Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/27/2026 has been accepted and entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 and 23 are cancelled.
Claims 15-22 and 24-37 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 15, and its respective dependent claims and corresponding arguments, see pages 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 15 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The combination of Dalal’s dielectric protective structure with the electronic device of Seddon would render the device inoperable, as substituting a metal protective structure for a dielectric protective structure would create a physical contradiction. Additionally, Seddon in view of Dalal does not teach all of the limitations of amended claim 15 (i.e. “disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure over the metal line and the top surface and the side surface of the footer portion of the seed metal layer”) and thus and its respective dependent claims.
In view of the amendment, new references have been applied (see below). Claim 15 now stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US 2007/0290343 A1 Harada et al in view of US 2020/0126937 A1 Hsiao et al.
Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 22, and its respective dependent claims and corresponding arguments, see pages 9-10 of Applicant’s remarks filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 22 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The combination of Dalal’s dielectric protective structure with the electronic device of Seddon would render the device inoperable, as substituting a metal protective structure for a dielectric protective structure would create a physical contradiction. Additionally, Seddon in view of Dalal does not teach all of the limitations of amended claim 22 (i.e. “disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure over the metal line and the top surface and vertical side surface of the footer portion.”) and thus and its respective dependent claims.
In view of the amendment, new references have been applied (see below). Claim 22 now stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US 2007/0290343 A1 Harada et al in view of US 2020/0126937 A1 Hsiao et al.
Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 26, and its respective dependent claims and corresponding arguments, see pages 9-10 of Applicant’s remarks filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 26 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The combination of Dalal’s dielectric protective structure with the electronic device of Seddon would render the device inoperable, as substituting a metal protective structure for a dielectric protective structure would create a physical contradiction. Additionally, Seddon in view of Dalal does not teach all of the limitations of amended claim 26 (i.e. “wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure seals the side surface of the footer portion”) and thus and its respective dependent claims.
In view of the amendment, new references have been applied (see below). Claim 22 now stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US 2007/0290343 A1 Harada et al in view of US 2020/0126937 A1 Hsiao et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-22 and 24-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0290343 A1 Harada et al (herein “Harada”) in view of US 2020/0126937 A1 Hsiao et al (herein “Hsiao”).
Regarding Claim 15, Harada discloses:
A method (see generally embodiment shown in Figs. 17A-17G and related paragraphs from the specification unless otherwise stated) comprising:
disposing a contact pad (#314) on a surface of a semiconductor substrate (#310);
disposing a metal line (#330) made of copper (paragraph [0034] discloses “The material of the bump 330 is not particularly limited.”) on the contact pad (#314);
interposing a seed metal layer (portion #322 of metal layer #320 that is subsequently etched to form #321 shown in Fig. 17G) between the contact pad (#314) and the metal line (#330), the seed metal layer (#321) having a width that is greater than a width of the metal line (see Fig. 17G) with a footer portion (portions of #321 outside of bump #330) of the seed metal layer (#321) extending from underneath the metal line (#330) to a side of the metal line (#330), the footer portion including a top surface and a side surface (see annotated Fig. 17G below);
Harada does not explicitly disclose:
the metal line comprises copper
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure over the metal line and the top surface and the side surface of the footer portion of the seed metal layer.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
See generally Figs. 1A-1H and corresponding descriptive paragraphs, specifically Fig. 1F showing deposition of protective metal layer. Additionally, see Figs. 4D-4E and corresponding descriptive paragraphs. Specifically see [0015] and [0020]-[0021]. Additionally see [0036]-[0037].
the metal line (#22b) comprises copper ([0017]);
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure (Fig. 1F #24, also Fig. 4D #24 and #22e1) over the metal line (#22b) the seed metal layer (#16, #20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Harada and include a protective metal layer covering exposed portions of the copper bump and the underlying seed metal layer for the purposes of structural stability, specifically the metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation.
Paragraph [0020] of Hsiao discloses “In one embodiment, the metal cap layer 24 is formed on the entire surface of the solder bump 22b. In other embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 extends to cover the surface of the optional metallization layer 20 and the UBM layer 16. The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy… The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure.”
Additionally, paragraph [0021] of Hsiao discloses “The metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation. In some ways, the metal cap layer 24 acts as a hard stop. The bump structure 26 can maintain a more uniform stand off height in completed packages, and the shorting and bridging problems are reduced or eliminated.”
