Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed 03/11/2026 has been entered and is being considered. Claim 1 and 2 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments stemming therefrom have changed the scope of the claims so as to render the art used in the prior office action outside the scope of the claims. As such, the art is no longer sufficient to furnish a rejection. All rejections over 35 USC 102 and separate rejections under 103 are withdrawn.
After further search and consideration, the Examiner makes a new grounds of rejection as set forth in the body of the office action below. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al (US 20180267402 A1, published 09/20/2018).
Regarding Claim 1, and 14-17, Hatakeyama discloses a chemically amplified resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium sulfonic acid salt that is bonded to an iodized benzene ring (Abstract).
The sulfonium/iodonium salts of the instant disclosure are bounded by formulas (A-1) and (A-2)
Wherein R1 is a hydroxyl group, carboxyl group, C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy group, C2-C6 straight, branched or cyclic acyloxy group, fluorine, chlorine, bromine, amino, -NR8----C(=O)-R9, or-NR8----C(=O)-O-R9 , R8 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group, R9 is a C1 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group or C2-C8 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group. R2 is a C2-C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene group or CcC10 arylene group, at least one hydrogen in the alkylene group being optionally substituted by a halogen other than fluorine, at least one hydrogen in the arylene group being optionally substituted by a C1 -C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy moiety, halogen other than fluorine, or hydroxyl moiety. R3 , R4 and R5 are each independently fluorine, chlorine, bromine, iodine, C1 -C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group, C2 -C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group, C6-C20 aryl group, or C7-C12 aralkyl or aryloxoalkyl group, at least one hydrogen in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by a hydroxyl, carboxyl, halogen, oxo, cyano, amide, nitro, sultone, sulfone or sulfonium salt-containing moiety, or at least one carbon in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by an ether, ester, carbonyl, carbonate or sulfonate moiety, or R3 and R4 may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached. R 6 and R7 are each independently trifluoromethyl, a C6-C10 aryl group, C2 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group, or C2 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkynyl group, at least one hydrogen in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by a halogen, trifluoromethyl, C1 -C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy, hydroxyl, carboxyl, C2-C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkoxycarbonyl, nitro or cyano moiety. X1 is a single bond, or a (p+l)-valent C1-C20 linking group which may contain an ether, carbonyl, ester, amide, sultone, lactam, carbonate, halogen, hydroxyl or carboxyl moiety. X2 is an ether group or -NR 10-, R 10 is hydrogen or C1 -C4 straight or branched alkyl group, m is an integer of 1 to 5, n is an integer of 0 to 3, and p is an integer of 1 to 3 (See [0054]-[0060]).
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068]:
Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and € presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
An additional photoacid generator may be present as described from [0090]-[0114], as well as a quencher such as a weak-acid generating onium salt or a basic compound such as an amine ([0115]-[0119].
An organic solvent is used to blend the composition as described at [0124]. Additional components such as surfactants and crosslinkers are discussed at [0125]-[0133].
The reference discloses a resist fabrication process comprising the deposition of the composition onto a substrate, followed by a pre-bake, then exposure, then post-bake, then development so as to arrive at a patterned resist ([0135]-[0142].
In the experimental examples, 11 sulfonium salts and 4 iodonium salts were presented as part of exemplary compositions. Among those compositions include examples 2-1 through 2-13, which use polymer 3 ([0159]):
Polymer 3 bears a hydroxyphenyl methacrylate monomer, which reads upon the instantly claimed monomer (B1) where:
RA is a methyl group
Subscript a1 is 1
A1 is a single bond
Subscript a2 is 0
Subscript a3 is 0
Subscript a4 is 1
The Examples 2-1 through 2-3 and 2-5 through 2-13 use sulfonium salts 6-8 and 10- 11 and Iodonium salts 1-4, presented below:
The sulfonium and iodonium salts meet the limitations of the claim for where:
R3-R7 are each independently C6-C10 hydrocarbyl groups where the groups corresponding to R3 and R4 may be bonded together to form a ring and contain a heteroatomic group such as oxygen or amino
R2 is a C6 arylene group that may be substituted with F or C1-C4 alkyl groups, or a C2-C4 alkyl group,
Subscript m is 0
L2 is an ester bond
X1 is a single bond
L1 is a single bond
Subscript p is 1
Subscript q is 3
R1 is N(H/Me)-C(=O)-Me when present
Subscript r is 0 or 3
Some of the compositions of examples in Table 2 use the above salts as quenchers in conjunction with the acid-generating resin P3, and the iodonium salt 4 is used as a quencher in conjunction with PAG 2 and resin P3. The construction of the claim does not specify that the salt(s) be the only acid-generating species and does not require a particular context for use beyond being present in a negative resist composition. The salts of the claim have been found and as such the corresponding limitations of the claim have been met.
