DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1-7, 10, 13 and 21-24, and the cancelation of claims 16-20, as filed on November 13, 2025, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action necessitated by the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US20210311393).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (claim 1), comprising: forming a photoresist layer on a target layer (claim 1), wherein the photoresist layer comprises a polymer comprising first repeating units and second repeating units, the first repeating units are the same as recited in the instant claim (structure A in claim 1) while the second repeating units are species of the genus represented by the formulae recited in the instant claim (structure C-2 in claim 1); selectively exposing the photoresist layer to a radiation (claim 1); developing the photoresist layer to form a patterned photoresist layer (claim 1); and etching the target layer by using the patterned photoresist layer as an etching mask (paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses wherein X5 is a trivalent functional group derived from benzene by removal of three hydrogen atoms (structure C-2 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses wherein the second repeating units are represented by the following formula:
(structure C-2 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses a non-aromatic cycloalkyl group that is substituted by an alkyl group (structure C-2 in claim 1; and claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses wherein X6 and X7 are respectively one of the following structures disclosed in claim 3:
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses wherein the second repeating units are 40 wt% to 70 wt% based on a total polymer weight (claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (claim 1), comprising: forming a negative photoresist layer comprising a photoresist composition over a substrate (claim 1), wherein the photoresist composition comprises a photoactive compound and a polymer comprising first repeating units, second repeating units, and third repeating units, the first repeating units are represented by structure A disclosed in claim 1, the second repeating units are represented by structure C-2 disclosed in claim 1, the third repeating units represented by structure D disclosed in claim 1, wherein X5 is a trivalent functional group derived from an arene by removal of three hydrogen atoms, X6 and X7 are respectively an acid labile group (ALG, claim 1), X14 is
(claim 3), exposing the negative photoresist layer to a radiation to form at least one exposed portion and at least one unexposed portion (claim 1); and removing the at least one unexposed portion to form a patterned photoresist layer (claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation recited in the “wherein” clause in the method claim simply expresses the intended result of the recited process; therefore, it is not accorded patentability weight. See MPEP 2111.04.
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses wherein X6 and X7 are respectively a non-aromatic cycloalkyl group that is substituted by an alkyl group (claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses wherein the non-aromatic cycloalkyl group is monocyclic or polycyclic (claim 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentbale over Lin et al. (US20210311393) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Zi et al. (US20200135451).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the second repeating units are
(structure C-2, claim 1), wherein ALG is
(the 5th structure in claim 3). Lin is silent about the ALG (acid labile group) comprising OH group. However, Zi teaches that an acid labile group comprising OH group (the 4th structure in claim 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use known a known acid labile group comprising OH group as taught by Zi as an acid labile group in structure C-2 of the method of Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Regarding claim 7, Zi discloses wherein -X12-OH and -X13-OH are respectively
(the 4th structure in claim 13).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US20210311393) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses wherein the polymer further comprises third repeating units, the third repeating units are
Ra is hydrogen (structure D in claim 1), and L is an acid labile group (ALG) which is a hydrocarbon structure (claim 3). Lin further teaches that inclusion of a lactone group to the hydrocarbon structure assists to reduce the amount of line edge roughness after the photoresist has been developed, thereby helping to reduce the number of defects that occur during development (paragraph 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a lactone group to the acid labile group (ALG) in order to reduce the number of defects that occur during development, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US20210311393) as applied to claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses wherein the second repeating units and the third repeating units are 40 wt% to 70 wt% based on a total polymer weight (claim 4), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses wherein the polymer further comprises fourth repeating units, the fourth repeating units are represented by the following formula:
(structure D, claim 1), wherein ALG is a hydrocarbon structure (claim 3). Lin further teaches that inclusion of a lactone group to the hydrocarbon structure assists to reduce the amount of line edge roughness after the photoresist has been developed, thereby helping to reduce the number of defects that occur during development (paragraph 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a lactone group to the acid labile group (ALG) in order to reduce the number of defects that occur during development, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (US20210311393).
Regarding claim 21, Lin discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (claim 1), comprising: forming a negative photoresist layer comprising a photoresist composition on a target (claim 1), wherein the negative photoresist layer comprises a polymer comprising first repeating units, second repeating units, and third repeating units, the first repeating units are represented by structure A in claim 1, the second repeating units are
(structure C-2, claim 1), the third repeating units are
(structure D, claim 1), wherein X5 is a trivalent functional group derived from an arene by removal of three hydrogen atoms (structure C-2, claim 1), X6 and X7 are respectively an acid labile group (ALG, structure C-2, claim 1), R3 and Ra are respectively hydrogen; exposing the negative photoresist layer to a radiation to form at least one exposed portion and at least one unexposed portion (claim 1); and removing the at least one unexposed portion to form a patterned photoresist layer (claim 1). Lin does not expressly disclose L (ALG) is a lactone moiety. However, Lin teaches that inclusion of a lactone group to the hydrocarbon structure assists to reduce the amount of line edge roughness after the photoresist has been developed, thereby helping to reduce the number of defects that occur during development (paragraph 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a lactone group to the acid labile group (ALG) in order to reduce the number of defects that occur during development, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, Lin discloses wherein X5 is a trivalent functional group derived from benzene by removal of three hydrogen atoms (structure C-2, claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Lin discloses wherein X6 and X7 are respectively a non-aromatic cycloalkyl group that is substituted by an alkyl group (claim 3).
Regarding claim 25, Lin discloses wherein the second repeating units are 40 wt% to 70 wt% based on a total polymer weight (claim 4).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentbale over Lin et al. (US20210311393) as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Zi et al. (US20200135451).
Regarding claim 24, Lin discloses the second repeating units are
(structure C-2, claim 1), wherein ALG is
(the 5th structure in claim 3). Lin is silent about the ALG (acid labile group) comprising OH group. However, Zi teaches that an acid labile group comprising OH group (the 4th structure in claim 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use known a known acid labile group comprising OH group as taught by Zi as an acid labile group in structure C-2 of the method of Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713