Status of the Application
Claims 1-17, 19, 20, and 22 have been examined in this application.
The filling date of this application number recited above is 09-May-2023. No priority has been claimed in the Application Data Sheet, thus the examination will be undertaken in consideration of the effective filing date as the priority date.
No additional information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed to date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, 13-16, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite et al. (US 20040019564 A1) in view of Ramaci (US 20130311372 A1).
As per Claims 1 and 20, Goldthwaite discloses a system comprising:
a mobile device comprising a first authentication engine, wherein the first authentication engine is configured to verify a first authentication factor of a user (See Figure 13 – step 518, as disclosed [0051] “The payment server routes the payment request and mobile phone number to an authentication server (512). The authentication server sends an SMS message with the payment request via a wireless network to the mobile phone (514). The mobile phone displays the SMS message to the customer (516) and requests authorization for the payment transaction by the customer (518) by selecting "yes" or "no"”); and
a removable chipset implemented in a system-on-chip configuration, operably inserted into the mobile device and configured to store sensitive data and facilitate financial transactions using the sensitive data (See Figures 9 to 12 disclosing various embodiments with multi-application SIM card inserted to the mobile device, as disclosed [0047] “The mobile network SIM 1 card 152 is an IC circuit that is inserted in a slot in the back of the mobile phone 110 and is programmed by the mobile network operator company that sells the mobile phones and provides the mobile phone network services” wherein the SIM card contains sensitive data associated with the payment card, as disclosed [0051] “The customer selects a payment card (522) that is either embedded in the mobile phone or he inserts it in a special slot in the phone. The payment card is a "smart card" i.e., has an embedded IC chip which stores the card number, expiration date, digital signature, information about the financial institution that has issued the card, information about the cardholder and the cardholder's account”), wherein the removable chipset comprises:
a second authentication engine distinct from a first the first authentication engine of the mobile device, wherein the second authentication engine is configured to verify a second authentication factor of the user unique to the removable chipset and distinct from a first the first authentication factor of the mobile device (See Figure 13 – steps 522 to 524, as disclosed [0051] “The customer selects a payment card (522) that is either embedded in the mobile phone or he inserts it in a special slot in the phone … In addition to the payment card information, the customer is asked to enter a personal identification number (PIN) to complete the authentication process (524)”);
communications hardware distinct from communications hardware of the mobile device and configured to receive configuration data ([0011] “The first or second SIM cards may be Universal Subscriber Identification Module (USIM) cards that can support third-generation (3G) network requirements”),
a rules engine configured to generate a ruleset for the removable chipset based on the configuration data ([0047] “The mobile network SIM 1 card 152 is an IC circuit that is inserted in a slot in the back of the mobile phone 110 and is programmed by the mobile network operator company that sells the mobile phones and provides the mobile phone network services”), and
a transaction engine configured to facilitate, based on the second authentication factor of the removable chipset and the first authentication factor, a financial transaction in accordance with the ruleset (See Figure 13 – steps 530 to 542, as disclosed [0051] “If the authentication is valid the mobile phone routes the payment transaction to the authentication server (530) and the authentication server routes it to the payment server (532) … The authentication server notifies the customer's mobile phone that the payment transaction has been approved (540) and the merchant delivers the goods and/or services (542)” wherein the process comprises first authentication factor in step 518 and second authentication factor in step 526 to complete the transaction).