Additionally, with respect to the embodiment shown in Hsiao Fig. 4D, the formation of metallic structure 22e1 would provide an additional stress relief feature, further promoting adhesion of the solder bump with the underlying materials, as well as providing a mechanical stress relief., see [0036]. See annotated Fig. 4D below.
Harada Fig. 17 – Annotated by Examiner
Hsiao Fig. 4D – Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 16, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Harada further discloses:
wherein interposing the seed metal layer between the contact pad and the metal line includes:
disposing a precursor seed metal layer (#322) on the surface of the semiconductor substrate (#310) including above the contact pad (#314);
disposing the metal line (#330) made of copper on the precursor seed metal layer (#322) above the contact pad (#314);
forming a masking spacer (#340, Fig. 17E) along a side of the metal line (#330) to mask a portion of the precursor seed metal layer (#322) disposed on the surface of the semiconductor substrate (#310); and
etching an unmasked portion of the precursor seed metal layer (Fig. 17F) to form the seed metal layer (Fig. 17G, #321) interposed between the contact pad (#314) and the metal line (#330) with the footer portion (portion of #321 outside of bump #330) of the seed metal layer (#321) extending from underneath the metal line (#330) to the side of the metal line (#330).
Regarding Claim 17, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Harada further discloses:
See paragraph [0022] disclosing the deposition of the metal line #218 that is substantially similar to the previously discloses metal line #330.
wherein a width W of the metal line is in a range of 5 µm to 30 µm ([0022]) and a height H of the metal line is in a range of 5 µm to 20 µm ([0089]: “This process forms a bump electrode formation pattern 217 that has an absent part having a size of about 30 .mu.m.times.50 .mu.m and positioned above the Al electrode pad 213 and inside the Al electrode pad 213 by a distance of about 20 .mu.m. Subsequently, a bump electrode 218 having a height of e.g. about 15 to 20 .mu.m is formed through Au plating.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of forming the bump (the metal line) from the embodiment shown in Figs. 16A-16E, as the summary of the formation of the bump with regards to the embodiment shown in Figs. 17A-17G is silent on the height and width of the formed bump, which would then be obvious to seek out other embodiments of the same invention to substitute relevant processes/methods for formation of the device.
Regarding Claim 18, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Hsiao further teaches:
wherein disposing the etch-resistant metal protective structure includes disposing a layer of nickel and a layer of one of gold, palladium or a tin- silver alloy over the metal line and the footer portion of the seed metal layer (see [0020], “The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy…The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure. “).
Regarding Claim 19, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 18.
Hsiao further teaches:
wherein disposing the layer of nickel and the layer of one of gold, palladium or a tin-silver alloy includes electroless deposition of the layer of nickel and electroless deposition of the layer of one of gold, palladium, or a tin-silver alloy (see paragraph [0020]: “The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure… In an embodiment, the metal cap layer 24 is deposited by electroless or immersion metal deposition process”)
Regarding Claim 20, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer includes copper and at least one of tantalum (Ta), tantalum-tungsten (TW), titanium (Ti), titanium-tungsten (TiW) that are sputter deposited on the semiconductor substrate (see below).
“[0042] Subsequently, as shown in a sectional view along the line W-W of FIG. 18B, an underlying metal layer (seed layer) 22 is formed on the entire surface by sputtering or the like.”
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
Regarding Claim 21, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer includes a Ti or TiW layer having a thickness in a range of 750 A to 1500 A, and a copper layer having a thickness of in a range of 1500 A to 5000 A (see below, with respect to the thickness of the of the Ti, TiW, and Cu layers, Harada is describing the under-bump layer #115, which is substantially similar to the underlying metal layer #22 and the corresponding metal layer #322).
“[0042] Subsequently, as shown in a sectional view along the line W-W of FIG. 18B, an underlying metal layer (seed layer) 22 is formed on the entire surface by sputtering or the like.”
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
“[0010]: …In this state, an under-bump layer composed of an alloy such as a titanium-tungsten alloy and a gold film are sequentially deposited by sputtering, so that an under-bump layer 115 and a gold thin film 116a are formed to each have a thickness of several thousand angstroms over the entire surfaces of the electrode pad 113 and the insulating film 114 over the silicon wafer 110. The thickness of the gold thin film 116a may be several hundred angstroms.”
