DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed 6/15/26. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) status: 1-8, 14-20 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughton et al. (US RE47,583 “Daughton”) in view of Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer).
Regarding claim 1, Daughton discloses a device, comprising:
a thin film of cobalt (12 and 14, further 16 and 18; fig. 6);
a platinum layer (19; fig. 6) disposed on (i.e. vertically on) the thin film of cobalt (12, 14);
an aluminum layer (20; fig. 6) disposed on (i.e. vertically on) the platinum layer (19), wherein the aluminum layer disposed on the platinum layer encapsulates (i.e. encapsulates a top surface) the thin film of cobalt (12, 14); and
a plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts (6’, 7’, 25-33, 23, 25”-32”; fig. 6) disposed peripherally on (peripherally on a surface and vertically with respect to electrical contact 23, peripherally on a side and laterally with respect to electrical contacts 6’, 7’, 25-33, 25”-32”; fig. 6) the aluminum layer (20) and in electrical communication (i.e. electrical contacts/connections) with the thin film of cobalt (12 and 14, further 16 and 18),
wherein combinations (i.e. any combination) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts (6’, 7’, 25-33, 23, 25”-32”) are configurable for receiving (i.e. via selection transistors and current sources; fig. 6 column/line(s): 17/25-27, fig. 8A, 8B) a current write-pulse (storage current pulse for writing; column/line(s): 10/38+), reading a current read-pulse (sense current pulse for reading, i.e. data retrieval and detect a state of data stored; column/line(s): 10, 34-35 and 12/28),
wherein two electrical contacts (any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 44-47 to current sources 41, 43; any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 41, 43 to current sources 44-47, respectively; fig. 8A, 8B) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configurable to receive a current write-pulse (i.e. via current sources 44-47, 41, 43) therebetween (for writing/reading, operation currents, i.e. storage/sense currents, flows between the electrical contacts along the respective current path; fig. 8A, 8B) to change magnetic domain structures (“operating currents to switch between the magnetic states of this structure [i.e. “sandwich” structure of the thin film of cobalt]” column/line(s): 18/43-44) of the thin film of cobalt (12, 14) along a current path (i.e. direction of storage/sense currents; fig. 8A, 8B), and
wherein four electrical contacts (any four electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 44-47 to current sources 41, 43; any four electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 41, 43 to current sources 44-47, respectively; fig. 8A, 8B) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configurable to read current read-pulses (i.e. via current sources 44-47, 41, 43) for the thin film of cobalt (12 and 14, further 16 and 18).
Daughton does not expressly disclose measuring resistance, and measuring a 4-point resistance for mapping a local resistivity of the thin film of cobalt.
Bauer discloses measuring resistance (“local resistive state that is measured can be a lateral resistive state, or a vertical resistive state, or both vertical and lateral resistive states” para 0086), and measuring a 4-point resistance (i.e. in a four-point measurement configuration to read a lateral resistance of a lateral resistive state; para 0017, 0087+) for mapping a local resistivity (para 0090) of the thin film of cobalt (i.e. electrically conductive material layer 506/526, i.e. film, of memristive switching device 500/528; para 0074, 0087, further cobalt thin film; para 0172).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is further modifiable as taught by Bauer for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083 of Bauer), which may avoid points of failure that could otherwise hinder a complex system.
Regarding claim 2, Daughton does not expressly disclose the device, wherein the thin film of cobalt is 0.8 nm, the aluminum layer is 2 nm, and the platinum layer is 2 nm.
Daughton teaches the thin film of cobalt (40 Angstrom; column/line(s): 13/48-49, 63-64, further 50 Angstrom; column/line(s): 14/38-47), the aluminum layer (1000 Angstrom; column/line(s): 15/15-17), and the platinum layer (300 Angstrom; column/line(s): 15/9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is modifiable as taught to achieve “cobalt is 0.8 nm, the aluminum layer is 2 nm, and the platinum layer is 2 nm”, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges, including conversions between Angstroms and nanometers (nm), are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the dimension as disclosed by Daughton makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing of the device, without compromising the overall geometry of the device in a highly integrated system (column/line(s): 5/60-67, 6/1-13).
