DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 1-14 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56) in view of Kang et al. (US20210375804A1-Kang04).
Regarding claim 1, Jang56 discloses a display device (DD-Fig 1A) comprising:
a circuit board (Circuit board CF and Driving Chip DC-Examiner's annotated Fig 4) including a plurality of circuit pads (Circuit pads DC-PD, CF-PD-Fig 3, Examiner's annotated Fig 4);
a display panel (DP-Fig 3) including
a plurality of pad regions (regions for DP-PD, DC-PD, DP-CPD-Examiner's annotated Fig 3 and Fig 4) and
a plurality of non-pad regions (regions between DP-PD, DC-PD, DP-CPD- Examiner's annotated Fig 3 and Fig 4),
each of the plurality of pad regions and each of the plurality of non-pad regions alternately arranged in a first direction (Regions with/without for DP-PD, DC-PD, DP-CPD alternatively arranged along DR1 direction- Examiner's annotated Fig 3 and Fig 4); and
a conductive adhesive member (conductive adhesive member AF-C and AF-D- Examiner's annotated Fig 4) electrically connecting the circuit board and the display panel (conductive adhesive member AF-C and AF-D connecting circuit board CF+DC to display pads DP-PD and DP-CPD so to display panel-Examiner's annotated Fig 4; [0008] L8-9; [0075]; [0081]) and
including a photoinitiator (the conductive adhesive member material includes two resin layers, each resin layer includes a photoinitiator-[0009] L6-9, [0010] L12-14),
wherein the display panel includes:
a plurality of display pads (display pads DP-PD1 and DP-PD2, DP-CPD-Examiner's annotated Fig 3 and Fig 4, Examiner's annotated Fig 9B)
respectively corresponding to the plurality of circuit pads (DP-PD1 and DP-PD2 corresponding to circuit pads DC-PD1 and DC-PD2- Examiner's annotated Fig 4; DP-CPD corresponding to CF-PD-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B, [0115]),
arranged in the first direction (arranged in the DR1 direction- Examiner's annotated Fig 4, Examiner's annotated Fig 9B), and
disposed in the plurality of pad regions (Disposed in pad regions for DP-PD and DC-PD- Examiner's annotated Fig 4), respectively; and
a base layer (Base layer SUB/IL1/IL2-Examiner's annotated Fig 4, Examiner's annotated Fig 9B, [0095]) disposed under the plurality of display pads (Base layer SUB/IL1/IL2 disposed under DP-PD and DC-PD-Examiner's annotated Fig 4, [0095], Examiner's annotated Fig 9B) and
a width of each of the plurality of display pads in the first direction is less than a width of each of the plurality of circuit pads in the first direction (Width of display pads DP-CPD is less than the width of circuit pads CF-PD because of the second layer CF-P2, in the DR1 direction as shown by the vertical dashed lines-Examiner’s annotated Fig 9B).
Jang56 does not disclose a display device comprising
a base layer having a plurality of openings,
the plurality of openings are arranged in the first direction and
disposed in the plurality of non-pad regions, respectively.
Kang04 teaches a display device comprising
a base layer having a plurality of openings (Base layer CPD1/IL2/IL1/SUB having openings OP arranged in the DR1 direction arranged outside the non-pad region CPD2-Examiner's annotated Fig 6, [0116], Fig 7),
the plurality of openings are arranged in the first direction (Base layer CPD1 having openings OP arranged in the DR1 direction arranged outside the non-pad region CPD2-Examiner's annotated Fig 6, [0116], Fig 7) and
disposed in the plurality of non-pad regions, respectively (Base layer CPD1 having openings OP arranged in the DR1 direction arranged outside the non-pad region CPD2-Examiner's annotated Fig 6, [0116], Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 as taught by Kang04 for the purpose of improving the electrical connection characteristic between driving pads and circuit pads (Kang04: [0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device
wherein the plurality of display pads entirely overlap the plurality of pad regions in a plan view, respectively (Pad regions overlapped by Display pads DP-PD1, DP-PD2, DP-CPD in the plan view (DR1,DR3)-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B).
Jang56 does not discloses a display device wherein
the plurality of openings entirely overlap the plurality of non-pad regions in a plan view, respectively.
Kang04 further teaches a display device wherein
the plurality of openings entirely overlap the plurality of non-pad regions in a plan view, respectively (Openings OP overlapped Non-pad regions in the plan view (DR1,DR3)-Examiner's annotated Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 as taught by Kang04 for the purpose of improving the electrical connection characteristic between driving pads and circuit pads (Kang04: [0117]).
