DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II (processing method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the flexible member must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Quick disconnect members (male/guide pins, female/receptacles/spring loaded ball-catch, para. [0074]) in at least claims 1-17.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Flexible member (metallic strap or flexible bellow, para. [0083]) in at least claims 1, 7, 10, 15.
Linear actuator (pneumatic lift, para. [0084]) in at least claims 9, 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190360100 to Nguyen in view of US 20130118686 to Carducci and further in view of US 20200361017 to Solis.
Claim 1: Nguyen discloses a substrate processing system, comprising: a chamber body (102 [chamber body], Fig. 1A-1B) that defines a processing region (106 [processing volume]); a component (114) positioned within the chamber body (102), a faceplate (130 [faceplate]) that is positioned atop the component (114); a substrate support (138 [pedestal]) disposed within the chamber body (102), the substrate support (138) comprising:
a support plate (top portion of 138) comprising a heater (not shown but disclosed, para. [0018]); a shaft (142 [stem]) that is coupled with a bottom of the support plate (138); a dynamic plate (200 [ground path system]) disposed about the shaft (142) and spaced a distance below the support plate (138, via 210); and at least one flexible member (212 [bellows]) that couples a bottom of the support plate (bottom of 138) with the dynamic plate (204 of 200), wherein: the substrate support (138) can be in a process position (Fig. 1A); a top surface of the dynamic plate (top surface of 200) contacts a bottom surface of 114 (Fig. 1A-1B).
However Nguyen does not disclose the component is a liner atop the chamber body; wherein a bottom surface of the component comprises a first plurality of quick disconnect members; a top surface of the dynamic plate comprises a second plurality of quick disconnect members; and each of the second plurality of quick disconnect members is engageable with a respective one of the first plurality of quick disconnect members when the substrate support is in a process position.
Carducci discloses the component (146 of 156, Fig. 1, 2) is a liner (146 [flange] of 156 [liner body]) atop the chamber body (104 of 102 [chamber body]), for the purpose of as acting as a heat sink for the liner body as the heat transfer between the chamber liner and the chamber body predominately occurs between the ledge and the flange (para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Carducci with motivation to act as a heat sink for the liner body as the heat transfer between the chamber liner and the chamber body predominately occurs between the ledge and the flange.
Regarding quick disconnect members, Solis discloses a first plurality of quick disconnect members (31 [female connection] of 30 [quick disconnect], Fig. 5, 6A, 6B); a second plurality of quick disconnect members (32 [male connection] of 30); and each of the second plurality of quick disconnect members (32) is engageable with a respective one of the first plurality of quick disconnect members (31), for the purpose of allowing conduction of electric current and/or disconnection from the respective components in a quick and repeatable fashion (para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the quick disconnect members and configuration as taught by Solis with motivation to allow conduction of electric current and/or disconnection from the respective components in a quick and repeatable fashion.
Claim 2: Regarding the limitations, “wherein: each of the second plurality of quick disconnect members is disengaged from the respective one of the first plurality of quick disconnect members when the substrate support is in a transfer position,” it is noted that the limitation is drawn to intended use of the apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis, as Solis teaches engaging and disengaging the quick disconnect members (Fig. 6a-6b, para. [0026]) and Nguyen teaches raising and lowering the substrate support from a transfer position and processing position (Fig. 1A-1B, para. [0021]).
The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 3, 5: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis does not disclose (claim 3) further comprising: one or more springs that extend between and couple a bottom surface of the dynamic plate and a top surface of a bottom of the chamber body; (claim 5) wherein: each of the one or more springs comprises a compression spring.
However Solis teaches (claim 3) compressible contact member(s) (not shown but disclosed, para. [0026]) which is interpreted as spring(s) seated between the two quick disconnect members; (claim 5) wherein: each of the one or more springs comprises a compression spring (para. [0026]); for the purpose of allowing a member component to move in an axial direction along a central axis while maintaining electrical conduction between the two members.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the spring as taught by Solis to be placed between the bottom surface of the dynamic plate and a top surface of a bottom of the chamber body, with motivation to allow a member component to move in an axial direction along a central axis while maintaining electrical conduction between the two members.
Claim 4: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis discloses wherein: each of the one or more springs (not shown but disclosed, Fig. 6a/6b, Solis) is positioned about a guide pin (pin portion of 32 which fits into 31, para. [0026]).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis discloses wherein: each of the at least one flexible member (212, Fig. 1A, Nguyen) comprises one or both of a flexible bellow (212) and a metallic strap.
Claim 8: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis discloses further comprising: a linear actuator (para. [0021], Nguyen) that raises and lowers the dynamic plate (200, Fig. 1A-1B) between a process position (Fig. 1A) and a transfer position (Fig. 1B, para. [0021]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 above, and further in view of US 20110197814 to Baek.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis does not disclose further comprising: one or more isolators that isolate the one or more springs from RF current flowing through the dynamic plate.
However Baek discloses further comprising: one or more isolators (360 [electrical isolator], Fig. 3) that isolate the one or more components (380) from RF current flowing through the other component (114) for the purpose of greatly reducing the potential for arcing due to decreased RF voltage as a result of the electrical isolator (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the isolator between the spring and plate as taught by Baek with motivation to greatly reduce the potential for arcing due to decreased RF voltage as a result of the electrical isolator.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 above, and further in view of US 20020047004 to Johnsgard.
