DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A and B in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
During a telephone conversation with Jimmy Y. Kwun (Reg. No. 66,490) on 1/15/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species A, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-42 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0194714 A1), hereafter referred to as Won.
As to claim 1, Won discloses a display device (fig 1, [0012]) comprising:
a substrate (fig 2, 101) defining a first through-hole (120) of a first hole region (120); and
a panel layer (114) on the substrate (101), and defining a second through-hole (190; [0044]) that surrounds the first hole region (120) in a plan view, the panel layer comprising:
a base layer (114/116) defining a groove (110) surrounding a second hole region (190) in a plan view, the second hole region overlapping with the second through-hole (190);
an organic light emitting layer (134; [0035], [0012]) comprising a cut part (part of 134 in groove 110) overlapping with the groove (110), and having an edge (edge of 134 defining hole 190, pointed to in annotated figure 2 below) defining a portion of the second through-hole (190); and
an inorganic encapsulation layer (142; [0037]) on the organic light emitting layer (134), and covering the groove (110), the inorganic encapsulation layer having an edge defining a portion of the second through-hole (edge of 142 pointed to in annotated fig 2 below).
As to claim 6, Won discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the edge of the organic light emitting layer and the edge of the inorganic encapsulation layer are aligned with each other (see annotated fig 2, above that shows the diagonal line).
As to claim 7, Won discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the panel layer further comprises a common electrode layer (fig 2, 136) between the inorganic encapsulation layer (142) and the organic light emitting layer (134), the common electrode layer having an edge defining a portion of the second through-hole (edge of 136 between edge of 142 and 134).
As to claim 8, Won discloses the display device of claim 7 (paragraphs above),
wherein the edge of the organic light emitting layer and the edge of the common electrode layer are aligned with each other (see annotated fig 2, above that shows the diagonal line).
As to claim 9, Won discloses the display device of claim 7 (paragraphs above),
wherein the common electrode layer comprises a cut part overlapping with the groove (part of 136 cut in the groove 110).
As to claim 10, Won discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second through-hole exposes a portion of a top surface of the substrate that is adjacent to the first hole region (fig 2, top portion of substrate 101 exposed through the layer 114 and adjacent to hole 120).
As to claim 11, Won discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the panel layer further comprises a planarization layer (108) on at least a portion of the inorganic encapsulation layer (142), and having an edge defining a portion of the second through-hole (edge of 108 forming second hole 190).
As to claim 12, Won discloses the display device of claim 11 (paragraphs above),
wherein the edge of the planarization layer and the edge of the organic light emitting layer are aligned with each other (see annotated fig 2, above that shows the diagonal line with layer 108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim (US Pub. No. 2020/0106046 A1).
As to claim 2, Won discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Won does not disclose wherein the base layer comprises:
a first inorganic barrier layer on the substrate;
an organic base layer on the first inorganic barrier layer, and defining a first opening of a portion of the groove that exposes a portion of a top surface of the first inorganic barrier layer; and
a second inorganic barrier layer on the organic base layer, and defining a second opening overlapping with the first opening to define a portion of the groove.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses wherein a base layer (fig 7D), comprises:
a first inorganic barrier layer (BI2) on a substrate;
an organic base layer (BS1) on the first inorganic barrier layer (BI2), and defining a first opening of a portion of a groove that exposes a portion of a top surface of the first inorganic barrier layer (fig 7D shows the groove with top surface of BI2 exposed); and
a second inorganic barrier layer (IL1) on the organic base layer (BS1), and defining a second opening overlapping with the first opening to define a portion of the groove (opening in IL1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the base layer of Won from the inorganic/organic stack of layers as taught by Kim since this will improve reliability of the display device by creating an improved barrier for moisture and oxygen.
As to claim 3, Won in view of Kim disclose the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Kim further disclose wherein a width of the second opening is less than a width of the first opening in a region adjacent to the second opening in a cross-sectional view (fig 7D, width of opening in IL1 is less than that of BS1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein an edge of a first inorganic barrier layer defines a portion of the second through-hole, and is aligned with the edge of the inorganic encapsulation layer, as recited in claim 4 and including the limitations of intervening claims and independent claim 1. Claim 5 is allowable because of its dependence from claim 4.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2020/0343481A1; US Pub. No. 2020/0161582A1; and US Pub. No. 2020/0067017A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 1/19/2026