DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant's amendment filed June 24th, 2026. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-8 and 21-32 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 21, 23, 24, 26, 27, 29, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essert et al. (US 7,494,389 B1; hereinafter Essert) in view of Sudo et al. (US 2007/0138624 A1; hereinafter Sudo).
With respect to claim 1, Essert discloses an electronic device assembly in Figs. 1-4 comprising:
a substrate 35 (see Fig. 4, column 3, line 25-33, and column 3, line 64 - column 4, line 16);
a patterned metal layer 30 disposed on the substrate 35 (see Figs. 3, 4, column 3, line 11-28, and column 3, line 64 - column 4, line 6);
a semiconductor device circuit (of 36) implemented on the patterned metal layer 30 (see Figs. 3, 4, column 3, line 34-38, and column 3, line 64 - column 4, line 6); and
a molded body 40 including a plurality of pins (press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, and column 3, line 25-63), a pin of the plurality of pins including:
a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) extending out of a first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40, the first portion being externally accessible (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33);
a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) extending out of a second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40 opposite the first surface (outside of 40), the second portion: being internal in the electronic device assembly; electrically coupled with the patterned metal layer 30 (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 11 - column 4, line 33); and
a third portion (part of 1 within 40) disposed within the molded body 40 and extending between the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector outside of 40) and the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector inside of 40) (Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 57-67, and column 3, line 25-63).
Essert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of pins are signal pins.
Sudo discloses an electronic device assembly in at least Figs . 14 and 15 wherein a plurality of pins 16 are signal pins (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 83, 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of pins of Essert would be signal pins as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 1, wherein the molded body 40 includes a plurality of alignment features 42 configured to position the electronic device assembly in an encapsulation molding tool (see Essert: Fig. 4, column 2, line 57-67, and column 4, line 7-16; the limitation “configured to position the electronic device assembly in an encapsulation molding tool” is an intended use limitation, and it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (see MPEP 2114 II)).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 3, wherein the plurality of alignment features 42 includes at least one of: a plurality of recesses in the first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40; or a plurality of through-holes in the molded body 40 (see Essert: Fig. 4 and column 4, line 7-16).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 1, wherein the molded body 40 further includes a plurality of power tabs (other press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2), a power tab of the plurality of power tabs including: a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) arranged in a plane parallel to the first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33; note part of 1 is parallel to outside surface of 40 at side wall 41); and a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) orthogonal to the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector), the second portion of the power tab: extending from the second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40; being electrically continuous with the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) of the power tab; and being electrically coupled with the patterned metal layer 30 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 1 - column 4, line 33; as seen in the Figs part of 2 is perpendicular to part 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of tabs of Essert would be power tabs as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 5, wherein the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) of the power tab is disposed in a slot defined in the molded body 40 (see Essert: Figs. 3, 4, and column 3, line 25-56).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 5, wherein the power tab (other press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) is a single body that is bent to define the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) of the power tab and the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) of the power tab (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 38-47, column 3, line 25-63, and column 4, line 22-33; parts 1 and 2 are mechanically joined to form one press-fit connector; note bends in part 2).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 5, wherein the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) of the power tab (other press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) is a conductive post that electrically couples the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) of the power tab with the patterned metal layer 30 (see Essert: Figs. 3, 4, column 2, line 9-19, and column 3, line 11-33).
With respect to claim 21, Essert discloses an electronic device assembly in Figs. 1-4 comprising:
a semiconductor device circuit (of 36) coupled to a patterned metal layer 30 of a substrate 35 (see Figs. 3, 4, and column 3, line 33-38, and column 3 line 64 - column 4, line 16);
a molded body 40 coupled to the substrate 35 and disposed over the semiconductor device circuit (of 36), the molded body 40 including a plurality of pins (press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 25-63, and column 4, line 7-16), a pin of the plurality of pins including:
a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) extending out of a first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40, the first portion being externally accessible (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33);
a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) extending out of a second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40 opposite the first surface (outside of 40) (see Figs. 1-4, (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 38-47, and column 3, line 11 - column 4, line 33; and
a third portion (part of 1 within 40) disposed within the molded body 40 and extending between the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector outside of 40) and the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector inside of 40) (Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 57-67, and column 3, line 25-63); and
molding compound (insulating soft pottant) at least partially encapsulating the substrate 35 and the molded body 40 (see Fig. 4 and column 4, line 7-16).
Essert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of pins are signal pins.
Sudo discloses an electronic device assembly in at least Figs . 14 and 15 wherein a plurality of pins 16 are signal pins (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 83, 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of pins of Essert would be signal pins as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
With respect to claim 23, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21, wherein the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) is axially offset from the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 1 - column 4, line 33; note part 2 within interior of housing is offset from part 1).
