DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 2-10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 4 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the second electrode film has a binder holding the active material and conductivity” may be more appropriately written to connect the conductivity with the binder (e.g. the second electrode film has a binder holding the active material and the binder having conductivity). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voskian et al. (US 2021/0387139).
Regarding claim 1, Voskian discloses a gas separation system (abstract) (= a gas adsorption system) comprising:
A first patterned electrode (111) [0148] (Figure 1B) configured to adsorb and release a target gas (e.g. CO2, SO2 [0060]-[0061]) from a mixed gas (e.g. air, [0142]) (= a first electrode film configured to adsorb and desorb a target gas from a mixed gas containing the target gas to be recovered by an electrochemical reaction); and
A second patterned electrode (112) [0148] including electroactive species (abstract, [0005], [0089]) (= a second electrode film having an active material to transfer electrons to and from the first electrode film), wherein
The electronically conductive particles (e.g. 224 of conductive scaffold 220 of patterned electrode (210) [0149], [0151], [0179]) having a small particle size of nanotubes for example [0151] (= the active material has a particle size less than or equal to 10 µm). A nanotube falls within the range of less than or equal to 10 µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voskian et al. (US 2021/0387139) and alternatively claim(s) 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voskian et al. (US 2021/0387139).
Regarding claim 11, Voskian discloses wherein the patterned electrode comprises a binder comprising a conductive material [0120] (= the second electrode film has a binder holding the active material and conductivity). Voskian discloses the composite material of the electrode comprising a carrier solvent [0175]-[0176]. The claimed “the active material and the binder are mixed into a mixed solvent, and a solubility parameter of the mixed solvent is adjusted by mixing at least two kinds of solvents, relative to the active material and the binder” is directed towards product by process claim language. Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. The solvent of the instant claims do not appear to alter the claimed structure. Alternatively, the disclosure of Voskian reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than the product claimed. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claim 12, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “the solubility parameter of the mixed solvent” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Regarding claim 13, Voskian discloses electroactive species comprising ferrocene [0105].
Regarding claim 14, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “the solubility parameter of the mixed solvent” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Regarding claim 15, Voskian discloses poly(vinylidene) fluoride [0119].
Regarding claim 16, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “the mixed solvent is made of a first solvent…the binder” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Regarding claim 17, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “a Hansen solubility parameters…for the second solvent” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Regarding claim 18, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “a mixture of the first solvent…and the second solvent” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Regarding claim 19, similar to claim 11 above, the claimed “a surfactant is mixed into a mixture…so as to provide the mixed solvent” does not appear to structurally limit or alter the claimed product (e.g. electrode).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0145002 electroactive composite layer
US 2025/0343249 electrochemical cell
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795