DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Election/Restrictions 3
III. Claim Objections 3
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 3
A. Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. 4
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 5
A. Claims 1-6, 9, 10, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0250162 (“Soga”). 5
B. Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,972,604 (“Hu”). 12
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 13
A. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soga in view of Hu. 13
B. Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Soga. 15
VI. Pertinent Prior Art 17
Conclusion 17
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, species group C, the cancellation of claims 12-20 and the addition of new claims 21-29, in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Direct metal-to-metal bonding omits solder within the meaning in the Instant Application (Instant Specification: ¶¶ 70-71); therefore, dependent claims 7 and 8 are drawn to non-elected species group B and are presently withdrawn from further consideration, but may be subject to rejoinder.
III. Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, replace “to be inserted into” with “inserted in” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 28 reads,
28. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein before the bonding, the solder layer 148B comprises a straight sidewall contacting an additional straight sidewall 130SW1 or 130SW2 of the first polymer layer 130.
Claim 26 requires “the” solder layer 148B to be the one on the second connector 148A, which is necessarily connector 148A because said solder layer 148B is required to be “inserted into the first polymer layer 130 of the first component 120. Fig. 21 shows the solder layer 148B inserted into the first polymer layer 130 and there is no contact between said solder layer 148B. Therefore, there is not sufficient support for this limitation to show that the Instant Inventors were in possession of this limitation and, consequently, claim 28 introduces new matter.
Claim 29 reads,
29. (New) The method of claim 28, wherein after the bonding, the straight sidewall of the solder layer 148B contacts the additional straight sidewall 130SW2 of the first polymer layer 130.
The configuration after the bonding and reflow of the solder 148B is shown in Fig. 22. However, after reflowing the solder, which also necessarily reflows solder layer 128B, “the straight sidewall of the solder layer 148B” of Fig. 21 no longer exists. While there is support in Fig. 22 for an overall new solder layer contacting the additional sidewall 130SW2 of the first polymer layer 130, it is formed by the reflowed, and therefore mixed solder layer 128B, 148B. Therefore, there is not sufficient support for this limitation to show that the Instant Inventors were in possession of this limitation and, consequently, claim 29 introduces new matter.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1-6, 9, 10, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0250162 (“Soga”).
With regard to claim 1, Soga discloses, generally in Figs. 5(c) and 8(a)-8(c),
1. (Original) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component 13 [¶¶ 2, 170-171; Fig. 8(a)] comprising:
[1b] a first polymer layer 17 [i.e. “photosensitive insulating layer” (¶¶ 129-131, 34-59)]; and
[1c] a first electrical connector [14 of 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c); ¶¶ 156, 170],
[1d] with at least a part of the first electrical connector 14, 11 being in the first polymer layer 17;
[2a] forming a second package component 15 [¶¶ 2, 170-171; Fig. 8(b)] comprising:
[2b] a second polymer layer 17 [i.e. “photosensitive insulating layer” (¶¶ 129-131, 34-59)]; and
[2c] a second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [¶¶ 156, 170],
[2d] with at least a part of the second electrical connector 11 being in the second polymer layer 17; and
[3a] bonding the first package component 13 to the second package component 15, with
[3b] the first polymer layer 17 [of component 13] being bonded to the second polymer layer 17 [of component 15], and
[3c] the first electrical connector 14 or 14/16 being bonded to the second electrical connector 11 [Fig. 8(c)].
With regard to the bonding of the packages, Soga states,
Moreover, as shown in FIG. 5(c), the conductive plugs 14 of the second substrate or the second device of FIG. 4(c) may be pressure-bonded to the conductive plugs 12 of the first substrate of FIG. 4(b) with the solder balls 16 through the openings 19 formed in FIG. 4(b) and the openings 19 formed in FIG. 4(c). Then, electrical connection and curing of the photosensitive insulating layer [17] may be performed. In case of FIG. 5(c), the materials of the photosensitive insulating layer 17 on the first substrate side and the photosensitive insulating layer 17 on the second substrate or the second device side may be the same or different.