Although Goldthwaite teaches of a mobile device with first authentication (e.g. SMS message to the phone to authenticate the transaction, wherein the display requests user authentication of “yes” or “no” as disclosed by Figure 13 – steps 514 to 518), and a removable chip (e.g. SIM card as disclosed by Figures 9 to 12) storing sensitive financial data (e.g. payment card data as disclosed in [0051]) with a second authentication (Figure 13 – steps 522 to 524 requesting customer to enter PIN), wherein the SIM card has communication hardware ([0011]) and have been programmed ([0047]), and the transaction is performed after both of the authentication is successful (Figure 13 – steps 530 to 542), the prior art does not seem to explicitly disclose of “the second authentication engine is configured to verify a second authentication factor of the user unique to the removable chipset and distinct from a first the first authentication factor of the mobile device”. However, Ramaci teaches:
wherein the removable chipset comprises:
a second authentication engine distinct from a first the first authentication engine of the mobile device, wherein the second authentication engine is configured to verify a second authentication factor of the user unique to the removable chipset and distinct from a first the first authentication factor of the mobile device (See Figure 5 – step 510 regarding second authentication from the apparatus, as disclosed [0081] “Once the apparatus unique ID has been confirmed as illustrated in block 508, the user may be prompted to provide authentication data of the user. This authentication data may be in many forms, including, but not limited to biometric readers, such as finger prints, PINS, shape matching, passwords, passcodes, etc. The transaction apparatus may then receive the authentication data from the user, as illustrated in block 510. Once received, the transaction apparatus may compare the received authentication data to authentication data previously received and stored in the transaction apparatus”);
communications hardware distinct from communications hardware of the mobile device and configured to receive configuration data (See Figure 2 – Communication Device 246 which is hardware distinct from the mobile device, as disclosed [0051] “The processing device 248 uses the communication device 246 to communicate with a mobile device 234. As such, the communication device 246 generally comprises a modem, server, or other device for communicating with the mobile device 234 and other devices” which is used to set user preferences for transactions as disclosed [0071] “Next, as illustrated in block 312, the user is able to set preferences within the application for the utilization of data by the transaction apparatus using an output device associated with the same. Preferences may include, but are not limited to the user being able to time-in and/or time-out the data on an output device … Preferences may also include, but are not limited to application design preferences, data access preferences, set the track to write data to on the writable transaction card, data organization preferences, and/or the like”),
a rules engine configured to generate a ruleset for the removable chipset based on the configuration data ([0083] “The transaction apparatus may then write the transaction data to the user output device based on user preferences, as illustrated in block 514”), and
a transaction engine configured to facilitate, based on the second authentication factor of the removable chipset and the first authentication factor, a financial transaction in accordance with the ruleset (See Figure 5 – steps 512 to 514, as disclosed [0082] “If the transaction apparatus indicates that a match exists between the finger print of the user and the finger print previously stored, the user is authorized access to the entire application and the data stored on the transaction device as illustrated in block 512” wherein the first authentication factor is disclosed in Figure 5 – steps 504 to 508 and the second authentication factor is disclosed in Figure 5 – step 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the transaction apparatus as in Ramaci, which is a removable system operably inserted into the mobile device ([0007] “The transaction apparatus as described herein may be, in some embodiments, associated with a mobile device, such as being a case or attachment for a mobile device … The transaction apparatus may be configured, in various embodiments, for receiving, storing, encrypting, decrypting, encoding, decoding, accessing, transferring, writing, and/or presenting transaction data including, but not limited to, financial data, authentication data, identification data, health care data, logical access, physical access, access data, personal data, and/or other data associated with a user” and also [0085] “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6 the mobile device is hardwire connected 16 to the transaction apparatus. In this embodiment, a thirty-pin connector is used to hardwire connect the transaction apparatus to the transaction apparatus. Hardwire may also be done via USB connector, microphone connector, other wire connection, etc.”) that performs the process of authentications to conduct transactions, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 2, Goldthwaite teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the removable chipset is operably coupled to the mobile device via a terminal of the mobile device that is communicatively coupled to constituent components of the mobile device ([0047] “he mobile network SIM 1 card 152 is an IC circuit that is inserted in a slot in the back of the mobile phone 110”).
As per claim 3, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the removable chipset further comprises:
interface generation circuitry configured to generate a configuration interface, wherein the communications hardware is further configured to cause display of the configuration interface via a display screen of the mobile device, and wherein the configuration data is received in response to user interaction with the configuration interface ([0072] “FIG. 4 illustrates a process flow for user utilization of the transaction apparatus for entering into a transaction 400, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. As illustrated in block 402 the user may open the transaction apparatus application. The application may be associated with a mobile device and/or the transaction apparatus. The application may then communicate with the transaction apparatus to initiate a session with the transaction apparatus. Whether the session is for receiving, storing, encrypting, decrypting, encoding, decoding, accessing, transferring, writing, and/or presenting transaction data using the transaction apparatus, the session may be initiated by the user opening the application” which can also be utilized to set user preferences as disclosed [0071] “Next, as illustrated in block 312, the user is able to set preferences within the application for the utilization of data by the transaction apparatus using an output device associated with the same”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the interface circuitry of the transaction apparatus as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 11, Goldthwaite teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the removable chipset is preconfigured to be associated with a first financial institution ([0047] “In one example, the financial institution 112 (i.e., American Express) and the mobile network company (i.e., Verizon) collaborate to "co-brand" a SIM 1 card that is embedded in the mobile phone 110 (i.e., Amex-Verizon phone)”).
