DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
The examiner contacted the applicant multiple times between 5.14.2026 and 7.7.2026 seeking to amend claims 1, 6 and 34 and place the application in condition for allowance but was not successful in obtaining applicant authorization.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the isolation layer extends continuously between the first gate structure and the second gate structure” (claim 34) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprising” should read --comprises--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 34, “wherein the isolation layer extends continuously between the first gate structure and the second gate structure” is new matter. For example, the isolation layer 300 does not extend “continuously” between a first gate and a second gate because a selected gate is between both of said gates. See Figs. 10 and 18.
Moreover, Applicant’s arguments fail to indicate where support is found for new claim 34. No prior art rejection is applied to claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (of record, US 20170154823 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses a method comprising:
depositing (placing) an isolation material (44) over a semiconductor material (12) to form an isolation layer (44, “gate insulating layer 44”) over the semiconductor material (12, Fig. 7);
forming a source/drain region (54, “source/drain region 54”) over (indirectly) the isolation layer (Fig. 7), wherein a line perpendicular to an (sidewall) upper (not uppermost) surface of the isolation layer (44) passes through the source/drain region (54) and through the isolation layer (Fig. 7. Also, see Fig. 9);
removing a selected gate structure (48, “gate structures 46, 48”), wherein removing the selected gate structure forms a trench (via removal of 44/50 which are replaced with 66/68/70/72) in the semiconductor material (Figs. 8-9); and
forming an isolation structure (68, “high-k dielectric layer 68”) in (partially) the trench (Figs. 8-9).
Claims 4, 6-7 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (of record, US 20170154823 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation layer (“gate insulating layer 44”) comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or a combination thereof.
The examiner takes the position that SiO2 is a well-known and commonly employed silicon oxide used in the semiconductor field as a gate insulating material and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include a silicon oxide as claimed in layer 44 of Tseng because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07), it’s use was within the ordinary capabilities of one skill in the art and it's use would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Tseng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein depositing the isolation material (44) comprising conformally depositing the isolation material (Fig. 7), but fails to disclose wherein the isolation layer (44) has a vertical thickness of less than 6 nanometers (nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to ensure that layer 44 comprises a vertical thickness as claimed in the method of Tseng so as to minimize final device geometry while ensuring layer 44 is thicker than adjacent layers as required by [0024] of Tseng.
Regarding claim 7, Tseng fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation layer has a band gap of at least 4 e V, and wherein the isolation layer has a dielectric constant of less than 7.5.
The examiner takes the position that SiO2 is a well-known and commonly employed silicon oxide used in the semiconductor field as a gate insulating material wherein SiO2 has a higher band gap than 4eV and has a dielectric constant of less than 7.5 per, e.g., https://www.iue.tuwien.ac.at/phd/hollauer/node11.html.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include SiO2 in layer 44 of Tseng because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07), its use was within the ordinary capabilities of one skill in the art and its use would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 32, Tseng fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein depositing the isolation material (44) comprises performing atomic layer deposition.
ALD is a well-known and commonly used deposition technique and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include ALD as claimed before the effective filing date so as to control deposition thickness of materials.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 20170154823 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20160149030 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Tseng fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation material (“gate insulating layer 44”) comprises silicon carbide nitride, silicon carbide oxide, or silicon carbide oxynitride.
Kim discloses wherein the isolation material (“gate insulating layer 145”) comprises silicon carbide nitride, silicon carbide oxide, or silicon carbide oxynitride ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include the materials of Kim in Tseng because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07), its use was within the ordinary capabilities of one skill in the art and its use would have yielded predictable results
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 27-31 and 35-37 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest after removing the selected gate structure, a non-selected gate structure remains over the semiconductor material; the non-selected gate structure comprises a stack of vertically spaced-apart nanosheets including a bottom nanosheet having a top surf ace at a first height over the semiconductor material; the isolation layer has a top surf ace at a second height over the semiconductor material; and the first height is greater than the second height.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest after removing the selected gate structure, a non-selected gate structure remains over the semiconductor material; the non-selected gate structure comprises a stack of vertically spaced-apart nanosheets including a top nanosheet having a top surface; the trench has a nadir; the top surface is distanced from the nadir by a vertical distance H; the trench has a width W; and a ratio of H: W is at least 2: 1 and at most 5: 1.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest wherein the isolation layer comprises a plurality of sublayers, wherein adjacent sublayers have different dielectric constants.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest before removing the selected gate structure, recessing the semiconductor material comprising alternating nanosheets and sacrificial layers laterally adjacent to the selected gate structure to form a gap; laterally etching the sacrificial layers adjacent to the gap to form pockets; and forming inner spacers in the pockets; claim 9 depends from claim 8.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a trench having a a nadir located below the isolation layer portions as recited within the context of the claim; claims 28-31 depend from claim 27.
Regarding claim 35, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest depositing an isolation material in the gap to form an isolation layer; after forming the isolation layer, forming a source/drain region in the gap; removing the selected gate structure to form a trench; and filling the trench with a dielectric material as recited within the context of the claim; claims 36-37 depend from claim 35
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4.29.2026, with respect to the drawing objections and 35 USC 112 rejections of the previous Office Action are persuasive. See pg. 7-8.
Applicant's arguments at pg. 9-10 regarding Tseng failing to disclose or suggest amended claim 1 are not persuasive; the examiner now relies on layer 44 as the claimed isolation layer. See rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments at pg. 11-12 regarding Lin failing to disclose or suggest amended claims 1 and 27 are persuasive; the examiner withdraws the rejections over Lin.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818