Regarding claim 3, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Kang04 further teaches a display device
wherein a width of each of the plurality of display pads in a second direction intersecting the first direction and a width of each of the plurality of openings in the second direction are same (Opening OP with a width in the DR3 direction being the same as the width of DP-CPD2, second direction DR3 intersecting first direction DR1-Examiner's annotated Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 as taught by Kang04 for the purpose of improving the electrical connection characteristic between driving pads and circuit pads (Kang04: [0117]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device
wherein the plurality of display pads are spaced apart from each other in a plan view (Display pads DP-PD1, DP-PD2, DP-CPD, spaced apart in the plan view (DR1, DR2)-Examiner's annotated Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device
wherein the base layer comprises a flexible material ([0052] L1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device
wherein the display panel further comprises signal lines (Display panel DP comprises signal lines SGL (DL, CSL, GL, PL)-Examiner's annotated Fig 3) respectively electrically connected to the plurality of display pads (Signal lines SGL (DL, CSL, GL, PL) electrically connected to Display pads DP-PD1, DP-PD2, DP-CPD, spaced apart in the plan view (DR1, DR2)-Examiner's annotated Fig 3).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56) in view of Kang et al. (US20210375804A1-Kang04), and further in view of Park et al. (US20210043600A1-Park00).
Regarding claim 10, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Jang56 and Kang04 combination does not teach a display device
wherein the signal lines are spaced apart from the plurality of openings in a plan view.
Park00 teaches a display device
wherein the signal lines are spaced apart from the plurality of openings in a plan view (Signal lines DL-P spaced apart from opening HO-Examiner’s annotated Fig 8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04 as taught by Park00 for the purpose of preventing oxidation of the driving bumps and the signal pad by shielding them from external air (Park00:[115]).
Regarding claim 11, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device
wherein the circuit board further includes non-conductive adhesive members (CF-AD-Fig 6A, [0091]).
Jang56 and Kang04 combination does not teach a display device
wherein the circuit board further includes non-conductive adhesive members disposed between the plurality of circuit pads.
Park00 teaches a display device
wherein the circuit board further includes non-conductive adhesive members (the circuit board DC includes non-conductive adhesive members RS-Examiner’s annotated Fig 9D) disposed between the plurality of circuit pads (RS disposed between plurality of circuit pads DC-PD-Examiner’s annotated Fig 9D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04 as taught by Park00 for the purpose of preventing oxidation of the driving bumps and the signal pad by shielding them from external air (Park00:[115]).
Regarding claim 12, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 11, as noted above.
Park00 further teaches a display device
wherein each of the non-conductive adhesive members comprises a photoinitiator (non-conductive adhesive RS/filler is UV-cured so RS is a UV curable resin, and comprises photoinitiator-[0077], [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04 as taught by Park00 for the purpose of preventing oxidation of the driving bumps and the signal pad by shielding them from external air (Park00:[115]).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56) in view of Kang et al. (US20210375804A1-Kang04), in view of Park et al. (US20210043600A1-Park00), and further in view of Park et al. (KR 20210005350 A-Park50 from IDS; US 20220352290 A1 used as a translation).
Regarding claim 6, Jang56 and Kang04 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Jang56 further discloses a display device wherein the base layer (Base layer SUB/IL1/IL2-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B, [0095]) comprises
a first insulating layer (IL1-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B) disposed under the plurality of display pads (IL1 disposed under display pads DP-CPD-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B) and
the first insulating layer is disposed in the plurality of pad regions and the plurality of non-pad regions (First insulating layer IL1 disposed in pad/non-pad regions-Examiner's annotated Fig 9B).
Jang56 and Kang04 combination does not teach a display device wherein
a first base film disposed under the first insulating layer,
the first base film includes first openings disposed in each of the plurality of non-pad regions, and
the plurality of openings include the first openings.
Park00 teaches a display device wherein
a first base film (first base film BFL under first insulating layer 10/20/30- Examiner’s annotated Fig 9D) disposed under the first insulating layer,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04 as taught by Park00 for the purpose of preventing oxidation of the driving bumps and the signal pad by shielding them from external air (Park00:[115]).
Park00 does not teach a display device wherein
the first base film includes first openings disposed in each of the plurality of non-pad regions, and
the plurality of openings include the first openings.
Park50 teaches a display device wherein
the first base film (first base film BS-b-Fig 15F) includes first openings (First opening HP disposed in each of the plurality of non-pad regions AP-NC-Fig 15F) disposed in each of the plurality of non-pad regions, and
the plurality of openings include the first openings (plurality of openings between pad regions CPD includes first openings HP-Fig 15F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04, and further in view of Park00 as taught by Park50 for the purpose of improving reliability properties (Park50:[0029] of US 20220352290 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jang56 , Kang04, Park00, and Park50 combination teaches all the elements of claim 6, as noted above.
Park50 further teaches a display device
wherein the first base film comprises a polyimide (PI) (First base film BS-b comprising polyimide([0107] of US 20220352290 A1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 in view of Kang04, and further in view of Park00 as taught by Park50 for the purpose of improving reliability properties (Park50:[0029] of US 20220352290 A1).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56) in view of Park et al. (KR 20210005350 A-Park50 from IDS; US 20220352290 A1 used as a translation).
