DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0157777, hereinafter referred to as Yang).
As to claim 1, Yang teaches 1. A package, comprising: a first die and a second die in an encapsulant layer; and a dummy bar in the encapsulant layer and adjacent a gap between the first die and the second die. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 2, Yang teaches 2. The package of claim 1, wherein the second die is adjacent to the first die in a first direction, the gap extends longitudinally in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a center of the dummy bar in the first direction is substantially aligned with a center of the gap in the first direction. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 3, Yang teaches 3. The package of claim 2, wherein the dummy bar comprises a rectangular shape in a plan view and includes a long side in the first direction and a short side in the second direction. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 4, Yang teaches 4. The package of claim 3, wherein a length of the long side of the dummy bar is in a range from 1mm to 30mm and a length of the short side of the dummy bar is in a range from 0.1mm to 10.0mm. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 5, Yang teaches 5. The package of claim 3, wherein a ratio of a length of the encapsulant layer in the first direction to the length of the long side of the dummy bar is in a range from 1.5 to 15. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 6, Yang teaches 6. The package of claim 2, wherein the encapsulant layer is in the gap and the dummy bar is adjacent to the encapsulant layer in the second direction. [¶0057]
As to claim 7, Yang teaches 7. The package of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the dummy bar is in a range from 10µm to 5000µm. [¶0036]
As to claim 8, Yang teaches 8. The package of claim 1, wherein the dummy bar comprises a silicon bar. [¶0040]
As to claim 9, Yang teaches 9. The package of claim 1, wherein a ratio of a height of an upper surface of the encapsulant layer to a height of an upper surface of the dummy bar is in a range from 1 to 10. [¶0036]
As to claim 10, Yang teaches 10. The package of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the dummy bar is substantially coplanar with an upper surface of the first die and the second die. [¶0036]
As to claim 11, Yang teaches 11. The package of claim 1, further comprising: a package module comprising: a lower module portion including a lower molding layer and a local silicon interconnect (LSI) die in the lower molding layer; and an upper module portion on the lower module portion and including the encapsulant layer and the first die, the second die and the dummy bar in the encapsulant layer. [see 44 in Fig. 4A for example]
As to claim 12, Yang teaches 12. The package of claim 11, wherein the dummy bar is mounted on the lower molding layer of the lower module portion and is separated from the first die and the second die in a second direction. [see 40 and 44 in Fig. 4A for example]
As to claim 13, Yang teaches 13. The package of claim 11, wherein the LSI die is configured to connect the first die and the second die, and the gap is over the LSI die in a third direction perpendicular to a first direction and a second direction. [see 40 and 44 in Fig. 4A for example]
As to claim 14, Yang teaches 14. The package of claim 12, wherein the encapsulant layer contacts the lower molding layer between the dummy bar and the first and second dies and between the dummy bar and an edge of the lower molding layer. [see Fig. 4A for example]
As to claim 15, Yang teaches 15. A method of forming a package, the method comprising: attaching a first die and a second die to a surface; attaching a dummy bar to the surface adjacent a gap between the first die and the second die; and forming an encapsulant layer on the first die, the second die and the dummy bar. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 16, Yang teaches 16. The method of claim 15, wherein the attaching of the first die and the second die comprises attaching the first die and the second die such that the second die is adjacent to the first die in a first direction and the gap extends longitudinally in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 17, Yang teaches 17. The method of claim 16, wherein the attaching of the dummy bar comprises attaching the dummy bar such that a center of the dummy bar in the first direction is substantially aligned with a center of the gap in the first direction, and such that a long side of the dummy bar extends in the first direction and a short side of the dummy bar extends in the second direction. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 18, Yang teaches 18. The method of claim 16, wherein the forming of the encapsulant layer comprises forming the encapsulant layer in the gap such that the dummy bar is adjacent to the encapsulant layer in the second direction. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
As to claim 19, Yang teaches 19. The method of claim 15, further comprising: forming a package module including: a lower module portion including a lower molding layer and a local silicon interconnect (LSI) die in the lower molding layer; and an upper module portion on the lower module portion, wherein the attaching of the first die and the second die comprises attaching the first die and the second die to a surface of the lower molding layer, the attaching of the dummy bar comprises attaching the dummy bar to the surface of the lower molding layer, and the forming of the encapsulant layer comprises forming the encapsulant layer on the first die, the second die and the dummy bar in the upper module portion. [see 44 in Fig. 4A for example]
As to claim 20, Yang teaches 20. A package, comprising: a package substrate; a package module on the package substrate, comprising: a first die and a second die in an encapsulant layer; and a dummy bar in the encapsulant layer and adjacent a gap between the first die and the second die; and a package lid on the package module and attached to the package substrate. [see 21, 40 in Fig. 2A and 2B for example]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899