DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 3
A. Claims 27, 28, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 3
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 4
A. Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0250162 (“Soga”). 4
B. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,972,604 (“Hu”). 10
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 11
A. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soga in view of Hu. 11
V. Allowable Subject Matter 13
VI. Response to Arguments 14
Conclusion 15
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claims 27, 28, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 26 was amended as follows
wherein the solder layer comprises a first part in the second polymer layer, and a second part in the second polymer layer.
27. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 26 further comprising
[1] bonding the second package component to the first package component,
[2a] wherein after the bonding,
[2b] the solder layer remains inserted into the first polymer layer, and
[2c] the first polymer layer is bonded to the second polymer layer.
Thus, there is no requirement for the solder layer to ever have been in the first polymer layer; therefore, the feature “the solder layer remains inserted into the first polymer layer,” fails to have antecedent basis in the claims.
Claims 28, 31, and 32 are rejected for including the same indefinite feature by depending from claim 27, either directly or indirectly.
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0250162 (“Soga”).
With regard to claim 1, Soga discloses, generally in Figs. 5(c) and 8(a)-8(c),
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component 13 [¶¶ 2, 170-171; Fig. 8(a)] comprising:
[1b] a first polymer layer 17 [i.e. “photosensitive insulating layer” (¶¶ 129-131, 34-59)], wherein the first polymer layer comprises a first polymer chain [¶¶ 3-4, 13-14] and
[1c] a first electrical connector [14 of 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c); ¶¶ 156, 170],
[1d] with at least a part of the first electrical connector 14, 11 being in the first polymer layer 17;
[2a] forming a second package component 15 [¶¶ 2, 170-171; Fig. 8(b)] comprising:
[2b] a second polymer layer 17 [i.e. “photosensitive insulating layer” (¶¶ 129-131, 34-59)], wherein the second polymer layer comprises a second polymer chain [¶¶ 3-4, 13-14]; and
[2c] a second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [¶¶ 156, 170],
[2d] with at least a part of the second electrical connector 11 being in the second polymer layer 17; and
[3a] bonding the first package component 13 to the second package component 15, wherein
[3b] the first polymer layer 17 [of component 13] is bonded to the second polymer layer 17 [of component 15], with the first polymer chain joined to the second polymer chain to form a long polymer chain, and
[3c] the first electrical connector 14 or 14/16 is bonded to the second electrical connector 11 [Fig. 8(c)].
With regard to the bonding of the packages, Soga states,
Moreover, as shown in FIG. 5(c), the conductive plugs 14 of the second substrate or the second device of FIG. 4(c) may be pressure-bonded to the conductive plugs 12 of the first substrate of FIG. 4(b) with the solder balls 16 through the openings 19 formed in FIG. 4(b) and the openings 19 formed in FIG. 4(c). Then, electrical connection and curing of the photosensitive insulating layer [17] may be performed. In case of FIG. 5(c), the materials of the photosensitive insulating layer 17 on the first substrate side and the photosensitive insulating layer 17 on the second substrate or the second device side may be the same or different.
(Soga: ¶ 156; emphasis added)
… the first substrate and the second substrate were bonded via the photo-curable resin film by applying a load of 10 kN for 5 minutes under heating at 160° C.
(Soga: ¶ 187)
The details of each of the pressure bonding (50 ℃ to 200 ℃ for 1 to 60 min; ¶¶ 24, 158), electrical connection (250 ℃ to 270 ℃ for 5 to 60 seconds; ¶¶ 25, 160), and curing steps (preferably 150 ℃ to 220 ℃ for preferably 10 minutes to 3 hours; ¶ 166) is subsequently explained in more detail at paragraphs [0157]-[0166]. Notably, Soga states that “[t]he pressure-bonded step, the electrically connecting step, and the step of curing the photosensitive insulating layer [17] by baking may be performed in any order” (¶ 165).
With regard to feature [3b] of claim 1, it is held, absent evidence to the contrary, that either or both of the pressure bonding process which initially bonds together the first and second polymer layers 17 of the respective package components 13, 15—which may be the “same or different” polymer (¶¶ 156, 187, supra)—and the subsequent curing step which cross-links the bonded polymer layers and increases the bond strength (¶ 166) joins the polymers to “to form a long polymer chain”; otherwise, there would be no bond be the respective polymer layers. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V).)