The compositions 2-3 and 2-5 through 2-13 comprise an organic solvent – a combination of PGMEA and gamma butyrolactone (claim 14).
The compositions are deposited upon a silicon substrate (claim 17) as described at [0157]-[0158] ad then prebaked to form a resist film, after which an EUV exposure was performed through a patterning mask. Following exposure, the resist was again baked, then developed using TMAH (tetramethylammonium hydroxide) solution to form a pattern (claims 15 and 16)
Regarding Claim 2, sulfonium salt 11 is used in the examples as described above
R3-R5 are each independently C6 hydrocarbyl groups where the groups corresponding to R3 and R4 may be bonded together to form a ring and contain a heteroatomic group such as oxygen
R2 is a C6 arylene group
Subscript n is 2
R2A when present is a methyl and a propyl group
X1 is a single bond
L1 is a single bond
Subscript p is 1
Subscript q is 3
R1 is N(H/Me)-C(=O)-Me when present
Subscript r is 0
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180267402 A1, published 09/20/2018).
Regarding Claim 1, 2, 9, 12, and 14-17, Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium sulfonic acid salt that is bonded to an iodized benzene ring (Abstract).
However, the disclosure of the reference describes multiple embodiments outside the experimental results. These embodiments are met by the limitations of the general disclosure.
The sulfonium/iodonium salts of the instant disclosure are bounded by formulas (A-1) and (A-2)
Wherein R1 is a hydroxyl group, carboxyl group, C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy group, C2-C6 straight, branched or cyclic acyloxy group, fluorine, chlorine, bromine, amino, -NR8----C(=O)-R9, or-NR8----C(=O)-O-R9 , R8 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group, R9 is a C1 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group or C2-C8 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group.
R2 is a C2-C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene group or CcC10 arylene group, at least one hydrogen in the alkylene group being optionally substituted by a halogen other than fluorine, at least one hydrogen in the arylene group being optionally substituted by a C1 -C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy moiety, halogen other than fluorine, or hydroxyl moiety.
R3 , R4 and R5 are each independently fluorine, chlorine, bromine, iodine, C1 -C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group, C2 -C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group, C6-C20 aryl group, or C7-C12 aralkyl or aryloxoalkyl group, at least one hydrogen in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by a hydroxyl, carboxyl, halogen, oxo, cyano, amide, nitro, sultone, sulfone or sulfonium salt-containing moiety, or at least one carbon in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by an ether, ester, carbonyl, carbonate or sulfonate moiety, or R3 and R4 may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached.
R 6 and R7 are each independently trifluoromethyl, a C6-C10 aryl group, C2 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkenyl group, or C2 -C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkynyl group, at least one hydrogen in the foregoing groups being optionally substituted by a halogen, trifluoromethyl, C1 -C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy, hydroxyl, carboxyl, C2-C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkoxycarbonyl, nitro or cyano moiety.
X1 is a single bond, or a (p+l)-valent C1-C20 linking group which may contain an ether, carbonyl, ester, amide, sultone, lactam, carbonate, halogen, hydroxyl or carboxyl moiety.
X2 is an ether group or -NR 10-, R 10 is hydrogen or C1 -C4 straight or branched alkyl group, m is an integer of 1 to 5, n is an integer of 0 to 3, and p is an integer of 1 to 3 (See [0054]-[0060]).