(Soga: ¶ 156; emphasis added)
… the first substrate and the second substrate were bonded via the photo-curable resin film by applying a load of 10 kN for 5 minutes under heating at 160° C.
(Soga: ¶ 187)
The details of each of the pressure bonding (50 ℃ to 200 ℃ for 1 to 60 min; ¶¶ 24, 158), electrical connection (250 ℃ to 270 ℃ for 5 to 60 seconds; ¶¶ 25, 160), and curing steps (preferably 150 ℃ to 220 ℃ for preferably 10 minutes to 3 hours; ¶ 166) is subsequently explained in more detail at paragraphs [0157]-[0166]. Notably, Soga states that “[t]he pressure-bonded step, the electrically connecting step, and the step of curing the photosensitive insulating layer [17] by baking may be performed in any order” (¶ 165).
With regard to claim 2, Soga further discloses,
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein
[1] the first polymer layer 17 [of component 13] comprises a first polymer chain, and
[2] the second polymer layer 17 [of component 15] comprises a second polymer chain, and
[3] wherein the first polymer chain and the second polymer chain are joined to form a long polymer chain.
It is held, absent evidence to the contrary, that either or both of the pressure bonding process which initially bonds together the first and second polymer layers 17 of the respective package components 13, 15—which may be the “same or different” polymer (¶¶ 156, 187, supra)—and the subsequent curing step which cross-links the bonded polymer layers and increases the bond strength (¶ 166) joins the polymers to “to form a long polymer chain”; otherwise, there would be no bond be the respective polymer layers. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V).)
With regard to claims 3 and 4, Soga further discloses,
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector [14 on 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c)] and the second electrical connector [14 of 15 in Figs. 5(c) and 8(c)] are bonded through solder bonding [i.e. the solder ball 16; ¶ 160].
4. (Original) The method of claim 3, wherein the bonding comprises:
[1] putting the first package component 15 into contact with the second package component 13;
[2] performing a pre-heating process at a first temperature [i.e. pressure bonding (¶ 158, supra)];
[3] performing a solder reflowing process to reflow a solder region [i.e. “electrical connection” of the solder ball 16 on connector 14 of component 15 to other connector 14 on component 13 in Fig. 5(c) or 16 to pad 11 in Fig. 8(c) (¶¶ 25, 111, 125, 159-160, 170, 187)],
[4] wherein the solder reflowing process is performed at a second temperature [at 250 ℃ to 270 ℃ (¶¶ 159-160); e.g. 260 ℃ (¶ 187)] higher than the first temperature [pressure bonding at 50 ℃ to 200 ℃ (¶ 158); e.g. 160 ℃ (¶ 187)]; and
[5] performing an annealing process at a third temperature [i.e. curing at preferably 150 ℃ to 220 ℃ (¶ 166); e.g. 180 ℃ (¶ 187)].
With regard to claim 5, Soga further discloses,
5. (Original) The method of claim 4 further comprising,
[1] before the first package component 13 is put into contact with the second package component 15, partially curing the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer [¶¶ 35, 150-153 (see explanation below)],
[2] wherein in the annealing process, the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer are fully cured [¶ 166].
The polymeric material from which the polymer layers 17 is made by mixing a component (A), i.e. a “silicone skeleton-containing polymer” (¶ 35) with cross-linking agents, i.e. components (B) and (D) and a photoacid generator, i.e. component (C), in a solvent, i.e. component (E) (¶¶ 36-39). Therefore, the curing process that produces the “silicone skeleton-containing polymer” is at least one partial curing process that occurs before the first 13 and second 15 components are brought together.
In addition, a “prebaking” step at 40 ℃ to 140 ℃ for 1 minute to 1 hour (¶ 146) is another partial curing because it is used “to improve adhesion between the photosensitive insulating layer [17] and substrate or the semiconductor device [13, 15]” (id.).
