DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims and abstract were submitted on 08/26/2026, claim 2 is canceled, and the 112(d) rejection to claim 2 is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 5-13, and 16-19 are under consideration
Claims 2-4 are canceled
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemura (US20200041903A1, published 2020) in view of Tsubaki (US20120315449A1, published 2012) and Ohashi (US20100055608A1, published 2010).
Regarding claims 1, 6-13, and 16-19,
Takemura teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising of a solvent and an alkali-soluble polymer having a polyamide structural unit, a polyamide-imide structural unit, or a polyimide structural unit, selected from a polyamide, a polyamide-imide, a polyimide, a polyimide precursor, a polybenzoxazole, and a polybenzoxazole precursor, including a reaction product of a diamine containing at least one of a diamine shown by the following general formula (1) and a diamine shown by the following general formula (2), together with at least one of a tetracarboxylic dianhydride shown by the following general formula (3) as well as a dicarboxylic acid and a dicarboxylic halide shown by the following general formula (4) [abstract].
Takemura teaches an example resin formed from 6FAP and AN-9 [0282], reading on the instant resin (A), reading on instant claims 6-9, and 13.
Takemura teaches a photoacid generator [0044], reading on the instant photoacid generator (B).
Takemura teaches a crosslinking agent may be the following [0222], where u is 1-3, reading on the instant crosslinking agent (C).
Takemura teaches a thermal acid generator as shown below [0316].
However, Takemura fails to teach a compound aligning with that of instant component (D).
Ohashi, analogous art, teaches a resist composition comprising of photoacid generator [0002] which further contains a quencher as a compound capable of suppressing the rate of diffusion when the acid generated by the acid generator diffuses within the resist film. The inclusion of quencher facilitates adjustment of resist sensitivity and holds down the rate of acid diffusion within the resist film, resulting in better resolution. In addition, it suppresses changes in sensitivity following exposure and reduces substrate and environment dependence, as well as improving the exposure latitude and the pattern profile [0206-0207]. Ohashi teaches the quencher may be a nitrogen containing compound such as tetrabutylammonium acetate [0208, 0223].
As both Ohashi and Takemura teach photosensitive resist compositions comprising of a photoacid generator, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the a tetrabutylammonium acetate quencher as taught by Ohashi to the composition of Takemura for the benefits disclosed by Ohashi.
However, Takemura only discloses their composition for use as a positive photosensitive resin composition.
Tsubaki, analogous art, teaches a positive resist composition decreases solubility in a negative developer when exposed to irradiation, then developing with a negative developer [abstract], functioning as a negative resist composition.
As both Takemura and Tsubaki teaches positive resist compositions, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the resist film of Takemura may similarly function as a negative photoresist composition when exposed then developed with a negative developer, reading on instant claim 1.
Takemura teaches their resin may further contain a tetracarboxylic acid diester unit shown by the following general formula (22), wherein W1 represents a tetravalent organic group, and R16 is more preferably group shown by the following general formula ( 23-1 ) [0034-0037],
where Rf is a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group or an aromatic group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, provided that all of or a part of the hydrogen atoms is substituted by a fluorine atom, reading on instant claims 10-12.
Takemura teaches that a cured film of their invention is excellent as a protective film for electric and electronic parts as well as an insulating protective film using the polymer as a base resin [0079], reading on instant claims 16-19.
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iio (US20220043348A1, published 2/20/2022) in view of Ohashi (US20100055608A1, published 2010).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 9,
Iio teaches a negative photosensitive resin composition comprising of an alkali-soluble resin containing at least one or more structures selected from a polyimide structure, a polyamide structure, a polybenzoxazole structure, a polyamide-imide structure, and a precursor structure thereof, a compound that generates an acid by light (photoacid generator), a crosslinking agent [abstract], and a solvent [0171], aligning with the instant components (A), (B), and (E).
Iio teaches their crosslinking agent is more preferably selected from an amino condensate modified by formaldehyde or formaldehyde-alcohol; and a phenol compound having two or more methylol groups or alkoxymethylol groups by average in one molecule [0138], aligning with the instant component (C).
Iio teaches their photoacid generator may be a sulfonium salt comprising of a triphenylsulfonium cation and a trifluoromethanesulfonate anion [0116-0117], where one of their acid generators may be used or a combination of two or more thereof may be used [0128], reading on instant claim 5.
Iio teaches their polymer may be formed from 2,2-bis(3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl)hexafluoropropane (6FAP) and 3,3′,4,4′-oxydiphthalic dianhydride (s-ODPA) [0198], reading on instant claim 9.
However, Iio fails to teach a compound aligning with that of instant component (D).
Ohashi, analogous art, teaches a resist composition comprising of photoacid generator [0002] which further contains a quencher as a compound capable of suppressing the rate of diffusion when the acid generated by the acid generator diffuses within the resist film. The inclusion of quencher facilitates adjustment of resist sensitivity and holds down the rate of acid diffusion within the resist film, resulting in better resolution. In addition, it suppresses changes in sensitivity following exposure and reduces substrate and environment dependence, as well as improving the exposure latitude and the pattern profile [0206-0207]. Ohashi teaches the quencher may be a nitrogen containing compound such as tetrabutylammonium acetate [0208, 0223].
As both Ohashi and Iio teach photosensitive resist compositions comprising of a photoacid generator, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the a tetrabutylammonium acetate quencher as taught by Ohashi to the composition of Iio for the benefits disclosed by Ohashi, reading on instant claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/26/2026 with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the new claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ohashi.
Conclusion
/Alexander N. Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1737