The sulfonium and iodonium salts of the two above formulas meet the limitations of the claim for where:
R3-R7 are each independently C6-C10 hydrocarbyl groups where the groups corresponding to R3 and R4 may be bonded together to form a ring and contain a heteroatomic group such as oxygen or amino
R2 is a C2-C12 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene group or C6-C10 arylene group, at least one hydrogen in the alkylene group being optionally substituted by a halogen other than fluorine, at least one hydrogen in the arylene group being optionally substituted by a C1 -C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl or alkoxy moiety, halogen other than fluorine, or hydroxyl moiety (Examiner emphasis where bolded – Optional embodiments do not negate the existence of embodiments that do not use those optional embodiments – See MPEP 2123)
When R2 is a C6 arylene ring having at least 1 hydrogen substituted out for a C1-C10 alkyl or alkoxy group, a structure corresponding to claim 2 is met
Subscript m is 0
L2 is an ester bond (reference’s X2 is an ether bond and the carbonyl adjacent to it)
The resultant ester structure corresponds to the ester structure in claim 2
X1 is a single bond or a (p+l)-valent C1-C20 linking group which may contain an ether, carbonyl, ester, amide, sultone, lactam, carbonate, halogen, hydroxyl or carboxyl moiety.
L1 is a single bond,
Subscript p is 1
Subscript q is 3
R1 is N(H/Me)-C(=O)-Me when present
Subscript r is 0 or 3
Exemplary salt cations and anions are presented in [0056]-[0059].
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068]:
Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and € presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
Exemplary subunits (b) include those below:
Where the above units meet the limitations of the instantly claimed monomer (B1) where:
RA is a methyl group
Subscript a1 is 1
A1 is a single bond
Subscript a2 is 0-1
Subscript a3 is 0
Subscript a4 is 1-2
An additional photoacid generator (B) may be present as described from [0090]-[0114], as well as a quencher such as a weak-acid generating onium salt or a basic compound such as an amine ([0115]-[0119] (claim 12).
An organic solvent is used to blend the composition as described at [0124] (claim 14). Additional components such as surfactants and crosslinkers (claim 9) are discussed at [0125]-[0133].
The reference discloses a resist fabrication process comprising the deposition of the composition onto a substrate (such as a silicon substrate, TiN substrate, or a substrate on which a mask is to be formed such as a Cr or CrO substrate – claim 17), followed by a pre-bake, then exposure to high energy radiation such as EUV or KrF radiation, then post-bake, then development with an alkali or organic solvent so as to arrive at a patterned resist ([0135]-[0142] (claims 15 and 16).
Hatakeyama states that the composition may be of negative or of positive type, but is typically negative ([0027]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention from the general disclosure of the reference, selecting components and embodiments as directed by the reference to arrive at a composition having improved lithographic processability.
Regarding Claim 3, Hatakeyama meets the limitations of the claims as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 3.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
Wherein RA is H or methyl, R11 and R12 are each an acid labile group, Y1 is a single bond, phenylene, naphthalene, or C1-C12 linking group containing a lactone or ester. Y2 is a single bond or ester group. When multiple instances of units conforming to the formula are used, reach R11 and R12 may independently be different.
Where R12 is an acid labile group that conforms to the formulas (AL-1) through (AL-3), where AL-2 has the following formula:
Where R16 is a C1-C40 monovalent hydrocarbon that may be substituted. R14 and R15 are C1-C20 hydrocarbons that may be substituted or bound together to form a ring with each other or with R16 (See [0067]).
