Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-12, 15, 18 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Patent No.: US 10,964,788 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: an active region comprising one or more active semiconductor cells (Col. 4, L 48 – Col. 5, L 8; Fig. 5 – active region comprising channel layer 106); a metallization structure on the active region (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128); and wherein the metallization structure comprises a beryllium alloy (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128; source electrode 128 is potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure is one or more of a contact, interconnect, or bonding pad for the semiconductor device (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source contact such as source electrode 128).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen, as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure further comprises copper (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128; source electrode 128 is potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure further comprises aluminum (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art teaches that “the material of the source electrode 128 includes metal, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), iron (Fe), nickel-iron (NiFe) alloy, beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy, the like, or a combination thereof”; in other words source contact could be potentially formed of ternary beryllium alloy including aluminum).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a ternary beryllium alloy (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art teaches that “the material of the source electrode 128 includes metal, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), iron (Fe), nickel-iron (NiFe) alloy, beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy, the like, or a combination thereof”; in other words source contact could be potentially formed of ternary beryllium alloy).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen et al., as applied to claim 7, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the ternary beryllium alloy comprises aluminum, beryllium, and a ternary element, wherein the ternary element comprises silver, copper, magnesium, silicon, titanium, vanadium, or zinc (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art teaches that “the material of the source electrode 128 includes metal, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), iron (Fe), nickel-iron (NiFe) alloy, beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy, the like, or a combination thereof”; in other words source contact could be potentially formed of ternary beryllium alloy).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a passivation layer (Col. 11, L 21 – 39; Fig. 5 – passivation layer 138 (protective layer)).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen et al., as applied to claim 11, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride (Col. 11, L 21 – 39).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise a wide band gap semiconductor (Col. 4, L 5 – 38 – silicon carbide or aluminum nitride or gallium nitride).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more Group III-nitride based high electron mobility transistor devices (Col. 4, L 5- Col. 5, L 8).
Regarding Claim 35, Chen et al. discloses a method, comprising: depositing a metallization structure on an active region comprising one or more wide band gap semiconductor cells (Col. 4, L 48 – Col. 5, L 8; Fig. 5 – active region comprising channel layer 106; Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128); and wherein the metallization structure comprises a beryllium alloy (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128; source electrode 128 is potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Patent No.: US 10,964,788 B1), as applied to claim 1, further view of Zhou et al. (“Precipitation behavior and properties of aged Cu-0.23Be-0.84Co alloy” - 2015)
Regarding Claim 5, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.1% beryllium to about 3% beryllium.
However, Zhou et al. teaches the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.1% beryllium to about 3% beryllium (Page 920; Introduction Section – this prior art teaches Cu-Be alloys are widely used in the components of electronics industry wherein the alloy comprises 0.2 – 2.0 wt% Be; this alloy has good electrical and thermal conductivity, high strength and hardness and low elastic modulus). Zhou et al. teaches that beryllium prominently affects the properties of Cu-Be alloys. For example, the strength increases with increased beryllium content; however, the electrical and thermal properties worsen with increased beryllium content. Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.1% beryllium to about 3% beryllium. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.1% beryllium to about 3% beryllium, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.2% beryllium to about 0.5% beryllium.
However, Zhou et al. teaches the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.2% beryllium to about 0.5% beryllium (Page 920; Introduction Section – this prior art teaches Cu-Be alloys are widely used in the components of electronics industry wherein the alloy comprises 0.2 – 2.0 wt% Be; this alloy has good electrical and thermal conductivity, high strength and hardness and low elastic modulus). Zhou et al. teaches that beryllium prominently affects the properties of Cu-Be alloys. For example, the strength increases with increased beryllium content; however, the electrical and thermal properties worsen with increased beryllium content. Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.2% beryllium to about 0.5% beryllium. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a range of about 0.2% beryllium to about 0.5% beryllium, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen et al., as applied to claim 7, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the ternary beryllium alloy comprises aluminum, beryllium, and a ternary element, ((Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art teaches that “the material of the source electrode 128 includes metal, such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), iron (Fe), nickel-iron (NiFe) alloy, beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy, the like, or a combination thereof”; in other words source contact could be potentially formed of ternary beryllium alloy))
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the ternary element comprises cobalt. However, Zhou et al. teaches the semiconductor device, wherein the ternary element comprises cobalt (Page 920; Introduction Section – this prior art teaches Cu-Be alloys with a small amount of cobalt are widely used, wherein the alloy has good electrical and thermal conductivity, high strength and hardness and low elastic modulus). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Zhou et al. to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the ternary element of Chen et al. comprises cobalt in order to form an electrical contact with proper hardness and electrical and thermal properties.