Additionally, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
[0015]: “The seed layer may be formed of copper alloys that include silver, chromium, nickel, tin, gold, or combinations thereof. In one embodiment, the UBM layer 16 is a Cu/Ti layer. The diffusion barrier layer may have a thickness about 1000-2000 Angstroms, and the seed layer may have a thickness equal to about 3000-7000 Angstroms, although their thicknesses may also be greater or smaller.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Harada with respect to the other disclosed embodiments, specifically the one shown in Figs. 15A-15E, to the embodiment shown in Figs, 17A-17G, and form the device using an underlying metal layer (the seed layer) with the claimed thicknesses. Doing so would be an example of adjusting a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill, which in this case specifically relates the conductivity of the deposited layer to the thickness, which in turn may be adjusted to meet the needs of the device. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding Claim 22, Harada discloses:
A method comprising:
disposing a precursor seed metal layer (#322) on a surface of the semiconductor substrate (#310) including above a contact pad (#314);
disposing a metal line (#330) made of copper on the precursor seed metal layer (#322) above the contact pad (#314);
forming a masking spacer (#340, Fig. 17E) along a side of the metal line (#330) to mask a portion of the precursor seed metal layer (#322) disposed on the surface of the semiconductor substrate (#310);
etching an unmasked portion of the precursor seed metal layer (Fig. 17F) to form a seed metal layer (Fig. 17G, #321) interposed between the contact pad (#314) and the metal line (#330), the seed metal layer (#321) having a footer portion (portion of #321 outside of bump #330) including a planar top surface (see annotated Fig. 17G below) extending orthogonally from a side of the metal line (see annotated Fig. 17G below) and a vertical side surface (see annotated Fig. 17G below); and
Harada does not explicitly disclose:
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure over the metal line and the top surface and the side surface of the footer portion of the seed metal layer.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure (Fig. 1F #24, also Fig. 4D #24 and #22e1) over the metal line (#22b) the seed metal layer (#16, #20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Harada and include a protective metal layer covering exposed portions of the copper bump and the underlying seed metal layer for the purposes of structural stability, specifically the metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation.
Paragraph [0020] of Hsiao discloses “In one embodiment, the metal cap layer 24 is formed on the entire surface of the solder bump 22b. In other embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 extends to cover the surface of the optional metallization layer 20 and the UBM layer 16. The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy… The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure.”
Additionally, paragraph [0021] of Hsiao discloses “The metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation. In some ways, the metal cap layer 24 acts as a hard stop. The bump structure 26 can maintain a more uniform stand off height in completed packages, and the shorting and bridging problems are reduced or eliminated.”
Additionally, with respect to the embodiment shown in Hsiao Fig. 4D, the formation of metallic structure 22e1 would provide an additional stress relief feature, further promoting adhesion of the solder bump with the underlying materials, as well as providing a mechanical stress relief., see [0036]. See annotated Fig. 4D below.
Harada Fig. 17 – Annotated by Examiner
Hsiao Fig. 4D – Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 24, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 22.
Hsiao further teaches:
wherein disposing the etch-resistant metal protective structure includes disposing a layer of nickel and a layer of one of gold, palladium or a tin- silver alloy over the metal line and the footer portion of the seed metal layer (see [0020], “The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy…The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure. “).
Regarding Claim 25, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 22.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the contact pad includes aluminum or an aluminum-copper alloy.
With respect to the embodiment shown in Figs. 15A-15E, wherein the compositions of layers are substantially the same, see paragraph [0010]: “…and then an electrode pad 113 composed of aluminum or an aluminum alloy is formed thereon.”