Unit (a2) meets the limitations of the claim where:
RA is H or methyl
Subscript b1 is 0 or 1
A2 is a single bond
Subscript b2 is 0
Subscript b3 is 0
Subscript b4 is 1 (Reference R12 corresponds to Reference Formula AL-2)
R13 and R14 are each independently H, or a monovalent hydrocarbon group of 1-20 atoms that may have heteroatom substitution and may bond together to form a ring
W is a monovalent hydrocarbon group of 1-10 carbon atoms such as an alkyl group
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed subunit (a2) of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of monomers and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed, such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding Claim 4, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 4.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082]. At [0072], the following subunits are disclosed, among others:
The above subunits read upon:
Claimed subunit B3 when polymerized for where R21 is hydroxy and c is 1
Claimed subunit B4 when polymerized for where R22 is hydroxy and d is 1
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed subunit(s) (d) of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of monomers and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed, such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding Claim 5, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 5.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082]. a further embodiment allows for a base polymer that may incorporate subunits (f) such as (f1)-(f3):
Unit (f1) reads upon the claimed limitations of subunit (B6) for where:
Y1 is a single bond, phenylene, -O-Y11-, -C(=O)-O-Y11-, -C(=O)-NH-Y11- (corresponding to reference’s Z1 and Z11)
Y11 (Reference’s Z11) is a C1-C6 aliphatic hydrocarbon group, phenylene group that may contain a carbonyl, hydroxyl, ether, or ester moeity.
RA is a methyl or hydrogen
R31 and R32 are each independently a C1-C12 cyclic alkyl group or other group recited in [0075] (Reference’s R21 and R22)
Unit (f2) reads upon the claimed subunit (B7) where:
RA is a methyl or hydrogen
Y2 is a single bond or Y21-C(=O)-O, where Y21 is a C1-C12 alkylene group or other group described in [0075] ((corresponding to reference’s Z2 and Z21)
A is H or CF3
R23- R25 are each independently a C1-C12 cyclic alkyl group or other group recited in [0075] (Reference’s R23 through R25)
Unit (f3) reads upon the claimed subunit (B7) where:
RA is a methyl or hydrogen
Y3 is a single bond, phenylene, fluorinated phenylene, or Y31-C(=O)-O, where Y31 is a C1-C12 alkylene group, or another group described in [0075] (Corresponding to Reference’s Z3 and Z31)
R37- R39 are each independently a C1-C12 cyclic alkyl group or other group recited in [0075] (Corresponding to the reference’s R26-R28)
The units (f) as described above are exemplified in [0074]-[0082], where their inclusion is considered by the reference to be effective in `preventing blurring from acid diffusion and thus improving resolution.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the inclusion of the subunits (f) in the base polymer of the composition so as to arrive at a final patterned product having improved resolution.
Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 6.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
To avoid duplication, unit (B7) was discussed above regarding claim 5 and may be embodied in the resin of the reference as unit (f3).
Also disclosed is a subunit hydroxystyrene at [0069], which meets the limitations of unit (b1-1) for where subscript a4 is 1.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed subunit(s) (b) and (f) of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of monomers and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed, such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding Claim 7, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 7.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
While Hatakeyama discloses acid-generating subunits (f) that were discussed regarding claims 5 and 6, the section of the reference describing these units [0074]-[0082] recites that “in a further embodiment, recurring units (f) derived from an onium salt having a polymerizable unsaturated bond may be incorporated into the base polymer” (examiner’s emphasis). This is to say, in one embodiment these units may be included, and they are optional – the reference covers embodiments where these units are not included (See MPEP 2123).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed subunit(s) and components of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of monomers and photoacid generating components as claimed and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed -such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding Claim 8, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 8.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
At [0083], the reference that the mol fraction of each subset of subunits (a1) or (a2) through (f) in the base polymer may be:
(a1) or (a2) = 0 to 1.0
(b) = 0 to 0.9
(c) = 0 to 0.9
(d) = 0 to 0.8
(e) = 0 to 0.8
(f) = 0 to 0.5
Where the sum of mol fractions of the above units = 1.0
Given that subunit (a2) (see discussion above regarding claim 3) may comprise at least 0-100mol% (mol fraction 1.0) of the base polymer, embodiments wherein an aromatic-structure-bearing subunit is present in greater than 60 mol% is clearly envisioned.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed subunit(s) and components of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of monomers and photoacid generating components as claimed and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed -such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding Claim 10, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 3.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 10.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
An organic solvent is used to blend the composition as described at [0124]. Additional components such as surfactants and crosslinkers are discussed at [0125]-[0133]. When discussing crosslinkers, the reference states that they may be used, but may be omitted from the composition – as such the composition may comprise no crosslinker in some embodiments. The exclusion of a crosslinker is an art-directed embodiment just as the compositions including such crosslinkers are directed.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention by the incorporation by the disclosed compositional components of Hatakeyama, which provides a substantially identical set of polymer(s), sulfonium/iodonium salt acid generators, and additives and are thus expected to behave similarly as claimed, such inclusion thus amounts to the inclusion of known materials into an art-recognized product, which is used in an art-recognized process (lithographic patterning).
