DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 21-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,664,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims disclose the same scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bemanian et al. (US 2012/0068229, hereinafter, Bemanian.)
In regard to claim 21, in figs. 9a, 19 and 22, Bemanian discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first die 914, comprising a first bonding structure 916/918; and
a second die 908, comprising a second bonding structure 910/912, wherein the first bonding structure and the second bonding structure are bonded through a solder-less bonding, to bond the first die and the second die.
Regarding claim 22, in fig. 22, in fig. 22, Bemanian further discloses, wherein the first bonding structure comprises a first bonding layer 2212 and a plurality of first bonding pads 2218 in the first bonding layer, the second bonding structure comprises a second bonding layer 2228 and a plurality of second bonding pads 2226 in the second bonding layer, and the first bonding layer is bonded to the second bonding layer and the first bonding pads are bonded to the second bonding pads respectively.
Regarding claim 23, wherein a sidewall of one of the first bonding pads is substantially flush with a sidewall of one of the second bonding pads (figs. 9a-9c, for example.)
Regarding claim 24, Bemanian further comprising a first encapsulant encapsulating, or molding, 1814 on the first die and in direct contact with the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer (fig. 19.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bemanian as applied to claims 21-22 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2019/0319008, hereinafter, Liao.)
In regard to claim 25, Bemanian discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above, except, further comprising a second encapsulant encapsulating the second die and in direct contact with the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer.
Liao, in figs. 1C-1F, discloses an analogous package including first die and second die, and a third semiconductor substrate 37, connecting structures; and further discloses first and second encapsulant layers 19 and 30 (paras [0017] and 0029]). The encapsulants further provide structural support and protection. This is common in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to include the encapsulant layers as taught in order to provide protection and support.
Conclusion
/NATHAN W HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814