DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (WO 2020/141652; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 10, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a display device comprising:
a stage (500; Fig 15; Page 5) supporting a substrate (SUB; Fig 16; Page 5);
an inkjet head discharging ink (IP; Fig 14; Page 14) including light emitting elements onto the substrate (Fig 14; Page 14);
an electric field applying device applying a first electric field (IEL; Fig 14; Page 14) to the substrate to fix the light emitting elements (Page 14); and
a cleaning device removing foreign substances (Page 11) from the substrate in a state in which the first electric field is applied to the substrate (Page 11);
wherein the electric field applying device releases application of the first electric field after the cleaning device removes the foreign substances (Fig 14; Page 14).
Regarding claim 11, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the electric field applying device applies a second electric field to the substrate to align the light emitting elements after the application of the first electric field is released (Page 14).
Regarding claim 12, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the light emitting elements are arranged and fixed in a random direction (Fig 14; Page 14) by the first electric field (Page 14). And
the light emitting elements are arranged in a direction by the second electric field (Page 14).
Regarding claim 13, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses a light irradiation device irradiating light to the substrate (Fig 15; Pages 14-15),
wherein the light irradiation device irradiates the light onto the substrate in a state in which the second electric field is applied to the substrate (Fig 15; Pages 14-15).
Regarding claim 14, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the inkjet head discharges additional ink onto the substrate after the application of the first electric field is released (Fig 14; Pages 14-15).
Regarding claim 15, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses a processor controlling at least one of the substrate, the inkjet head, the electric field applying device and the cleaning device (Fig 16; Pages 14-15),
wherein the processor measures a number of the light emitting elements on the substrate and controls the inkjet based on a result of comparing the number of light emitting elements with a reference value (Page 17).
Regarding claim 16, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the inkjet head discharges the additional ink onto the substrate in case that a measured number of the light emitting elements is not included in the reference value (Page 17).
Regarding claim 17, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the cleaning device includes:
a gas supply part spraying gas onto the substrate; and
a gas suction part sucking the foreign substances and residual gas from the substrate. (Page 14)
Regarding claim 18, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses a driving part driving the stage, wherein the driving part controls the stage so that the substrate to which the first electric field is applied passes through the cleaning device. (Page 33; Figs 18-19)
Regarding claim 19, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the driving part includes at least transport device connected to the substrate and a transport device connected to the cleaning device (Page 33; Figs 18-19).
Regarding claim 20, Figs 2-16 of Lee discloses the cleaning device includes an ultrasonic cleaner (Page 33; Figs 18-19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wen et al (US 5975680)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817