by supplying through the processing tool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Okamoto (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN202010475185) teaches further the processing apparatus for processing the workpiece in a second processing chamber in addition to the first processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 1, A2 or A3, which are substantially identical to A1, and thus have at least a second chamber 101 in addition to the first chamber 101 to A1], further comprising:
a second processing unit for processing the workpiece delivered into the second processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 12, 40B] with a second processing tool [Okamoto, fig 13, 4]; and
wherein the processing chamber cover [Okamoto, fig 13, 102] has a second side plate [Okamoto, fig 13, 104a] with a second delivery port defined therein [Okamoto, figs 13, 103] to allow the chuck table that is holding the workpiece to be delivered therethrough [Okamoto, figs 13, 103 allows for delivery of 2 within 103] from the first processing chamber into the second processing chamber or from the second processing chamber into the first processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 1, showing the rotation of A1 to A2 or from A3 to A2],
the pedestal is positioned in the second delivery port when the workpiece is processed in the second processing chamber [Okamoto, fig 2, 30], and
the processing chamber cover [Okamoto, fig 13, 102] includes a second transverse member [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B, being identical to the first chamber] extending from a lower edge of the second side plate [Okamoto, see annotated fig 13, item B extends from a lower edge of 104a].
The prior art considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “the processing chamber cover includes a second transverse member extending from a lower edge of the second side plate in a region above the second delivery port and in a direction both inwardly of the first processing chamber and inwardly of the second processing chamber (emphasis added)” together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and in the independent claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that the prior art Hayakawa does not teach the amended limitations of claim 1, respectfully the arguments are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the Hayakawa reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F NEIBAUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723