Still further, the patterning of the photoresist layers to form the openings 19 in each of the respective components 13, 15 occurs before they are brought together, which is also a partial curing process, as explained in Sago (¶¶ 150-153).
With regard to claim 6, Soga further discloses,
6. (Original) The method of claim 4, wherein the first temperature [i.e. 50 ℃ to 200 ℃] is lower than a melting temperature of the solder region [i.e. 250 ℃ to 270 ℃].
It is held absent evidence to the contrary that “the first temperature [i.e. 50 ℃ to 200 ℃] is lower than a melting temperature of the solder region [i.e. 250 ℃ to 270 ℃]”; otherwise, the reflow causing the electrical connection of the solder ball 16 to either 14 (Fig. 5(c)) or 11 (Fig. 8(c)) would happen during the pressure bonding rather than being a separate “electrical connection” step, as explained in Soga (¶¶ 158-160).
With regard to claim 9, Soga further discloses,
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein
[1] the first electrical connector [11 of 13 in Fig. 8(a)] is recessed from the first polymer layer 17 to form a recess, and
[2] the second electrical connector [14 of 15 in Fig. 8(b)] comprises a protruding portion protruding out of the second polymer layer 17, and
[3] wherein in the bonding, the protruding portion extends into the recess [Fig. 8(c)].
With regard to claim 10, Soga further discloses,
10. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the recess 19 is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the first polymer layer [e.g. by dipping, spin coating or roll coating (¶¶ 132)],
wherein a portion of the first polymer layer 17 covers the first electrical connector 11 [as shown in Fig. 3(a)];
[2] planarizing the first polymer layer [the application process results in planar layer as shown in Fig. 3(a) and 8(a)]; and
[3] performing a photolithography process to remove the portion of the first polymer layer [¶¶ 148-154; including exposure of the polymer layers 17 to light through a mask and then development].
With regard to feature [2] of claim 10, Soga provides planarization during application of the polymer material by prewetting:
To improve film thickness uniformity on the substrate, a solvent may be dropped to the substrate before applying the photosensitive material (pre-wetting method)”
(Soga: ¶ 132)
In addition Soga provides planarization after application of the polymer layer, when the dry lamination of the polymer layers 17 is used:
… to improve flatness of the adhering photosensitive insulating layer [17], prebaking (PB) may be performed as needed. The prebaking may be performed for example at 40 to 140° C. for 1 minute to 1 hour approximately.
(Soga: ¶ 146; emphasis added)
With regard to claims 21-25, Soga discloses, in Figs. 5(c) and 8(a)-8(c),
21. (New) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component 13 comprising:
[1b] a first polymer layer 17; and
[1c] a first electrical connector [14 of 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c); ¶¶ 156, 170],
[1d] with at least a part of the first electrical connector 14, 11 being in the first polymer layer 17; and
[2] bonding a second package component 15 to the first package component 13 [Figs. 5(c), 8(c)],
[3a] the second package component 15 comprising:
[3b] a second polymer layer 17 bonding to the first polymer layer 17 [¶¶ 156, 187 (supra)]; and
[3c] a second electrical connector 14 or 14/16,
[3d] with at least a part of the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 being in the second polymer layer 17,
[4] wherein the first electrical connector 14, 11 is bonded to the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [¶¶ 159-160, 187].
22. (New) The method of claim 21, wherein the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer comprise different polymers [¶ 156, last sentence].
23. (New) The method of claim 21,
[1] wherein the first polymer layer 17 and the second polymer layer 17 comprise a same polymer material [¶ 156], and
[2] wherein the first polymer layer 17 and the second polymer layer 17 have a distinguishable interface [as shown in Fig. 8(c)].
24. (New) The method of claim 21,
[1] wherein the first polymer layer 17 [of 13] comprises a first polymer chain, and
[2] the second polymer layer 17 ]of 15] comprises a second polymer chain, and
[3] wherein the first polymer chain 17 [of 13] and the second polymer chain 17 [of 15] are joined to form a long polymer chain.
(See discussion under claim 2, which applied equally here.)
