DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 and 16-19 are under consideration
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Applicant traverses on grounds of sufficiently related subject matter. This basis does not overcome the burden as established in the restriction requirement mailed 10/30/2025. Applicant may request rejoinder if appropriate under MPEP should allowable subject matter be identified; as such, the remarks are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are not appropriately labeled (such as “FIG. 1”).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is more than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
It is unclear if the claim limitation of a “compound containing two or more nitrogen atoms having a glycidyl group represented by the following formula (C-2)” requires both structures in formula (C-2) or if it only requires at least one of the two shown structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemura (US20200041903A1, published 2020) in view of Tsubaki (US20120315449A1, published 2012).
Regarding claim 1-2, 4, and 6-19,
Takemura teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising of a solvent and an alkali-soluble polymer having a polyamide structural unit, a polyamide-imide structural unit, or a polyimide structural unit, selected from a polyamide, a polyamide-imide, a polyimide, a polyimide precursor, a polybenzoxazole, and a polybenzoxazole precursor, including a reaction product of a diamine containing at least one of a diamine shown by the following general formula (1) and a diamine shown by the following general formula (2), together with at least one of a tetracarboxylic dianhydride shown by the following general formula (3) as well as a dicarboxylic acid and a dicarboxylic halide shown by the following general formula (4) [abstract].
Takemura teaches an example resin formed from 6FAP and AN-9 [0282], reading on the instant resin (A), reading on instant claims 4, 6-9, and 13.
Takemura teaches a photoacid generator [0044], reading on the instant photoacid generator (B).
Takemura teaches a crosslinking agent may be the following [0222], where u is 1-3, reading on the instant crosslinking agent (C).
Takemura teaches a thermal acid generator as shown below [0316], reading on the instant onium salt (D), reading on instant claim 2.
However, Takemura only discloses their composition for use as a positive photosensitive resin composition.
Tsubaki, analogous art, teaches a positive resist composition decreases solubility in a negative developer when exposed to irradiation, then developing with a negative developer [abstract], functioning as a negative resist composition.
As both Takemura and Tsubaki teaches positive resist compositions, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the resist film of Takemura may similarly function as a negative photoresist composition when exposed then developed with a negative developer, reading on instant claim 1.
Takemura teaches their resin may further contain a tetracarboxylic acid diester unit shown by the following general formula (22), wherein W1 represents a tetravalent organic group, and R16 is more preferably group shown by the following general formula ( 23-1 ) [0034-0037],
where Rf is a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group or an aromatic group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, provided that all of or a part of the hydrogen atoms is substituted by a fluorine atom, reading on instant claims 10-12.
Takemura teaches that a cured film of their invention is excellent as a protective film for electric and electronic parts as well as an insulating protective film using the polymer as a base resin [0079], reading on instant claims 16-19.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urano (US20170298186A1, published 2020).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, and 16-19,
Urano teaches negative photosensitive resin composition comprising of a polyimide precursor polymer, a solvent, a photoacid generator, and one or two or more crosslinking agents selected from an amino condensate modified with formaldehyde or formaldehyde-alcohol, a phenol compound having on average two or more methylol groups or alkoxymethylol groups per molecule, a polyhydric phenol compound in which a hydrogen atom of a phenolic hydroxyl group is substituted with a glycidyl group, a polyhydric phenol compound in which a hydrogen atom of a phenolic hydroxyl group is substituted with a substituent shown by the following formula (C-1), and a compound containing two or more nitrogen atoms bonded to a glycidyl group as shown by the following formula (C-2),
wherein the dotted line represents a bond, Rc represents a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and “s” represents 1 or 2 [abstract, 0055-0059], reading on the instant components (A), (B), (C), and (E).
Urano further teaches including an onium salt comprising of iodonium or sulfonium cations, such as diphenyliodonium trifluoromethanesulfonate and triphenylsulfonium trifluoromethanesulfonate, which may be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds [0187-0193], reading on the instant component (D), reading on instant claims 1 and 5.
Urano teaches a thermal acid generator as shown below [0341], aligning with the instant component (D) and reading on instant claim 2.
Urano teaches their polymer formed from the following precursor,
where X1 represents a tetravalent organic group and R1 may preferably be the following formula (3) [0026-0030], reading on instant claims 10-11.
Urano teaches their cured film can serve as an excellent top coat for protecting electric and electronic parts or an excellent insulating top coat [0083], reading on instant claims 16-19.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano (US20170298186A1, published 2020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oono (US6723483B1, published 2004).
Regarding claim 3,
Urano teaches the above limitations set forth.
Urano fails to teach their onium salt with an anion as shown in instant claim 3.
Oono, analogous art, teaches a sulfonium salt compound used as an acid generator and a photo polymerization initiator used in the chemically amplified resist compositions [col 1 lines 5-17], which may be a compound shown by general formula [3], where Zp- is an anion derived from a carboxylic acid, each X is a phenyl group, and p may be 1 [col 2 lines 46-61],
where the carboxylic acid may be shown with formula [4], where R5 may be an aliphatic hydrocarbon group which may be a C1-C20 alkyl group [col 5 line 48 to col 6 line 6].
As both Urano and Oono teach sulfonium salts for use as photoacid generators in resist compositions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using a carboxylic acid derived anion as disclosed by Oono with the sulfonium salt of Urano would result in a comparable and expected photosensitive resist composition.
That is, the substitution of the carboxylic acid derived anion of Oono for the anion of Urano, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of functioning as a photoacid generator in a photosensitive resist composition, reading on instant claim 3. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 1, 4-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Iio (US20220043348A1, published 2/20/2022).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, and 9,
Iio teaches a negative photosensitive resin composition comprising of an alkali-soluble resin containing at least one or more structures selected from a polyimide structure, a polyamide structure, a polybenzoxazole structure, a polyamide-imide structure, and a precursor structure thereof, a compound that generates an acid by light (photoacid generator), a crosslinking agent [abstract], and a solvent [0171], aligning with the instant components (A), (B), and (E).
Iino teaches their crosslinking agent is more preferably selected from an amino condensate modified by formaldehyde or formaldehyde-alcohol; and a phenol compound having two or more methylol groups or alkoxymethylol groups by average in one molecule [0138], aligning with the instant component (C).
Iino teaches their photoacid generator may be a sulfonium salt comprising of a triphenylsulfonium cation and a trifluoromethanesulfonate anion [0116-0117], where one of their acid generators may be used or a combination of two or more thereof may be used [0128], aligning with the instant component (D), reading on instant claims 1 and 5.
Iino teaches their polymer may be formed from 2,2-bis(3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl)hexafluoropropane (6FAP) and 3,3′,4,4′-oxydiphthalic dianhydride (s-ODPA) [0198], reading on instant claims 4 and 9.
Conclusion
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734