As per claim 13, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the configuration data comprises one or more of (i) location restriction data, (ii) device restriction data, (iii) time restriction data, and (iv) purchase restriction data ([0071] “Next, as illustrated in block 312, the user is able to set preferences within the application for the utilization of data by the transaction apparatus using an output device associated with the same. Preferences may include, but are not limited to the user being able to time-in and/or time-out the data on an output device … Preferences may also include, but are not limited to application design preferences, data access preferences, set the track to write data to on the writable transaction card, data organization preferences, and/or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the configuration data of the transaction apparatus comprising various restriction preferences as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 14, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the rules engine generates the ruleset by generating one or more rules based on one or more of the location restriction data, the device restriction data, the time restriction data, and the purchase restriction data ([0083] “The transaction apparatus may then write the transaction data to the user output device based on user preferences, as illustrated in block 514”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the ruleset generation of the transaction apparatus with the various restriction preferences as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 15, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second authentication engine is further configured to:
authorize the financial transaction in response to verification of the second authentication factor (See Figure 5 – blocks 512 and 514, as disclosed [0082] “At this point, a portion of the transaction data is allowed to be accessed and viewed by a user via his/her mobile device display utilizing the application or another program associated with the transaction apparatus” and [0083] “The user may then select the output device to transfer the transaction data to. The transaction apparatus may then write the transaction data to the user output device based on user preferences, as illustrated in block 514”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize authorization of the second authentication factor from the transaction apparatus as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 16, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the communications hardware is further configured to receive an indication of a result of a verification of the first authentication factor performed by the mobile device (See Figure 5 – step 504, as disclosed [0078] “Once the OS session has been initiated a chip associated with the mobile device may communicate with the transaction apparatus. This communication may, as illustrated in block 504, be an authentication between the mobile device and the transaction apparatus to ensure connection and that the user wishes to utilize the transaction apparatus for a transaction”);
wherein the second authentication engine authorizes the financial transaction based on the indication of the result of the verification of the first authentication factor (See Figure 5 – steps 512 to 514, as disclosed [0082] “If the transaction apparatus indicates that a match exists between the finger print of the user and the finger print previously stored, the user is authorized access to the entire application and the data stored on the transaction device as illustrated in block 512” wherein the first authentication factor is disclosed in Figure 5 – steps 504 to 508).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the verification of the first authentication of the transaction apparatus as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 19, Goldthwaite teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the mobile device comprises a chipset distinct from the removable chipset (See Figures 10 to 12 disclosing various chipset configurations, such as dual-chip or multi chip-dual slot)
As per claim 22, Goldthwaite teaches the method of claim 20, wherein facilitating the financial transaction comprises:
receiving, by the communications hardware, an indication of a result of a verification of the first authentication factor performed by the mobile device (See Figure 13 – step 518, as disclosed [0051] “The payment server routes the payment request and mobile phone number to an authentication server (512). The authentication server sends an SMS message with the payment request via a wireless network to the mobile phone (514). The mobile phone displays the SMS message to the customer (516) and requests authorization for the payment transaction by the customer (518) by selecting "yes" or "no"”); and
authorizing, by the transaction engine, the financial transaction in response to successful verification of the first authentication factor and the second authentication factor (See Figure 13 – steps 530 to 542, as disclosed [0051] “If the authentication is valid the mobile phone routes the payment transaction to the authentication server (530) and the authentication server routes it to the payment server (532) … The authentication server notifies the customer's mobile phone that the payment transaction has been approved (540) and the merchant delivers the goods and/or services (542)” wherein the process comprises first authentication factor in step 518 and second authentication factor in step 526 to complete the transaction).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite, in view of Ramaci, and in view of Asif et al. (US 20190108518 A1).
As per claim 4, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Asif teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the transaction engine facilitates the financial transaction by:
determining, by randomizer circuitry, a randomized value ([0027] “A random assignment function may provide blockchain members with guaranteed space in any particular blockchain block, which may be assigned ahead of any transaction requiring commitment”);
selecting, by the transaction engine and based on the randomized value, a transmission channel from a plurality of available transmission channels ([0028] “Referring to FIG. 4C, the example flow diagram 470 provides a series of operations, which include, at initialization, peers have agreed upon a certain number of channels. The channels may be randomly selected ‘C1’ 472 … In one example, a number of channels is six, and a scheduling channel C is selected randomly as one of those six available channels”); and
causing transmission, by the communications hardware, of payment information for the financial transaction via the transmission channel ([0028] “… and when the blockchain height+1 percentage of number of channels is equal to C1 474, then a transaction may be submitted for commitment 476”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize random assignment function to select a transmission channel for the transaction as in Asif in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to [0002-0006] reduce delays in transactions as taught by Asif over that of Goldthwaite.
