DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-3 and 5-10 in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that see the election of 12/29/25. This is not found persuasive because the consideration and searches of patentable distinct species are not co-extensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US pat 11948891).
With respect to claim 1, Park et al. teach an electronic package, comprising (see figs. 1-26, particularly fig. 5 and associated text):
an electronic module including a carrier 140, an electronic component 124, a plurality of conductive structures 115 and a plurality of conductive components 112 disposed on the carrier, wherein the electronic component, the plurality of conductive structures and the plurality of conductive components are electrically connected to the carrier;
an encapsulation layer 140” formed on the carrier and encapsulating the electronic component, the plurality of conductive structures and the plurality of conductive components;
a shielding layer 150 (top part and side part down to about 140”) formed on the encapsulation layer and covering the electronic component, wherein the shielding layer is electrically connected to the plurality of conductive structures and free from being electrically connected to the plurality of conductive components; and
a shielding structure (the end portion of 150 on side) covering the electronic module.
With respect to claim 5, Park et al. teach each of the plurality of conductive structures is in a form of a metal pillar, a wire, or a combination of bumps. See fig. 5 and associated text.
With respect to claim 6, Park et al. teach each of the plurality of conductive components is in a form of a solder ball or a combination of bumps. See fig. 5 and associated text.
With respect to claim 7, Park et al. teach the carrier has a first side (top) and a second side (bottom) opposing the first side, wherein the encapsulation layer, the electronic component, the plurality of conductive structures and the plurality of conductive components are formed on the second side of the carrier. See fig. 5 and associated text.
With respect to claim 8, Park et al. teach another electronic component 121 disposed on the first side of the carrier. See fig. 5 and associated text.
With respect to claim 9, Park et al. teach the electronic module further comprises a packaging layer 160 encapsulating the another electronic component. See fig. 5 and associated text.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure having and encapsulated structure having a component, conductive structures, and connectors over and electrically connected to a carrier, a shielding layer covering the component and electrically connected to conductive structures and not electrically connected to the connectors, a shielding structure covering the structure as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897