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
With regard to claims 3 and 4, Soga further discloses,
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector [14 on 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c)] and the second electrical connector [14 of 15 in Figs. 5(c) and 8(c)] are bonded through solder bonding [i.e. the solder ball 16; ¶ 160].
4. (Original) The method of claim 3, wherein the bonding comprises:
[1] putting the first package component 15 into contact with the second package component 13;
[2] performing a pre-heating process at a first temperature [i.e. pressure bonding (¶ 158, supra)];
[3] performing a solder reflowing process to reflow a solder region [i.e. “electrical connection” of the solder ball 16 on connector 14 of component 15 to other connector 14 on component 13 in Fig. 5(c) or 16 to pad 11 in Fig. 8(c) (¶¶ 25, 111, 125, 159-160, 170, 187)],
[4] wherein the solder reflowing process is performed at a second temperature [at 250 ℃ to 270 ℃ (¶¶ 159-160); e.g. 260 ℃ (¶ 187)] higher than the first temperature [pressure bonding at 50 ℃ to 200 ℃ (¶ 158); e.g. 160 ℃ (¶ 187)]; and
[5] performing an annealing process at a third temperature [i.e. curing at preferably 150 ℃ to 220 ℃ (¶ 166); e.g. 180 ℃ (¶ 187)].
With regard to claim 5, Soga further discloses,
5. (Original) The method of claim 4 further comprising,
[1] before the first package component 13 is put into contact with the second package component 15, partially curing the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer [¶¶ 35, 150-153 (see explanation below)],
[2] wherein in the annealing process, the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer are fully cured [¶ 166].
The polymeric material from which the polymer layers 17 is made by mixing a component (A), i.e. a “silicone skeleton-containing polymer” (¶ 35) with cross-linking agents, i.e. components (B) and (D) and a photoacid generator, i.e. component (C), in a solvent, i.e. component (E) (¶¶ 36-39). Therefore, the curing process that produces the “silicone skeleton-containing polymer” is at least one partial curing process that occurs before the first 13 and second 15 components are brought together.
In addition, a “prebaking” step at 40 ℃ to 140 ℃ for 1 minute to 1 hour (¶ 146) is another partial curing because it is used “to improve adhesion between the photosensitive insulating layer [17] and substrate or the semiconductor device [13, 15]” (id.).
Still further, the patterning of the photoresist layers to form the openings 19 in each of the respective components 13, 15 occurs before they are brought together, which is also a partial curing process, as explained in Sago (¶¶ 150-153).
With regard to claim 6, Soga further discloses,
6. (Original) The method of claim 4, wherein the first temperature [i.e. 50 ℃ to 200 ℃] is lower than a melting temperature of the solder region [i.e. 250 ℃ to 270 ℃].
It is held absent evidence to the contrary that “the first temperature [i.e. 50 ℃ to 200 ℃] is lower than a melting temperature of the solder region [i.e. 250 ℃ to 270 ℃]”; otherwise, the reflow causing the electrical connection of the solder ball 16 to either 14 (Fig. 5(c)) or 11 (Fig. 8(c)) would happen during the pressure bonding rather than being a separate “electrical connection” step, as explained in Soga (¶¶ 158-160).
With regard to claim 9, Soga further discloses,
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein
[1] the first electrical connector [11 of 13 in Fig. 8(a)] is recessed from the first polymer layer 17 to form a recess, and
[2] the second electrical connector [14 of 15 in Fig. 8(b)] comprises a protruding portion protruding out of the second polymer layer 17, and
[3] wherein in the bonding, the protruding portion extends into the recess [Fig. 8(c)].
With regard to claim 10, Soga further discloses,
10. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the recess 19 is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the first polymer layer [e.g. by dipping, spin coating or roll coating (¶¶ 132)],
wherein a portion of the first polymer layer 17 covers the first electrical connector 11 [as shown in Fig. 3(a)];
[2] planarizing the first polymer layer [the application process results in planar layer as shown in Fig. 3(a) and 8(a)]; and
[3] performing a photolithography process to remove the portion of the first polymer layer [¶¶ 148-154; including exposure of the polymer layers 17 to light through a mask and then development].
With regard to feature [2] of claim 10, Soga provides planarization during application of the polymer material by prewetting:
To improve film thickness uniformity on the substrate, a solvent may be dropped to the substrate before applying the photosensitive material (pre-wetting method)”
(Soga: ¶ 132)
In addition Soga provides planarization after application of the polymer layer, when the dry lamination of the polymer layers 17 is used:
… to improve flatness of the adhering photosensitive insulating layer [17], prebaking (PB) may be performed as needed. The prebaking may be performed for example at 40 to 140° C. for 1 minute to 1 hour approximately.