With respect to claim 24, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21, wherein the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) is electrically coupled with a pad (of 30) of the patterned metal layer 30 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 11 - column 4, line 33).
With respect to claim 26, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21, wherein the molded body 40 further includes a plurality of power tabs (other press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, and column 3, line 25-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of tabs of Essert would be power tabs as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
With respect to claim 27, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 26, wherein a power tab of the plurality of power tabs includes: a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) arranged in a plane parallel to the first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33; note part of 1 is parallel to outside surface of 40 at side wall 41); and a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) orthogonal to the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector), the second portion of the power tab: extending from the second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40; being electrically continuous with the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) of the power tab; and being electrically coupled with the patterned metal layer 30 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 1 - column 4, line 33; as seen in the Figs part of 2 is perpendicular to part 1).
With respect to claim 29, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21, wherein the molded body 40 includes a plurality of alignment features 42 configured to position the electronic device assembly in an encapsulation molding tool (see Essert: Fig. 4, column 2, line 57-67, and column 4, line 7-16; the limitation “configured to position the electronic device assembly in an encapsulation molding tool” is an intended use limitation, and it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (see MPEP 2114 II)).
With respect to claim 30, Essert discloses a method in Figs. 1-4 comprising:
coupling a semiconductor device circuit (of 36) to a patterned metal layer 30 of a substrate 35 (see Figs. 3, 4, and column 3, line 33-38, and column 3 line 64 - column 4, line 16);
coupling a molded body 40 to the substrate 35 and disposed over the semiconductor device circuit (of 36), the molded body 40 including a plurality of pins (press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 25-63, and column 4, line 7-16), a pin of the plurality of pins including:
a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) extending out of a first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40, the first portion being externally accessible (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33);
a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) extending out of a second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40 opposite the first surface (outside of 40) (see Figs. 1-4, (see Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 38-47, and column 3, line 11 - column 4, line 33); and
a third portion (part of 1 within 40) disposed within the molded body 40 and extending between the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector outside of 40) and the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector inside of 40) (Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 2, line 57-67, and column 3, line 25-63); and
encapsulating at least a portion of the substrate 35 and the molded body 40 in a molding compound (insulating soft pottant) (see Fig. 4 and column 4, line 7-16).
Essert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of pins are signal pins.
Sudo discloses a method in at least Figs . 14 and 15 wherein a plurality of pins 16 are signal pins (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 83, 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of pins of Essert would be signal pins as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that methods of such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
With respect to claim 32, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the molded body 40 further includes a plurality of power tabs (other press-fit connectors with first and second parts 1 and 2) (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, and column 3, line 25-63), wherein a power tab of the plurality of power tabs includes: a first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector) arranged in a plane parallel to the first surface (outside of 40) of the molded body 40 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55-61, column 2, line 1-8, column 3, line 39-63, and column 4, line 17-33; note part of 1 is parallel to outside surface of 40 at side wall 41); and a second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector) orthogonal to the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector), the second portion of the power tab extending from the second surface (inside of 40) of the molded body 40 and contacting the substrate 35 (see Essert: Figs. 1-4, column 1, line 55 - column 2, line 19, column 3, line 1 - column 4, line 33; as seen in the Figs part of 2 is perpendicular to part 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of tabs of Essert would be power tabs as taught by Sudo because it is well known in the art that methods of such electronic device assemblies include a plurality of DC (direct current) source terminals 12a, AC (alternate current) drive terminals 12b, and signal terminals 16 for proper functionality (see MPEP 2144 I and paragraph 84 of Sudo).
Claims 2, 22, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essert et al. (US 7,494,389 B1; hereinafter Essert) in view of Sudo et al. (US 2007/0138624 A1; hereinafter Sudo) as applied to claims 1, 21 or 30 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0247735 A1; hereinafter Lin).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose wherein the signal pin is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion.
Lin discloses an electronic device assembly in Figs. 2, 5, and 6 wherein a signal pin (86, comprising 110, 112, 114) is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends (between 110/112 and between 112/114), the signal pin is electrically continuous between a first portion 110, a third portion 112, and a second portion 114 (see Lin. Figs. 2, 5, 6, and paragraphs 61-63. See Sudo: Fig. 14 and paragraph 84 for teaching of signal pins).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the signal pin of the combination of Essert and Sudo would be a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion as taught by Lin. Thus, a perimeter defined by a plurality of elastic couplers 84 outside the package, such as shown with semiconductor package (package) 120 of FIG. 9, may be smaller than a perimeter formed by the same plurality of elastic couplers 84 within the package (see Lin: paragraph 62).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21.
The combination does not disclose wherein the signal pin is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion.
