OONotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application 18/313945 filed on 05/08/23.
Claims 1-20 are remain pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on May 08th, 2023 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schumacher et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10740210).
As to claims 1 the prior art teaches a method, comprising:
executing a user design using a plurality of active tiles of a data processing array disposed in an integrated circuit (see fig 13 col. 21 lines 12-58);
detecting a trace start condition subsequent to a start of execution of the user design (see fig 2-3 col. 6 lines 25 to col. 7 lines 28);
in response to the trace start condition, generating trace data using one or more of the plurality of active tiles of the data processing array (see fig 2-3 col. 10 lines 34 to col. 11 lines 67);
detecting a trace stop condition during execution of the user design (see fig 3-4 col. 11 lines 26 to col. 12 lines 34);
and in response to the trace stop condition, discontinuing the generating the trace data by the one or more of the plurality of active tiles (see fig 2-4 col. 12 lines 10 to col. 13 lines 30).
As to claims 2 and 12 the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is broadcast from a first tile of the plurality of active tiles to a second tile of the plurality of active tiles, wherein the trace start condition or the trace stop condition, as received by the second tile, controls trace functionality in the second tile (see fig 2-3 col. 10 lines 55 to col. 12 lines 40).
As to claims 3 and 13, the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is broadcast from a first portion of a first tile of the plurality of active tiles to a second portion of the first tile, wherein the trace start condition or the trace stop condition, as received by the second portion of the first tile, controls trace functionality in the second portion of the first tile (see fig 2-3 col. 11lines 30 to col. 13 lines 20).
As to claim 4 and 14, the prior art teaches wherein two or more active tiles of the plurality of active tiles use at least one of a different trace start condition or a different trace stop condition (see fig 13 col. 21 lines 30 to col. 22 lines 40)
As to claim 5 and 15, the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is specified by a user as a time after the start of execution of the user design (see fig 3-4 col. 13 lines 20 to col. 14 lines 20).
As to claim 6 and 16, the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is specified by a user as a number of execution iterations of a graph of the user design (see fig 3-4 col. 13 lines 50 to col. 15 lines 30).
As to claim 7 and 17 the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is specified by a user as a user-event inserted into program code of the user design (see fig 2-4 col. 14 lines 30 to col. 16 lines 45).
As to claim 8 and 18, the prior art teaches wherein at least one of the trace start condition or the trace stop condition is specified by a user as a hardware event (see fig 2-3 col. 12 lines 40 to col. 13 lines 50).
As to claim 10 and 20, the prior art teaches further comprising:
receiving the trace data in a data processing system (see fig 3-4 col. 11 lines 26 to col. 12 lines 34) ;
delaying writing of the trace data until a return of a function of the user design is detected (see fig 3-5 col. 12 lines 35 to col. 13 lines 50);
and using the function that returned as a starting context of a trace report of the trace data (see fig 3-5 col. 13 lines 32 to col. 14 lines 60).
As to claim 11 the prior art teaches a system, comprising:
an integrated circuit having a data processing array, wherein the data processing array includes a plurality of active tiles configured to execute a user design (see fig 13 col. 21 lines 12-58);
wherein each active tile of the plurality of active tiles includes trace circuitry and the trace circuitry of one or more of the plurality of active tiles is configured to perform trace operations including: detecting a trace start condition subsequent to a start of execution of the user design (see fig 2-3 col. 6 lines 25 to col. 7 lines 28);
in response to the trace start condition, generating trace data using one or more of the plurality of active tiles of the data processing array (see fig 2-3 col. 10 lines 34 to col. 11 lines 67);
detecting a trace stop condition during the execution of the user design (see fig 3-4 col. 11 lines 26 to col. 12 lines 34);
and in response to the trace stop condition, discontinuing the generating the trace data by the one or more of the plurality of active tiles (see fig 2-4 col. 12 lines 10 to col. 13 lines 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851