DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/06/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-17 have been amended to be part of Group I , and new claims 21-23 were added. Group I now includes claims 1-17 and 21-23. Claims 18-20 (Group III) , which would have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim, have been cancelled. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/06/2025 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Ox fo rd Instruments (Lindsay, J. “A brief introduction to creating a Cryo-TEM lamella”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 10 June 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/creating-cryo-tem-lamella. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) , hereinafter Oxford1 , as evidenced by Oxford Instruments (Lindsay, J. “How an electrical connection on your Nanomanipulator can enhance the capabilities of your FIB-SEM”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 26 August 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/electrical-connections-on-nanomanipulators. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) , hereinafter Oxford2 . Regarding claim 1 , Oxford Instruments teaches a n apparatus for observing a sample using a charged particle beam (electron microscope, first paragraph of Oxford1 ) , comprising: an ion beam column configured to generate and direct an ion beam (FIB, fourth paragraph of Oxford1 ) ; an electron beam column configured to generate and direct an electron beam (TEM, fourth paragraph of Oxford1 ) ; a vacuum chamber for housing the sample (in-situ Fib lift-out occurs in vacuum chamber, fourth paragraph of Oxford1) ; and a probe positioned in the vacuum chamber ( Omniprobe , fourth paragraph of Oxford1; also see the figure) , wherein the probe is configured to provide electrical connection between the sample and a power supply (Oxford2 teaches that all current OmniProbes include an electrical connection to the probe tip and a power supply integrated into the controller in paragraphs 4-5) . Regarding claim 2 , Oxford Instruments teaches wherein the ion beam column is also configured to ion mill a lamella from the sample, and the probe is also configured to lift out the lamella from the sample (fourth paragraph of Oxford1) . Regarding claim 3 , wherein the probe includes: a probe tip (tip in figure of Oxford1 ) ; a probe tip holder, wherein the probe tip holder is electrically connected with the probe tip (tip gripper in figure of Oxford1 ) ; and a probe shaft coupled to the probe tip holder (probe shaft in figure of Oxford1 ) . Regarding claim 4 , wherein the probe shaft is electrically insulated from the probe tip holder (probe shaft is insulated from probe tip holder via shaft insulation as seen in figure of Oxford1 ) . Regarding claim 5 , wherein the probe shaft is electrically insulated from the probe tip holder by a dielectric ring stacked between the probe shaft and the probe tip holder (probe shaft is insulated from probe tip holder by shaft insulation, which is a ring-shaped and stacked between the probe shaft and probe tip holder, as shown in the figure of Oxford1 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 6 , 8 -9, 11 -15, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford Instruments , Oxford1 (Lindsay, J. “A brief introduction to creating a Cryo-TEM lamella”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 10 June 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/creating-cryo-tem-lamella. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) as evidenced by Oxford 2 (Lindsay, J. “How an electrical connection on your Nanomanipulator can enhance the capabilities of your FIB-SEM”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 26 August 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/electrical- connections-on-nanomanipulators. Website accessed 12/11/2025.), in view of Ditto (US 20130037706 A1). Regarding claim 6 , Oxford Instruments does not explicitly teach wherein the probe tip includes tungsten, and the probe tip holder is free of tungsten. Ditto teaches wherein the probe tip includes tungsten, and the probe tip holder is free of tungsten ([0026]) teaches standard tungsten probe need 314 and a copper heat sink probe tip 312 that holds 314) . Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting a probe tip of tungsten and probe tip holder free of tungsten (copper). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because copper acts as a heat sink for the probe for cooling to cryo temperatures, (Ditto, [0026]) Regarding claim 8 , Oxford Instruments does not explicitly teach wherein the probe shaft includes stainless steel. Ditto teaches wherein the probe shaft includes stainless steel (stainless steel hollow tube 300, [0026], Fig. 3A) . Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting the probe shaft includes stainless steel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because a stainless steel hollow tube can be used as part of the nanomanipulator mechanism to connect to the probe tip and needle as seen in Fig. 3A of Ditto and to contain a conduit for accessing areas very close to the sample with no necessary modification to the sensitive hardware inside the chamber (Ditto, [0026]). Regarding claim 9 , Although Oxford Instruments teaches an electrical connection to the probe tip and a power supply integrated into the controller (Oxford2, paragraphs 4-5), Oxford Instruments fails to explicitly teach at least an electric wire attached to the probe tip holder, wherein the electric wire is electrically coupled to the power supply. Ditto teaches at least an electric wire attached to the probe tip holder, wherein the electric wire is electrically coupled to the power supply (holes 322 on 312 (interpreted probe tip holder because 312 holds 314) allow for wiring 324 to pass through conduit 306 in 300 [0029], Fig. 3A. Therefore, the wiring is attached to the probe tip holder via the holes) . Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting wiring attached to the probe tip holder such that the wiring is coupled to the power supply taught by Oxford Instruments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because wiring allows for additional sensor and detectors to be mounted near the tip of the probe and provides tremendous versatility including electrical characterization probing and other features, (Ditto, [0029]). Regarding claim 11 , an apparatus for charged particle beam microscopy (electron microscope, first paragraph of Oxford1) , comprising: a vacuum chamber (vacuum chamber of electron microscope, first paragraph of Oxford1) ; an ion beam column coupled to the vacuum chamber (FIB, fourth paragraph of Oxford1) ; an electron beam column coupled to the vacuum chamber (TEM, fourth paragraph of Oxford1) ; a needle positioned in the vacuum chamber (tip positioned in vacuum chamber for in-situ lift-out, fourth paragraph of Oxford1, figure of Oxford1 ; a needle holder gripping the needle (tip gripper, figure of Oxford1) , wherein the needle holder is electrically connected to the needle (the tip and tip gripper are attached such that an electric current can flow between them as seen in figure of Oxford1) ; an elongated shaft coupled to the needle holder (probe shaft coupled to tip gripper in figure of Oxford1) , wherein the elongate shaft passes movement control to the needle through the needle holder (due to their physical connection as seen in the figure of Oxford1, any controlled movement of the probe shaft will result in movement of the tip via the tip gripper) . Although Oxford Instruments teaches an electrical connection between the needle/needle holder and a power supply (Oxford2, paragraphs 4-5), Oxford Instruments fails to explicitly teach at least an electric wire attached to the needle holder, wherein the electric wire is electrically coupled to the power supply. Ditto teaches at least an electric wire attached to the needle holder, wherein the electric wire provides electrical connection between the needle holder and a power supply (holes 322 on 312 (interpreted probe tip holder because 312 holds 314) allow for wiring 324 to pass through conduit 306 in 300 [0029], Fig. 3A. Therefore, the wiring is attached to the probe tip holder via the holes) . Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting wiring attached to the probe tip holder such that the wiring is coupled to the power supply taught by Oxford Instruments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because wiring allows for additional sensor and detectors to be mounted near the tip of the probe and provides tremendous versatility including electrical characterization probing and other features, (Ditto, [0029]). Regarding claim 12 , Oxford Instruments teaches wherein the elongated shaft is electrically insulated from the needle holder (probe shaft is insulated from probe tip holder via shaft insulation as seen in figure of Oxford1) . Regarding claim 13 , Oxford Instruments teaches wherein the elongated shaft is partially embedded in the needle holder (figure of Oxford1 shows tip end of the probe shaft covered in insulation is connected to the tip griper so as to be embedded and connected with the tip gripper . Regarding claim 14 , Oxford Instruments does not explicitly teach wherein the needle and the needle holder include different conductive material compositions. Ditto teaches wherein the needle and the needle holder include different conductive material compositions ([0026]) teaches standard tungsten probe need 314 and a copper heat sink probe tip 312 that holds 314) . Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting a needle of tungsten and needle holder of copper. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because copper acts as a heat sink for the probe for cooling to cryo temperatures and because tungsten is the standard needle material, (Ditto, [0026]) Regarding claim 15 , Oxford wherein the electric wire is a first electric wire, the probe structure further comprising: a second electric wire attached to the needle holder ([0027] teaches wiring 324, which implies more than one wire. The wiring 324 attaches to holes 322 on 312 (interpreted probe tip holder because 312 holds 314) allow for wiring 324 to pass through conduit 306 in 300 [0029], Fig. 3A. Therefore, the wiring is attached to the probe tip holder via the holes) . Regarding claim 17 , Oxford Instruments teaches wherein the needle is operable to lift out a lamella from a sample to examine under the charged particle beam microscopy (fourth paragraph of Oxford1) . Regarding claim 21 , Oxford Instruments teaches a n apparatus for charged particle beam microscopy (electron microscope, first paragraph of Oxford1) , comprising: an ion beam column configured to generate and direct an ion beam (FIB, fourth paragraph of Oxford1) ; an electron beam column configured to generate and direct an electron beam (TEM, fourth paragraph of Oxford1) ; a vacuum chamber for housing the sample (vacuum chamber of microscope, first paragraph of Oxford1) ; a probe tip positioned in the vacuum chamber (tip of Omniprobe , fourth paragraph of Oxford1; also see the figure) ; a probe tip holder gripping the probe tip (tip gripper, figure of Oxford1) , wherein the probe tip holder is electrically connected to the probe tip (the tip and tip gripper are attached such that an electric current can flow between them as seen in figure of Oxford1) ; an elongated shaft coupled to the probe tip holder, wherein the elongate shaft passes movement control to the probe tip through the probe tip holder (due to their physical connection as seen in the figure of Oxford1, any controlled movement of the probe shaft will result in movement of the tip via the tip gripper) . Although Oxford Instruments teaches an electrical connection between the needle/needle holder and a power supply (Oxford2, paragraphs 4-5) that comprises a ground line and a voltage line ( Oxford2 paragraphs 2, 4-5 discloses an electrically connected and grounded probe ), Oxford Instruments fails to explicitly disclose a first electric wire attached to the probe tip holder, and a second electric wire attached to the probe tip holder . Ditto teaches a first electric wire attached to the probe tip holder , and a second electric wire attached to the probe tip holder, ([0027] teaches wiring 324, which implies more than one wire. The wiring 324 attaches to holes 322 on 312 (interpreted probe tip holder because 312 holds 314) allow for wiring 324 to pass through conduit 306 in 300 [0029], Fig. 3A. Therefore, the wiring is attached to the probe tip holder via the holes). Ditto modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting wiring attached to the probe tip holder such that the wiring is coupled to the power supply taught by Oxford Instruments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ditto because wiring allows for additional sensor and detectors to be mounted near the tip of the probe and provides tremendous versatility including electrical characterization probing and other features, (Ditto, [0029]). Regarding claim 22 , Oxford Instruments teaches wherein the elongated shaft is electrically insulated from the probe tip holder (probe shaft is insulated from probe tip holder via shaft insulation as seen in figure of Oxford1) . Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford Instruments , Oxford1 (Lindsay, J. “A brief introduction to creating a Cryo-TEM lamella”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 10 June 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/creating-cryo-tem-lamella. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) as evidenced by Oxford 2 (Lindsay, J. “How an electrical connection on your Nanomanipulator can enhance the capabilities of your FIB-SEM”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 26 August 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/electrical-connections-on-nanomanipulators. Website accessed 12/11/2025.), in view of Ditto (US 20130037706 A1) , further in view of Wang (US 20050247886 A1) . Regarding claim 7 , Although Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto teaches wherein the probe tip holder includes copper (see 103 rejection of claim 6 above) , the combination does not teach wherein the probe tip holder includes an alloy of copper and gold . Wang teaches using an alloy of copper and gold as the conductive material to form a probe tip extension ([0025] teaches extension tip 12 formed of conductive material such as copper gold or alloys thereof) . Wang modifies the combination by suggesting the probe tip holder of Oxford Instruments includes an alloy of copper and gold. Since the instant application is concerned with needing to reduce the electric resistance of the probe tip holder by using a material of low-resistivity ([0049] of the instant invention), i t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang because alloys of copper and gold are conductive, as taught in [0025] of Wang. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford Instruments , Oxford1 (Lindsay, J. “A brief introduction to creating a Cryo-TEM lamella”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 10 June 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past- blogss/creating-cryo-tem-lamella. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) as evidenced by Oxford 2 (Lindsay, J. “How an electrical connection on your Nanomanipulator can enhance the capabilities of your FIB-SEM”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 26 August 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/electrical-connections-on-nanomanipulators. Website accessed 12/11/2025.), in view of Keady, et. al. (US 20130248354 A1). Regarding claim 10 , Oxford Instruments does not explicitly teach further comprising: an electric motor configured to move and rotate the probe, wherein the electric motor is positioned outside of the vacuum chamber. Keady teaches an electric motor configured to move and rotate the probe, wherein the electric motor is positioned outside of the vacuum chamber (precision electric motors 748 positioned outside the vacuum chamber provide x, y, z, and theta control of micromanipulator, [0091]) . Keady modifies Oxford Instruments by suggesting an electric motor positioned outside the vacuum chamber that moves and rotates the probe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Keady because such a motor allows for control of the micromanipulator, (Keady, [0091]). Claim s 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford Instruments , Oxford1 (Lindsay, J. “A brief introduction to creating a Cryo-TEM lamella”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 10 June 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past- blogss/creating-cryo-tem-lamella. Website accessed 12/11/2025.) as evidenced by Oxford 2 (Lindsay, J. “How an electrical connection on your Nanomanipulator can enhance the capabilities of your FIB-SEM”. NanoAnalysis . Oxford Instruments. 26 August 2020. https://nano.oxinst.com/library/past-blogss/electrical-connections-on-nanomanipulators. Website accessed 12/11/2025.), in view of Ditto (US 20130037706 A1) , further in view of Reinke (US 20170088322 A1) . Regarding claim 16 , Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto does not explicitly teach further comprising: a wire buncher configured to organize the first and second electric wires, wherein the wire buncher is attached to the elongated shaft. Reinke teaches a wire buncher configured to organize the first and second electric wires, wherein the wire buncher is attached to the elongated shaft (Abstract teaches an improved cable tie to couple together a plurality of elongated objects) . Reinke modifies the combination by suggesting a cable tie (wire buncher) attached to the elongated shaft of Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto configured to organize the first and second electric wires of the combination. Since Reinke is concerned with coupling together a plurality of elongated objects such as wires , which is the problem that the wire buncher of the instant application is trying to solve (see [0050] of the instant application), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Reinke because the cable tie of Reink can form two loops for coupling together a plurality of elongated objects (Reinke, [0005] , Fig. 3 ). Regarding claim 23 , Although Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto suggests the wiring passing through the hollow tube of the shaft ([0026]), similarly to the specification of the instant application in [0050], Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto does not explicitly teach the case wherein the first and second electric wires travel through an organizer clipped on the elongated shaft. Reinke teaches an organizer that couples together a plurality of elongated objects (Abstract teaches an improved cable tie to couple together a plurality of elongated objects) . Reinke modifies the combination by suggesting a cable tie ( organizer ) that can be attached to the elongated shaft of Oxford Instruments in view of Ditto configured to couple together the first and second electric wires of the combination. Since Reinke is concerned with coupling together a plurality of elongated objects such as wires, which is the problem that the wire buncher of the instant application is trying to solve (see [0050] of the instant application), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Reinke because the cable tie of Reink can form two loops for coupling together a plurality of elongated objects (Reinke, [0005], Fig. 3). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bauer (US 10663414 B2) See Fig. 4 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LAURA E TANDY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1720 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Kim can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712722293 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT LAURA E TANDY Examiner Art Unit 2881 /WYATT A STOFFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881