DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20190245126) in view of Yang et al. (US 20090115066).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses that a display device comprising:
an alignment electrode including:
a first electrode El1 & MM (Fig. 5B); and
a second electrode EL2 surrounding the first electrode MM (Fig. 8K, partially surrounding and applicant argues that fully surrounding);
a first organic layer INS1 (para. 0101, note: the organic insulating layer) disposed on the alignment electrode EL1, MM EL2 and defining an opening OPN (Fig. 8C-D) partially exposing the alignment electrode (Fig. 8D); and
a light-emitting element LDb provided in the opening of the first organic layer (Fig. 8F).
Lin fails to specify that a second electrode surrounding the first electrode.
However, Yang suggests that a second electrode 60 surrounding fully the first electrode 50 (Fig. 1F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Lim with a second electrode surrounding the first electrode as taught by Yang in order to enhance no edge build-up may occur (para. 0059), using different methodes to form stacked electrodes and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 2, Lim & Yang disclose that an insulating layer INS2 between the first electrode and the second electrode EL2 (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 3, Lim & Yang disclose that a first end portion of the light-emitting element DLb is exposed at an upper portion of the first organic layer INS1(Lim, Fig. 8H).
Reclaim 4 , Lim & Yang disclose that a connecting electrode CM on the first end portion of the light-emitting element (Lim, Fig. 8H).
Reclaim 5, Lim & Yang disclose that the first end portion of the light-emitting element LDb is electrically connected to the connecting electrode CM (Lim, Fig. 8H).
Reclaim 6, Lim & Yang disclose that a second end portion of the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the alignment electrode EL1, EL1, EL2 (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 7, Lim & Yang disclose that the second end portion of the light-emitting element is in electrical contact with the alignment electrode exposed by the opening of the first organic layer (Lim, Fig. 8J).
Reclaim 8, Lim & Yang disclose that a second organic layer INS2 on the first organic layer INS1 (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 9, Lim & Yang disclose that the second organic layer is provided in the opening of the first organic layer (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 10, Lim & Yang disclose that the second organic layer exposes the first end portion of the light-emitting element (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Regarding claim 11, Lim & Yang disclose that a display device comprising:
an alignment electrode including:
a lower electrode EL1 & MM; a
an upper electrode El2 electrically contacting the lower electrode (Lim in view of Yang’s Fig. 1F, a lower electrode 50 and an upper electrode can be 60) ; and
a core electrode CM between the lower electrode and the upper electrode;
a first organic layer INS1 disposed on the alignment electrode and defining an opening partially exposing the alignment electrode (Lim, Fig. 8C-D); and
a light-emitting element LDb provided in the opening of the first organic layer. 12 INS1 (Lim, Fig. 8H).
Reclaim 12, Lim & Yang disclose that a first insulating layer INS2 between the lower electrode and the core electrode CM (Lim, Fig. 8I).
Reclaim 13, Lim & Yang disclose that a second insulating layer between the core electrode CM and the upper electrode EL2 (Lim, Fig. 8K, para. 0109).
Reclaim 14, Lim & Yang disclose that the lower electrode and the upper electrode are electrically connected to each other (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 15, Lim & Yang disclose that the upper electrode EL2 is in electrical contact with the lower electrode EL1 or MM through a contact hole penetrating the second insulating layer and the first insulating layer (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 16, Lim & Yang disclose that a first end portion of the light-emitting element is exposed at an upper portion of the first organic layer (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 17, Lim & Yang disclose that a connecting electrode on the first end portion of the light-emitting element (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 18, Lim & Yang disclose that a second end portion of the light-emitting element is electrically connected to the alignment electrode exposed by the opening of the first organic layer (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 19, Lim & Yang disclose that a second organic layer on the first organic layer (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Reclaim 20, Lim & Yang disclose that the second organic layer exposes the first end portion of the light-emitting element (Lim, Fig. 8K).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899