Claims 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite, in view of Ramaci, in view of Asif, and in view of LASSOUAOUI et al. (US 20190087814 A1).
As per claim 5, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but LASSOUAOUI teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the payment information comprises a payment token for the financial transaction, and wherein the transaction engine further facilitates the financial transaction by:
generating the payment token, wherein the payment token is generated based at least on a device identifier associated with the mobile device and an identifier associated with the removable chipset ([0014-0017] “pairing firstly an identifier of the mobile terminal with the payment instrument, and secondly a personal cryptogram with the payment instrument … and generating a secure second payment token by encrypting at least the first token, the transaction data, the identifier of the terminal, and the personal cryptogram” or see also [0075] “Also, the agent 23 for treating a token 103 comprises means for generating a secure payment token 104 by encrypting at least the token 103, the transaction data, the identifier 22 of the mobile terminal, and the personal cryptogram 21”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize payment token as in LASSOUAOUI in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to [0001-0013] improve security associated with payment tokens as taught by LASSOUAOUI over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 7, Ramaci teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the payment token is generated by the removable chipset such that the mobile device does not receive the payment token or an indication of the transmission channel ([0075] “Once the user has selected the transaction data in the transaction apparatus that he/she wishes to use for a transaction (such as the Visa.RTM. as in the example above) the user may authorize the transfer of that transaction data to a user output device, as illustrated in block 408. The data may be transferred to one or more output devices, such as an E-ink reader, a writable transaction card, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Lite, etc. For example, a user may select to use the writeable transaction card. The data may be transferred to the writable transaction card via an EMV chip or the like on the chip to transfer via a contact transfer, data from a transaction apparatus to a writable transaction card”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the payment token as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 8, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but LASSOUAOUI teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the identifier associated with the removable chipset comprises a private key allocated to the removable chipset ([0070] “The identifier of the terminal 22 can be generated by the authentication server 10 and can be transmitted to the terminal 12 in order to be stored in secure manner, e.g. encrypted using a key” or see also [0071] “In a variant, the personal cryptogram 21 may be generated from a random number known only by the terminal 12 and by the authentication server, or by an encryption key”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the encryption key as in LASSOUAOUI in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to [0001-0013] improve security associated with payment tokens as taught by LASSOUAOUI over that of Goldthwaite.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite, in view of Ramaci, in view of Asif, in view of LASSOUAOUI, and in view of Brown et al. (US 20130252583 A1).
As per claim 6, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Brown teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the payment token is generated based further on location data of the mobile device ([0100] “At 550, the authentication server generates the token, the token comprising location data identifying a location for the mobile device and authentication data indicating a level of access that the mobile device is permitted to have to the service provided by the service server (e.g. service server 310 of FIG. 2)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize generating the token based on location of the mobile device as in Goldthwaite in the system executing the method of Ramaci with the motivation of offering to [0019-0020] enhance security associated with payment tokens by utilizing location data as taught by Goldthwaite over that of Ramaci.
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite, in view of Ramaci, in view of Asif, and in view of Parker et al. (US 20200195495 A1).
As per claim 9, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Parker teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the plurality of available transmission channels are transmission channels of a cellular network ([0281] “At operation 1510, the core network selects optimal network slice resources for determined NSIs and a corresponding transaction is recorded by the blockchain network 1544” wherein [0242] “In some aspects, each application within the single enterprise is connected to a network (4G, 5G, 6G, Wi-Fi, unlicensed spectrum, Ethernet, ZigBee, etc.) and the slicing could incorporate multiple radio technologies (RATs) with dynamic CPU, I/O, and memory resource allocations for dynamic slice management”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize network slice resources as in Parker in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to [0003-0007] achieve optimal resource allocation of network resources as taught by Parker over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 10, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Parker teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the cellular network is a sixth generation (6G) cellular network ([0281] “At operation 1510, the core network selects optimal network slice resources for determined NSIs and a corresponding transaction is recorded by the blockchain network 1544” wherein [0242] “In some aspects, each application within the single enterprise is connected to a network (4G, 5G, 6G, Wi-Fi, unlicensed spectrum, Ethernet, ZigBee, etc.) and the slicing could incorporate multiple radio technologies (RATs) with dynamic CPU, I/O, and memory resource allocations for dynamic slice management”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize network slice resources as in Parker in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to [0003-0007] achieve optimal resource allocation of network resources as taught by Parker over that of Goldthwaite.