25. (New) The method of claim 21, wherein the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [of 15] comprises a protruding portion in the first polymer layer 17 [of 13] [in Fig. 8(c)].
B. Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,972,604 (“Hu”).
With regard to claim 26, Hu discloses, generally in Figs. 5B and 6B,
26. (New) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component [10 in Figs. 5B, 6B (col. 2, line 26)] comprising:
[1b] a first surface dielectric layer 12 [col. 2, line 28];
[1c] a first metal pillar 14 [col. 2, lines 43-48] protruding out of the first surface dielectric layer 12; and
[1d] a first polymer layer 13 [col. 2, lines 33-38] encircling the first metal pillar 14; and
[2a] forming a second package component 20 [col. 4, line 40] comprising:
[2b] a second surface dielectric layer 22 [col. 4, line 41];
[2c] a second metal pillar 24 [col. 4, line 43] protruding out of the second surface dielectric layer 22;
[2d] a solder layer [25 in Fig. 5B; 14S in Fig. 6B] on the second metal pillar 24; and
[2e] a second polymer layer 23 [col. 4, line 42] encircling the second metal pillar 24; and
[3] putting the second package component 20 to be in contact with the first package component 10 [Figs. 5A-5B and 6A-6B],
[4] wherein the solder layer [25 in Fig. 5B; 14S in Fig. 6B] is inserted into the first polymer layer 13 [col. 3, lines 26-45; Fig. 5B].
27. (New) The method of claim 26 further comprising
[1] bonding the second package component 20 to the first package component 10,
[2a] wherein after the bonding,
[2b] the solder layer 25, 14S remains to be inserted into the first polymer layer 13, and
[2c] the first polymer layer 13 is bonded to the second polymer layer 25 [by the underfill 25F (col. 3, lines 44-45)].
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soga in view of Hu.
Claim 11 reads,
11. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the protruding portion is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the second polymer layer, wherein a portion of the second polymer layer covers the second electrical connector;
[2] planarizing the second polymer layer; and
[3] etching back the second polymer layer.
The prior art of Soga, as explained above, discloses each of the features of claims 1 and 9. With regard to claim 11, Soga further discloses,
11. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the protruding portion [of connector 14 or 14/16] is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the second polymer layer 17, wherein a portion of the second polymer 17 layer covers the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [as shown in Figs. 3(b) and 3(c);
[2] planarizing the second polymer layer [¶¶ 132, 146; as explained under claim 10, above]; and
[3] … [not taught] …
With regard to feature [3] of claim 11,
[3] etching back the second polymer layer.
Soga does not indicate how the protruding portion of the connector 14 or 14/16 in Fig. 8(b) is made to protrude and does not therefore teach etching back the polymer material 17 over the top surface of the connector, such as shown in Figs. 3(b) or 3(c) of Soga.
Hu teaches that the protruding electrode 24 is made to protrude by etching back the polymer, i.e. photoresist 23:
FIG. 4B shows
Forming a male structure 200 through etching the dielectric material 13, from bottom side of the product shown in FIG. 3B. FIG. 4B shows after etching, a top surface 24T of the metal pillar 24 is higher than a top surface 23T of the dielectric material 23. The metal pillar 24 is protruded above the top surface 23T of the dielectric material 23. The dielectric material 13, 23 is the photoresist layer 13 (FIG. 3B) according to the present invention.
(Hu: col. 2, line 61 to col. 3, line 2; emphasis added)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to etch the polymer layer 17 to make the protruding portion of the connector 14 or 14/16 in Fig. 8(b) in Soga because Soga is merely silent as to the process how the connector 14 or 14/16 is made to protrude above the polymer 17 such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use know processes for forming a protruding connector, such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use known means for making a protruding connector, such as the polymer etch-back process taught in Hu. (See MPEP 2143.)
This is all of the features of claim 11.
B. Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Soga.
Claim 28 reads,
28. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein before the bonding, the solder layer comprises a straight sidewall contacting an additional straight sidewall of the first polymer layer.
