DETAILED ACTION
1. The amendment filed 09/16/2026 has been received and considered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 18, it recites the limitation “an ESD regulatory specification” in line 3 which would be better as “the ESD regulatory specification” because Claim 15, from which it depends, recites "an ESD regulatory specification" in the identifying instructions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2010/0241373 A1) in view of Muchaidze (US 10,325,057 B2), further in view of IEC 61000-4-2 ("Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) - Part 4-2: Testing and measurement techniques - Electrostatic discharge immunity test").
As per Claim 1, 8, and 15, Watanabe teaches a computer-implemented method for building a product model that indicates an electrostatic discharge (ESD) sensitivity level (Fig. 1-4, [0043], [0180]-[0181] : a program-controlled ESD protection verification apparatus operates on the design layout data of a semiconductor integrated circuit, an electronics device), comprising:
identifying a sensitive component in an electronics device and mapping the sensitive component to a location in the electronics device … ([0044] "a first element extraction unit 11 for extracting layout data for an element connected to the selected pad among a plurality of elements included in the design layout data"; [0057] "the error detection unit 13 considers that ESD breakdown may be caused in this diode, and detects this element as a design error"; [0057] "The error detection unit 13 saves positional information in the layout data regarding the element extracted as the error": elements that may break down under ESD are extracted from the design layout data, detected as errors, and their positional information in the layout is saved; the ESD-susceptible element is identified and mapped to its location in the device);
obtaining ESD metadata for the sensitive component from an ESD database ([0041] "a database (hereinafter referred to as an ESD withstand voltage database) regarding ESD withstand voltages is stored in the storage device 3": per-element ESD withstand-voltage data is held in a stored ESD withstand voltage database and used for the extracted element);
determining an ESD voltage threshold for the sensitive component based on the ESD metadata for the sensitive component ([0041] "That is, if the area or circumference of an element is found, the ESD withstand voltage of the element can be found"; [0051] "may be indicated by the value of the ESD withstand voltage obtained from the ESD withstand voltage database"; [0056] "If the error detection unit 13 determines that the calculated operating value is greater than or equal to the reference value, the diode is regarded as satisfying the required ESD withstand voltage and determined as a diode free of ESD breakdown": the element's ESD withstand voltage is found from its dimensions through the database correlation and compared with the required withstand voltage, so a voltage level the element withstands is determined for it from the database information); and
… an indication of the ESD voltage threshold for each sensitive component at a respective mapped location in the electronics device ([0051] "may be indicated by the value of the ESD withstand voltage obtained from the ESD withstand voltage database"; [0057] "The error detection unit 13 saves positional information in the layout data regarding the element extracted as the error": the value of the element's ESD withstand voltage obtained from the database is the value indicated for the element, and the element found to fall below the required withstand voltage is recorded by its positional information in the layout data, so the determined ESD voltage level is indicated for each component at its position; Examiner's Note - "a respective mapped location in the electronics device" corresponds to the position of the element in Watanabe's layout data because Watanabe indicates the determined withstand voltage and the error finding for the element at its layout position; in the combination the positions are the mapped locations of the product model supplied by Muchaidze as set out below).
In particular, Watanabe teaches a computer-implemented verification apparatus that extracts the elements connected to each selected pad from the design layout data of a semiconductor integrated circuit, obtains ESD withstand-voltage information for those elements from an ESD withstand voltage database, determines element by element whether the required ESD withstand voltage is satisfied, and saves positional information in the layout data for each element detected as an error.
However, Watanabe fails to teach explicitly wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification;
generating a product model of the electronics device, wherein the product model includes a plurality of sensitive components mapped to a plurality of locations in the electronics device....
Muchaidze teaches generating a product model of the electronics device (col. 7 lines 27-30 “In operation, the visualization module 142 combines the measurement data made at the various sampling locations about the DUT and the computer-aided design layout of the DUT” ; col. 8, lines 63-66 “the processing system 110 will “know” the position of the DUT on the scanning plate as well as the position of various components of the DUT on the scanning plate”: a visualization module combines per-location measurement data with the computer-aided design layout of the device under test, producing a model of the device carrying the measured values), wherein the product model includes a plurality of sensitive components mapped to a plurality of locations in the electronics device (col. 7 lines 35-38 "The measurement data is then added to the CAD DUT layout at the right locations in the CAD DUT layout space that correspond to the actual sampling locations in real space"; col. 7 lines 62-67 "FIG. 5C is another perspective view of the CAD PCB layout with measurements in which the measurements have contours, which may indicate radio frequency (RF) emission levels, electrostatic discharge (ESD) susceptibility levels, ESD current density, antenna parameters etc., depending on the scanning technology used"; col. 7 lines 15-17 "Thus, any component of the DUT can be readily identified using the CAD DUT layout with measurements": measurement data are placed on the CAD layout of the device at the locations corresponding to the sampling points, the displayed contours may indicate ESD susceptibility levels, and any component of the device is identified on the layout, so the model carries a plurality of components each tied to a location of the device).
