Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 20210398908 A1) in view of Lee (US 20110260338 A1).
Regarding independent claim 11, Jin discloses a semiconductor package structure (Fig. 1) comprising:
a semiconductor die (120);
a molding compound (140) surrounding the semiconductor die;
a redistribution structure (110) over the semiconductor die and the molding compound (over in the DR3 direction);
an integrated passive device (IPD) package (210) over and electrically connected to the redistribution structure (over and electrically connected in the DR3 direction);
an underfill (200; [0086]: “underfill material”) between the IPD package and the redistribution structure;
a first frame-like trench (T, selecting the embodiment of Fig. 11, and designating T1/T2/T3 as the first trench. Note: the ordinary meaning of “frame” is used here; an open case or structure made for admitting, enclosing, or supporting something) in the redistribution structure, wherein the first frame-like trench laterally surrounds the IPD package in a top view of the semiconductor package structure (at least partially surrounds);
a second frame-like trench in the redistribution structure, wherein the second frame-like trench laterally surrounds the IPD package and the first frame-like trench in the top view; and
a separation structure disposed between and separating the first frame-like trench and the second frame-like trench from each other, wherein a topmost surface of the separation structure is aligned with a top surface of the redistribution structure.
Jin fails to teach “a second frame-like trench in the redistribution structure, wherein the second frame-like trench laterally surrounds the IPD package and the first frame-like trench in the top view; and
a separation structure disposed between and separating the first frame-like trench and the second frame-like trench from each other, wherein a topmost surface of the separation structure is aligned with a top surface of the redistribution structure”.
Lee discloses
a second frame-like trench (Figs. 6a and 6b: 201) in the redistribution structure (120), wherein the second frame-like trench laterally surrounds the IPD package (206 is relied upon here as a generic component; [0055]: “component”) and the first frame-like trench (200) in the top view; and
a separation structure (204) disposed between and separating the first frame-like trench and the second frame-like trench from each other (horizontally separating, See annotated Fig. 6a for direction designation), wherein a topmost surface of the separation structure (See annotated Fig. 6a for top direction designation) is aligned (204 shares an exact footprint with a surface of structure 120) with a top surface of the redistribution structure (See annotated Fig. 6a for top direction designation).
Modifying the redistribution structure of Jin by including the second frame-like structure and separation structure in the same way as Lee would arrive at the claimed trench configuration. Lee provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the second trench and separation structure in that it would protect the structure from excess underfill during manufacture ([0057]: “controlling the outward flow of excess underfill material”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each scenario the trenches perform the same function to control the flow of underfill (Jin: [0092]: “the flow of the first underfill…may be improved or enhanced”; Lee: [0057]: “controlling the outward flow of excess underfill material”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed trench and separation structure configuration because it would protect the structure from excess underfill during manufacture.
Illustrated below are marked and annotated figures of Figs. 6a and 6b of Lee.
Regarding claim 12, Jin in view of Lee discloses the semiconductor package structure of claim 11 (Jin: Fig. 13), wherein a portion of the underfill is disposed in the first frame-like trench (underfill 200 is in trench T1/T2/T3).
Regarding claim 13, Jin in view of Lee discloses the semiconductor package structure of claim 11 (Jin: Fig. 11), wherein a depth of the first frame-like trench (t2) is equal to a depth of the second frame-like trench (Lee: Fig. 6a shows multiple trenches 200 and 201 having equal depths. This same teaching is incorporated when including the second frame-like trench).
Regarding claim 14, Jin in view of Lee discloses the semiconductor package structure of claim 11 (Lee: Fig. 6a), wherein a portion of the underfill is disposed in the second frame-like trench (As reasoned in the claim 11 rejection, the second frame-like trench is included for controlling the flow of underfill. Lee: Fig. 6a shows underfill 216 in trench 201.).
