DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-17, 21-29 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10, 13-17, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification as filed fails to provide support for the claim limitation of the last 5 lines of claim 7. Paragraph 91 recites that nanoscale structure 320 and HA structure 316 comprise the same dielectric material, and further recites 320 may be filled with a first dielectric, followed by a subsequent photolithographic process to form the pyramidal recess 414, and then 414 is filled with a second dielectric. The claim recites a different order of steps which forms an array of nanoscale holes (line 14), etching the pyramidal pattern, depositing an additional dielectric into the pyramidal pattern (line 18), and then depositing a dielectric material in the array of nanoscale holes and in the HA structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26-28, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0190010; hereinafter “Wang”).
Re claim 21: Wang teaches (e.g. fig. 4 and 2C) a method, comprising: forming a photodiode (CMOS image sensor; e.g. paragraph 19; hereinafter “PD”) within a substrate (Si substrate; e.g. paragraph 55; hereinafter “S”); forming a high absorption (HA) structure (11C the deeper antireflection layer AR; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “HAS”) over the photodiode (PD); wherein the HA structure (HAS) has an approximately pyramidal shape (inverted pyramid; e.g. paragraph 53), extends into the substrate (S) and is at least partially filled with a dielectric material (SiO2 fills the inside of the inverted pyramids; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “DM”); and forming an array of nanoscale structures (12C shallow antireflection layer AR; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “NS”) at least partially surrounding (NS surrounds HAS) the HA structure (13), wherein the array of nanoscale structures (NS) are approximately spaced at regular intervals (see fig. 2C) and comprise rectangular holes (12C has a rectangular opening) filled with the dielectric material (DM).
Re claim 23: Wang teaches the method of claim 21, wherein each nanoscale structure (NS) has a cross-section that is approximately square (fig. 2C shows 11C has a square shape from above).
Re claim 26: Wang teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: forming an isolation structure (deep trench isolation DTI as shown in fig. 3C; hereinafter “DTI”) that surrounds the photodiode (PD), wherein a ratio of a depth of the isolation structure (DTI) from a top of the substrate (S) to a depth of the photodiode (PD) from the top of substrate is in a range from approximately 0.5 to approximately 0.8 (PD is 75% of the depth of deep trench isolation DTI).
Re claim 27: Wang teaches (e.g. fig. 4 and 2C) a method, comprising: forming a photodiode (CMOS image sensor; e.g. paragraph 19; hereinafter “PD”) within a substrate (Si substrate; e.g. paragraph 55; hereinafter “S”); and forming an array of nanoscale structures (12C shallow antireflection layer AR; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “NS”) over the photodiode (PD), wherein the array of nanoscale structures (NS) are approximately spaced at regular intervals (see fig. 2C) and comprise rectangular holes (12C has a rectangular opening) filled with a dielectric material (SiO2 fills the inside of the inverted pyramids; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “DM”); and forming a high absorption (HA) structure (11C the deeper antireflection layer AR; e.g. paragraph 53; hereinafter “HAS”) over the photodiode (PD), wherein the HA structure (HAS) has an approximately pyramidal shape (inverted pyramid; e.g. paragraph 53), extends into the substrate (S), and is at least partially filled with the dielectric material (DM).
Re claim 28: Wang teaches the method of claim 27, further comprising: forming an isolation structure (deep trench isolation DTI as shown in fig. 3c) that surrounds the photodiode (PD), wherein a ratio of a depth of the isolation structure (DTI) from a top of the substrate (S) to a depth of the photodiode (PD) from the top of substrate is in a range from approximately 0.5 to approximately 0.8 (DTI is approximately 75% of the depth of deep trench isolation DTI).
Re claim 31: Wang teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the HA structure (HAS) is configured to reflect infrared light toward the photodiode (PD), and the array of nanoscale structures (NS) is configured to reflect visible light toward the photodiode (PD). As discussed in MPEP 2112.01(i) when the structure of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claimed structure, claimed properties are presumed to be present.
Re claim 32: Wang teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the HA structure (HAS) is configured to reflect infrared light toward the photodiode (PD), and the array of nanoscale structures (NS) is configured to reflect visible light toward the photodiode (PD). As discussed in MPEP 2112.01(i) when the structure of the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claimed structure, claimed properties are presumed to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 24, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 21 and 27, respectively, above, and further in view of Wells (US PGPub 2006/0281266).
Re claim 22, 24, 29: Wang teaches substantially the entire method of claim 21 or 27 except explicitly teaching, wherein each nanoscale structure (NS of Wang) has a width that is in a range from approximately 10 nanometers (nm) to approximately 40 nm.
Wells teaches each nanoscale structure (20 of Zang) has a width that is in a range from approximately 10 nanometers (nm) to approximately 40 nm (275 of Wells has a pitch that is a quarter pitch of 124,145 which can be 100-200nm, therefore the spacing between each of 275 is 25-50nm; e.g. paragraphs 66, 83 and 89 of Wells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the method as taught by Wells in the device of Wang in order to have the predictable result of using a known method for forming nanoscale mask patterns which has reduced variation (see paragraph 45 of Wells).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898