In particular, Muchaidze teaches combining measurement data with a computer-aided design layout of a device under test and displaying the combined layout, in which the displayed contours may indicate electrostatic discharge (ESD) susceptibility levels and the position of every component of the device on the layout is known to the processing system.
Watanabe and Muchaidze are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor, computer-aided electrostatic discharge analysis of electronic devices (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Muchaidze into Watanabe’s invention for the purpose of verifying ESD protection in a semiconductor integrated-circuit design to provide information regarding a particular component of the DUT that can be readily available for the user since the computer-aided design layout of the DUT can contain information regarding all the components of the DUT, regardless of whether or not the component is visible from the outside of the DUT so that the DUT can be analyzed efficiently and effectively (Muchaidze: col. 3, lines 21-24, col. 7, lines 17-23).
However, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze fails to teach explicitly wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification.
IEC 61000-4-2 teaches wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification (p. 24, § 8.3.1 "The testing shall be performed by direct and/or indirect application of discharges to the EUT according to a test plan", § 8.3.2 "Unless stated otherwise in the generic, product-related or product-family standards, the electrostatic discharges shall be applied only to those points and surfaces of the EUT which are accessible to persons during normal use"; p. 30, § A.5 "any point in the control or keyboard area and any other point of man-machine communication, such as switches, knobs, buttons, indicators, LEDs, slots, grilles, connector hoods and other operator-accessible areas": the ESD immunity standard restricts the test discharges to the points and surfaces of the equipment accessible to persons during normal use, requires a test plan naming the points at which discharges are to be applied, and gives as examples the control or keyboard area, switches, knobs, buttons and connector hoods, so a point to which the standard directs the test discharges is a location designated for ESD testing by the regulatory specification. Examiner's Note - "the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification" is read on the points to which IEC 61000-4-2 directs the discharges; and in the combination the components that Watanabe identifies and maps, and for which it determines withstand voltages from the database, are these designated points, so the product model indicates the thresholds at the designated locations).
In particular, IEC 61000-4-2 teaches the electrostatic discharge immunity test standard, which prescribes that the test be performed according to a test plan naming the points at which discharges are to be applied, that discharges be applied to the points and surfaces of the equipment accessible to persons during normal use, and which gives, as examples, the test points to be considered such as the control or keyboard area, switches, knobs, buttons, indicators, connector hoods and other operator-accessible areas.
Watanabe, Muchaidze, and IEC 61000-4-2 are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, identifying the locations of an electronics device that are sensitive to electrostatic discharge and are to be tested for ESD compliance (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate IEC 61000-4-2 into Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze's invention for the purpose of verifying ESD protection in a semiconductor integrated-circuit design to provide information regarding a particular component of the DUT that is readily available to the user, since the computer-aided design layout of the DUT can contain information regarding all the components of the DUT regardless of whether or not the component is visible from the outside of the DUT, so that the DUT can be analyzed efficiently and effectively (Muchaidze: col. 3, lines 21-24, col. 7, lines 17-23) and to provide a common and reproducible basis for evaluating the performance of electrical and electronic equipment when subjected to electrostatic discharges (IEC 61000-4-2: p. 7, § 1). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 7 and 14, Watanabe teaches wherein the ESD database comprises data selected from a group consisting of: historical ESD test data for the sensitive component, historical ESD test data for the electronics device, and a regulatory specification related to ESD. ([0042] “information on the ESD withstand voltage of the element may be included in the element information data”; [0041] “The ESD withstand voltage of the element is correlated with the dimension and operating characteristics of the element”; [0054] "data based on the result of a previously conducted experiment or simulation is acquired from the storage device 3": the ESD withstand voltage database holds per-element ESD withstand-voltage characterization data, corresponding to the “historical ESD test data for the sensitive component” as claimed, an element’s withstand voltage being established by ESD characterization of that element).
4. Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2010/0241373 A1) in view of Muchaidze (US 10,325,057 B2) and IEC 61000-4-2 ("Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) - Part 4-2: Testing and measurement techniques - Electrostatic discharge immunity test"), further in view of Min (US 8,823,383 B2).
Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 above.
