DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species a (Figs. 4A-4B), in the reply filed on 12/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicants designated claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10 and 11 read into elected Species.
The examiner notices that claim 3 is identical to claim 2 and should also examined. But it is objected below.
Claims 6, 9, and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II and Species b-d, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/02/2025.
Claim interpretations
The “An apparatus for manufacturing a display device” of claim 1 is considered an intended use of the apparatus.
The “a crucible disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame to be withdrawn from the deposition frame … so that the crucible is withdrawn from the deposition frame”” of claim 1 is an intended use of the apparatus. An apparatus that is capable of withdrawing the crucible from the deposition frame is considered read into this claim limitation.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20210207259, hereafter ‘259).
‘359 teaches all limitations of:
Claim 1: EVAPORATION SOURCE DEVICE (title), An AMOLED display comprises two implementations, one of the two implementations is a combination of a low temperature polysilicon (LTPS) back plate and a fine metal mask (FMM Mask) ([0034], includes the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising: a mask assembly”);
As illustrated in FIG. 2, the evaporation source device 200 comprises a support 207, a group of nozzles 202 and a housing 204 both disposed on the support 207; the housing 204 comprises an evaporation opening 206, so that the evaporation material sprayed from the group of nozzles 202 passes through the evaporation opening 206 ([0039], includes the claimed “and a deposition source comprising a deposition part”), The evaporation materials such as organic materials used for forming a light-emitting layer are sprayed from each linear nozzle 2021, and deposited on the glass substrate 201 through the same evaporation opening 206 ([0046], last sentence), the heat radiation to the glass substrate 201 or to the mask due to the excessive temperature of the plate 204a can be avoided ([0056], last sentence, mask is clearly in front of substrate for patterning, includes the claimed “that supplies deposition material to the mask assembly”, support 207 is the claimed “wherein the deposition part comprises: a deposition frame including an inner space”);
As illustrated in FIG. 1, a plate 104 is disposed at an outlet of each group of nozzles 102 of crucible ([0038], 2nd sentence, same crucible symbols shown in Fig. 2, includes the claimed “a crucible disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame to be withdrawn from the deposition frame and accommodating the deposition material”, the “withdrawn” will be discussed shortly);
the group of nozzles 202 comprises a plurality of nozzles 2021, the plates 204a are disposed on at least two opposite sides of the group of nozzles 202, so as to form an evaporation opening 206 on the top of the group of nozzles 202 ([0045], includes the claimed “a nozzle connected to the crucible and that sprays the deposition material accommodated in the crucible”);
FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an evaporation source device provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure ([0039], crucible for evaporation intrinsically requires a heater, including the claimed “a first heating portion disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame and that heats the deposition material accommodated in the crucible”, note also cooling wall 103, Fig. 1 and cooling wall 205/203 in Fig. 5, further emphatically requiring heating of the crucible);
In another embodiment of the present disclosure, the plate 204a further comprises a heating element. For example, the heating element is disposed in the space enclosed by the plates 204a, which is configured to keep the evaporation materials at a temperature while being sprayed, or to increase the temperature of evaporation materials. For example, the heating element is disposed on the plate 204a, which can increase the temperature of the plate. By controlling the temperature of the plate under an appropriate temperature, the condensation of a large mount of evaporation materials on the plate can be avoided, the waste caused by adhesion of evaporation materials to the plate can be reduced, so that more evaporation materials can be sprayed through the evaporation opening and reach the surface of the glass substrate, then the problem of low utilization of evaporation material can be solved ([0049]), FIG. 8 schematically illustrates an evaporation source device while the plates are open according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Because the opening and closing angles of the plate 204a are adjustable, on one hand, the size and angle of the evaporation opening may be variable, thus, the size of evaporation region may be variable; on the other hand, the group of nozzles may be exposed, thus it is easy to cleanse the plates and nozzles ([0061], 2nd – 3rd last sentences, includes the claimed “and a second heating portion movable between a first position at which the nozzle is heated and a second position at which a withdrawal space is provided so that the crucible is withdrawn from the deposition frame”, see claim interpretation above for “withdrawn” is an intended use of the apparatus, the crucible in Fig. 8 is clearly capable of being withdrawn from the support 207).
