DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ Amendment, filed 1/16/2026, has been entered. Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 1-23 are pending and are examined hereinbelow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 11-13, 15, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fripp et al. (US 20210332673).
Regarding claim 1: Fripp discloses a multilateral junction (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a y-block, the y-block including a housing having a first end and a second opposing end (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a single first bore extending into the housing from the first end, the single first bore defining a first centerline and second and third separate bores extending into the housing and branching off from the single first bore (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses the second bore defining a second centerline and the third bore defining a third centerline (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a mainbore leg coupled to the second bore for extending into the main wellbore and the mainbore leg and the second bore defining a second overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a lateral bore leg coupled to the third bore for extending into the lateral wellbore and the lateral bore leg and the third bore defining a third overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses that at least one of the mainbore legs extend at least partially within the second bore to define the second overlapping space or that the lateral bore leg extends at least partially within the third bore to define the third overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses an expanded metal joint (Figs. 1B-3 - joint around element numbers 28) located in at least a portion of the second overlapping space of the mainbore leg that extends at least partially within the second bore or the third overlapping space of the lateral bore leg that extends at least partially within the third bore (Fig. 1B; abstr.; [0007]-[0009]). Fripp discloses the expanded metal joint comprising a metal that has expanded in response to hydrolysis (abstr.; [0012], [0021]).
Regarding claim 2: Fripp discloses that the expanded metal joint is a lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint located in at least a portion of the third overlapping space (Figs. 1B-3; abstr.; [0007]-[0012]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15: Fripp discloses a main wellbore leg expanded metal joint located in at least a portion of the second overlapping space, the main wellbore leg expanded metal joint comprising the metal that has expanded in response to hydrolysis (Figs. 1B-3; abstr.; [0007]-[0012], [0021]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Fripp discloses that the lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint is a first lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint, and further including a second lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint located in at least a portion of the third overlapping space, the second lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint comprising the metal that has expanded in response to hydrolysis (Figs. 1B-3; abstr.; [0007]-[0012], [0021]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20: Fripp discloses that the expanded metal joint is a single step expanded metal joint (Figs. 1B-3).
Regarding claim 12: Fripp discloses a method for deploying a multilateral junction (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses providing a y-block, the y-block including a housing having a first end and a second opposing end a single first bore extending into the housing from the first end (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses the single first bore defining a first centerline and second and third separate bores extending into the housing and branching off from the single first bore (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses the second bore defining a second centerline and the third bore defining a third centerline (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses attaching a mainbore leg to the second bore for extending into the main wellbore, the mainbore leg and the second bore defining a second overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0007]-[0009]).Fripp discloses attaching a lateral bore leg to the third bore for extending into the lateral wellbore, the lateral bore leg and the third bore defining a third overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0007]-[0009]).Fripp discloses that the third overlapping space has an electrically conductive lateral wellbore leg pre-expansion joint located at least partially therein (Fig. 1B; [0007]-[0009], [0011]). Fripp discloses the electrically conductive lateral wellbore leg pre-expansion joint comprising a metal configured to expand in response to hydrolysis (Fig. 1B; abstr.; [0008], [0011]-[0012], [0021]). Fripp discloses subjecting the electrically conductive lateral wellbore leg pre-expansion joint to an activation fluid to expand the metal in the third overlapping space and thereby form a lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint in the third overlapping space (Figs. 1B-3; abstr.; [0007]-[0012], [0021]).
Regarding claim 13: Fripp discloses positioning the multilateral junction including the lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint downhole (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 21: Fripp discloses a well system comprising a wellbore, production tubing positioned within the wellbore, a multilateral junction (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses the multilateral junction including a y-block, the y-block including a housing having a first end and a second opposing end (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a single first bore extending into the housing from the first end, the single first bore defining a first centerline and second and third separate bores extending into the housing and branching off from the single first bore (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses the second bore defining a second centerline and the third bore defining a third centerline (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a mainbore leg coupled to the second bore for extending into the main wellbore, the mainbore leg and the second bore defining a second overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses a lateral bore leg coupled to the third bore for extending into the lateral wellbore, the lateral bore leg and the third bore defining a third overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses that at least one of the mainbore legs extend at least partially within the second bore to define the second overlapping space or the lateral bore leg extends at least partially within the third bore to define the third overlapping space (Fig. 1B; [0008]). Fripp discloses an expanded metal joint (Figs. 1B-3 - joint around element numbers 28) located in at least a portion of the second overlapping space of the mainbore leg that extends at least partially within the second bore or the third overlapping space of the lateral bore leg that extends at least partially within the third bore (Fig. 1B; abstr.; [0007]-[0009]). Fripp discloses the expanded metal joint comprising a metal that has expanded in response to hydrolysis (abstr.; [0012], [0021]).
Regarding claim 22: Fripp discloses that the expanded metal joint is a lateral wellbore leg expanded metal joint located in at least a portion of the third overlapping space (Figs. 1B-3; abstr.; [0007]-[0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fripp et al. (US 20210332673) in view of Steele (WO 2019125409).
Fripp discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Fripp does not disclose that the lateral bore leg is a D- shaped tube. Steele teaches that the lateral leg 96 may have a circular cross-section or may have a D-shaped cross-section (see paragraph 52). As both Fripp and Steele disclose lateral tubular legs, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circular tubular of Fripp with the D-shaped tube of Steele as Steele teaches the shapes are known substitutions for one another and for the predictable result of providing a tubular in the lateral borehole.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fripp et al. (US 20210332673) in view of Fripp (US 20210032980 – “Fripp2”).
Fripp discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claims 10 and 19: Fripp does not disclose the amount of metal that reacts. Fripp2 discloses not exposing all the metallic seal to a reacting fluid in order to later expose them to a reacting fluid to allow the seal to self-heal ([0017]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seal of Fripp by leaving residual expandable metal therein as taught by Fripp2 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a seal which is capable of self-healing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-9, 16, 18, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Downhole multilateral junctions, including various requisite structure, lateral bore seals, number of lateral legs, and methods of installation and use are very well known in the art. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Fripp et al. (US 20210332673), Fripp et al. (US 20210032980), Fripp et al. (US 20200240235), Steele et al. (US 11261708), Steele et al. (WO 2019125409), Cavender et al. (US 6907930), Steele (US 20170107794), and Robisson et al. (US 8490707). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to a multilateral junction, a y-block, multiple bores each having centerlines, a mainbore leg, lateral legs, that the mainbore leg extends into the lateral bores creating overlapping spaces, electrically conductive expansion joints, and expandable metal sealing joints that can expand due to hydrolysis. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the recited specific positioning and spacing relationships of the overlapping spaces and additional elastomeric seals with the expandable joints. Although it could be argued that as the various structures and components are well known in the art, the systems could just be modified and added to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships, combinations, and steps which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures and processes. Further, the claimed structures and processes are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. The examiner finds that, at the time that the invention was made, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 1/16/2026 with respect to the previous rejections of claims 1-23 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
The examiner appreciates the applicants’ discussion regarding the instant invention and the cited Fripp publication. However, it appears that applicants are merely cherry picking the Fripp figures to make their argument against anticipation.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 21, applicants argue that Fripp, as applied, fails to teach, disclose, or suggest an overlapping space, as that is presently claimed.
The examiner disagrees with applicants’ analysis and conclusion. Fripp clearly discloses various bores, legs and overlaps that clearly disclose the broadly as-recited claims.
Applicants argue that secondary references, Steele, and Fripp2, fail to disclose the elements of claims 1, 12, and 21. However, Steele and Fripp2 were not cited for the disclosure of claims 1, 12, and 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
2/11/2026