Regarding claim 4, Daughton discloses the device, wherein the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts includes eight (8) electrical contacts (fig. 6).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughton et al. (US RE47,583 “Daughton”) in view of Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2007/0253244 ‒hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 3, Daughton discloses the device, wherein the thin film of cobalt is square shaped with a lateral dimension (i.e. at particular portions of 12 and 14 is considered square shaped, further 16 and 18 is square shaped, with lateral dimension corresponding to a lateral resistance; fig. 6).
Daughton, as modified, does not expressly disclose of 25 microns.
Wu discloses disclose square shaped of microns (i.e. at particular portions of thin film layer 202 is considered square shaped, having 100 microns in a horizontal and vertical dimension; fig. 2 para 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is further modifiable as taught by Wu, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, i.e. “being square shaped with a lateral dimension of 25 microns,” involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the dimensions as disclosed by Wu makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of improving the overall integrity of the device by improving accessing speeds in highly integrated devices (para 0024 of Wu), which is common and well known in the art to avoid points of failure that could otherwise hinder a complex system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughton et al. (US RE47,583 “Daughton”) in view of Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer), and further in view of Bozovic (US 2002/0084453).
Regarding claim 5, Daughton disclose the device, the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts (fig. 6).
Daughton, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts is gold.
Bozovic discloses the device, wherein the plurality of electrical contacts is gold (para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is further modifiable as taught by Bozovic for the purpose of improving accessing schemes of devices having magnetic material by using non-destructive read-out and control of write-current (para 0053-0055 of Bozovic), which is common and well known in the art to secure integrity of data storage.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughton et al. (US RE47,583 “Daughton”) in view of Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer), and further in view of Dupuis et al. (US 4,829,476 ‒hereinafter Dupuis).
Regarding claim 6, Daughton, as modified, does not expressly disclose the device, wherein the current write-pulse is 10 milliamp.
Dupuis discloses current write-pulse is 10 milliamp (current in writing of 10 mA; column/line(s): 9/8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is further modifiable as taught by Dupuis for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by selectively providing bias to the device to enhance performance operations (column/line(s): 4/11-19 of Dupuis).
Regarding claim 7, Daughton discloses the device, wherein two electrical contacts of the four electrical contacts of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configured to receive (any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 44-47 to current sources 41, 43; any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 41, 43 to current sources 44-47, respectively; fig. 8A, 8B) a read-current therebetween (i.e. via current sources 44-47, 41, 43) and another two electrical contacts of the four electrical contacts of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configured for reading (any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 44-47 to current sources 41, 43; any two electrical contacts along a current path from current sources 41, 43 to current sources 44-47, respectively; fig. 8A, 8B).
Daughton, as modified, does not expressly disclose a resistivity thereacross.
Bauer discloses reading a resistivity thereacross (para 0017, 0087, 0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is further modifiable as taught by Bauer for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083 of Bauer), which may to avoid points of failure that could otherwise hinder a complex system.
Regarding claim 8, Daughton does not expressly disclose the device of claim, wherein the read-current is 0.1 milliamp.
Daughton teaches the read-current (sense current is 10 microamps, or about 5 microamps; column/line(s): 25/31-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Daughton is modifiable as taught to achieve “the read-current is 0.1 milliamp”, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges, including conversions between microamps and milliamps, are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the dimension as disclosed by Daughton makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing of the device, without compromising the overall geometry of the device in a highly integrated system (column/line(s): 5/60-67, 6/1-13).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer).
