Continued Examination
The present application is being examined as a continuation application of 17113057 (now US Pat. # 11637204), which is a continuing application of 16714607 (now US Pat. # 10861977), which is a continuing application of 15876196 (now US Pat. # 10510893), which is a continuing application of 14935115 (now US Pat. # 9876115). Now pending in this application are claims 1-20.
Specification
The specification submitted 4/21/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 4/21/2023 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/21/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 contains what the examiner believes to be a typographical error. The applicant recites “wherein the semiconductive fin has a bottom portion tapers towards the stop layer” and believes that the recitation should be “wherein the semiconductive fin has a bottom portion tapering towards the stop layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9876115 in view of Cai (US # 20140159163).
Current application (18304787)
US Patent # 9876115 (Application Number: 14935115)
1. A device, comprising:
a semiconductive substrate;
a stop layer over the semiconductive substrate
1. (currently amended) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate;
a stop layer on the semiconductor substrate;
(see modification with a secondary reference below for crossed-out language)
a semiconductive fin over the stop layer;
a fin isolation structure connected to a sidewall of the semiconductive fin; and
a semiconductor fin on the stop layer; and
two cells adjacent to each other on the semiconductor fin, the semiconductor fin having a fin isolation structure at a common boundary that is shared by the two cells, the fin isolation structure having a dielectric portion extending from a top of the semiconductor fin to the stop layer, wherein the dielectric portion divides the semiconductor fin into two portions of the semiconductor fin and sandwiching the dielectric portion,
a source/drain epitaxial layer adjacent to the semiconductive fin, wherein the semiconductive fin is between the source/drain epitaxial layer and the fin isolation structure.
10. The semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: two epitaxial layers respectively at both sides of the two portions of the semiconductor fin; and two dielectric layers respectively on the epitaxial layers, wherein the two dielectric layers sandwich the dummy gate spacers and the dielectric portion.
Although claim 10 of US Patent # 9876115 recites much of the claimed invention, it does not recite the stop layer comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed, in the same field of endeavor, renders such feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Cai (US # 20140159163) teaches a similar device (see Fig. 3 and corresponding text) comprising a stop layer (feature 310 is used in forming fins 312) comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0 ([0050]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the material of the stop layer recited in claim 10 of US Patent # 9876115, as suggested by Cai. Specifically, the modification suggested by Cai would be to employ a stop layer comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use SiGe for a stop layer since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Double-patenting analysis continued
Current application (18304787)
US Patent # 9876115 (Application Number: 14935115)
3. The device of claim 1, wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer is separated from the semiconductive substrate by the stop layer.
See Claim 1
4. The device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductive fin is separated from the semiconductive substrate by the stop layer.
See Claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US # 20160268392) in view of Cai (US # 20140159163).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu (US # 20160268392) teaches a device (see Fig. 21 and corresponding text), comprising:
a semiconductive substrate (1002);
a stop layer (1003) over the semiconductive substrate
a semiconductive fin (F on either side of feature 1046) over the stop layer;
a fin isolation structure (1046) connected to a sidewall (left and right sidewalls) of the semiconductive fin; and
a source/drain epitaxial layer (1032 on either side of F) adjacent to the semiconductive fin, wherein the semiconductive fin is between the source/drain epitaxial layer and the fin isolation structure (shown in Fig. 21).
Although Zhu recites much of the claimed invention, it does not recite the stop layer comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed, in the same field of endeavor, renders such feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Cai (US # 20140159163) teaches a similar device (see Fig. 3 and corresponding text) comprising a stop layer (feature 310 is used in forming fins 312) comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0 ([0050]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the material of the stop layer of Zhu as suggested by Cai. Specifically, the modification suggested by Cai would be to employ a stop layer comprising SiGeOx, SiGe, SiP or SiPOx, where x is greater than 0. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use SiGe for a stop layer since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the fin isolation structure is higher than a top surface of the semiconductive fin (shown in Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductive fin is separated from the semiconductive substrate by the stop layer (shown in Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a bottom surface of the semiconductive fin is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the source/drain epitaxial layer (shown in Fig. 21, especially with the fins not resting on feature 1003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 8, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a bottom portion of the fin isolation structure having a second linear sidewall inclined to the first linear sidewall of a top portion, wherein an interface between the top portion and the bottom portion of the fin isolation structure is lower than a top surface of the source/drain epitaxial layer.
Regarding Claim 15, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a stop layer over the semiconductive substrate and in contact with a sidewall of the fin isolation structure.
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including device of claim 1, wherein the fin isolation structure is in contact with a sidewall of the stop layer.
Regarding Claim 7, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including device of claim 1, wherein the fin isolation structure is in contact with the semiconductive substrate.
Claims 3 was rejected above, as being an obvious variation of an existing patent claim (double-patenting), but would be allowable if the applicant were to file a terminal disclaimer for the cited patents.
Regarding Claim 3, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the device of claim 1, wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer is separated from the semiconductive substrate by the stop layer.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899