Claim 11: In another embodiment of the present disclosure, the plate 204a further comprises a heating element. For example, the heating element is disposed in the space enclosed by the plates 204a, which is configured to keep the evaporation materials at a temperature while being sprayed, or to increase the temperature of evaporation materials. For example, the heating element is disposed on the plate 204a, which can increase the temperature of the plate. By controlling the temperature of the plate under an appropriate temperature, the condensation of a large mount of evaporation materials on the plate can be avoided, the waste caused by adhesion of evaporation materials to the plate can be reduced, so that more evaporation materials can be sprayed through the evaporation opening and reach the surface of the glass substrate, then the problem of low utilization of evaporation material can be solved ([0049], includes the claimed “wherein the second heating portion comprises a heating member that generates heat”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanosu et al. (US 20070178225, hereafter ‘225), in view of Oh et al. (US 20170159167, hereafter ‘167) and ‘259.
‘225 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: Vapor Deposition Crucible, Thin-film Forming Apparatus Comprising The Same, And Method Of Producing Display Device (title, includes the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing a display device”),
FIG. 12 shows an embodiment of the patterning of the pixels in the display device (e.g., organic EL panel) in conventional vapor deposition mask. The vapor deposition mask 161 used in the so called mask vapor deposition comprises a metal sheet 162 provided with holes 164 corresponding to the pixels patterned on the main surface of the substrate 103 retained in a frame 163 … By bringing this vapor deposition mask 161 in close contact with the main surface of the substrate 103, and spraying the evaporated particles 360 from the crucible 1 positioned below the vapor deposition mask 161, a layer of the material of the evaporated particles 360 can be formed on the main surface of the substrate 103 in the regions exposed within the holes 164 formed on the metal sheet 162 ([0016], includes the claimed “the apparatus comprising: a mask assembly; and a deposition source comprising a deposition part that supplies deposition material to the mask assembly”),
In order to solve such unfavorable situation, the inventors of the present invention provides a crucible structure of FIG. 11 which is adapted for use in the mask vapor deposition based on the crucible 1 discussed in Example 1. In order to suppress transfer of the radiant heat from the crucible 1 and the heater case 3 to the vapor deposition mask 161 and the substrate 103, a radiation blocking body having thermal insulating function (hereinafter referred to as insulation mechanism) 165 is provided above the crucible 1 ([0118]), The heater case 3 comprises the first heater case 3a accommodating "the lower heater 22 (for heating the evaporation chamber 9) which is arranged to oppose the side surface and the lower surface of the crucible 1" and "the upper heater 21 (for heating the pressure-controlling chamber 10) which is arranged to oppose the side surface of the crucible 1", and the second heater case 3b accommodating "the heater 170 (for heating the protrusion 169) which is arranged to oppose the upper surface of the crucible 1" ([0119], 3rd last sentence, the outer envelope that surrounds the heaters 21, 22 reads into “a deposition frame” of the claimed “wherein the deposition part comprises: a deposition frame including an inner space; a crucible disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame”), For lasting stable vapor deposition of a material for a long term, the present invention provides the vapor deposition crucible comprising an evaporation chamber defined by a container part of the material (abstract, includes the claimed “and accommodating the deposition material”);
the discharge aperture 81 is formed on the end of the protrusion 169 remote from the discharge plate 82 ([0118], last sentence, includes the claimed “a nozzle connected to the crucible and that sprays the deposition material accommodated in the crucible”);
The heater case 3 comprises the first heater case 3a accommodating "the lower heater 22 (for heating the evaporation chamber 9) which is arranged to oppose the side surface and the lower surface of the crucible 1" and "the upper heater 21 (for heating the pressure-controlling chamber 10) which is arranged to oppose the side surface of the crucible 1" ([0119], 3rd last sentence, includes the claimed “a first heating portion disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame and that heats the deposition material accommodated in the crucible”);
the heater 170 is provided to oppose the exterior surface of the protrusion 169 ([0118], last sentence, includes the claimed “and a second heating portion”).
‘225 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (a crucible disposed in the inner space of the deposition frame) to be withdrawn from the deposition frame;
and (a second heating portion) movable between a first position at which the nozzle is heated and a second position at which a withdrawal space is provided so that the crucible is withdrawn from the deposition frame.
Claim 11: wherein the second heating portion comprises a heating member that generates heat.
