DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 4/27/2026, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment to claim 1 and 13. Claims 1, 3-14 and 16 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as they are directed to newly added claim requirements that are specifically addressed hereinafter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6454866 by Halpin et al. taken with US Patent Application 20160099166 by Yudovsky or US Patent 9130002 by Frank et al. , each taken further with US Patent Application Publication 20130000848 by Wongsenakhum et al. and US Patent Application Publication 20090314209 by Son or US Patent Application Publication 20150027366 by Horino.
Claim 1: Halpin discloses a pedestal assembly for use in a process chamber (see Figure 1), comprising:
a pedestal comprising a pedestal top surface that is horizontally-oriented along a first plane, the pedestal top surface having a plurality of wafer supports configured to support a wafer at a wafer support level above the pedestal top surface (Figure 2);
a raised annular rim that protrudes from the pedestal top surface and is disposed on an outer edge of the pedestal top surface, wherein the raised annular rim comprises a mesa surface that is horizontally-oriented along a second plane and that is elevated above the pedestal top surface (Figure 2), and wherein the raised annular rim and the pedestal top surface define a pocket configured to receive the wafer (figure 2);
and a beveled surface that extends from the mesa surface to the pedestal top surface (figure 2, Figure 21C-21D), wherein each of the plurality of wafer supports sits within a hole that opens up at the pedestal top surface and rests on a compliant spacer that sits at a bottom of the hole, wherein the compliant spacer is configured to prevent each of the wafer supports from breaking (Figure 21C-21D, where wafer support includes what can reasonably be considered “compliant spacer” at bottom of hole to provide support from breaking).
Halpin discloses using wafer supports as noted above for height modulation; however, fails to disclose a compliant material. However, Yudovsky discloses a wafer support with a spring (i.e. compliant material) to provide height modulation. Therefore taking the references collectively it would have been obvious to have modified Halpin to include the spring as such is known to support the wafer and pin in a processing apparatus.
Alternatively, Frank discloses a wafer chuck with a pins include a dampening system to extend their lifetime of the pins (column 3, lines 22-23) and including a pin with a compliant material (see Figures 4A-4B) to absorb the energy on the pins, including a spring or elastic material (column 4, lines 42-56) and therefore, taking the references collectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a dampening mechanism below the pin to absorb the energy on the pins to thereby extend the lifetime of the pins.
Halpin with Yudovsky or Frank discloses all that is taught above and discloses a beveled surface as claimed; however, fails to disclose the angle. However, Wongsenakhum discloses a raised annular rim similar to that of Halpin. Wongsenkhum discloses alternative arrangements of the rim and discloses such includes a annular rim that has a beveled surface rising uniformly from the pedestal top surface to the mesa surface that extends from the outer diameter of the pocket to the outer edge of the pedestal (see Figure 10A) and using an angle of greater than 0 to less than 90o (0048) and therefore taking the references collectively it would have been obvious to have modified Halpin with raised annular rim arrangement as taught by Wongsenkhum in Figure 10A as such is shown by Wongsenkhum as a known method for providing an annular ring relative to the pedestal and using an angle that is taught as effecting the gas flow.
Applicant’s requirement that the beveled surface is configured to contact an outer edge of the wafer to promote sealing of the wafer to the pedestal is intended use of the instantly claimed pedestal structure and therefore met by the prior art reference. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Halpin discloses graphite and SiC material coating (column 1, lines 55-65, column 8, lines 64-68); however fails to disclose the claimed materials. However, Son also in the art of a susceptor for wafer processing in a pocket disclose the susceptor can comprise e.g. AlN (0038, stating “The susceptor 130 is formed of carbon or aluminum nitride (AlN). The surface that contacts the wafer on the surface of the susceptor 130 and in the pocket 140 is coated with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer, a carbon layer, or an aluminum nitride (AlN) layer”). Alternatively, Horino, also in the art of a susceptor for wafer processing in a pocket disclose the susceptor can comprise e.g. AlN (0032, stating “The susceptor 20 may be made of carbon (C), carbon coated with silicon carbide (SiC), sintered aluminum nitride (AlN), sintered SiC, and so on”). Therefore, taking all that is known to one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to have use the known susceptor materials, including Aluminum nitride, as such is taught by Son or Horino as a known and suitable susceptor material and an alternative to graphite coated with SiC.
A predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result is prima facie obvious. See KSR Int’l Inc. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S Ct. 1727, 1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR Int'l Inc. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S Ct. 1727, 1741, 82 USPQ2d.
Claim 4: Halpin discloses the mesa surface extends from an outer diameter of the pocket to a curved surface that joins the mesa surface to the outer edge of the pedestal, wherein the outer edge of the pedestal is vertically-oriented relative to the mesa surface (Figure 2).
Claim 5: As for the requirement of “an outer diameter of the pocket is configured to promote sealing of a wafer edge of the wafer to the pedestal” this requirement is intended use of the claimed structure, i.e. the claimed apparatus does not require a wafer of particular size or shape and therefore this requirement is intended use of the claimed apparatus. Assembly as claimed is not limited to the wafer or size thereof, but selection of a wafer is intended use of the claimed assembly and therefore the claimed apparatus can be utilized with a wafer that will provide the claimed dimensions. In other words, as outlined above, because the assembly can be used with various wafers of various sizes and thicknesses, the examiner maintains that the prior art can be utilized with a wafer that meets the claimed requirements, that is rests on the beveled surface. While Halpin does not explicitly disclose that the wafer rests against the beveled surface, the examiner notes that they are capable of being configured to contact a wafer circumference at a wafer edge of the water and therefore meets the intended use requirement of the claims as drafted.
