DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, Species C and Species E (corresponding to claims 8, 10-12 and 14-16) in the reply filed on 10 November 2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 9, 13 and 17-20 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply. Claims 9 and 13 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 10, 12 and 17-20 have been cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the plurality of support sticks comprise a second flow path connected to the negative pressure generating part to adhere the mask to the support sticks, the second flow path comprising a second redirection portion in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface facing the mask, the second shape being selected from bent, curved, cornered and angled” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 8 negative pressure generating part which has been interpreted as a vacuum pump and equivalents thereto, as set forth, e.g., in para. 95; claim 8 bonding portion (i.e. portion for bonding) has been interpreted as a welding protrusion and equivalents thereto, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 154.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
As presently claimed, Examiner is unable to find original support for how the claimed first flow path, second flow path, and negative pressure generating part function and are arranged with respect to one another to adhere the mask to the support sticks (as illustrated, e.g., in Figs. 12-13) and the mask to the mask frame (as illustrated, e.g., in Figs 1-2, 5A). In order to expedite examination, the claims have been examined as written to Examiner’s best ability, regardless of overall clarity or original support.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
As presently claimed, it is not clear how the claimed the claimed first flow path, second flow path, and negative pressure generating part function and are arranged with respect to one another to adhere the mask to the support sticks (as illustrated, e.g., in Figs. 12-13) and the mask to the mask frame (as illustrated, e.g., in Figs 1-2, 5A). In order to expedite examination, the claims have been examined as written to Examiner’s best ability, regardless of overall clarity or original support.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0179354 to Araki et al. in view of KR Patent Pub. No. 10-2020-0093487 to Lee.
Regarding claim 8: In Fig. 14 and the accompanying text (also see annotated figure below), Araki et al. disclose a mask assembly substantially as claimed and comprising: a mask frame (262) comprising a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface, an inside surface, an outside surface opposite the inside surface, a frame opening defined by the inside surface, a frame opening (267) defined by the inside surface, and a first flow path (264), the first flow path extending through the mask frame; a mask (212) disposed on the top surface of the mask frame; and a negative pressure generating part (266), the first flow path connected to the negative pressure generating part to allow the mask to be adhered to the mask frame, wherein the first flow path comprises a redirection portion (see corner/angle of path 264) having a first shape in a cross-section perpendicular to the top surface facing the mask, the first shape being selected from bent, curved, cornered, and angled; wherein the first flow path further comprises: a first opening extending in a first direction from the top surface of the mask frame that faces the mask; and a second opening extending in a second direction different from the first direction from the outside surface of the mask frame that face the negative pressure generating part. .
However, Araki et al. fail to disclose the mask frame further comprises a bonding portion bonded to the mask the bonding portion being spaced apart from the first flow path by a predetermined distance.
In Figs. 12-14 thereof, e.g., Lee discloses providing a mask frame (200) further comprising a bonding portion (WB bonded to a mask (100, the bonding portion being spaced apart from a first flow path (229) by a predetermined distance for the purpose of integrally connecting the mask and mask frame (also see translation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Araki et al. a bonding portion (WB) bonded to a mask (100), the bonding portion being spaced apart from a first flow path (229) by a predetermined distance for the purpose of integrally connecting the mask and mask frame as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 11, in modified Araki et al., Araki et al. disclose an angle between the first opening and the second opening is greater than about zero (0) degrees and equal to or less than about ninety (90) degrees. See, e.g., Fig. 14.
With respect to claim 14, in modified Araki et al., as set forth above, Lee teaches the mask and themask frame bonding arrangement, wherein the mask frame comprises a plurality of rows of first flow paths, the bonding portion being disposed between ones of the plurality of rows of the first flow paths. See, e.g., Figs. 13 and 14. It is also noted that the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to claim 15, in modified Araki et al., Lee disclose a configuration wherein a plurality masks/support sticks (e.g. 223 and 225, rather than peripheral area 221) are disposed on the mask frame. With reference to Araki et al., which discloses a single mask/support stick) disposed on the mask frame, it is noted that the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8, 11 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to Applicant’s remarks, Examiner does note that the fact that a claim not previously presented (e.g. amended claim 8, which notably is not now exactly commensurate to previous claim 8 and/or previous claim 12), was not previously rejected by a prior art reference does not mean that one may safely assume that the newly presented claims will be allowable over that particular prior art reference. Examiner also notes that the previous office action found all presented claims to be anticipated by single prior art references. However, these same prior art references can also be used in obviousness rejections, similar, but not limited to, the rejections presented above according to normal US patent examination procedures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 4,963,921 discloses a mask with a bent flow path and a negative pressure generating part. USP Pubs. 2015/0007767; 2016/0296966; and 2023/0062020 disclose mask assemblies including various configurations of frames, masks, and sticks.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716