Harada does not explicitly disclose:
the metal line comprises copper
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
the metal line (#22b) comprises copper ([0017]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the method disclosed by Harada and form the metal line using copper. Harada is silent on the specific material to be used for the metal line, and Hsiao discloses the material to be copper. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using copper would be a simple substitution to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 26, Harada discloses:
A method (see generally embodiment shown in Figs. 17A-17G and related paragraphs from the specification unless otherwise stated) comprising:
disposing a contact pad (#314) on a surface of a semiconductor substrate (#310);
disposing a passivation layer (#316) on a the surface the semiconductor substrate (#310) including over the contact pad (#314);
forming an opening in the passivation layer (see Fig. 17G, opening between the two passivating layers on left/right sides of device) to expose a surface of the contact pad (#314).
disposing a seed metal layer (Fig. 17G, #321) on the surface of the contact pad (#314);
disposing an interconnect (#330) on the seed metal layer (#321),
the seed metal layer (#321) having a footer portion (portion of #321 outside of bump #330) including a planar top surface (see annotated Fig. 17G below) extending orthogonally from a side of the interconnect (see annotated Fig. 17G below) to beyond the opening (see annotated Fig. 17G below); and
Harada does not explicitly disclose:
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure over the interconnect a the top surface and a side surface of the footer portion of the seed metal layer, wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure seals the side surface of the footer portion.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure (Fig. 1F #24, also Fig. 4D #24 and #22e1) over the metal line (#22b) the seed metal layer (#16, #20).
disposing an etch-resistant metal protective structure (Fig. 1F #24, also Fig. 4D #24 and #22e1) over the interconnect (#22b) a the top surface and a side surface of the footer portion of the seed metal layer (#16, #20), wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure seals the side surface of the footer portion (see Figs. 1F and 4D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Harada and include a protective metal layer covering exposed portions of the copper bump and the underlying seed metal layer for the purposes of structural stability, specifically the metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation.
Paragraph [0020] of Hsiao discloses “In one embodiment, the metal cap layer 24 is formed on the entire surface of the solder bump 22b. In other embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 extends to cover the surface of the optional metallization layer 20 and the UBM layer 16. The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy… The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure.”
Additionally, paragraph [0021] of Hsiao discloses “The metal cap layer 24 causes the solder bump 22b to act as a spring or act like an air filled balloon when subsequently pushed against a substrate, that is, the bump structure 26 can resist deformation. In some ways, the metal cap layer 24 acts as a hard stop. The bump structure 26 can maintain a more uniform stand off height in completed packages, and the shorting and bridging problems are reduced or eliminated.”
Additionally, with respect to the embodiment shown in Hsiao Fig. 4D, the formation of metallic structure 22e1 would provide an additional stress relief feature, further promoting adhesion of the solder bump with the underlying materials, as well as providing a mechanical stress relief., see [0036]. See annotated Fig. 4D below.
Harada Fig. 17G – Annotated by Examiner
Hsiao Fig. 4D – Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 27, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26
wherein the contact pad includes aluminum or an aluminum-copper alloy.
With respect to the embodiment shown in Figs. 15A-15E, wherein the compositions of layers are substantially the same, see paragraph [0010]: “…and then an electrode pad 113 composed of aluminum or an aluminum alloy is formed thereon.”
Harada does not explicitly disclose:
the interconnect comprises copper
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
the metal line (#22b) comprises copper ([0017]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the method disclosed by Harada and form the metal line using copper. Harada is silent on the specific material to be used for the metal line, and Hsiao discloses the material to be copper. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using copper would be a simple substitution to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 28, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer includes a barrier metal layer made of at least one of titanium (Ti), titanium-tungsten (TiW), tantalum (Ta), and tantalum-tungsten (TaW) (see below).
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Harada with respect to the other disclosed embodiments, specifically the one shown in Figs. 14A-14F, to the embodiment shown in Figs, 17A-17G, and form the device using an underlying metal layer (the seed layer) with the compositions. Doing so would be an example of adjusting a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill, which in this case specifically relates the adhesion properties, and the rate of diffusion through the layer itself, which in turn may be adjusted to meet the needs of the device. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding Claim 29, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer include a copper layer (see below).
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Harada with respect to the other disclosed embodiments, specifically the one shown in Figs. 16A-16E, to the embodiment shown in Figs, 17A-17G, and form the device using an underlying metal layer (the seed layer) with the compositions. Doing so would be an example of adjusting a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill, which in this case specifically relates the adhesion properties, and the rate of diffusion through the layer itself, which in turn may be adjusted to meet the needs of the device. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding Claim 30, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer includes a Ti or TiW layer having a thickness of about 750 A to about 1500 A, and a copper layer having a thickness of about 1500 A to about 5000 A (see below, with respect to the thickness of the of the Ti, TiW, and Cu layers, Harada is describing the under-bump layer #115, which is substantially similar to the underlying metal layer #22 and the corresponding metal layer #322).