As per Claim 2, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly transmitting the product model to an ESD test simulation system, wherein the product model identifies each respective mapped location in the electronics device as a location for application of an ESD discharge by the ESD test simulation system
Min teaches transmitting the product model to an ESD test simulation system (col. 5, lines 23-33 “The ESD testing system allows the user to save the project to file and use it in the future without redefinition of test points, scenarios, gun settings and test flow”: the saved project carrying the device’s mapped test points and gun settings, i.e., the “product model” of the combination, is supplied to and reused by the automated ESD test system, an “ESD test simulation system” as claimed),
Wherein the product model identifies each respective mapped location in the electronics device as a location for application of an ESD discharge by the ESD test simulation system (col. 5 lines 24-26 "the ESD testing system moves the ESD gun to test point positions, makes zaps, brushes, presses keys, and detects different types of failures"; col. 5 lines 28-31 "The ESD testing system allows the user to save the project to file and use it in the future without redefinition of test points, scenarios, gun settings and test flow": the saved project carries the defined test points and the system moves the gun to each test-point position and discharges there, so each mapped location in the model is a location at which the test system applies an ESD discharge).
(col. 5, lines 23-33 “the ESD testing system moves the ESD gun to test point positions, makes zaps, brushes, presses keys, and detects different types of failures”: ESD discharges are applied by the test system at each mapped test-point location on the device).
Watanabe, Muchaidze, IEC 61000-4-2, and Min are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, computer-aided electrostatic discharge analysis of electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Min into Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2’s invention for the purpose of verifying ESD protection in a semiconductor integrated-circuit design to provide information regarding a particular component of the DUT that can be readily available for the user since the computer-aided design layout of the DUT can contain information regarding all the components of the DUT, regardless of whether or not the component is visible from the outside of the DUT so that the DUT can be analyzed efficiently and effectively (Muchaidze: col. 3, lines 21-24, col. 7, lines 17-23), to provide a common and reproducible basis for evaluating the performance of electrical and electronic equipment when subjected to electrostatic discharges (IEC 61000-4-2: p. 7, § 1), and to provide a universal system for identifying problematic areas in any type of DUTs (Min: col. 3, lines 63-67).
As per Claim 3, 10, and 17, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly monitoring user interactions with the product model, wherein a user selects the location in the electronics device on the product model; and mapping the sensitive component to the location in the electronics device based on the user interactions.
Min teaches monitoring user interactions with the product model, wherein a user selects the location in the electronics device on the product model (col. 5, lines 1-11 “a user defines test points on the DUT surface using the 3D positions definition module 306 of the ESD testing software and the cameras 114 of the system”: the testing software monitors the user’s selections of locations on the device); and
mapping the sensitive component to the location in the electronics device based on the user interactions. (col. 8, lines 56-61 “each view shows an image from a corresponding camera. The user can reconstruct 3D space position by clicking on these views”: the user’s clicked selection is mapped into a position on the device in 3D space).
As per Claim 9 and 16, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly transmitting the product model to an ESD test simulation system; and applying, by the ESD test simulation system, ESD discharges to each respective mapped location in the electronics device.
Min teaches transmitting the product model to an ESD test simulation system (col. 5, lines 23-33 “The ESD testing system allows the user to save the project to file and use it in the future without redefinition of test points, scenarios, gun settings and test flow”: the saved project carrying the device’s mapped test points and gun settings, i.e., the “product model” of the combination, is supplied to and reused by the automated ESD test system, an “ESD test simulation system” as claimed); and
applying, by the ESD test simulation system, ESD discharges to each respective mapped location in the electronics device. (col. 5, lines 23-33 “the ESD testing system moves the ESD gun to test point positions, makes zaps, brushes, presses keys, and detects different types of failures”: ESD discharges are applied by the test system at each mapped test-point location on the device).
5. Claims 4-6, 11- 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2010/0241373 A1) in view of Muchaidze (US 10,325,057 B2) and IEC 61000-4-2 ("Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) - Part 4-2: Testing and measurement techniques - Electrostatic discharge immunity test"), further in view of Yamane (US 2022/0138381 A1).
Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 above.
As per Claim 4, 11, and 18, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly further comprising: identifying the ESD regulatory specification in the ESD metadata, wherein the ESD regulatory specification includes a geographical region; and modifying the ESD voltage threshold based on the geographical region of the ESD regulatory specification.
Yamane teaches identifying the ESD regulatory specification in the ESD metadata, wherein the ESD regulatory specification includes a geographical region ([0051] “The model estimates, on the basis of the circuit data of an electronic circuit, the intensity of electromagnetic waves at a position apart from the electronic circuit by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 meters). For example, the distance is determined according to regulations of electromagnetic radiation set in individual country”: Yamane’s regulation of electromagnetic radiation set in individual country corresponds to the claimed “ESD regulatory specification” that “includes a geographical region,” electrostatic discharge immunity being a species of electromagnetic-disturbance compliance); and
modifying the ESD voltage threshold based on the geographical region of the ESD regulatory specification. ([0003] “there may be a regulation that the intensity of radiated electromagnetic waves needs to be less than a threshold. Therefore, the electronic circuits are designed so as to meet the regulation of electromagnetic waves.”; [0051] “The model estimates, on the basis of the circuit data of an electronic circuit, the intensity of electromagnetic waves at a position apart from the electronic circuit by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 meters). For example, the distance is determined according to regulations of electromagnetic radiation set in individual country.”; [0103]: the evaluation criterion applied to the design is set according to the regulation of the individual country, so that the compliance threshold applied to the device is modified per the geographical region’s regulation). In particular, Yamane teaches a model created by machine learning (a neural network trained by deep learning) that estimates, from the circuit data of an electronic circuit under design, the intensity of electromagnetic waves at a position set according to the regulation of the individual country, trained on intensities measured from implemented circuits or calculated by simulation.