As per claim 12, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but Ramaci teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the removable chipset is reconfigurable to be associated with a second financial institution ([0008] “In some embodiments, the transaction apparatus may receive data by communication with a mobile device, by communication with a detachable magnetic strip reader (used to read, for example, a credit/debit card having a magnetic strip), by still photography or video capture (such as by image capture and decoding of a 2D or 3D barcode or by image capture and decoding, if necessary, of a check or other financial document), by accessing the Internet via a network, by communication with a biometric reader, by receiving manual input by a user, micro USB port, SIM cards, accessing a cloud, geo-fence, radio, vehicle, communication with other transaction apparatus, and/or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize reconfigurable transaction apparatus as in Ramaci, in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite, with the motivation of offering to [0001-0006] improve security for consolidation and storage of various financial and/or identification items for easy implementation and utilization during a transaction as taught by Ramaci over that of Goldthwaite.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldthwaite, in view of Ramaci, and in view of WALLNER (US 20160247138 A1).
As per claim 17, Goldthwaite may not explicitly disclose, but WALLNER teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the removable chipset comprises location circuitry configured to cause transmission of location data for the removable chipset to the mobile device ([0034] “The detachable payment device 104 may be equipped to provide usage and location reporting and commands to and from the mobile device 102 and the mobile wallet 108 through Bluetooth, other like wireless communications, or wired communications … Location reporting may include data such as continent of transaction, state of transaction, county of transaction, city of transaction, establishment of transaction, and the like information that may be available as a function of GPS capabilities available to the mobile device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize location reporting commands on the detachable payment device as in WALLNER in the system executing the method of Goldthwaite with the motivation of offering to provide improved system for detachable payment systems with enhanced security by obtaining location data as taught by WALLNER over that of Goldthwaite.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 2 to 5, filed 25-February-2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends, see pages 2 to 3, that the referenced prior art Goldthwaite disclosing the SIM card does not correspond to the claimed removable SoC chipset. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The SIM card in Goldthwaite teaches a “removable chipset” storing sensitive data that is operatively inserted into the mobile device to conduct transactions. Although the prior art may not explicitly disclose the specific components of the claims, the reference teaches that the SIM card is capable of performing the steps of the claimed invention (e.g. perform authentication, communicate data, conduct transaction, etc.). Additionally, Ramaci teaches the removable device comprising the claimed components. Therefore, Goldthwaite in view of Ramaci would teach the claims, as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Applicant contends, see page 3, that Goldthwaite does not teach the second authentication engine distinct from the first authentication engine. As similarly discussed above, it is not Goldthwaite alone that would teach this element, but the combination of the referenced prior arts – Goldthwaite in view of Ramaci, wherein Ramaci teaches of storing authentication data in the transaction apparatus for future authentications (e.g. second authentication engine) separate from the first authentication engine disclosed in Figure 5 – steps 504 to 508.
Applicant contends, see page 3, that Goldthwaite does not disclose the removable chipset comprising distinct communication hardware. As similarly discussed above, Goldthwaite teaches the SIM card capable of supporting 3G network requirement, which shows that the SIM card must be configured to receive configuration data (i.e. configured to support 3G network requirement). Additionally, Ramaci also teaches the apparatus comprising the hardware distinct from the mobile device, thus Goldthwaite in view of Ramaci would teach this element.
Applicant contends, see pages 3 to 4, that Goldthwaite does not disclose the claim limitation regarding the rules engine to generate a ruleset based on the configuration data. As similarly discussed above, Goldthwaite teaches the SIM card capable of being programmed to meet the network requirement (e.g. being programmed by the mobile network operator company and provide the mobile phone network services), and Ramaci also teaches of the transaction apparatus writing the data based on user preferences. Thus, Goldthwaite in view of Ramaci would teach this element.
Applicant contends, see pages 4 to 5, that Goldthwaite does not disclose the limitation regarding the transaction engine configured to facilitate a financial transaction. As similarly discussed above, Goldthwaite teaches of performing the transaction based on the first and second authentication, and Ramaci also teaches of utilizing the authentication (e.g. fingerprint match) of the transaction apparatus and the first authentication to perform the transaction. The combination of the referenced prior arts - Goldthwaite in view of Ramaci - would teach the claim as a whole, therefore the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schultz et al. (US 20130227651 A1) discloses [0099] “Chip set 600 is programmed to enable multi-factor biometric authentication of a user of a mobile device as described herein and includes, for instance, the processor and memory components described with respect to FIG. 5 incorporated in one or more physical packages (e.g., chips)”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H JUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695