Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, US 2019/0304862 in view of Sapone, U.S. Patent 8,890,319.
Lu shows the invention substantially as claimed including an electronic package, comprising:
A carrier 40 having a circuit layer (80,82, fig. 1) a first side and a second side opposing the first side;
A second electronic element 22 disposed on the second side of the carrier and electrically connected to the circuit layer;
An encapsulation layer 12 formed on the second side of the carrier and covering the second electronic element, wherein the encapsulation layer has at least one opening exposing part of the circuit layer (see, for example, fig. 3K);
A metal structure 681 contact-bonded on a wall surface of the opening; and
A conductive element 682 formed on the metal structure and electrically connected to the circuit layer (see, for example, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0023-0067).
Lu does not expressly disclose wherein the metal structure is a combination of a plurality of metal layers stacked on each other. Sapone discloses a metal structure that is a combination of a plurality of metal layers (270,280) stacked on each other in an opening adjacent a solder ball 290 (see fig. 2C and col. 5-line 48 to col. 6-line 2). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Lu so as to utilize a plurality of metal layers as the metal structure as disclosed by Sapone because such a configuration is shown to be suitable for use in solder ball configurations.
Concerning dependent claim 2, note that in Lu the carrier is a packaging substrate with a coreless circuit structure (see paragraph 0028, 0061, and fig. 1).
With respect to dependent claim 5, note that the metal structure in Lu is shown to be contact bonded to the circuit layer (again, see fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, note that the metal structure 681 in Lu is shown to be a single metal layer (see fig. 1).
Concerning dependent claim 7, note that the conductive element 682 protrudes from the opening in Lu (see fig. 1).
Additionally, concerning dependent claim 16, note that Lu discloses wherein the conductive element 682 is in contact with the entire metal structure 681 in the opening.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, US 2019/0304862 in view of in view of Sapone, U.S. Patent 8,890,319 as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, and 16, and further in view of He, US 2020/0251395.
Lu and Sapone are applied as above but do not expressly disclose a first electronic element disposed on the first side of the carrier and electrically connected to the circuit layer and covered by a packaging layer. He discloses a first electronic component 21 disposed on a first side of a carrier, electrically connected to the circuit layer, and covered with a packaging layer 24 (see Figure 2D and its description). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Lu modified by Sapone so as to comprise the claimed first electronic element configuration because in such a way a packaged device with high integration and elements on both sides of the carrier can be constructed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
June 30, 2026