‘167 is an analogous art in the field of Thin Film Deposition Apparatus Having Plurality Of Crucibles (title), Deposition, which is a method generally used to manufacture semiconductor devices or flat display devices, is a process that deposits an organic substance, which is obtained by evaporating a deposition substance from the surface thereof by heating a crucible keeping the deposition substance ([0002]). ‘167 teaches that The top plate 50 may be opened and closed. That is, by opening the top plate 50, it is possible to take the distribution conduit 20 out upward to replace it … it is possible to attach/detach a source without separating the heaters 30 and 40 when replacing the source and it is possible to open the top plate 50 and simply separate a source upward (Fig. 2, [0076]).
‘259 is an analogous art in the field of EVAPORATION SOURCE DEVICE AND EVAPORATION COATING EQUIPMENT (title), for OLED displays ([0003]). ‘259 teaches that FIG. 8 schematically illustrates an evaporation source device while the plates are open according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Because the opening and closing angles of the plate 204a are adjustable, on one hand, the size and angle of the evaporation opening may be variable, thus, the size of evaporation region may be variable; on the other hand, the group of nozzles may be exposed, thus it is easy to cleanse the plates and nozzles ([0061], 2nd – 3rd sentences), an end 204b of the plate 204a is flexibly connected with the outer wall 203 of the support 207. For example, the end 204b of the plate 204a is pivotally connected with the outer wall of the support 207, so that the end 204b of the plate 204a is rotated around the joint ([0062]), thus it is easy to cleanse the plates and nozzles ([0061], 2nd last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a capability of opening the second heater case 3b from the first heater case 3a of ‘225, as taught by ‘167, for the purpose of replacing the source, as taught by ‘167 ([0076]). Furthermore, to have adopted the flexibly connection of a pivotally connection of ‘259 between the second heater case 3b from the first heater case 3a of ‘225, for the purpose of easy to cleanse the plates and nozzles, as taught by ‘259 ([0061], 2nd last sentence), and /or for its suitability of opening the second heater with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2-3: an end 204b of the plate 204a is flexibly connected with the outer wall 203 of the support 207. For example, the end 204b of the plate 204a is pivotally connected with the outer wall of the support 207, so that the end 204b of the plate 204a is rotated around the joint (‘259, [0062], includes the claimed “wherein the second heating portion is connected to the first heating portion to be rotated with respect to the first heating portion between the first position and the second position”).
Claims 7-8: FIG. 8 schematically illustrates an evaporation source device while the plates are open according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Because the opening and closing angles of the plate 204a are adjustable, on one hand, the size and angle of the evaporation opening may be variable, thus, the size of evaporation region may be variable (‘259, [0061], obvious to have added the plate 204a to the heater case 3 of ‘225, includes the claimed “further comprising: an angle limiting portion connected to the deposition frame and that blocks a portion of the deposition material sprayed from the nozzle to limit a supply angle of the deposition material supplied to the mask assembly” of claim 7 and “wherein the angle limiting portion is detachable from the deposition frame”, note in claim 1, it is just adding the importing the pivoting mechanism, not replacing heater 170 of ‘225 with heater 204 of ‘259).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Heong (US 20160215384, hereafter ‘384). Alternatively, claims 1-3, 7-8, and 11 are also rejected over ‘225, ‘167, ‘259, and ‘384.
‘225 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 4: The insulation mechanism (the radiation blocking body having the thermal insulator function) 165 according to the present invention is provided with the at least one reflection plate 166 ([0120], includes the claimed “further comprising: a reflector disposed between the first heating portion and the mask assembly to prevent heat generated in the inner space of the deposition frame from being transferred to the mask assembly”).
‘225’s reflector 166 has to be connected to a neighboring component in Fig. 11, otherwise it will fall down by the gravity. The combination of ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 4: (a reflector) connected to the deposition frame and (disposed between the first heating portion and the mask assembly to prevent heat generated in the inner space of the deposition frame from being transferred to the mask assembly),
Claim 5: wherein the reflector is detachable from the deposition frame.
