DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-10 readable thereon, claims 11-20 withdrawn) in the reply filed on 6/1/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US PGPub 2024/0194844; hereinafter “Hong”).
Re claim 1: Hong teaches (e.g. figs. 8 and 2) a display device comprising: a light blocking layer (light absorption layer 870; e.g. paragraph 235) surrounding a light emitting area (area below opening in 870; hereinafter “LEA”); a light emitting element (LED; e.g. paragraph 231) disposed in the light emitting area (LEA); and a reflective layer (reflectors RP; e.g. paragraph 249) disposed on the light emitting element (RP is disposed on the outer periphery area of LED), wherein a width of the light emitting area (LEA) in a first direction (there exists a width in the row direction of fig. 2 that is arbitrarily chosen to have a width in the row direction that is narrow) is less than a width of the light emitting area (LEA) in a second direction (there exists a width in the column direction of fig. 2 that is arbitrarily chosen to have a width in the column direction that is not narrow), and heights of first areas (part of RP in the row direction) of the reflective layer (RP) facing each other in the first direction (row direction) are greater (there exist a height within RP that faces the row direction that is higher than other heights of RP that faces the column direction) than heights of second areas (part of RP in the column direction) of the reflective layer (RP) facing each other in the second direction (column direction).
Re claim 5: Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an organic layer (acryl-based planarization layer 818; e.g. paragraph 251) surrounding the light emitting element (LED).
Re claim 6: Hong teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the reflective layer (RP) is disposed between the light emitting element (LED) and the organic layer (818).
Re claim 7: Hong teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the organic layer (818) is disposed directly on the reflective layer (RP).
Re claim 8: Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element includes: a first semiconductor layer (131); a second semiconductor layer (133); and an active layer (132) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (131) and the second semiconductor layer (133).
Re claim 9: Hong teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the second areas of the reflective layer (RP) at least partially expose the second semiconductor layer (133).
Re claim 10: Hong teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising: a first electrode (134) disposed on the first semiconductor layer (131); and a second electrode (135) disposed on the second semiconductor layer (133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPub 2017/0294451; hereinafter “Kim”).
Re claim 2: Hong teaches substantially the entire device as recited in claim 1 except explicitly teaching the display device wherein the reflective layer is disposed directly on a surface of the light emitting element.
Kim teaches (e.g. fig. 4) the reflective layer (237) is disposed directly on a surface of the light emitting element (233).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the reflective layer on the LED as taught by Kim in the device of Hong in order to have the predictable result of improving light directivity by making the reflector close to the LED and reducing stray light emission (see paragraph 125 of Kim).
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeya et al. (US PGPub 2017/0287887; hereinafter “Takeya”).
Re claim 3: Hong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the light blocking layer (870) includes an opening (opening in 870) having a same planar shape as the light emitting area (LEA).
Hong is silent as to explicitly teaching the display device further includes a color filter disposed in the opening of the light blocking layer.
Takeya teaches (e.g. fig. 3) the display device further includes a color filter (color filter 127f; e.g. paragraph 63) disposed in the opening of the light blocking layer (126d, 127d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the color filter and changing media as taught by Takaya in the device of Hong in order to have the predictable result of using a known method of reducing costs by using all blue LEDs and utilizing phosphors and color filters which would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Re claim 4: Hong teaches the display device of claim 3, further comprising: a color converting layer (color phosphor 126b, 126c; e.g. paragraph 45) disposed between the light emitting element (112a) and the color filter (127f).
Conclusion
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898