DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 4/14/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are pending. Claims 11-15 and 17-20 are withdrawn. Claims 6 and 16 are cancelled. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 1 is independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 4/14/2026, with respect to independent claim 1, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered moot and not persuasive, respectfully, in light of new grounds of rejections using a new interpretation of the prior art of Chen as noted below in the rejection of independent claim 1, specifically the interpretation of the claimed “circuit structure” as electrical contacts 17 and the claimed “shielding portion” as conductive layer 15 in Chen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2021/0287997 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figure 1 of Chen discloses an electronic package, comprising:
an encapsulating layer 12 (“dielectric layer”- ¶0036) having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface;
an electronic element 13 (“electronic component”- ¶0034) embedded in the encapsulating layer 12;
a shielding layer 10c2 (“conductive layer”, which is part of shielding structure SD2- ¶0041) formed on the first surface of the encapsulating layer 12 and covering the electronic element 13;
a plurality of shielding pillars 11v (“conductive via”, which are part of shielding structure SD1- ¶0041) embedded in the encapsulating layer 12 and in communication with the first surface and the second surface to contact and connect the shielding layer 10c2;
a circuit structure 17 (“electrical contacts”- ¶0027) formed on the second surface of the encapsulating layer 12 and electrically connected to the electronic element 13 (¶0037); and
a shielding portion 15 (“conductive layer”, which is part of shielding structure SD1- ¶0041) formed on an underside of the circuit structure 17 and the second surface of the encapsulating layer 12, and connected to the plurality of shielding pillars 11v.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1 of Chen discloses the electronic package further comprising a bonding layer 11 (“dielectric layer… adhesive layer”- ¶0034) formed between the shielding layer 10c2 and the electronic element 13.
Regarding claim 3, Figure 1 of Chen discloses wherein the shielding layer 10c2 is in indirect contact with the electronic element 13.
Regarding claim 4, Figure 1 of Chen discloses wherein a width of each of the plurality of shielding pillars 11v is greater than a thickness of the shielding layer 10c2.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1 of Chen discloses wherein the electronic element 13 is surrounded by the plurality of shielding pillars 11v.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 1 of Chen discloses wherein the shielding portion 15 is formed on side surfaces (i.e., bottom horizontal side surfaces) of the circuit structure 17.
Regarding claim 9, Figure 1 of Chen discloses the electronic package further comprising an insulating protection layer 16 (“protecting layer”- ¶0038) covering at least part of the shielding portion 15.
Regarding claim 10, Figure 1 of Chen discloses wherein a maximum width of the circuit structure 17 is less than a width of the second surface of the encapsulating layer 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record including Chen, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “wherein the shielding portion is arranged obliquely relative to the second surface of the encapsulating layer”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817