DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 10/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Applicant made a provisional election without traverse to prosecute the
invention of Group i, claims 1-10, is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected group there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant has the right to file a divisional application covering the subject matter of the non-elected claims.
Acknowledges
2. Receipt is acknowledged of the following items from the Applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/12/2023, and 12/06/2023. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Applicant is requested to cite any relevant prior art if being aware on form PTO-1449 in accordance with the guidelines set for in M.P.E.P. 609.
Foreign Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pak et al. (US 2022/0173160)
Regarding claim 1, Pak discloses a display device comprising:
a first electrode AL1 (See fig. 4A) and a second electrode AL2 spaced apart from each other;
a third electrode 142 and a fourth electrode 144 intersecting the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2 and spaced apart from each other; and
light emitting elements 130 disposed between the first and second electrodes 142, 144, wherein
a first end of each of the light emitting elements 130 faces the third electrode 142, and
a second end of each of the light emitting elements 130 faces the fourth electrode 144.
Regarding claim 2, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2 are spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extend in a second direction, and the third and fourth electrodes 142, 144 are spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extend in the first direction. See fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 3, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting elements 130 are arranged in the second direction. See fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 4, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2 are disposed on the third and fourth electrodes 142, 144. See fig. 4B.
Regarding claim 5, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 4, further comprising:
an insulating layer 114-118 between the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2 and the third and fourth electrodes 142, 144. See fig. 4B.
Regarding claim 6, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 4, further comprising:
a first connection electrode that is in electrical contact with the first end of each of the light emitting elements (forming contact between third electrode 142 and the first end); and
a second connection electrode that is in electrical contact with the second end of each of the light emitting elements (forming contact between fourth electrode 144 and the second end). See figs. 4A-B.
Regarding claim 7, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 6, wherein
the first connection electrode is electrically connected to the first electrode AL1 (via contact hole AH1), and
the second connection electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode AL2 (via contact hole AH2). See figs. 4A-B.
Regarding claim 8, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the third and fourth electrodes 142, 144 are disposed on the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2 (view from the bottom of fig. 4B; or alternately, the structure shown in fig. 4B can be turned upside down.
Regarding claim 9, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the light emitting elements 130 are electrically connected to the third and fourth electrodes 142, 144. See figs. 4A-B.
Regarding claim 10, Pak discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a side portion between the first end and the second end of each of the light emitting elements 130 faces the first and second electrodes AL1, AL2. See figs. 4A-B.
7. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 2024/0030396)
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a display device comprising:
a first electrode 201 and a second electrode 401 (see fig. 1) spaced apart from each other;
a third electrode 300 and a fourth electrode 600 intersecting the first and second electrodes 210, 410 and spaced apart from each other; and
light emitting elements 500 disposed between the first and second electrodes 210, 410, wherein a first end of each of the light emitting elements 500 faces the third electrode (at lead 520), and a second end of each of the light emitting elements faces the fourth electrode (at other lead 520).
Conclusion
8. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the day of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see M.P.E.P 710.02(b)).
A shortened time for reply may be extended up to the maximum six-month period (35 U.S.C. 133). An extension of time fee is normally required to be paid if the reply period is extended. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the length of the extension. Extensions of time are generally not available after an application has been allowed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/DAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 December 8, 2025
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818