‘384 is an analogous art in the field of DEPOSITION SOURCE INCLUDING REFLECTOR (title), Thermal physical vapor deposition is a technology to form an emission layer on a substrate surface by using vapor of a deposition material (for example, an organic material) ([0005]). ‘384 teaches that As shown in FIGS. 3 to 7, a reflector for a deposition source according to an exemplary embodiment may be disposed at an upper end of a frame 10 of the deposition source that receives predetermined organic particles. The reflector may be fin the form of a reflection plate 20 in which nozzle apertures are punched ([0038]), The reflection plate 20 may be formed on the upper end of the frame 10 of the deposition source and may include a predetermined heat-blocking layer in addition to the nozzle aperture 21 ([0041]), The double installation port 30 may be used to connect and arrange the reflection plate 20 and to include multiple plates 20a, 20b, and 20c. The double installation port 30 may be implemented in various forms, such as a structure having a plurality of engaging grooves 31 formed on an external portion of a body thereof ([0049]), As shown in FIGS. 4 to 7, one of the plurality of engaging grooves 31 may connect and fix the uppermost reflection plate 20a and another of the engaging grooves 31 may fix and attach a lower plate, such as the middle plate 20b ([0050]), By using the reflection plate 20 having the multi-plate structure, it may be possible to minimize influence due to external air upon vapor heating for a deposition process and at the same time and to achieve heat loss of the deposition source ([0052]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the single reflector 166 of ‘225 with a double installation port 30 with multiple reflectors connecting to the frame 10 of ‘384, for the purpose of minimize heat loss, as taught by ‘384.
In case Applicants argue that ‘225 does teach a deposition frame of claim 1, ‘384 expressly teaches the frame 10.
Alternatively, claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Mu (CN 106958007, hereafter ‘007).
In case applicants argue, for claims 7-8, that plate 204 of ‘259 functions as a heater, cannot be a heater and an angle limiting portion, and/or that adding the plate 204 to the heater case 3 of ‘225 is not easy because of the larger insulation mechanism 165 which including the reflector 166.
‘007 is an analogous art in the field of Evaporation Device (title), for OLED display (P1, last line). ‘007 teaches that the evaporation device comprises a housing 202, said housing 202 is provided with an evaporation source 203, the evaporation source 203 is equipped with a nozzle 204, the nozzle 204 two sides is provided with a limiting plate 207. the limiting plate 207 side part connect with a vertical slide rail 205, the vertical slide rail 205 is connected with a horizontal slide rail 206, the restriction plate 207 position according to the substrate 201 of the material deposition requirement is adjusted such that the nozzle 204 of the material falls on the substrate 201 corresponding to the region … As shown in FIG. 2b, the size change of the substrate 201 only with the 2a difference, so that the position of the limiting plate 207 has been adjusted such that the nozzle 204 is the material whose deposition requirements matching with the substrate 201 (Fig. 2a, P5, middle). In other words, the limiting plates are connected to the housing/frame and can be adjusted far away from the nozzle), for the purpose of controlling evaporation area of the evaporation source (P2, 2nd complete paragraph).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have attached vertically adjustable limiting plate 207 attached to the frame/housing, as taught by ‘007, to the heater case 3 of ‘225, for the purpose of controlling evaporation area of the evaporation source (P2, 2nd complete paragraph).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Yi et al. (US 20050039684, hereafter ‘684).
The combination of ‘225, ‘167, and ‘259 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 10: wherein the second heating portion is connected to the first heating portion to heat the nozzle by heat transferred from the first heating portion.
‘684 is an analogous art in the field of Evaporation Source For Evaporating An Organic Electroluminescent Layer (title), The cover 25 of a circular plate shape fixed to the upper end of the external wall 23 is mounted on the cell cap 22 to contact the surface thereof. A lower reflector 26 and an upper reflector 27 are placed above the cover 25 in sequence (Fig. 4, [0053). ‘684 teaches that FIG. 11 is a sectional view showing another point evaporation source according to the fourth embodiment of the present invention ([0079]), The heat generated from the heating means 43A is transferred to the cover 45 made of metallic material ([0080]), the evaporation source according to the fourth embodiment of the present invention can maintain the cell cap aperture at a predetermined temperature by placing the cover to contact the cell cap, thereby transferring the heat generated in the heating means to the cell cap aperture through the cover … the problem that the vaporized evaporation material emitted through the cell cap aperture to outward is deposited around the cell cap aperture due to the decreased temperature can be efficiently resolved ([0084]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the second heater 170 of ‘225 with a metallic material that transfer heat generated by the heating means (i.e. the first heater), as taught by ‘684, for the purpose of resolving problem of unwanted deposition around the cell cap, as taught by ‘684 ([0084]) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20140264120 is cited for angle limiting plate 113 above reflector 111 (Fig. 1).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716