Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the election of species on grounds that a search for one species would likely reveal references, if any, for all species because all of the original claims (i.e., claims 1-20) and newly added claims (i.e., claims 21-25) are drawn to a method of forming a structure on substrate that generally includes forming a nucleation layer within at least one opening formed in a multi-tier portion of the substrate, exposing the nucleation layer to a nitrogen containing gas or nitrogen containing plasma, forming a fill layer over the nucleation layer, and exposing the fill layer to a nitrogen containing gas or nitrogen containing plasma. This is not found persuasive because Specie I: claims 1-6, drawn to a method of forming a structure on a substrate, comprising: exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a reducing agent comprising boron at a reducing agent flow rate, wherein the tungsten-containing gas and the reducing agent are alternated cyclically to form a nucleation layer within the at least one opening of the substrate; and Specie II: claims 7-15, drawn to a method of forming a structure on a substrate, comprising: wherein the upper portion comprises a width smaller than a width of the lower portion.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 22, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Chandrashekar (Pub. No.: US 2015/0024592).
Re claim 1, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches a method of forming a structure on a substrate, comprising:
exposing at least one opening formed in a multi-tier portion of the substrate to a tungsten-containing gas at a precursor gas flow rate;
exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a reducing agent comprising boron at a reducing agent flow rate (deposit a bulk tungsten in first group of step 401, note that in the deposition of the bulk tungsten is including tungsten-containing gases including, but not limited to, WF6, WCl6, ….. and reducing gas such as diborane, ¶¶ [0092]-[0094]), wherein the tungsten-containing gas and the reducing agent are alternated cyclically to form a nucleation layer within the at least one opening of the substrate;
exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a nitrogen trifluoride ([etch tungsten] step 403, [0100]) containing gas to inhibit growth of the nucleation layer at narrow portions within the at least one opening;
exposing the at least one opening to the tungsten-containing precursor gas (step 405) to form a fill layer over the nucleation layer within the at least one opening; and
exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas or a nitrogen-containing plasma ([etch tungsten] step 407, [0100]) to inhibit growth of portions of the fill layer along the at least one opening.
Re claim 2, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein exposing the at least one opening to the tungsten-containing precursor gas comprises a chemical vapor deposition process [0095].
Re claim 3, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein exposing the at least one opening to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas and the nitrogen-containing plasma, comprises alternating the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas and the nitrogen-containing plasma (remote plasma 403/407, [0100]).
Re claim 4, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches the method of claim 3, wherein exposing the at least one opening to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas and the nitrogen-containing plasma, comprises exposing the substrate to the nitrogen-containing plasma (remote plasma of step 403) prior to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas (NF3 of step 407)
Re claim 5, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches the method of claim 3, wherein exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas and the nitrogen-containing plasma, comprises exposing the substrate to the nitrogen trifluoride containing gas (NF3 of step 403) prior to the nitrogen-containing plasma (remote plasma of step 407).
Re claim 6, Chandrashekar teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a first interval of exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to the nitrogen trifluoride and a second interval of exposing the substrate to the nitrogen-containing plasma based on:
an interface location of a first and second tier ([FT]/[ST], FIG. 8 [as shown above]) of the multi-tier portion along a length of the at least one opening;
a width of the at least one opening at an interface of two adjacent tiers of the multi-tier portion;
a width of the at least one opening at a surface of the opening;
a ratio between a smallest width along the at least one opening [Sw] to the largest width along the opening [LW];
an aspect ratio of the at least one opening (proportional relationship between the width and height); or combinations thereof.
Re claim 22, Chandrashekar, FIG. 4 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a nitrogen trifluoride-containing gas includes heating the substrate to a temperature of about 200 ºC to about 600 ºC [0095].
Re claim 24, Chandrashekar, FIG. 8 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the multi-tier portion of the substrate comprises lower portion and an upper portion, wherein the upper portion [SW] comprises a width smaller than a width of the lower portion [LW].
Re claim 25, Chandrashekar, FIG. 8 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the multi-tier portion of the substrate comprises a middle portion between the upper portion and the lower portion, wherein the middle portion [MW} comprises a width smaller than the width of the upper portion [SW] and the width of the lower portion [LW].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar in view of another Chandrashekar (Pub. No.: US 9240347) (hereinafter `347).
Chandrashekar teaches all the limitation of claim 1.
Chandrashekar fails to teach the limitation of claim 21/23.
`347 teaches wherein exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a nitrogen trifluoride-containing gas includes flowing the nitrogen trifluoride- containing gas for about 1 seconds to about 30 seconds (FIG. 13C, col. 25, lines 20-30) (claim 21).
wherein exposing the at least one opening of the substrate to a nitrogen trifluoride-containing gas includes flowing the nitrogen trifluoride-containing gas at a rate of about 0.5 sccm to about 500 sccm (col. 16, lines 20-23) (claim 23).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing “Depositing tungsten-containing materials into small and high aspect ratio features may cause formation of seams and voids inside the filled features” as taught by `347, BACKGROUND, col 1. Lines 30-40.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893