Claims 10, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Patent No.: US 10,964,788 B1), as applied to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a source contact, a drain contact, or a gate contact for a HEMT (Col. 3, L 62 – Col. 4, L 4, Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art specifically teaches details of source contact and drain contact of a HEMT device; the contacts are potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy). Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a source contact, a drain contact, or a gate contact for a MOSFET.
In short, Chen et al. teaches materials used for contacts, such as source contacts, drain contacts etc. for a HEMT-type device whereas the instant application teaches potential materials for source contacts, drain contacts etc. for MOSFET type. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed that the source or drain contact materials used by Chen for HEMTs could also be potentially used for the source and drain contacts for a MOSFET device.
Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a source contact, a drain contact, or a gate contact for a MOSFET. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the metallization structure comprises a source contact, a drain contact, or a gate contact for a MOSFET, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding Claim 16, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more gallium nitride-based HEMTs (Col. 3, L 62 – Col. 4, L 4, Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – this prior art specifically teaches details of source contact and drain contact of a gallium nitride-based HEMT device; the contacts are potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy). Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs.
In short, Chen et al. teaches materials used for contacts, such as source contacts, drain contacts etc. for a gallium nitride-based HEMT-type device whereas the instant application teaches potential materials for source contacts, drain contacts etc. for a silicon carbide-based MOSFETs. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed that the source or drain contact materials used by Chen for HEMTs could also be potentially used for the source and drain contacts for a silicon carbide-based MOSFET device.
Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Also, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding Claim 17, Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more GaN-based HEMTs (Col. 4, L 5- Col. 5, L 8). Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based Schottky diodes.
In short, Chen et al. teaches the semiconductor device, wherein a metallization structure comprising beryllium is formed on an active region wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more gallium nitride based HEMT (Col. 4, L 5- Col. 5, L 8). This prior art does not explicitly mention the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based Schottky diodes. Metallization structure comprising beryllium is known to yield certain benefits. Adding beryllium to copper in metallization structures increases strength and hardness and yields low elastic modulus and is beneficial in HEMTs as well as in Schottky diodes.
Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based Schottky diodes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based Schottky diodes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding Claim 19, Chen et al. discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: an active region comprising one or more gallium nitride-based HEMTs (Col. 4, L 5 – Col. 5, L 8; Fig. 5 – active region comprising channel layer 106); a metallization structure on the active region, the metallization structure comprising a bonding pad associated with a source contact or a drain contact for the semiconductor device (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128; presence of bonding pad implied); and wherein the metallization structure comprises beryllium (Col. 8, L 25 – Col. 9, L 50; Fig. 5 – metallization structure comprising source electrode 128; source electrode 128 is potentially formed of a beryllium alloy, such as beryllium-copper (BeCu) alloy). Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs.
In short, Chen et al. teaches materials used for contacts, such as source contacts, drain contacts etc. for a gallium nitride-based HEMT-type device whereas the instant application teaches potential materials for source contacts, drain contacts etc. for a silicon carbide-based MOSFETs. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed that the source or drain contact materials used by Chen for HEMTs could also be potentially used for the source and drain contacts for a silicon carbide-based MOSFET device.
Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the one or more active semiconductor cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFETs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Also, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Patent No.: US 10,964,788 B1), as applied to claim 11, further in view of Weyers (Pub. No.: US 2020/0243505 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Chen et al., as applied to claim 11, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride.
(Col. 11, L 21 – 39). Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises a polymer.
However, Weyers teaches the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises a polymer (Par. 0031; Fig. 6 – this prior art teaches that a passivation layer such as a polyimide may be arranged over the gate and source pads). In a nutshell, Chen et al. teaches the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride. Weyers, on the other hand teaches that the passivation layer comprises a polymer. In other words, use of silicon nitride as well as polymers in passivation layers have been well-documented before this invention was effectively filed. Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises a polymer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the passivation layer comprises a polymer, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 13, discloses
the semiconductor device, wherein the polymer comprises polyimide (Weyers - Par. 0031).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
02/08/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893