Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 09/02/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the different species are linked by a generic claim and therefore there is not a serious burden placed upon the examiner. This is not found persuasive because if a generic claim to the species is found allowable, then all of the species will be allowed. However, there is still a serious burden placed upon the examiner by the different species due to the different search strategies or search queries that will need to be employed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu, US 2019/0304862.
Lu shows the invention as claimed including an electronic package, comprising:
A carrier 40 having a circuit layer (80,82, fig. 1) a first side and a second side opposing the first side;
A second electronic element 22 disposed on the second side of the carrier and electrically connected to the circuit layer;
An encapsulation layer 12 formed on the second side of the carrier and covering the second electronic element, wherein the encapsulation layer has at least one opening exposing part of the circuit layer (see, for example, fig. 3K);
A metal structure 681 contact-bonded on a wall surface of the opening; and
A conductive element 682 formed on the metal structure and electrically connected to the circuit layer (see, for example, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0023-0067).
Concerning dependent claim 2, note that in Lu the carrier is a packaging substrate with a coreless circuit structure (see paragraph 0028, 0061, and fig. 1).
With respect to dependent claim 5, note that the metal structure is shown to be contact bonded to the circuit layer (again, see fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, note that the metal structure 681 is shown to be a single metal layer (see fig. 1).
Concerning dependent claim 7, note that the conductive element 682 protrudes from the opening (see fig. 1).
Additionally, concerning dependent claim 16, note that Lu discloses wherein the conductive element 682 is in contact with the entire metal structure 681 in the opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, US 2019/0304862 in view of He, US 2020/0251395.
Lu is applied as above but does not expressly disclose a first electronic element disposed on the first side of the carrier and electrically connected to the circuit layer and covered by a packaging layer. He discloses a first electronic component 21 disposed on a first side of a carrier, electrically connected to the circuit layer, and covered with a packaging layer 24 (see Figure 2D and its description). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Lu so as to comprise the claimed first electronic element configuration because in such a way a packaged device with high integration and elements on both sides of the carrier can be constructed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al., US 2025/0062185 discloses covering an electronic element with encapsulation (see abstract), and Ng et al., US 2020/0402965 discloses forming electronic elements on opposing sides of a circuit structure (see abstract).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
November 10, 2025