Claim 10: As for the requirement of “a height of the pocket is configured to promote sealing of a wafer edge of the wafer to the pedestal” this requirement is intended use of the claimed structure, i.e. the claimed apparatus does not require a wafer of particular size or shape and therefore this requirement is intended use of the claimed apparatus. Assembly as claimed is not limited to the wafer or size thereof, but selection of a wafer is intended use of the claimed assembly and therefore the claimed apparatus can be utilized with a wafer that will provide the claimed dimensions. In other words, as outlined above, because the assembly can be used with various wafers of various sizes and thicknesses, the examiner maintains that the prior art can be utilized with a wafer that meets the claimed requirements, that is rests on the beveled surface. While Halpin does not explicitly disclose that the wafer rests against the beveled surface, the examiner notes that they are capable of being configured to contact a wafer circumference at a wafer edge of the water and therefore meets the intended use requirement of the claims as drafted.
Claim 12: Halpin discloses a raises annular rim as claimed and such will necessarily limit the lateral movement of the wafer as claimed.
Claims 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6454866 by Halpin et al. taken with Yudovsky or Frank et al. and further with Wongsenkhum, and Son or Horino, each taken further with JP 2016100483, hereinafter JP 483.
Halpin with Yudovsky or Frank and further with Wongsenkhum, and Son or Horino discloses all that is taught above and discloses wafers contained within a pocket on a susceptor for deposition; however, fails to explicitly disclose the claimed dimensions. However, JP 483 discloses a similar vapor phase deposition including a susceptor with a pocket and discloses that the pocket dimensions, including diameter and depth, are determined based on the substrate dimensions (page 2 of translation) and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the depth and the diameters as claimed to reap the benefits of processing substrates. Therefore determination of the appropriate pedestal dimensions to process wafers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Here, additionally, the reference specifically disclosed 300 mm diameter meets the claims as drafted (i.e. reads on approximately 11.968 inches and less than 11.968 inches).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6454866 by Halpin et al. taken with US Patent Application 20160099166 by Yudovsky or US Patent 9130002 by Frank et al. further with Wongsenkhum and Son or Horino as applied above, each taken further with US Patent 6315878 by Patadia et al.
Halpin with Yudovsky or Frank and further with Wongsenkhum and Son or Horino discloses all that is taught above and disclose using a plurality of support pins; however, fails to disclose a plurality of lift pins extending through shafts disposed in the pedestal. However, Patadia, also in supporting the substrate discloses a wafer support for supporting the wafers above a pedestal surface in combination with a lift pin assembly (see Figure 4 and accompanying text) to reap the benefits of providing a mechanism for lifting the wafer for placement and removal. As such, taking the references collectively it would have been obvious to include lift pin assembly as claimed to provide the benefit of wafer placement and removal.
Claims 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6454866 by Halpin et al. taken with US Patent Application Publication 20130000848 by Wongsenakhum et al. and further with US Patent Application Publication 20090314209 by Son or US Patent Application Publication 20150027366 by Horino.
Claim 13: Halpin discloses all that is taught above and discloses a beveled surface as claimed; however, fails to disclose the angle. However, Wongsenakhum discloses a raised annular rim similar to that of Halpin. Wongsenkhum discloses alternative arrangements of the rim and discloses such includes a annular rim that has a beveled surface rising uniformly from the pedestal top surface to the mesa surface that extends from the outer diameter of the pocket to the outer edge of the pedestal (see Figure 10A) and using an angle of greater than 0 to less than 90o (0048) and therefore taking the references collectively it would have been obvious to have modified Halpin with raised annular rim arrangement as taught by Wongsenkhum in Figure 10A as such is shown by Wongsenkhum as a known method for providing an annular ring relative to the pedestal and using an angle that is taught as effecting the gas flow.
The beveled surface as taught by Wongsenkhum would include an inner diameter at the mesa surface and outer diameter at the top surface as claimed (Figure 10A).
As to the claim requirement with respect to the outer diameter of the top surface is less than a diameter of the wafer is intended use of the claimed structure and the assembly as claimed is not limited to any inner diameter and/or wafer diameter and therefore the structure of Halpin with Wongsenkhum can be utilized with a wafer that meets this requirement (i.e. a wafer diameter that is greater than the inner diameter as claimed).
Applicant’s requirement that the beveled surface contacts a lower portion of an outer edge of the wafer to promote sealing of the wafer to the pedestal is intended use of the instantly claimed pedestal structure and therefore met by the prior art reference. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Halpin discloses graphite and SiC material (column 1, lines 55-65, column 8, lines 64-68); however fails to disclose the claimed materials. However, Son also in the art of a susceptor for wafer processing in a pocket disclose the susceptor can comprise e.g. AlN (0038, stating “The susceptor 130 is formed of carbon or aluminum nitride (AlN). The surface that contacts the wafer on the surface of the susceptor 130 and in the pocket 140 is coated with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer, a carbon layer, or an aluminum nitride (AlN) layer”). Alternatively, Horino, also in the art of a susceptor for wafer processing in a pocket disclose the susceptor can comprise e.g. AlN (0032, stating “The susceptor 20 may be made of carbon (C), carbon coated with silicon carbide (SiC), sintered aluminum nitride (AlN), sintered SiC, and so on”). Therefore, taking all that is known to one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to have use the known susceptor materials, including Aluminum nitride, as such is taught by Son or Horino as a known and suitable susceptor material and an alternative to graphite coated with SiC.
Claim16: Wongsenkhum discloses greater than 0 to less than 90o (0048) and thus encompasses the claimed range and makes obvious using such.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11702748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11702748 fully encompass and teach all the limitations of the instant claims and therefore anticipate and/or make obvious the instant claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has included pertinent art on the 892 as it relates to the added requirement.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P TUROCY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718