Lin discloses an electronic device assembly in Figs. 2, 5, and 6 wherein a signal pin (86, comprising 110, 112, 114) is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends (between 110/112 and between 112/114), the signal pin is electrically continuous between a first portion 110, a third portion 112, and a second portion 114 (see Lin. Figs. 2, 5, 6, and paragraphs 61-63. See Sudo: Fig. 14 and paragraph 84 for teaching of signal pins).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the signal pin of the combination of Essert and Sudo would be a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion as taught by Lin. Thus, a perimeter defined by a plurality of elastic couplers 84 outside the package, such as shown with semiconductor package (package) 120 of FIG. 9, may be smaller than a perimeter formed by the same plurality of elastic couplers 84 within the package (see Lin: paragraph 62).
With respect to claim 28, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the third portion extends in a plane parallel to the first surface and connecting the first portion to the second portion.
Lin discloses an electronic device assembly in Figs. 2, 5, and 6 wherein a third portion 112 extends in a plane parallel to a first surface (outside top surface 66 of housing 62) and connecting a first portion 110 to second portion 114 (see Figs. 2, 5, 6, and paragraphs 59, 61-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the third portion of the combination of Essert and Sudo would extend in a plane parallel to the first surface and connecting the first portion to the second portion as taught by Lin. Thus, a perimeter defined by a plurality of elastic couplers 84 outside the package, such as shown with semiconductor package (package) 120 of FIG. 9, may be smaller than a perimeter formed by the same plurality of elastic couplers 84 within the package (see Lin: paragraph 62).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essert et al. (US 7,494,389 B1; hereinafter Essert) in view of Sudo et al. (US 2007/0138624 A1; hereinafter Sudo) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Nonaka (US 2023/0269868 A1).
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the electronic device assembly of claim 21.
The combination does not disclose wherein the first portion extends through the molding compound.
Nonaka discloses an electronic device assembly in at least Fig. 1 wherein a first portion (part of 40a, 40b outside of 50 and 51) extends through a molding compound 60 (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 44, 62, 63, 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first portion of Essert and Sudo would extend through the molding compound as taught by Nonaka so as to further improve the dielectric strength of the assembly (see MPEP 2144 I).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essert et al. (US 7,494,389 B1; hereinafter Essert) in view of Sudo et al. (US 2007/0138624 A1; hereinafter Sudo) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0247735 A1; hereinafter Lin) and Nonaka (US 2023/0269868 A1).
With respect to claim 31, the combination of Essert and Sudo discloses the method of claim 30.
The combination does not disclose wherein: the signal pin is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion; and the first portion extends through the molding compound.
Lin discloses a method for an electronic device assembly in Figs. 2, 5, and 6 wherein a signal pin (86, comprising 110, 112, 114) is a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends (between 110/112 and between 112/114), the signal pin is electrically continuous between a first portion 110, a third portion 112, and a second portion 114 (see Lin. Figs. 2, 5, 6, and paragraphs 61-63. See Sudo: Fig. 14 and paragraph 84 for teaching of signal pins).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the signal pin of the method of the combination of Essert and Sudo would be a single body signal pin and includes a plurality of bends, the signal pin is electrically continuous between the first portion, the third portion, and the second portion as taught by Lin. Thus, a perimeter defined by a plurality of elastic couplers 84 outside the package, such as shown with semiconductor package (package) 120 of FIG. 9, may be smaller than a perimeter formed by the same plurality of elastic couplers 84 within the package (see Lin: paragraph 62).
Nonaka discloses a method for an electronic device assembly in at least Fig. 1 wherein a first portion (part of 40a, 40b outside of 50 and 51) extends through a molding compound 60 (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 44, 62, 63, 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first portion of Essert and Sudo would extend through the molding compound as taught by Nonaka so as to further improve the dielectric strength of the assembly (see MPEP 2144 I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to independent claims 1, 21, and 30, the applicant argues that To meet the "molded body" limitation, the Examiner relies on Essert's component 40. However, Essert explicitly describes component 40 as a "cast housing frame" or "cast housing 40 having side walls 41" which constitutes the final outer housing of the entire power semiconductor module. Essert does not disclose or suggest a dedicated, pre-molded internal body disposed over the semiconductor device circuit that is used to hold pins (e.g., signal pins) and is structurally distinct from the module's outer housing. Therefore, Essert fails to teach a "molded body" out of which a first portion that is externally accessible and a second portion of a pin extends to remain internal to the electronic device assembly, as recited in the claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the molded boy is a dedicated, pre-molded internal body disposed over the semiconductor device circuit that is used to hold pins (e.g., signal pins) and is structurally distinct from the module's outer housing) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Essert discloses the third portion (part of 1 within 40) disposed within the molded body 40 and extending between the first portion (part 1 of press-fit connector outside of 40) and the second portion (part 2 of press-fit connector inside of 40) and the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893