“[0042] Subsequently, as shown in a sectional view along the line W-W of FIG. 18B, an underlying metal layer (seed layer) 22 is formed on the entire surface by sputtering or the like.”
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
“[0010]: …In this state, an under-bump layer composed of an alloy such as a titanium-tungsten alloy and a gold film are sequentially deposited by sputtering, so that an under-bump layer 115 and a gold thin film 116a are formed to each have a thickness of several thousand angstroms over the entire surfaces of the electrode pad 113 and the insulating film 114 over the silicon wafer 110. The thickness of the gold thin film 116a may be several hundred angstroms.”
Additionally, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
[0015]: “The seed layer may be formed of copper alloys that include silver, chromium, nickel, tin, gold, or combinations thereof. In one embodiment, the UBM layer 16 is a Cu/Ti layer. The diffusion barrier layer may have a thickness about 1000-2000 Angstroms, and the seed layer may have a thickness equal to about 3000-7000 Angstroms, although their thicknesses may also be greater or smaller.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Harada with respect to the other disclosed embodiments, specifically the one shown in Figs. 15A-15E, to the embodiment shown in Figs, 17A-17G, and form the device using an underlying metal layer (the seed layer) with the claimed thicknesses. Doing so would be an example of adjusting a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill, which in this case specifically relates the conductivity of the deposited layer to the thickness, which in turn may be adjusted to meet the needs of the device. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding Claim 31, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the interconnect includes copper material electroplated on the seed metal layer (see below).
“[0034] After the formation of the mask 335, an electrolytic plating step is carried out to form the bump 330 inside the opening 336 as shown in FIG. 17B. The material of the bump 330 is not particularly limited.”
Regarding Claim 32, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the seed metal layer includes material sputtered on the contact pad (see below).
“[0042] Subsequently, as shown in a sectional view along the line W-W of FIG. 18B, an underlying metal layer (seed layer) 22 is formed on the entire surface by sputtering or the like.”
“[0234] In addition, in the respective embodiments, it is preferable that the underlying metal layer 22 and the barrier metal layer 26 be formed of a metal such as Ti, Cu, W, Cr, Pt, Au, Pd, or Ni, a multilayer film of a nitride of any of these metals, or an alloy of any of these metals. For example, the underlying metal layer 22 is formed by depositing a Ti film and a Cu film in that order on an Al pad (pad electrode 14), and a Ni film can be selected as the barrier metal layer 26.”
Regarding Claim 33, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Hsiao further discloses:
The method of claim 26, wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure includes materials that are resistant to copper etchants (see MPEP 2112.01, the claimed material is identical to the material in the prior art, which would therefore have the same property of being resistant to copper etchants).
Regarding Claim 34, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Hsiao further discloses:
wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure includes at least one of nickel, palladium, gold, and a tin-silver alloy (see paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 35, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 26.
Hsiao further discloses:
wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure includes a layer of nickel and a layer of gold (see [0020], “The metal cap layer 24 is a metal material layer with a melting temperature greater than the melting temperature of the solder material layer 22. In some embodiments, the metal cap layer 24 is formed of copper, nickel (Ni), gold (Au), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), indium (In), nickel-palladium-gold (NiPdAu), nickel-gold (NiAu), other similar materials, or alloy…The metal cap layer 24 may be a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure. “)
Regarding Claim 36, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 22.
Harada further discloses:
wherein the etch-resistant metal protective structure (Hsiao imported layrs #24, #22e1) seals the vertical side surface of the footer portion (see Harada Fig. 17G).
Note, as previously combined, the metal protective layer would seal the seed metal layer analogous to the seed metal layer in Hsiao Fig. 4D. When applied to the device disclosed by Harada, the protective layer would seal the seed metal layer which extends beyond the metal interconnect, as currently claimed.
Regarding Claim 37, Harada in view of Hsiao discloses: the method of claim 15.
Harada further discloses:
wherein disposing the contact pad (#314) on the surface of the semiconductor substrate (#310) includes:
forming an aluminum contact pad ([0010]) in an opening of an oxide layer (#316, see [0033] and [0041], passivating layer disclosed throughout Harada as comprising an oxide material) on the semiconductor substrate (#310).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW VICTOR PROSTOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812