DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the claims 1-15,21-25 in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20170203962), in view of Jennings et al (Thin solid Films 310(1997) 156-160).
With respect to claim 1, Cheng et al discloses a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) structure (104,Fig.2) overlying a substrate (112); a capping structure over the MEMS structure (130), wherein the capping structure at least partially defines a cavity (128), wherein the MEMS structure is disposed in the cavity (108); and an outgas structure adjacent to the cavity (110). However, Cheng et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the outgas structure comprises an amorphous material. On the other hand, Jennings et al discloses that hydrogenated amorphous silicon releases gas in response to heating (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cheng et al according to the teachings of the Jennings et al such that hydrogenated amorphous silicon is used as the outgas material, because it’s availability in the industry, therefore, no new fabrication equipment would be required.
Claim(s) 2,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20170203962), in view of Jennings et al (Thin solid Films 310(1997) 156-160), Lin et al (US Pub No. 20140225206)
With respect to claim 2, Cheng et al discloses a bumper structure (140) underlying the MEMS structure (Fig.2). However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein an upper surface of the outgas structure is vertically offset from an upper surface of the bumper structure in a direction towards the substrate. On the other hand, Lin et al discloses that the outgas layer (36,Fig.2) is attached to the capping layer (34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that the outgas layer is formed above the MEM structure and offset from the upper surface of the bumper, in order to avoid damaging outgas layer during fabrication of the MEM structure.
With respect to claim 5, Cheng et al discloses a plurality of conductive bond structures disposed between the capping structure and the substrate (124,144,142, applicant has not specified what is conductive here, is it conductive of heat or electricity. For the purpose of this office action examiner has assumed that conductive is heat conductive which any material may be used for conduction of the heat), and Lin et al discloses that the outgas wherein a lower surface of the outgas structure (lower surface of 36) is disposed above a lower surface of the conductive bond structures (lower portion of 34 or 140).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20170203962), in view of Jennings et al (Thin solid Films 310(1997) 156-160), Lin et al (US Pub No. 20140225206), in view of Huang et al (US Pub No. 20160060103).
With respect to claim 6, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a getter layer disposed between the capping structure and the substrate, wherein a lower surface of the getter layer is aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures. On the other hand, Huang et al discloses a getter layer (132,Fig.2A) disposed between the capping structure (140) and the substrate (bottom portion 102), wherein a lower surface of the getter layer (lower surface of 132) is aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures (bottom portion of 120a aligned either with 126 or 142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Huang et al such that getter layer is formed in the cavities having bottom surface aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures, in order to capture gas effectively and thereby adjust the pressure in the cavity to a desire level.
16-20. (Canceled)
Double Patenting
Claim1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 116977588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claim 1, the parented case discloses a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) structure overlying a substrate (claim 15); a capping structure over the MEMS structure (claims 15), wherein the capping structure at least partially defines a cavity (claim 15) , wherein the MEMS structure is disposed in the cavity (claim 15); and an outgas structure adjacent to the cavity (claim 17), wherein the outgas structure comprises an amorphous material (Claim 18).
With respect to claim 21, the patented case discloses a dielectric structure overlying a first substrate (claim 15) ; a second substrate overlying the dielectric structure (claim 15); a capping structure overlying the second substrate (claim 15), wherein a cavity is arranged between the capping structure and the first substrate (claim 15); a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) structure in the cavity (claim 15); and an outgas structure in the dielectric structure and abutting the cavity (claim 15). Claim 15 does not explicitly disclose wherein the outgas structure comprises a curved upper surface. On the other hand, claim 9 discloses that the outgas surface is curved. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify claim 15 according to the teachings of the claim 9, such that the outgas surface is curved as a design choice.
With respect to claim 22, the patented case discloses wherein the second substrate comprises a plurality of protrusions extending below a top surface of the dielectric structure (claim 15), wherein the integrated chip further comprises: a plurality of conductive bond structures disposed between the plurality of protrusions and the first substrate (claim 15), wherein the conductive bond structures line sidewalls of a corresponding protrusion in the plurality of protrusions (claim 15).
With respect to claim 23, claim 17 discloses that the outgas layer is planarized; however, it does not discloses wherein a height of the outgas structure is less than a height of the dielectric structure. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the claims cited above such that the height of the outgas layer is less than the dielectric structure, in order to have an adequate planarization process, thereby outgas layer would have a smooth surface.
Claims 2,5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11697588 in view of Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20170203962), in view of Jennings et al (Thin solid Films 310(1997) 156-160), Lin et al (US Pub No. 20140225206).
With respect to claim 2, the patented case 11697588 the claims 1-20 does not disclose, a bumper structure underlying the MEMS structure, wherein an upper surface of the outgas structure is vertically offset an upper surface of the bumper structure in a direction towards the substrate. On the other hand, Cheng et al discloses a bumper structure (140) underlying the MEMS structure (Fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that a bumper structure underlying the MEMS structure, for the safety purposes. However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein an upper surface of the outgas structure is vertically offset from an upper surface of the bumper structure in a direction towards the substrate. On the other hand, Lin et al discloses that the outgas layer (36,Fig.2) is attached to the capping layer (34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that the outgas layer is formed above the MEM structure and offset from the upper surface of the bumper, in order to avoid damaging outgas layer during fabrication of the MEM structure.
With respect to claim 5, Cheng et al discloses a plurality of conductive bond structures disposed between the capping structure and the substrate (124,144,142, applicant has not specified what is conductive here, is it conductive of heat or electricity. For the purpose of this office action examiner has assumed that conductive is heat conductive which any material may be used for conduction of the heat), and Lin et al discloses that the outgas wherein a lower surface of the outgas structure (lower surface of 36) is disposed above a lower surface of the conductive bond structures (lower portion of 34 or 140).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11697588 in view Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20170203962), in view of Jennings et al (Thin solid Films 310(1997) 156-160), Lin et al (US Pub No. 20140225206), in view of Huang et al (US Pub No. 20160060103).
With respect to claim 6, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a getter layer disposed between the capping structure and the substrate, wherein a lower surface of the getter layer is aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures. On the other hand, Huang et al discloses a getter layer (132,Fig.2A) disposed between the capping structure (140) and the substrate (bottom portion 102), wherein a lower surface of the getter layer (lower surface of 132) is aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures (bottom portion of 120a aligned either with 126 or 142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Huang et al such that getter layer is formed in the cavities having bottom surface aligned with the lower surface of the conductive bond structures, in order to capture gas effectively and thereby adjust the pressure in the cavity to a desire level.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4,7-8,24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
The following is the reason for allowance of the claim 9, pertinent arts do not alone or in combination disclose: a dielectric structure overlying a first substrate; a second substrate overlying the dielectric structure, wherein the second substrate and the dielectric structure at least partially define a first cavity; a first microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) structure disposed within the first cavity; an outgas structure disposed in the dielectric structure and having a surface abutting the first cavity; and a first getter layer disposed within the first cavity.
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2817