Regarding claim 13, Jang56 discloses a display device (DD-Fig 1A) comprising:
a display panel (DP-Fig 3) including
a first pad region (First/Lower pad region DP-PD-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4),
a second pad region (second/Next pad region DP-PD-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4),, and
a first non-pad region extending from the first pad region in a first direction (Non-pad regions without Display pads DP-PD1, DP-PD2, DP-CPD alternatively arranged in the first DR1 direction-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4) and
defined between the first pad region and the second pad region (Non-pad regions without Display pads DP-PD1, DP-PD2, DP-CPD defined between the first and second pad regions-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4);
a circuit board (Circuit board CF or Driving Chip DC-Examiner's annotated Fig 4) including
a first circuit pad overlapping the first pad region (First/Lower Circuit pad CF-PD and DC-PD overlapping corresponding Display pads regions in the plan view (DR1, DR2)-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4) and
a second circuit pad overlapping the second pad region in a plan view (Second/Next Circuit pad CF-PD and DC-PD overlapping corresponding Display pads regions in the plan view (DR1, DR2)-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4); and
a conductive adhesive member (conductive adhesive member AF-C and AF-D- Examiner's annotated Fig 4) electrically connecting the circuit board and the display panel (conductive adhesive member AF-C and AF-D connecting circuit board CF+DC to display pads DP-PD and DP-CPD so to display panel-Examiner's annotated Fig 4; [0008] L8-9; [0075]; [0081]) and
including a photoinitiator(the conductive adhesive member material includes two resin layers, each resin layer includes a photoinitiator-[0009] L6-9, [0010] L12-14),
wherein the display panel includes:
a first display pad (First display pad DP-PD1-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4) disposed in the first pad region (DP-PD1 disposed in First/Lower pad region-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4) and
corresponding to the first circuit pad (Display pad DP-PD1 corresponding to Circuit pad DC-PD1-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4);
a second display pad disposed in the second pad region, corresponding to the second circuit pad(Second display pad DP-PD2 disposed in second/next pad region-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4), and
spaced apart from the first display pad in a plan view (DP-DP2 spaced apart from DP-PD1 in the plan view (DR1, DR2)-Examiner’s annotated Fig 4); and
a width of each of the first and second display pads in the first direction is less than a width of each of the first and second circuit pads in the first direction (Width of display pads DP-CPD is less than the width of circuit pads CF-PD because of the second layer CF-P2, in the DR1 direction as shown by the vertical dashed lines-Fig 9B).
Jang56 does not disclose a display device comprising
a first base part disposed under the first display pad in the first pad region; and
a second base part disposed under the second display pad in the second pad region and
spaced apart from the first base part in a plan view.
Park50 teaches a display device comprising
a first base part disposed under the first display pad in the first pad region (First base-part BP Right under the first display pad DPD Right-Examiner’s annotated Fig 15F); and
a second base part disposed under the second display pad in the second pad region (Second base-part BP Middle under the first display pad DPD Middle- Examiner’s annotated Fig 15F) and
spaced apart from the first base part in a plan view (Second base-part BP Middle spaced apart First base part BP Right-Examiner’s annotated Fig 15F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Jang56 as taught by Park50 for the purpose of improving reliability properties (Park50:[0029] of US 20220352290 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display device, namely “wherein the base layer further comprises a second insulating layer disposed under the first base film and a second base film disposed under the second insulating layer, the second insulating layer is disposed in the plurality of pad regions and the plurality of non-pad regions, the second base film includes second openings corresponding to the first openings, and the plurality of openings include the second openings.”
References such as Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56), Kang et al. (US20210375804A1-Kang04), Park et al. (US20210043600A1-Park00), and Park et al. (KR 20210005350 A-Park50 from IDS; US 20220352290 A1 used as a translation) combination, teaches a display device, but does not teach or suggest a display device, namely “wherein the base layer further comprises a second insulating layer disposed under the first base film and a second base film disposed under the second insulating layer, the second insulating layer is disposed in the plurality of pad regions and the plurality of non-pad regions, the second base film includes second openings corresponding to the first openings, and the plurality of openings include the second”, in combination with other claimed elements.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display device, namely “wherein a width of each of the first and second base parts in the first direction is less than a width of each of the first and second circuit pads in the first direction.”
References such as Jang et al. (US20210384156A1-Jang56), Kang et al. (US20210375804A1-Kang04), Park et al. (US20210043600A1-Park00), and Park et al. (KR 20210005350 A-Park50 from IDS; US 20220352290 A1 used as a translation) combination, teaches a display device, but does not teach or suggest a display device, namely “wherein a width of each of the first and second base parts in the first direction is less than a width of each of the first and second circuit pads in the first direction”, in combination with other claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jang et al. (US 20210041922 A1-Jang22) teaches a display device comprising a circuit board (DC+PB-Fig 5), a display panel (DP-Fig 3), with a plurality of pad regions, and non-pad regions (Fig 5), and with a conductive adhesive member (AF-[0092]).
Kang et al. (US20210376043A1-Kang43) teaches a display device comprising a circuit board (Abstract), a display panel (DP-Fig 3), with a plurality of pad regions, and non-pad regions (Fig 5).
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 01/21/2025
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812