Watanabe, Muchaidze, IEC 61000-4-2, and Yamane are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor, computer-aided electromagnetic-compliance analysis of electronic designs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Yamane into Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze’s invention for the purpose of verifying ESD protection in a semiconductor integrated-circuit design to provide information regarding a particular component of the DUT that can be readily available for the user since the computer-aided design layout of the DUT can contain information regarding all the components of the DUT, regardless of whether or not the component is visible from the outside of the DUT (Muchaidze: col. 7, lines 17-23), to provide a common and reproducible basis for evaluating the performance of electrical and electronic equipment when subjected to electrostatic discharges (IEC 61000-4-2: p. 7, § 1) and to provide estimation of the intensity of electromagnetic waves on the basis of circuit data by using a model created with machine learning, rather than a physical simulation that has problems that are high computational load and long execution time (Yamane: [0004]).
As per Claim 5, 12, and 19, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze fails to teach explicitly Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly wherein the identifying the sensitive component uses a machine learning model that predicts ESD test points for the electronics device based on the ESD regulatory specification and technical specifications of the electronics device.
Yamane teaches wherein the identifying the sensitive component uses a machine learning model that predicts ESD test points for the electronics device based on the ESD regulatory specification and technical specifications of the electronics device ([0029] “The control unit 12 performs machine learning for a model using the training data 15”, “The model may be a neural network. The machine learning may be deep learning”; [0051] "The model estimates, on the basis of the circuit data of an electronic circuit, the intensity of electromagnetic waves at a position apart from the electronic circuit by a predetermined distance (for example, 10 meters). For example, the distance is determined according to regulations of electromagnetic radiation set in individual country": the positions at which Yamane’s model estimates the regulated electromagnetic intensity correspond to the “ESD test points” as claimed, and the country-set regulation corresponds to the “ESD regulatory specification”).
As per Claim 6, 13, and 20, Watanabe as modified by Muchaidze and IEC 61000-4-2 fails to teach explicitly wherein the determining the ESD voltage threshold for the sensitive component based on the ESD metadata for the sensitive component uses a machine learning model that predicts an ESD testing level for the sensitive component based on the ESD regulatory specification and historical ESD testing information for the electronics device.
Yamane teaches wherein the determining the ESD voltage threshold for the sensitive component based on the ESD metadata for the sensitive component uses a machine learning model that predicts an ESD testing level for the sensitive component based on the ESD regulatory specification and historical ESD testing information for the electronics device. ([0029] “The correct intensity of electromagnetic waves may be measured using an electronic circuit implemented based on the circuit data 13”; [0051]: the model is trained on intensities measured from implemented circuits, corresponding to the “historical ESD testing information” as claimed, and predicts the regulated level to be met under the country-set regulation, corresponding to the “ESD testing level” as claimed).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully withdraws Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 in view of the amendment and/or applicant’s arguments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument – in view of IEC 61000-4-2.
Applicants have argued that:
However, Applicant respectfully submits that WATANABE does not disclose at least "wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification," as recited in amended claim 1[1]….
However, Applicant respectfully submits that MUCHAIDZE does not disclose at least "wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification," as recited in amended claim 1 [2]. The quoted portions of MUCHAIDZE concern measurement data corresponding to sampling locations and contours representing measured information. The quoted portions do not disclose that the mapped location is an area on a top surface of the electronics device at which ESD is to be applied or that ESD energy applied to the area couples to the component.[3]
As per [1]-[2], it is noted that the rejection set forth above does not rely on Watanabe or Muchaidze for that limitation; Examiner relies on the teaching in IEC 61000-4-2 to teach the limitation of "wherein the sensitive component is a location designated for ESD testing by an ESD regulatory specification,".
As per [3], it is noted that claims 1, 8, and 15 as amended do not recite an area on a top surface of the electronics device or the coupling of ESD energy to the component, and the rejection above addresses the limitation as recited.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dunnihoo (US 10,191,109 B2) teaches transient scanning data visualization in which the susceptible areas of a system under test are highlighted on an overlay of its physical layout.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188