Regarding claim 11, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 11.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
At [0132] and [0133]], water repellency improvers may be added to improve the water repellency of the resist films, such as during immersion lithography or development.
In the experimental examples, water repelling polymers 1 and 2 are disclosed:
Wherein the subunits of these two polymers meet the limitations of claimed subunits D1 and D6 where:
For D1:
RC is a methyl group
R101 and R102 are methyl groups
R103 is an H
For D6:
RD is a methyl group
Z3 is a single bond
R111 is a C9 hydrocarbyl group in which the first CH2 linkage has been replaced with an ester bond, and where 6x H have been replaced with fluorine
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the filing date in view of the disclosure of the reference by incorporating the water-repellent polymer so as to improve the water repellency of the resist composition and films produced therefrom.
Regarding Claim 13, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1 and 12.
Hatakeyama does not disclose an experimental embodiment that meets the limitations of claim 13.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating acid with an attached iodized benzoic acid moeity.
The resin of the reference includes a base polymer having units conforming to formulas (a1) and (a2) as presented from [0061]-[0068], Additional units include phenolic subunits (b) as presented in [0069], adhesive-group bearing units (c) as presented in [0070], and units (d) and (e) presented at [0072]-[0073]. Further units presented include units (f) having photoacid generating salts bound thereto as described from [0074]-[0082].
An additional photoacid generator (B) may be present as described from [0090]-[0114], as well as a quencher such as a weak-acid generating onium salt or a basic compound such as an amine ([0115]-[0119]. Quenchers are present in 0 to 5 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the base polymer. The acid generator described regarding claim 1 (the sulfonium/iodonium salt A-1/A-2) is present in 0.001 to 50 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the base polymer. The ratio of Acid Generator : Quencher therefore ranges from 50:0 to 0.001/5, which overlaps the claimed range of “less than 6/1” (interpreted as “0/1” to 6/1).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date from the disclosure of the reference and the range of acid generator and quencher component inclusions, which overlap the claimed range - a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the compositions of the reference to behave substantially similar to the claimed invention at this range.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 20180267402 A1, published 09/20/2018) as evidenced by Okamura (US 20180217492 A1)
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, Hatakeyama discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1 and 15 respectively.
Hatakeyama discloses a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium or iodonium salt capable of generating a sulfonic acid with an attached iodized benzoic moeity.
Lithographic processing is discussed from [0135-[0142], where the composition is applied onto a substrate where a mask circuit is to be formed such as into a layer of Cr, CrO, CrON, MoSi2, or SiO2, or applied onto a substrate where an integrated circuit is to be formed in an overlaying layer such as into an antireflective coating.
Hatakeyama does not specifically state whether or not the substrate is a transmission mask blank or a reflection mask blank, though since a mask circuit is to be formed therein it is clearly a mask blank.
Okamura recites that a transmission photomask may be formed using a mask blank having a layer of chromium or another metal to function as an absorption film ([0200]-[0215]), as well as a conductive film made of a material such as chromium metal.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention in view of the general disclosure of Hatakeyama, which provides known materials and processing methods by which to process a substrate and layers thereupon that as evidenced by Okamura would arrive at a transmission mask blank to be processed and resultant mask made therefrom.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.P.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737