(Soga: ¶ 146; emphasis added)
With regard to claims 21-23, and 25, Soga discloses, in Figs. 5(c) and 8(a)-8(c),
21. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component 13 comprising:
[1b] a first polymer layer 17, wherein the first polymer layer 17 comprises a first polymer chain [Soga: pp. 3-4, 13-14]; and
[1c] a first electrical connector [14 of 13 in Fig. 5(c); 11 of 13 in Fig. 8(c); ¶¶ 156, 170],
[1d] with at least a part of the first electrical connector 14, 11 being in the first polymer layer 17; and
[2] bonding a second package component 15 to the first package component 13 [Figs. 5(c), 8(c)],
[3a] the second package component 15 comprising:
[3b-1] a second polymer layer 17 bonding to the first polymer layer 17 [¶¶ 156, 187 (supra)],
[3b-2] wherein the second polymer layer 17 comprises a second polymer chain before bonding [Soga: pp. 3-4, 13-14], and
[3b-3] wherein the bonding results in the first polymer chain to be joined to the second polymer chain to form a long polymer chain [as explained under feature [3b] of claim 1 (supra)]; and
[3c] a second electrical connector 14 or 14/16,
[3d] with at least a part of the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 being in the second polymer layer 17,
[4] wherein the first electrical connector 14, 11 is bonded to the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [¶¶ 159-160, 187].
22. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21, wherein the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer comprise different polymers [¶ 156, last sentence].
23. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21,
[1] wherein the first polymer layer 17 and the second polymer layer 17 comprise a same polymer material [¶ 156], and
[2] wherein the first polymer layer 17 and the second polymer layer 17 have a distinguishable interface [as shown in Fig. 8(c)].
25. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21, wherein the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [of 15] comprises a protruding portion in the first polymer layer 17 [of 13] [in Fig. 8(c)].
B. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,972,604 (“Hu”).
With regard to claim 26, Hu discloses, generally in Fig. 6B,
26. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
[1a] forming a first package component 20 [col. 4, line 40)] comprising:
[1b] a first surface dielectric layer 22 [col. 4, line 41];
[1c] a first metal pillar 24 [col. 4, line 41] protruding out of the first surface dielectric layer 22; and
[1d] a first polymer layer 23 [col. 4, line 42] encircling the first metal pillar 24; and
[2a] forming a second package component 10 [col. 2, line 26] comprising:
[2b] a second surface dielectric layer 12 [col. 2, line 28];
[2c] a second metal pillar 14 [col. 2, lines 43-48] protruding out of the second surface dielectric layer 12;
[2d] a solder layer 14S [col. 3, lines 48-54] on the second metal pillar 14; and
[2e] a second polymer layer 13 [col. 2, lines 33-38] encircling the second metal pillar 14; and
[3] putting the second package component 10 to be in contact with the first package component 12 [Figs. 6A-6B],
[4] wherein the solder layer [14S in Fig. 6B] comprises a first part [e.g. the part on the sidewalls of the first metal pillar 24] in the second polymer layer 13, and a second part [e.g. the part on the second metal pillar 14] in the second polymer layer 13.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soga in view of Hu.
Claim 11 reads,
11. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the protruding portion is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the second polymer layer, wherein a portion of the second polymer layer covers the second electrical connector;
[2] planarizing the second polymer layer; and
[3] etching back the second polymer layer.
The prior art of Soga, as explained above, discloses each of the features of claims 1 and 9. With regard to claim 11, Soga further discloses,
11. (Original) The method of claim 9, wherein the protruding portion [of connector 14 or 14/16] is formed by processes comprising:
[1] applying the second polymer layer 17, wherein a portion of the second polymer 17 layer covers the second electrical connector 14 or 14/16 [as shown in Figs. 3(b) and 3(c);
[2] planarizing the second polymer layer [¶¶ 132, 146; as explained under claim 10, above]; and
[3] … [not taught] …
With regard to feature [3] of claim 11,
[3] etching back the second polymer layer.
Soga does not indicate how the protruding portion of the connector 14 or 14/16 in Fig. 8(b) is made to protrude and does not therefore teach etching back the polymer material 17 over the top surface of the connector, such as shown in Figs. 3(b) or 3(c) of Soga.