Claim 9: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis does not disclose wherein: the linear actuator comprises one or both of a pneumatic lift and an electromechanical lift.
Johnsgard discloses wherein: the linear actuator (514 [elevational mechanism], Fig. 1) comprises one or both of a pneumatic lift and an electromechanical lift (either is disclosed, para. [0033]) for the purpose of raising and lowering a component with a vacuum sealed bellows (para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the kind of lift as taught by Johnsgard with motivation to raise and lower a component with a vacuum sealed bellows.
Claim(s) 10, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190360100 to Nguyen in view of US 20130118686 to Carducci and further in view of US 20200361017 to Solis, US 20190108983 to Noorbakhsh.
Claim 10: Nguyen discloses a substrate processing system, comprising: a chamber body (102 [chamber body], Fig. 1A-1B) that defines a processing region (106 [processing volume]); a component (114) positioned within the chamber body (102), a faceplate (130 [faceplate]) that is positioned atop the component (114); a substrate support (138 [pedestal]) disposed within the chamber body (102), the substrate support (138) comprising:
a support plate (top portion of 138) comprising a heater (not shown but disclosed, para. [0018]); a shaft (142 [stem]) that is coupled with a bottom of the support plate (138); a dynamic plate (200 [ground path system]) disposed about the shaft (142) and spaced a distance below the support plate (138, via 210); and at least one flexible member (212 [bellows]) that couples a bottom of the support plate (bottom of 138) with the dynamic plate (204 of 200), wherein: the substrate support (138) can be in a process position (Fig. 1A); a top surface of the dynamic plate (top surface of 200) contacts a bottom surface of 114 (Fig. 1A-1B).
However Nguyen does not disclose the component is a liner atop the chamber body; wherein a bottom surface of the component comprises a first plurality of quick disconnect members; a top surface of the dynamic plate comprises a second plurality of quick disconnect members; and each of the second plurality of quick disconnect members is engageable with a respective one of the first plurality of quick disconnect members when the substrate support is in a process position.
Carducci discloses the component (146 of 156, Fig. 1, 2) is a liner (146 [flange] of 156 [liner body]) atop the chamber body (104 of 102 [chamber body]), for the purpose of as acting as a heat sink for the liner body as the heat transfer between the chamber liner and the chamber body predominately occurs between the ledge and the flange (para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Carducci with motivation to act as a heat sink for the liner body as the heat transfer between the chamber liner and the chamber body predominately occurs between the ledge and the flange.
Regarding quick disconnect members, Solis discloses a first plurality of quick disconnect members (31 [female connection] of 30 [quick disconnect], Fig. 5, 6A, 6B); a second plurality of quick disconnect members (32 [male connection] of 30); and each of the second plurality of quick disconnect members (32) is engageable with a respective one of the first plurality of quick disconnect members (31), for the purpose of allowing conduction of electric current and/or disconnection from the respective components in a quick and repeatable fashion (para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the quick disconnect members and configuration as taught by Solis with motivation to allow conduction of electric current and/or disconnection from the respective components in a quick and repeatable fashion.
The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis does not disclose wherein the dynamic plate comprises an RF gasket that is engageable with the liner when the substrate support is in a process position;
Noorbakhsh discloses wherein the dynamic component (210 [door portion], Fig. 3-4) comprises an RF gasket (310 [RF gasket]) that is engageable with the liner (144 [upper liner assembly) when the substrate support is in a process position (door is closed, para. [0034]), for the purpose of providing a continuous RF ground with the outer wall of the upper liner assembly (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF gasket as taught by Noorbakhsh with motivation to provide a continuous RF ground with the outer wall of the upper liner assembly.
Claim 15: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis, Noorbakhsh discloses wherein: each of the at least one flexible member (212, Fig. 1A, Nguyen) comprises one or both of a flexible bellow (212) and a metallic strap.
Claim 16: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis, Noorbakhsh discloses further comprising: a radio frequency source (156 [RF source], Fig. 1A, Nguyen) coupled with the substrate support (138), wherein in the process position (Fig. 1A), a closed radio frequency circuit is formed between the radio frequency source (156), the substrate support (138), the flexible member (212), the liner (114 or 146 of 156, Carducci), and the faceplate (130 of 116, para. [0019-0020]).
Claim 17: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Carducci, Solis, Noorbakhsh discloses further comprising: a linear actuator (para. [0021], Nguyen) that raises and lowers the dynamic plate (200, Fig. 1A-1B) between a process position (Fig. 1A) and a transfer position (Fig. 1B, para. [0021]).
Claim 18: (Withdrawn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20100322604 discloses a quick connection assembly (102, Fig. 7, 21-22) to preferably facilitates quicker and easier loading, aligning, and connection of the precursor source vessel 100 to the gas interface assembly (180, para. [0123]). US 20070116872 discloses a seal configuration for producing a seal between the flange (302) of the substrate stage (120) and the extension (304) from the upper chamber assembly (130, para. [0072-0073]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718