DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Specie A (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 8/19/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims are not species and species always refer to different embodiments of the invention. Applicants argue that the inventions are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because the 2D polymer material is either removed or the 2D polymer remains. Moreover, the 2D polymer material is either deposited, or formed on a substrate surface. Rejoinder will be addressed upon indication of allowable subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zandi et al (US 2024/0017290).
With respect to Claim 1, Zandi et al discloses a method of microfabrication, the method comprising: depositing a two-dimensional (2D) polymer material (paragraphs 45 and 76) over a substrate surface (Figures 5A-5C) having a first material and a second material such that the 2D polymer (530) adheres to the first material without adhering to the second material; depositing a target material (paragraph 4 and 57) over the second material, the 2D material adhered to the first material inhibiting deposition of the target material over the first material; and removing the 2D polymer material (paragraphs 9 and 78). See Figures 5A-5C and 6A-6D and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 44-80.
With respect to Claim 2,and the limitation “ the first material is hydrophilic and the second material is hydrophobic”, the limitation is inherent, as the same materials and reaction conditions are disclosed.
With respect to Claim 3, Zandi et al discloses further comprising depositing, prior to depositing the 2D polymer material, a surface modification treatment over the second material, depositing the surface modification treatment increasing a hydrophobicity of the second material. See Figures 5A-5B and 6A-6C and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 4, Zandi et al discloses wherein the surface modification treatment comprises a self-assembled monolayer that increases a hydrophobicity of the second material. See Figures 5A-5B and 6A-6C and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 6, Zandi et al discloses wherein the first material is a first metal and the second material is a second metal; or the first material is a first dielectric material and the second material is a second dielectric material. See paragraphs 79-80.
With respect to Claim 7, Zandi et al discloses wherein the first material is a dielectric material and the second material is a metal material. See paragraphs 49-52 and 76.
With respect to Claim 8, Zandi et al discloses wherein the first material is a metal material and the second material is a dielectric material. See paragraph 76.
With respect to Claim 9, Zandi et al discloses wherein the deposited thickness of the 2D polymer material is greater than one nanometer. See paragraph 53.
With respect to Claim 10, Zandi et al discloses wherein the 2D polymer material is deposited by spin-on deposition. See paragraph 10.
With respect to Claim 11, Zandi et al discloses the 2D polymer material is deposited by a vacuum based deposition process. See paragraph 10, ALD.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 5, the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious inter alia “ further comprising cleaning, prior to depositing the target material over the second material, surfaces of the second material using one or more meta;-containing chemistries, the one or more metal-containing chemistries including one or more of trimethylaluminum (TMA), silanol, alkoxides, metal halides or organometals”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
October 28, 2025
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812