DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishishita, JP 2017183503 (as cited in previous Office Action) in view of Halley, US Patent 6,629,874 (newly submitted)
Regarding claim 6, Kishishita teaches a wafer processing system comprising:
a holding table 134 that holds a back surface of a first wafer W (Figure 2),
an outer edge removing unit 16 that removes an outer edge of the first wafer held by the holding table from the front surface (by performing a chamfering process);
a polishing unit 18 that polishes the front surface of the first wafer with the outer edge removed by the outer edge removing unit;
a cleaning unit 20 that cleans the first wafer polished by the polishing unit; and
a delivery unit (transfer arm 114 provided on slide blocks 112 on guide 110) that delivers the first wafer between the outer edge removing unit, the polishing unit, and the cleaning unit (figure 1).
Kishishita fails to teach the first wafer having a wiring layer formed on a front surface thereof and the outer removing unit having a processing liquid supply part that supplies a processing liquid onto the front surface of the first wafer, wherein the processing unit has the processing liquid on the from surface,
However, Halley teaches the outer removing unit having a processing liquid supply part 400 that supplies a processing liquid (slurry) onto the front surface of the first wafer 115, wherein the processing unit has the processing liquid on the from surface (figure 5) by teaching a generally-known polishing apparatus that uses slurry in order to planarize the surface of the wafer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Halley with that of Kishishita because processing liquid supply ports are generally-used for delivering polishing solutions (or slurries) to wafers in order to further aid in the polishing technique.
Kishishita and Halley fail to teach the first wafer having a wiring layer formed on a front surface thereof
However, these limitation is directed toward materials or articles worked upon in the apparatus.
According to the MPEP, Section 2115, material or articles work upon does not limit apparatus claims. Therefore, this limitation does not the apparatus in terms of patentability. "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
In Otto, the claims were directed to a core member for hair curlers (i.e., a particular device) and a method of making the core member (i.e., a particular method of making that device) and "not to a method of curling hair wherein th[e] particular device is used." 312 F.2d at 940. The court held that patentability of the claims cannot be based "upon a certain procedure for curling hair using th[e] device and involving a number of steps in the process." The court noted that "the process is irrelevant as is the recitation involving the hair being wound around the core" in terms of determining patentability of the particular device. Id. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
In Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable.
Regarding claim 7, Halley teaches the polishing unit includes a polishing pad that is brought into contact with the first wafer, and a polishing liquid supply unit that supplies a polishing liquid to a processing point (figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention including “...the polishing step is started in a state where a processing liquid supplied in the outer edge removing step remains on the front surface of the first wafer...” in combination with the remaining limitations. Claims 2-4 are dependent upon claim 1 and are allowed as well. The cited prior art(s) of record teach all of the limitations presented, but fail to recite the limitation above. Further, no other prior art was found that would meet the limitations of this claims, either in anticipatory or in combination with other references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899