The prior art of Hu, as explained above, teaches each of the features of claim 26.
Hu does not teach solder on the second connector 24 in Fig. 6A, showing, instead, that the solder 14S having straight sidewalls contacting the straight sidewall of recess in the photoresist 13.
As explained above, Soga teaches that the protruding electrode 14 in Fig. 8(b) is provided with a solder ball 16, albeit not with straight sidewalls. Soga further states,
[0124] Then, a solder ball is formed on at least one of the electrode pad or the conductive plug of the first substrate and the conductive plug of the second substrate or the second device. A method for forming the solder ball on a tip of the conductive plug [14] or the like is not limited. Typically, the solder ball is formed by continuously plating or mounting a solder ball at the time of forming the conductive plug [14] by plating or filling with a conductive material.
(Soga: ¶ 124; emphasis added)
Therefore, forming the solder ball in Soga, by plating or filling “at the time of forming the conductive plug [14]” (id.) would therefore be in the openings 19 in the polymer 17, which have straight sidewalls. Therefore, the solder 16 would have sidewalls when formed by this process, at least as evidenced by Fig. 6A in Hu, which forms the solder 14S by filling the recess in the photoresist 13 over the conductor 14.
Because Hu forms the protruding electrode 24 by etching back the polymer layer 13 shown to form the polymer layer 23, as explained in Hu (col. 2, line 61 to col. 3, line 2; quoted above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the solder over the connector 24 in a recess formed thereover in the polymer layer 13 before etching back said polymer layer 13 that becomes polymer layer 23 (Hu: id.)—and consequently having straight sidewalls, as taught in each of Soga and Hu, as required by claim 28—because Soga explains that it is a matter of design choice (Soga: ¶ 124, above) and specifically shows that the solder 16 is formed over the protruding connector in Fig. 8(b) rather than over the recessed connector 11 in Fig. 8(a). As such, forming the straight side-walled solder layer over the connector 24 in Hu amounts to the substitution of solder in one known location for another known location with the same expected outcome of forming a solder layer between connectors of different packages. (See MPEP 2143.)
Bearing in mind the rejection under 35 USC 112(a), above, Hu modified according to Soga would result in the claim feature “before the bonding, the solder layer [on electrode 24] comprises a straight sidewall [not] contacting an additional straight sidewall of the first polymer layer [13]” having the recess in where the solder 14S would otherwise be because connector 24 is made narrower than connector 14. Thus, Hu in view of Soga teaches that which is shown in Fig. 21 of the Instant Application despite Fig. 21 not being properly reflected in claim 28.
Claim 29 reads,
29. (New) The method of claim 28, wherein after the bonding, the straight sidewall of the solder layer [of Hu/Soga] contacts the additional straight sidewall of the first polymer layer 13.
After the bonding, Hu shows that the solder 14S contacts the straight sidewall of the first polymer layer 13. Merely reversing the location of a similar, albeit narrower, solder layer onto the connector 24 of component 20, as explained under claim 28, would still result in the same configuration as that shown in Fig. 6B of Hu, i.e. after bonding.
This is all of the features of claims 28 and 29.
VI. Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0013147 (“Cheng”) is cited as a 35 USC 102(a)(1) statutory bar reference, commonly assigned to the same assignee as that of the Instant Application and disclosing at least all of the limitations of at least independent claims 1 and 21. See Figs. 4, 9, 14A-14B, and 15, and the associated text. Noting that 144 is a polymer and is a molding material and therefore also a polymer. “In some embodiments, the bonding is achieved by bonding electrical connectors 252 to metal pads 116 through metal-to-metal bonding. In alternative embodiments, the bonding is performed through solder bonding.” Therefore, the connectors on the respective components are physically and electrically connected even though, oddly, Fig. 15 does not show this.
US 2005/0230804 (“Tanida”): see Figs. 17(b) and 19(b) and associated text.
US 8,390,130 (“Hiner”): see Figs. 8-11 and associated text
Conclusion
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814