DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-15, 21, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0367622 A1; hereinafter Lin).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Lin discloses an integrated circuit comprising: a substrate [50/62]; a well [92] formed over a portion of the substrate (see Figure 8A); a stacked structure [64,68,66,82,84,86] formed over a first portion of the well (see Figure 9A); a doped epi structure [98A] formed over a second portion of the well adjacent to the stacked structure and below a plane defined by an upper surface of the first portion of the well (see ¶[0053]); and a source/drain region [98C] formed over the doped epi structure (See Figure 11A).
With respect to claim 3, Lin disclose wherein: the well has a first dopant concentration (see ¶[0034]); and the doped epi structure has a second dopant concentration (See ¶[0051]), wherein the first dopant concentration is less than the second dopant concentration.
With respect to claim 4, Lin discloses wherein: the well has a first dopant concentration Cd1; the well has second dopant concentration Cd2 adjacent the doped epi structure; and the doped epi structure has a third dopant concentration Cd3, wherein the first, second, and third dopant concentrations satisfy expressions (I) and (II);
Cd1<Cd2 (I); and
Cd2<Cd3 (II).
(see ¶[0021], ¶[0034-0035], ¶[0051])
With respect to claim 5, Lin discloses wherein: the doped epi structure has a dopant concentration profile in which a lower region adjacent the well has a dopant concentration of not more than 1E18 cm−3 (See ¶[0051]).
With respect to claim 6, Lin discloses wherein: the doped epi structure has a dopant concentration profile having a maximum dopant concentration not greater than 1E20 cm−3 (See ¶[0051]).
With respect to claim 9, Lin discloses a plurality of nanosheets in electrical contact with the source/drain region (See ¶[0038]).
With respect to claim 10, Lin discloses an integrated circuit, comprising: a semiconductor substrate [50/62]; a well region having a first dopant concentration (see ¶[0034]) over the semiconductor substrate; a stacked structure [64,68,66,82,84,86] over a first portion of the well region (see Figure 9A); a first recess [92] in a second portion of the well region; an epitaxial layer [98A] in the first recess, wherein the epitaxial layer comprises a first implanted dopant (See ¶[0051]); and a source/drain (S/D) structure [98C] over the epitaxial layer (See Figure 11A).
With respect to claim 11, Lin discloses wherein: the epitaxial layer comprises a first dopant concentration of the first implanted dopant (See ¶[0051]); a second portion of the well region under the epitaxial layer comprises a second dopant concentration of the first implanted dopant (see ¶[0034]); and the first dopant concentration is greater than the second dopant concentration.
With respect to claim 12, Lin discloses wherein: a ratio of the first dopant concentration to the second dopant concentration is at least 99:1 (see ¶[0021], ¶[0034-0035], ¶[0051]).
With respect to claim 13, Lin discloses wherein: a ratio of the first dopant concentration to the second dopant concentration is at least 85:15 (see ¶[0021], ¶[0034-0035], ¶[0051]).
With respect to claim 14, Lin discloses wherein: the first dopant concentration in the epitaxial layer is not greater than 1E19 cm−3 (See ¶[0051]).
With respect to claim 15, Lin discloses wherein: a first portion of the first implanted dopant extends under the stacked structure (See ¶[0033], ¶[0053]).
With respect to claim 21, Lin discloses an integrated circuit comprising: a substrate [50/62]; a well [92] over the substrate; a stacked structure [64,68,66,82,84,86] over a first portion of the well; a doped structure [98] over a second portion of the well adjacent to the stacked structure, wherein a bottommost surface of the doped structure is closer to the substrate and a bottommost surface of the stacked structure, wherein the doped structure comprises: a first region [98A] having a first dopant concentration, and a second region [98B] over the first region, wherein the second region has a second dopant concentration different from the first dopant concentration; and a source/drain region [98C] over the doped structure (see ¶[0058]).
With respect to claim 23, Lin discloses wherein the second dopant concentration is greater than the first dopant concentration (see ¶[0053]).
With respect to claim 24, Lin discloses wherein the first region is between second region and the well in a first direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate (See Figure 11A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin in view of More (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0299138 A1)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
With respect to claim 2, Lin fails to disclose a dielectric layer between the doped epi structure and the source/drain region. In the same field of endeavor, More teaches a dielectric layer [524] between the doped epi structure [508b] and the source/drain region [514a] (See Figure 5C). Implementation of a dielectric layer within the layer structure of Lin, as taught by More, prevents the migration of dopants from the source drain region through the buffer region and into the well region (See ¶[0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 7, Lin fails to disclose wherein: the doped epi structure has a dopant concentration profile in which a lower region adjacent the well is undoped. In the same field of endeavor, More teaches the doped epi structure [502/508] has a dopant concentration profile in which a lower region [502] adjacent the well is undoped (See ¶[0097]). Implementation of an undoped region as taught by More allows for a buffer region to isolated doped regions from the well region (see ¶[0097] and ¶[0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
With respect to claim 16, Lin fails to disclose a dielectric layer over the epitaxial layer; and a source/drain (S/D) structure over the dielectric layer (see Figure 5C). In the same field of endeavor, More teaches a dielectric layer [524] over the epitaxial layer [508b]; and a source/drain (S/D) structure [514a] over the dielectric layer. (See Figure 5C).
Implementation of a dielectric layer within the layer structure of Lin, as taught by More, prevents the migration of dopants from the source drain region through the buffer region and into the well region (See ¶[0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 22, Lin fails to disclose a dielectric material between the doped structure and the source/drain region. In the same field of endeavor, More teaches a dielectric material [524] between the doped structure [508b] and the source/drain region [514a] (See Figure 5C).
Implementation of a dielectric layer within the layer structure of Lin, as taught by More, prevents the migration of dopants from the source drain region through the buffer region and into the well region (See ¶[0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
With respect to claim 8, Lin discloses wherein: the doped epi structure has a concave upper surface but fails to disclose a recess height (RH) of between 1 nm and 5 nm when measured from a plane defined by an upper surface of a mesa structure. Based on the disclosure, it appears that the recess height is noncritical. It has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to produce a doped epi structure with proper recess height based on routine experimentation to provide proper coverage of the source/drain region.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818