Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/8/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 10 – 11, 15 are amended. Claims 1 – 20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (Pub. No. US 20150279674 A1), hereinafter Cho.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 ( currently amended ), Cho teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302; [0062], substrate, 302 );
supplying a first precursor including a first metal element ( Cho, Abstract, A co-sputter technique is used to deposit In—Ga—Zn—O films using PVD. The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon … One target includes an alloy of In, Ga, Zn, and O; [0087], FIG. 5 illustrates a system with three deposition stations; [0004], Some examples of metal-based semiconductor materials include those based on In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) );
forming a first layer of a first metal oxide material containing the first metal element over the substrate, wherein the first metal element includes a Group 13 element ( Cho, Abstract, One target includes an alloy of In, Ga; FIG. 5, 560A; [0087], For example, the substrate can be positioned at station #1, comprising a target assembly 560A … Station #1 can be configured to deposit a metal oxide based semiconductor (e.g. IGZO) layer );
supplying a second precursor including a second metal element and a third metal element ( Cho, Abstract, A co-sputter technique is used to deposit In—Ga—Zn—O films using PVD. The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon … The second target includes a compound of zinc oxide. The third target includes a compound of indium oxide; [0087], FIG. 5 illustrates a system with three deposition stations; [0004], Some examples of metal-based semiconductor materials include those based on In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) );
forming a second layer of a second metal oxide material ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ) that contains the second metal element and the third metal element directly on the first layer to form a crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 ) containing the first, second and third metal elements, wherein the second metal element and the third metal element are different and each being independently selected from Group 12 elements, Group 13 elements, and Group 15 elements ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560B, 560C; [0087], For example, the substrate can be positioned at station #1, comprising a target assembly 560A, then transferred to station #2, comprising target assembly 560B, and then transferred to station #3, comprising target assembly 560C. Station #1 can be configured to deposit a metal oxide based semiconductor (e.g. IGZO) layer. Station #2 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition. Station #3 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition ), and the second and third metal elements contained in the second metal oxide material are aligned with the first metal element contained in the first metal oxide material along a vertical crystalline axis direction ( Cho, [0004], Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ) to form the crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film, and the second metal oxide material ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ) includes gallium zinc oxide;
forming a source terminal and a drain terminal ( Cho, FIG. 3, 312, 314; [0065], Source and drain electrodes, 312 and 314 ) respectively on and in contact with the crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 );
forming a dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063], Gate dielectric, 306 ) over the substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302 ); and
forming a gate layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 304; [0062], Gate electrode, 304 ) on the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306 ).
Regarding Claim 2 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
wherein supplying a first precursor including a first metal element comprises providing first metal particles ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, … ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ) and supplying an oxygen-containing gas ( Cho, Abstract, The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon; [0006], a co-sputter technique is used to deposit In—Ga—Zn—O films using PVD. The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon ) ( Although claim 2 wording (“supplying a first precursor” “supplying an oxygen-containing gas”) are typical of ALD ( Atomic Layer Deposition ), under BRI ( Broadest Reasonable Interpretation ), Cho discloses that “a co-sputter technique is used to deposit In—Ga—Zn—O films using PVD”, means the sputtering from oxide targets ( e.g. IGZO, ZnO, IGO ), which inherently provides metal particles to the substrate, and “the films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon”. This mapping does not equate Cho’s sputtering with ALD; rather, it shows that Cho’s sputtering disclosure inherently meets the claim language when interpreted under BRI. ).
Regarding Claim 3 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
further comprising performing a plasma treatment ( [Cho, 0032] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each of the layers discussed herein and used in the TFT may be formed using any common formation technique such as … plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PE-ALD) … plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) ) during supplying the oxygen-containing gas ( Cho, Abstract, The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon; [0006], The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon ).
Regarding Claim 4 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first precursor includes the first metal element and oxygen ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, … ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ).
Regarding Claim 5 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
further comprising performing a plasma treatment ( Cho, [0043], In addition, the metal-based semiconductor layer may be treated prior to etch stopper or source/drain deposition with a plasma containing O2 or N2O ) or a thermal treatment ( Cho, [0041], Optionally, an anneal step is implemented prior to patterning, post patterning, or both ) after supplying the first precursor.
Regarding Claim 6 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
wherein supplying a second precursor including a second metal element and a third metal element comprises co-supplying second metal particles and third metal particles ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560B, 560C; [0087], … then transferred to station #2, comprising target assembly 560B, and then transferred to station #3, comprising target assembly 560C … Station #2 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition. Station #3 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition ), and supplying an oxygen-containing gas ( Cho, Abstract, The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon; [0006], a co-sputter technique is used to deposit In—Ga—Zn—O films using PVD. The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon ).