Hu teaches that the protruding electrode 24 is made to protrude by etching back the polymer, i.e. photoresist 23:
FIG. 4B shows
Forming a male structure 200 through etching the dielectric material 13, from bottom side of the product shown in FIG. 3B. FIG. 4B shows after etching, a top surface 24T of the metal pillar 24 is higher than a top surface 23T of the dielectric material 23. The metal pillar 24 is protruded above the top surface 23T of the dielectric material 23. The dielectric material 13, 23 is the photoresist layer 13 (FIG. 3B) according to the present invention.
(Hu: col. 2, line 61 to col. 3, line 2; emphasis added)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to etch the polymer layer 17 to make the protruding portion of the connector 14 or 14/16 in Fig. 8(b) in Soga because Soga is merely silent as to the process how the connector 14 or 14/16 is made to protrude above the polymer 17 such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use know processes for forming a protruding connector, such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use known means for making a protruding connector, such as the polymer etch-back process taught in Hu. (See MPEP 2143.)
This is all of the features of claim 11.
V. Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 30 reads,
30. (New) The method of claim 1,
[1] wherein before the bonding and after the second electrical connector is inserted into the first package component, the second electrical connector comprises a solder layer that is spaced apart from a straight sidewall of the first polymer layer by a space, and
[2] wherein after the bonding, the solder layer fills the space.
The prior art does not reasonably teach or suggest—in the context of the claims—the limitations recited in claim 30.
VI. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues that Examiner failed to establish that the crosslinking occurring during the curing to permanently bond that first and second polymer layers together (Soga: ¶¶ 166-167), inherently results in “the first polymer chain and the second polymer chain are joined to form a long polymer chain”, as required by claim 2, currently added to claim 1 (Remarks: pp. 7-9). In this regard, Applicant argues that the bonding may be between the first and second polymer layers may be by (1) “Van der Waals forces”, (2) “hydrogen bonding” or (3) effectively, polymer entanglement by polymer chains in the first and/or second polymers extending into the second and/or first polymer layers, respectively (Remarks: p. 8). (4) Applicant also asserts that the cross-linking may occur Respectfully, Applicant is scientifically contrary to the evidence in Soga.
First, with regard to assertion (4), the “post-curing treatment can increase crosslinking density of a resin top coat and bonding strength of the bonded (stacked) substrate” (Soga: ¶ 166), which cannot happen if the cross-linking, as errantly asserted by Applicant, only occurs among the polymer chains only within each of the first and second polymer layers separately rather than between the polymer chains of the first polymer layer with the polymer chains of the second polymer layer, as required by claim 2.
Second, with regard to each of (1), (2), and (3), Soga further states that the bond between the first and second polymer layers is “permanent”:
[0167] The photosensitive insulating layer thus cured provides permanent bonding and allows fixation between the substrates or the substrate and the chip (the device) without underfilling as well as allows insulation between the conductive plugs.
(Soga: ¶ 167; emphasis added)
As is exceedingly well known in the chemical arts, each of Van der Waals forces (i.e. weak dipole-dipole interactions) and hydrogen bonding is reversible (i.e. can be undone by small input of energy that does not destroy the molecules, so bonded), rather than “permanent”, i.e. a covalent chemical bond occurring during crosslinking, particularly given the composition of the polymer (Soga: pp. 3-4 and 13-14). The crosslinked polymers of Soga cannot be un-crosslinked without destroying the polymer material itself. Therefore, none of (1) Van der Waals forces, (2) hydrogen bonding, or (3) polymer entanglement, if present, negates the permanent, covalent chemical bonding between the polymer chains of the first polymer layer with the polymer chains of the second polymer layer, as required by claim 2.
Finally, the cross-linking reaction between a polymer chain in the first polymer layer with a polymer chain of the second polymer layer, particularly given the composition disclosed in Soga (pp. 3-4 and 13-14), necessarily results in the lengthening of the polymer chain by the length of the portion of each respective polymer chain that is buried within its respective polymer layer than cannot undergo a crosslinking reaction with a polymer chain in the opposing polymer layer. Only the portion of a polymer chain that is near the bonding interface of the polymer layers can undergo a crosslinking reaction with a polymer chain in the opposing polymer layer.
Based on the foregoing, Applicant arguments fail to properly traverse Examiner position of inherency for being scientifically contrary to the evidence in Soga.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814