Regarding claim 15, Jin in view of Lee discloses the semiconductor package structure of claim 11 (Lee: Fig. 6a), but fails to teach “wherein the second frame-like trench is free of the underfill”. However, Lee teaches the second frame-like trench performs the function of controlling the flow of excess underfill (Lee: [0057]: “controlling the outward flow of excess underfill material”). Separately, Lee teaches an embodiment with a lesser amount of excess underfill (Fig. 3g: 154), that does not flow beyond the wall structure (140). In situations with a lesser amount of excess underfill (of Fig. 3g), the second frame-like trench (of Fig. 6a) would be free of the underfill. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to have the claimed trench and underfill configuration for the same reasons as in the claim 11 rejection, because the second frame-like trench would provide protection from excess underfill regardless of whether the amount of excess underfill were sufficient to fill the trench (Lee: [0057]: “controlling the outward flow of excess underfill material”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed underfill configuration because it is the resultant configuration based on the amount of excess underfill. MPEP 2144.03.
Regarding claim 16, Jin in view of Lee discloses the semiconductor package structure of claim 11 (Jin: Fig. 1), further comprising at least an external connector (185) disposed and electrically connected to the redistribution structure (disposed over and electrically connected in the DR3 direction), wherein the first frame-like trench and the second frame-like trench are between the external connector and the IPD package (between in the DR2 direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the allowable subject matter of claims 1-10 is the inclusion of the limitation “a conductive wall structure laterally surrounding the trench, wherein the first UBM and the conductive wall structure comprise a same material, and a thickness of the conductive wall structure is equal to a thickness of the first UBM” in combination with the other limitations in the claim. For example, prior art of record fails to teach or be reasonably combined to render obvious the claimed limitations “conductive wall structure”, “same material”, and the equal “thickness” configuration in combination with all other limitations in claim 1 because the prior art lacks any specific dimensional relation or suggested relation among the walls and the UBM disclosed elsewhere in the art; these walls and UBM are not made in a way that would imply, or otherwise reasonably encompass any specific dimensional relation consistent with the claim.
The primary reason for the allowable subject matter of claims 17-20 is the inclusion of the limitation “forming a first UBM in the first opening, a second UBM in the second opening, and a conductive wall structure over the redistribution structure simultaneously” in combination with the other limitations in the claim. For example, prior art of record fails to teach or be reasonably combined to render obvious the claimed limitations “conductive wall structure”, “UBM”, and forming these structures “simultaneously” in combination with all other limitations in claim 17 because the prior art discloses these structures separately formed and cannot be reasonably combined to arrive at the claimed “simultaneously” method configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Lee ‘778 fails to teach or suggest a thickness of the alleged conductive wall structure is equal to a thickness of the first UBM. Further, the Office does not assert that a thickness of a conductive wall structure is equal to a thickness of the alleged UBM in Yu”. Remarks at pg. 2.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner agrees with Applicant’s remarks and finds amended claim 1 overcoming the prior art for reasons consistent with Applicant’s remarks.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 11 that “Lee fails to teach or suggest a separation structure disposed between the first and second frame-like trenches and having a topmost surface aligned with a top surface of the redistribution structure”. Remarks at pg. 2.
Examiner’s reply
The examiner disagrees and points to MPEP 2111: Broadest Reasonable Interpretation. The examiner finds “aligned” as claimed reasonably encompassing arrangements of parts beyond those explicitly disclosed by Applicant. At least one of these possible alternative arrangements is rendered obvious by Lee and is cited above in the rejection of claim 11.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 17 that “each Jin, Chou and Lee ‘778 fails to teach or suggest the features of the first UBM, the second UBM and the conductive structure. Jin in view of Chou and/or Lee ‘778 do not teach each and every element of the amended claim 17, and thus reconsideration and allowance of the amended claim 17 are respectfully requested”. Remarks at pg. 4.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner agrees with Applicant’s remarks and finds amended claim 17 overcoming the prior art for reasons consistent with Applicant’s remarks.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817