Regarding Claim 7 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 6, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
further comprising performing a plasma treatment ( [Cho, 0032] Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each of the layers discussed herein and used in the TFT may be formed using any common formation technique such as … plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PE-ALD) … plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) ) during supplying the oxygen-containing gas ( Cho, Abstract, The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon; [0006], The films are deposited in an atmosphere including both oxygen and argon ).
Regarding Claim 8 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
wherein the second precursor includes the second metal element, the third metal element and oxygen ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560B, 560C; [0087], … then transferred to station #2, comprising target assembly 560B, and then transferred to station #3, comprising target assembly 560C … Station #2 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition. Station #3 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition ).
Regarding Claim 9 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
further comprising performing a plasma treatment ( Cho, [0043], In addition, the metal-based semiconductor layer may be treated prior to etch stopper or source/drain deposition with a plasma containing O2 or N2O ) or a thermal treatment ( Cho, [0041], Optionally, an anneal step is implemented prior to patterning, post patterning, or both ) after supplying the second precursor.
Regarding Claim 10 ( currently amended ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first metal oxide material includes indium oxide ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) and related materials, like In—Zn—O (IZO) … In—O—N (InON) … In—Ga—O (IGO) ), and the crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film includes c-axis aligned crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO ).
Regarding Independent Claim 11 ( currently amended ), Cho teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a deposition chamber ( Cho, FIG. 5; [0087], FIG. 5 illustrates a system with three deposition stations, but those skilled in the art will understand that any number of deposition stations can be supplied in the system ) equipped with a first target including a first metal oxide material ( Cho, [0004], Some examples of metal-based semiconductor materials include those based on In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ) and a second target including a second metal oxide material ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ), wherein the first metal oxide material contains a first metal element including a Group 13 element ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560A; [0087], For example, the substrate can be positioned at station #1, comprising a target assembly 560A … Station #1 can be configured to deposit a metal oxide based semiconductor (e.g. IGZO) layer ), and the second metal oxide material contains a second metal element and a third metal element, each independently selected from Group 12 elements, Group 13 elements, and Group 15 elements ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560B, 560C; [0087], For example, the substrate can be positioned at station #1, comprising a target assembly 560A, then transferred to station #2, comprising target assembly 560B, and then transferred to station #3, comprising target assembly 560C. Station #1 can be configured to deposit a metal oxide based semiconductor (e.g. IGZO) layer. Station #2 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition. Station #3 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition ), and the second metal oxide material ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ) is gallium zinc oxide;
providing a substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302; [0062], substrate, 302 ) in the deposition chamber (Cho, FIG. 5);
forming a first layer of the first metal oxide material over the substrate by ejecting the first metal oxide material from the first target to the substrate ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560A; [0087], Station #1 can be configured to deposit a metal oxide based semiconductor (e.g. IGZO) layer );
forming a second layer of the second metal oxide material directly on the first layer by ejecting the second metal oxide material from the second target to the first layer over the substrate, wherein the second metal element and the third metal element are different elements ( Cho, FIG. 5, 560B, 560C; [0087], … then transferred to station #2, comprising target assembly 560B, and then transferred to station #3, comprising target assembly 560C … Station #2 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition. Station #3 can be configured to deposit an additional IGZO layer with the same or different composition ), and the second and third metal elements contained in the second layer are aligned with the first metal element contained in the first layer along a vertical crystalline axis direction ( Cho, [0004], Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ) to form a crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 );
forming a source terminal and a drain terminal ( Cho, FIG. 3, 312, 314; [0065], Source and drain electrodes, 312 and 314 ) respectively on the crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 ) and in contact with the crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film;
forming a dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ) over the substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302 ); and
forming a gate layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 304; [0062], Gate electrode, 304 ) on the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ).
Regarding Claim 12 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first target and the second target are alternately energized ( Cho, [0050], Furthermore, the substrates may be processed in many configurations such as single substrate processing, multiple substrate batch processing, in-line continuous processing, in-line “stop and soak” processing, or roll-to-roll processing.).
Regarding Claim 13 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first target and the second target are energized by laser pulses ( Cho, [0048], The gate electrode layer can be deposited using well known deposition techniques such as … PLD. PLD is pulsed laser deposition ).
Regarding Claim 14 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 13, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first target and the second target are energized by argon plasma in a gaseous environment comprising a mixture of argon gas and oxygen gas, and a volume ratio of the argon gas to the oxygen gas ranges from 2:3 to 3:2 ( Cho, [0090], In some embodiments, the IGZO layer is deposited using reactive sputtering wherein oxygen is present with the argon used to form the sputtering atmosphere. The concentration of oxygen can vary from 0 volume % (i.e. pure argon) to 100 volume % (i.e. pure oxygen). Generally, it has been found that it is advantageous to have an oxygen concentration between about 50 volume % and about 100 volume %. In some embodiments, it has been found that it is advantageous to have an oxygen concentration between about 60 volume % and about 80 volume %; [0098], The sputtering atmosphere comprised 50 volume % oxygen and 50 volume % argon at a sputtering pressure of 2 mTorr ).
