DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 9-10, 12 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 15 (Note: claim 15 depends from claim 13) of U.S. Patent No. US 10553476 B2.
Regarding claim 10, claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 anticipate claim 10 and disclose a semiconductor device comprising:
a first polysilicon structure (“a first polysilicon structure”);
a first barrier layer over the first polysilicon structure (“a first barrier layer over the first polysilicon structure”), wherein the first barrier layer comprises
a central region having a uniform thickness (“the first barrier layer has a first thickness at a center region”; the first thickness is uniform over at least a portion of the center region); and
a peripheral region, wherein the peripheral region is closer to an edge of the semiconductor device than the central region (“the first barrier layer has a second thickness at a peripheral region of the first barrier layer”; a peripheral region being closer to an edge is inherent by the disclosure of central and peripheral regions);
a second polysilicon structure over the first barrier layer (“a second polysilicon structure over the first barrier layer”); and
dopants in each of the first polysilicon structure and the second polysilicon structure, wherein a uniformity of a distribution of dopants in the first polysilicon structure is less than a uniformity of a distribution of dopants in the second polysilicon structure (“wherein the distribution of dopants in the second polysilicon structure is more uniform than the distribution of dopants in the first polysilicon structure”).
Regarding claim 9, claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 anticipate claim 9 inherently since dopants are known to accumulate along grain boundaries.
Regarding claim 12, claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 anticipate claim 12 and disclose wherein less than an entirety of the first barrier layer has the uniform thickness (“the second thickness is different from the first thickness”; the first thickness is uniform over at least a portion of the central portion).
Regarding claim 14, claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 anticipate claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 anticipate claim 15 inherently since grain size is known to be coupled to uniformity of dopant distribution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 26-27, “the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the (first?) dopants are along grain boundaries in the first polysilicon structure” (claim 26) and “the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the (second?) dopants are along grain boundaries in the second polysilicon structure” (claim 27) are both indefinite because “the dopants” in each of the claims lacks proper antecedent basis wherein it is noted that base claim 22 has “first dopants” and “second dopants” wherein it is isn’t clear what “the dopants” refers to. Examiner’s suggestions are included in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beintner et al. (of record, US 6967384 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Beintner discloses (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3) a semiconductor device comprising:
a first polysilicon structure (140 “polysilicon 140”);
a first barrier layer (130) over the first polysilicon structure, wherein the first barrier layer comprises
a central region (center) having a uniform thickness (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3); and
a peripheral region (periphery), wherein the peripheral region is closer to an edge of the semiconductor device than the central region (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3);
a second polysilicon structure (125 “polysilicon layer 125”) over the first barrier layer; and
dopants in each of the first polysilicon structure and the second polysilicon structure (“depending upon the dopants used”), wherein a uniformity of a distribution of dopants in the first polysilicon structure (140) is less than a uniformity of a distribution of dopants in the second polysilicon structure (125, “Another problem is that the diffusion of dopants in these "large-grain" polysilicon gates will probably be mostly through lattice diffusion (similar to that of crystalline silicon) which is relatively slow (e.g., typically about a factor of 10 slower than diffusion for polysilicon) and sufficient dopant may not reach the polysilicon/oxide interface, where dopant is also needed to prevent polysilicon depletion effects” and “the small grain size facilitates dopant diffusion and reduces polysilicon depletion”. 125 has a smaller grain size than 140 and dopant distribution is inherently less uniform in 140 with a greater grain size. Examiner’s position is additionally supported by applicant admission at [0015]).
Regarding claim 9, Beintner the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the dopants are along grain boundaries in the first polysilicon structure (140, “Another problem is that the diffusion of dopants in these "large-grain" polysilicon gates will probably be mostly through lattice diffusion (similar to that of crystalline silicon) which is relatively slow (e.g., typically about a factor of 10 slower than diffusion for polysilicon) and sufficient dopant may not reach the polysilicon/oxide interface, where dopant is also needed to prevent polysilicon depletion effects”. 140 is a large-grain polysilicon which has dopants and wherein dopants are known to inherently accumulate along grain boundaries).
Regarding claim 11, Beintner discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the peripheral region of the first barrier layer (130) has the uniform thickness (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Beintner discloses wherein the first polysilicon structure has a first grain size (“The grain size here (e.g., of polysilicon 140) can be different (e.g., typically within a range of about 30 nm to about 80 nm”), the second polysilicon structure has a second grain size (“125 illustrates the small grain (about 10-20 nm grain size)””) smaller than the first grain size.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 21-25 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest (claim 1) the peripheral region has the non-uniform thickness, and a thickness of the peripheral region increases as a distance from the edge of the semiconductor device decreases as recited within the context of the claim; claims 2, 5-8 and 21 depend from claim 21, and (claim 22) first dopants in each of the first polysilicon structure and the second polysilicon structure; and second dopants in the first barrier layer, wherein a species of the second dopants is different from a species of the first dopants as recited within the context of the claim; claims 23-25 depend from claim 22.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest (claim 13) wherein the peripheral region of the first barrier layer has a non-uniform thickness.
Claims 26-27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action in view of their dependency to allowable basis claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5.15.2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges that claim 10 is not subject to a double patenting rejection because it recites “a central region having an uniform thickness”. This is not persuasive as claims 13 and 15 of US 10553476 B2 disclose a central region having a uniform thickness (“the first barrier layer has a first thickness at a center region”; the first thickness is uniform over at least a portion of the center region).
The applicant alleges that claim 10 should be allowed because it recites “a central region having an uniform thickness” from previously objected claim 5. First, claim 5 was not a dependent of claim 10 and second, Beintner et al. (of record, US 6967384 B2) discloses (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3) a central region (center) having a uniform thickness (inverted or upside-down Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818