DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application received May 4, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMITH et al (6,151,042) or NARANG et al (5,849,809).
The claimed invention recites the following:
SMITH et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide resin having aromatic rings with end groups as seen in col. 158, line 40-65 wherein the end groups include an ethynyl and a vinyl group, see below:
These end groups meet the claimed ethynyl end groups as recited in claims 1, 12, and 18.
The composition is deposited on a substrate, exposed, heated and developed to form ink channels in a printing head, see col. 107, line 29 to col. 108, line 7.
With respect to claim 18, SMITH et al disclose a second component as a reactive diluent (crosslinker), which is capable of inducing polymerization or crosslinking, see col. 102, lines 41-67.
NARANG et al (5,849,809) disclose a composition comprising a polymer containing a monomer repeat units with photosensitive substituents for crosslinking or chain extension. Applicants are directed to col. 70, lines 60-67 wherein the polyarylene ether ketone are reacted with an isocyanatoethyl methacrylate to form unsaturated ends groups meeting claim 1, 12 and 18 for the first two ends group recited in claims.
This composition is disclosed to be used in photoresists and/or forming inkjet printheads by coating, exposing, heating and developing, see col. 67, line 45 – col. 68, line 31.
With respect to claim 18, NARANG et al likewise disclose a second component as a reactive diluent (crosslinker), which is capable of inducing polymerization or crosslinking, see col. 62, lines 41- 67 to improve the film forming characteristics.
Claims 2-5 are rejected wherein the specific end groups are listed as potential groups in the alternative which may or may not be addressed by the art.
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected as seen in SMITH et al above for the ethynyl end groups.
Claim 10 is met by the polymer above in SMITH et al wherein a second monomer is disclosed as functional group as taught in claim 10.
Claim 11 is met by the col. 109, lines 24-31 wherein the composition is coated over an electrode.
Claim 12 is met by the disclosed photoresist layer in SMITH et al wherein it is conventional to coat an anti-reflective layer over a substrate provided with an overcoated photoresist to improve pattern formation.
Claim 14 disclose the use of more than one of the polymers in NARANG et al., see col. 61, line 50-61.
Claim 16 and 17 are met by the disclose printhead which have gaps and raised patterns for the ink path and the photoresist pattern structures formed.
Claim 18 has been addressed above.
Claim 19 is met by the disclosed molecular weight of the polymers to be 3,000 to 20,000 Daltons, preferably 3,500 to 6,500 Daltons see col. 34, lines 42-48.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to add a reactive diluent to the composition as a second crosslinking compound to induce crosslinking with the reasonable expectation of improving the pattern image.
Claims 8 and 9, 13, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art references of record disclose the claimed limitations in the aforementioned dependent claims for the backbone resin as listed in claim 8, the repeat units of claim 9, the units of claim 13, and claim 15, and the oligomer in claim 20.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
REIS et al discloses the reaction mechanism of glycidyl methacrylate at the hydroxyl and carboxylic group by either the transesterification route or the epoxy ring-opening route.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
December 28, 2025