DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, Species C and Species E (corresponding to claims 8, 10-12 and 14-16) in the reply filed on 10 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 9, 13 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 8 negative pressure generating part which has been interpreted as a vacuum pump and equivalents thereto, as set forth, e.g., in para. 95; claim 12 bonding portion (i.e. portion for bonding) has been interpreted as a welding protrusion and equivalents thereto, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 154.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claim 8 recites “a surface” which appears to be a surface of the mask frame and has been interpreted and examined as such. Claim 10 further recites “a first surface” and “a second surface” of the mask frame without relating either to the previously recited “a surface”, rendering claim 10 unclear. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed that there may be overlap between the “a surface” of claim 8 and “a first surface” and “a second surface” of claim 10 and has examined accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0179354 to Araki et al.
Regarding claim 8: In Fig. 14 and the accompanying text, Araki et al. disclose a mask assembly comprising: a mask frame (262) comprising a frame opening (267) and a first flow path (264), the first flow path extending through the mask frame; a mask (212) disposed on the mask frame; and a negative pressure generating part (266), the first flow path connected to the negative pressure generating part to allow the mask to be adhered to the mask frame, wherein the first flow path comprises a redirection portion (see corner/angle of path 264) having a first shape in a cross-section perpendicular to a surface (e.g. a substantially horizontal surface of the mask frame) facing the mask, the first shape being selected from bent, curved, cornered, and angled.
Additionally, alternatively and more broadly (wherein a specific angle is not claimed), with respect to claim 8, Examiner notes that 224 can be considered a first redirection portion (e.g., redirecting air from the mask assembly to the negative pressure generating part) having a first shape in a cross-section perpendicular to a surface (e.g. a substantially horizontal surface of the mask frame) facing the mask, at various portions, the first shape being angled at approximately 0 degrees or 90 degrees with respect to the surface.
With respect to claim 10, in Lee the first flow path further comprises: a first opening extending in a first direction from a first surface (e.g., top substantially horizontal surface of 262) of the mask frame that face the mask; and a second opening extending in a second and different direction from a second surface (e.g., side substantially vertical surface of 262) of the mask frame that faces the negative pressure generating part, the second opening extending from the first opening.
With respect to claim 11, in Lee, an angle between the first opening and the second opening is greater than about zero (o) degrees and equal to or less than about ninety (90) degrees. See, e.g., Fig. 14.
Claim(s) 8, 10-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR Patent Pub. No. 10-2020-0093487 to Lee.
Regarding claim 8: In Figs. 4a-b, 5a-b, 6 and 12-14 and the accompanying text/translation, e.g., Lee discloses a mask assembly comprising: a mask frame (70 and 200) comprising a frame opening (Fig. 5, R) and a first flow path (path 76, in holes in 75, and holes 229 in 223), the first flow path extending through the mask frame; a mask (100) disposed on the mask frame; and a negative pressure generating part (pump, not shown see translation), the first flow path connected to the negative pressure generating part to allow the mask to be adhered to the mask frame, wherein the first flow path comprises a redirection portion (see, e.g., corner/angle of path 76 in Fig. 13) having a first shape in a cross-section perpendicular to a surface (e.g. a substantially horizontal surface of the mask frame) facing the mask, the first shape being selected from bent, curved, cornered, and angled.
Additionally, alternatively and more broadly (wherein a specific angle is not claimed), with respect to claim 8, Examiner notes that 229 can be considered a first redirection portion (e.g., redirecting air from the mask assembly to the negative pressure generating part) having a first shape in a cross-section perpendicular to a surface (e.g. a substantially horizontal surface of the mask frame) facing the mask, at various portions, the first shape being angled at approximately 90 degrees with respect to the surface.
With respect to claim 10, in Lee the first flow path further comprises: a first opening (e.g., 229) extending in a first direction from a first surface (e.g., top substantially horizontal surface of 220 as seen in Figs. 4-5) of the mask frame that face the mask; and a second opening (horizontally aligned portioned of 76) extending in a second and different direction from a second surface (e.g., peripheral vertical surface of 70) of the mask frame that faces the negative pressure generating part, the second opening extending from the first opening (via pores in 75 and vertical extending portion of 76).
With respect to claim 11, in Lee, an angle between the first opening and the second opening, corresponding to the redirection portion) is greater than about zero (0) degrees and equal to or less than about ninety (90) degrees. See, e.g., Fig. 13.
With respect to claim 12, in Lee, the mask frame may further comprise a bonding portion bonding portion (WB) bonded to the mask, the bonding portion being spaced apart from the first flow path by a predetermined distance. See, e.g., Fig. 13.
With respect to claim 14, the mask frame comprises a plurality of rows of first flow, the bonding portion being disposed between ones of the plurality of rows of the first flow paths. See, e.g., Figs. 13 and 14.
With respect to claim 15, the mask assembly of Lee further comprises a plurality of support sticks (221 and/or 225) disposed on the mask frame.
With respect to claim 16, Lee discloses disclose with reference to Figs. 12-14 that a similar second flow path may be formed with respect to 221 by forming a step therein that allows for the second flow path to connect and extend through 70 to the negative pressure generating part. Similarly, a second flow path may be formed with respect to 225. Broadly (wherein a specific angle is not claimed), support sticks have a second redirection portion (e.g., redirecting air from the mask assembly to the negative pressure generating part) having a shape in a cross-section perpendicular to a surface (e.g. a substantially horizontal surface of the mask frame) facing the mask, the second shape being angled at approximately 90 degrees with respect to the surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 4,963,921 discloses a mask with a bent flow path and a negative pressure generating part.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716