Attorney Docket Number: TSMCP802USD
Filling Date: 5/26/23
Priority Date: 11/14/19
Inventor: Yao et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “claim 1 recites, the non-zero distance being directly over the one or more vertically extending segments” and “first sidewall, 2nd sidewall” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1, last two lines recites “the non-zero distance being directly over the one or more vertically extending segments”. However, the specification does not recites this feature. The specification recites “the non-zero distance being directly over the horizontally extending segment”.
Claims 2-7 and 8 are depending from claim 1. Therefore, the claims 2-7 and 8 are also rejected under 112 1st rejection.
Inasmuch as understood in light of 112 1st rejections, the art rejections as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bode et al (US 2014/0001546 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bode discloses an integrated chip (Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate 210 (Para. 35); a doped isolation region 220, 222 (Para. 35) disposed within the substrate 210 and comprising a horizontally extending segment 220 and one or more vertically extending segments 222 extending outward from the horizontally extending segment 220; and wherein the substrate 210 comprises a first sidewall and a second sidewall (two sidewalls of 210) separated from the first sidewall a non-zero distance 216, the non-zero distance 216 being directly over the one or more vertically extending segments 222.
Regarding claim 2, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 1, further comprising: a conductive material 232 (Para. 36, N-doped) disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, the conductive material 232 being a different material than the substrate 210 (Paras. 24, 35, undoped).
Regarding claim 3, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 1, wherein the substrate 210 comprises: a base substrate layer (bottom portion of 210) comprising a first semiconductor material; and a second semiconductor material (top portion of 210, two sides horizontal portions of 222) over a topmost surface of the base substrate layer (210 portion under 220), the first sidewall and the second sidewall being formed at least in part by the second semiconductor material 210 (top portions two sides).
Regarding claim 4, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 3, wherein an upper boundary of the one or more vertically extending segments 222 is vertically offset from the topmost surface of the base substrate layer (See figure 2, upper surface covered by 224, so offset to the substrate 210 top surface). 6. The integrated chip of claim 1, wherein the one or more vertically extending segments laterally and continuously extend between the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 6, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 1, wherein the one or more vertically extending segments 22 laterally and continuously extend between the first sidewall 210 (left) and the second sidewall 210 (right).
Regarding claim 7, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 1, further comprising: one or more additional isolation regions 250, 252, 254 (Para. 37) arranged along an upper surface of the substrate 210, wherein a top of the doped isolation region 220, 222 is vertically below a bottom of the one or more additional isolation regions 250, 252, 254.
Regarding claim 8, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 1, wherein the substrate 210 comprises a first substrate layer 210 (bottom portion under 222) and a second substrate 210 (top portion of 220) layer over a top of the first substrate layer; and wherein a majority of the horizontally extending segment 220 is within the first substrate layer and a majority of the one or more vertically extending segments 222 are within the second substrate layer 210 (top portion, claim does not define how the first and second substrate are different).
Regarding claim 9, Bode discloses an integrated chip (Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate 210 (Paras. 24, 35) comprising a first semiconductor material 210 (bottom portion); a second semiconductor material 232 (Para. 36) over the first semiconductor material 210, wherein the second semiconductor material 232 is a different material than the first semiconductor material 210; an implant isolation region 220 (Para. 35) disposed within the substrate 210; and wherein one or more gaps 250 (Para. 37) extend into the second semiconductor material 232 over the implant isolation region 220, the one or more gaps 250 laterally surrounding parts of the second semiconductor material 232 that are directly above the implant isolation region 220.
Regarding claim 12, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 9, wherein the implant isolation region 220 has one or more bumps 222 (Para. 35) disposed along an upper border of the implant isolation region 220.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bode et al (US 2014/0001546 A1) in view of Pendharkar et al (US 6,225,673 B1, Pen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Bode does not explicitly disclose the integrated chip of claim 1, further comprising: a first power switch arranged on or within the substrate directly over the doped isolation region; and a second power switch arranged on or within the substrate laterally outside of the doped isolation region.
However, Pen discloses a first power switch 18 (Fig. 2, col. 2, line 55) arranged on or within the substrate 51 (col. 3, line 60) directly over the doped isolation region 53 (col. 3, lines 56-57); and a second power switch 17 (col. 2, line 55) arranged on or within the substrate 51 laterally outside of the doped isolation region 53.
Pen teaches the above modification is used to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Bode structure with Pen switching structures as suggested above to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 13, Bode does not explicitly disclose the integrated chip of claim 9, wherein the substrate comprises p-type dopants; and wherein the implant isolation region comprises n-type dopants.
However, Pen discloses the substrate 51 comprises p-type dopants; and wherein the implant isolation region 53 comprises n-type dopants (Fig. 2).
Pen teaches the above modification is used to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Bode substrate conductivity with Pen substrate conductivity as suggested above to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 14, Bode does not explicitly disclose the integrated chip of claim 9, further comprising: a first gate structure disposed over the second semiconductor material and directly over the implant isolation region; and a second gate structure disposed over the second semiconductor material and laterally outside of the implant isolation region.
However, Pen discloses a first gate structure 72 (Fig. 2, col. 4, line 10) disposed over the second semiconductor material 57 (col. 3, line 59) and directly over the implant isolation region 53; and a second gate structure 87 (col. 4, line 28) disposed over the second semiconductor material 57 and laterally outside of the implant isolation region 53.
Pen teaches the above modification is used to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bode substrate conductivity with Pen gate structures as suggested above to obtain less power consumption of the device (col. 1, lines 10-15).
Claim(s) 15, 18-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pendharkar et al (US 6,225,673 B1, Pen hereinafter) in view of Bode et al (US 2014/0001546 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Pen discloses an integrated chip (Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate 51 (col. 3, line 60); a first gate structure 72 (col. 4, line 10) arranged over the substrate 51; a second gate structure 87 (col. 4, line 28) arranged over the substrate 51; an implant isolation region 53 (col. 3, lines 56-57) disposed within the substrate 51 below the first gate structure 72 and laterally outside of the second gate structure 87.
Pen does not explicitly disclose a conductive contact extending though the substrate to electrically contact the implant isolation region.
However, Bode discloses a conductive contact 224 (Fig. 2, Para. 38) extending though the substrate 210 (Para. 35) to electrically contact the implant isolation region 220, 222 (Para. 35). Bode teaches the above modification is used to make external connection of the device (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Pen structure with Bode conductive contact as suggested above to make external connection of the device (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Pen discloses the integrated chip of claim 15, wherein the implant isolation region 53 (horizontal portion) has one or more protrusions 53 (two vertical portions) vertically extending outward from an upper boundary of the implant isolation region and Bode discloses the conductive contact 224 contacting the one or more protrusions 222.
Regarding claim 19, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 18, wherein a bottom of the conductive contact 224 is vertically above the upper boundary (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Bode discloses the integrated chip of claim 15, wherein the conductive contact 224 physically contacts the implant isolation region 220, 222 at an interface that is vertically offset from an upper surface of the substrate 210 (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 16 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817