Regarding Claim 15 ( currently amended ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, Cho further teaches:
wherein the first metal oxide material is indium oxide ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) and related materials, like In—Zn—O (IZO) … In—O—N (InON) … In—Ga—O (IGO) ).
Regarding Independent Claim 16 ( original ), Cho teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302; [0062], substrate, 302 );
forming a first layer of indium oxide layer ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) and related materials, like In—Zn—O (IZO) … In—O—N (InON) … In—Ga—O (IGO) ) over the substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302 );
forming a second layer of gallium zinc oxide ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ) directly on the first layer to form a crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide film ( Cho, [0004], Some examples of metal-based semiconductor materials include those based on In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) … Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ) over the substrate ( Cho, FIG. 3, 302 );
forming a source terminal and a drain terminal ( Cho, FIG. 3, 312, 314; [0065], Source and drain electrodes, 312 and 314 ) respectively on and in contact with the crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 );
forming a dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ) over the substrate; and
forming a gate layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 304; [0062], Gate electrode, 304 ) on the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ).
Regarding Claim 17 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 16, Cho further teaches:
wherein the crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide film has a multi-layered structure ( Cho, [0050], Furthermore, the substrates may be processed … multiple substrate batch processing, in-line continuous processing, in-line “stop and soak” processing, or roll-to-roll processing ) including the first layer of indium oxide ( Cho, [0004], In—Ga—Zn—O (IGZO) and related materials, like In—Zn—O (IZO) … In—O—N (InON) … In—Ga—O (IGO) ) and the second layer of gallium zinc oxide ( Cho, [0004], In—Zn—O (IZO) ), and gallium element and zinc element contained in the second layer are aligned with indium element contained in the first layer along a c-axis direction ( Cho, [0004], Examples of crystalline metal-based semiconductor materials include c-axis aligned crystalline (CAAC) materials like CAAC-IGZO, or polycrystalline materials like ZnO and In—Ga—O (IGO) ).
Regarding Claim 18 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 16, Cho further teaches:
wherein the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 2, 222-Passivation depositon ) is formed after forming the source terminal and the drain terminal ( Cho, FIG. 3, 312, 314; [0065], Source and drain electrodes, 312 and 314 ), and the gate layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 304; [0062], Gate electrode, 304 ) is formed after forming the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ) ( Cho, [0033], Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the description and teachings herein can be readily applied to any simple or complex TFT structure, including inverted-staggered, bottom-gate, back-channel-etch device structures, co-planar device structures, inverted-staggered, bottom-gate, etch-stopper contact (via) hole device structures, self-aligned, inverted-staggered, bottom-gate, etch-stopper island device structures, and various device structures based on top-gate, bottom-gate, staggered, inverted-staggered, co-planar, back-channel-etch, single-gate, or double-gate features ).
Regarding Claim 19 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 16, Cho further teaches:
wherein the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063] Gate dielectric, 306 ) is formed before the crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 ) is formed, and the gate layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 304; [0062], Gate electrode, 304 ) is formed before the crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 ) is formed ( Cho, FIG. 2, 204 – Gate electrode patterning [Wingdings font/0xE0] 206 – Gate dielectric deposition [Wingdings font/0xE0] 210 – Metal oxide (IGZO) deposition ).
Regarding Claim 20 ( original ), Cho teaches the method as claimed in claim 16, Cho further teaches:
wherein forming the dielectric layer ( Cho, FIG. 3, 306; [0063], Gate dielectric, 306 ) includes forming a ferroelectric layer ( Cho, [0042], Gate dielectric, 106, … Examples of suitable materials for the gate dielectric include … and high-k dielectric material (e.g. hafnium oxide, …), … or high-k dielectric material (e.g. hafnium oxide, …) ).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks regarding Claims 1, 11, 16: on page 7, line 2, cited “ However, Applicant respectfully submits that gallium zinc oxide is GaZnO, which is different from In-Zn-O (IZO). Further, according to the entire disclosure of Cho, Applicant respectfully submits that Cho does not disclose any description related to the formation of gallium zinc oxide. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Cho fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the foregoing features of the amended claims 1 and 11 as well as claim 16 ”.
Examiner’s response: please refer to claims 1, 11, 16 in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 of this office action, for instance, claim 1 cited “ … forming a second layer of a second metal oxide material ( Cho, [0043], Examples of suitable materials for the metal-based semiconductor layer include indium gallium zinc oxide (In—Ga—Zn—O or IGZO) ) that contains the second metal element and the third metal element directly on the first layer to form a crystalline metal oxide semiconductor film ( Cho, FIG. 3, 308; [0064] Metal-based semiconductor layer, 308 ) containing the first, second and third metal elements … ”. Therefore, Cho discloses the formation of gallium zinc oxide.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817