DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim 1 is withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 17 November 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kudo et al. (US 2018/0216243).
Regarding claim 2, Kudo discloses an electrolytic device for carbon dioxide gas mix (abstract, [0044]) (= a gas recovery system configured to recover a recovery target gas from a gas mixture by an electrochemical reaction, the gas recovery system), comprising:
A cathode (22) that collects and reduces carbon dioxide [0022] (= a working electrode that adsorbs the recovery target gas);
An anode (11) that exchanges electrons [0040] (= a counter electrode that exchanges electrons with the working electrode);
A cathode current collector (24) [0022] that is in contact with the cathode (22) (Figure 10) (= a working electrode current collector in contact with the working electrode to electrically connect the working electrode and the counter electrode);
An anode current collector (13) in electrical contact with the anode, the anode and cathode and current collectors connected through power supply (40) (= a counter-electrode current collector in contact with the counter electrode to electrically connect the working electrode and the counter electrode);
The cathode current collector having an opening (24a) [0052] (= the working electrode current collector has a working electrode opening to expose the working electrode to the gas mixture); and
The anode current collector (13) is formed as a plate (Figure 10) (= the counter electrode current collector is formed to prohibit contact between the gas mixture and the counter electrode). Regarding the claimed “is formed to prohibit contact between the gas mixture and the counter electrode”, the instant specification indicates that a plate-like member without openings prohibits contact between the gas mixture and the counter electrode [0076]. Since Kudo discloses a plate-like current collector, the disclosure of Kudo reads on the claimed “is formed to prohibit contact between the gas mixture and the counter electrode”.
Figure 10 of US 2018/0216243.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al. (US 2018/0216243) in view of Dinh et al. (US 2020/0141015).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kudo discloses a current collector thickness of 1 mm or less [0052] as applied to claim 4. Kudo does not disclose the counter electrode formed of a plurality of fine particles and is silent in regards the surface roughness of the current collector.
In the same or similar field of carbon dioxide gas electrochemical treatment devices [0002], [0004], Dinh discloses a device comprising an electrode with nanoparticles (10-100nm) as a catalyst layer (abstract, [0004], [0039]). Regarding a surface roughness, Dinh discloses that a surface roughness can have an impact on optimal current densities due to variations in surface area for example [0027]. Dinh discloses that an electrode may have a surface roughness in the micron range [0039].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an electrode comprising particles because Dinh discloses metallic nanoparticles for providing a catalytic material to an electrode as applied to claim 3. Regarding the surface roughness, it would have been obvious to adjust the surface roughness to have an optimal current density as applied to claims 3-4. The thickness of the electrode being greater in thickness (e.g. millimeter range) as applied to claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al. (US 2018/0216243) in view of Tsujimura et al. (JP 2006-056749, see IDS 29 January 2026).
Regarding claim 5, Kudo fails to disclose wherein a buffer layer is formed between the counter electrode current collector and the counter electrode to improve adhesion between the counter electrode current collector and the counter electrode.
In the same or similar field of electrochemical gas processing devices, Tsujimura discloses an electrochemical cell comprising electrodes (2, 3) having an intermediate layer (7) between the electrodes are the respective current collectors (4, 5). Tsujimura discloses the intermediate layer (7) for improving the adhesion between the electrodes and the current collector [0024].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kudo with the intermediate layer of Tsujimura for improving the adhesion between the electrodes and current collectors.
Figure 3 of JP 2006-056749.
Conclusion
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795