The disclosure of fig(s). 5A/5B of Bauer is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced (para 0087). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 14, Bauer discloses a device comprising:
a memristive film (i.e. electrically conductive material layer 506/526, i.e. film, of memristive switching device 500/528; para 0074, 0087, further cobalt thin film; para 0172);
and a plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts (electrically conductive terminals 522, 524, 530, 532, 528; fig. 5B; para 0087) in electrical communication (i.e. provide electrical conductivity) with the memristive film (506/526),
wherein combinations (i.e. any combination) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configurable for receiving a current write-pulse (a high resistance state or a low resistance state depends on applied voltage and current, the current driven between electrical contacts 522 and 524; para 0060, 0087, further fig. 11-12 para 0190), reading a current read-pulse (reading an applied current; 0141+), or measuring resistance (para 0080, 0104, 0183+),
wherein two electrical contacts (522, 524) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are disposed peripherally (i.e. peripherally with respect to particular layers; fig. 5B) and configurable to receive a current write-pulse (i.e. the current between electrical contacts; para 0060, 0087, further fig. 11-12 para 0190) therebetween to induce a change in local resistivity (i.e. change between high or low resistance; para 0060, 0087, further fig. 11-12 para 0190) of the memristive film along a current path (i.e. a path of current flow) between the two electrical contacts (522, 524), and
wherein four electrical contacts (530, 532 and further including the two 522, 524) of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configurable to read current read-pulses (i.e. reading the applied current; para 0087, 0141+) for measuring a 4-point resistance (i.e. in a four-point measurement configuration to read a lateral resistance of a lateral resistive state; para 0017, 0087+, 0104, 0183+) for mapping local resistivity (local resistive state that is measured can be a lateral resistive state, or a vertical resistive state, or both vertical and lateral resistive states; para 0086, 0090) changes in the memristive film (para 0017, 0183).
Claim(s) 15, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer) and further in view of Bozovic (US 2002/0084453).
The disclosure of fig(s). 5A/5B of Bauer is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced (para 0087). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 15, Bauer discloses the device, wherein contacts of the four electrical contacts of the plurality of electrical contacts are configured to receive a read-current therebetween (i.e. the applied current for read operations; 0141+) and the four electrical contacts of the plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts are configured for reading a resistivity thereacross (i.e. read a lateral resistance of a lateral resistive state; para 0017, 0087, 0092).
Bauer does not expressly disclose two electrical contacts and another two electrical contacts.
Bozovic discloses two electrical contacts and another two electrical contacts (any two and another two of electrical contacts 1-8; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is modifiable as taught by Bozovic for the purpose of improving accessing schemes of devices having magnetic material by using non-destructive read-out and control of write-current (para 0053-0055 of Bozovic), which is common and well known in the art to secure integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 18, Bozovic discloses the device, wherein the plurality of electrical contacts includes eight (8) electrical contacts (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is modifiable as taught by Bozovic for the purpose of improving accessing schemes of devices having magnetic material by using non-destructive read-out and control of write-current (para 0053-0055 of Bozovic), which is common and well known in the art to secure integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 19, Bozovic discloses the device, wherein the plurality of electrical contacts is gold (para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is modifiable as taught by Bozovic for the purpose of improving accessing schemes of devices having magnetic material by using non-destructive read-out and control of write-current (para 0053-0055 of Bozovic), which is common and well known in the art to secure integrity of data storage.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer) in view of in view of Bozovic (US 2002/0084453), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2007/0253244 ‒hereinafter Wu).
The disclosure of fig(s). 5A/5B of Bauer is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced (para 0087). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 16, Bauer discloses the device, wherein the memristive film (fig. 5A/5B) comprises a film of cobalt (para 0074, further cobalt thin film; para 0172) being shaped with a lateral dimension (i.e. a shape with lateral dimension corresponding to a lateral resistance; fig. 5A/5B).
Bauer, as modified, does not expressly disclose square shaped of 25 microns.
Wu discloses disclose square shaped of microns (i.e. at particular portions of thin film layer 202 is considered square shaped, having 100 microns in a horizontal and vertical dimension; fig. 2 para 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is further modifiable as taught by Wu, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, i.e. “being square shaped with a lateral dimension of 25 microns,” involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the dimensions as disclosed by Wu makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of improving the overall integrity of the device by improving accessing speeds in highly integrated devices (para 0024 of Wu), which is common and well known in the art to avoid points of failure that could otherwise hinder a complex system.
Regarding claim 17, Bauer, as modified, does not expressly disclose the device of claim, wherein the read-current is 0.1 milliamp.
Wu discloses reading current is milliamp (a small read current of 1 milliamp; para 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is further modifiable as taught by Wu, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, i.e. “read-current is 0.1 milliamp,” involves only routine skill in the art. Such a conclusion is reasonably expected since workable ranges are common and well known in the prior art and can be interpreted broadly; it has been held that without a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or a critical reason why the invention requires the particular limitation, the dimensions as disclosed by Wu makes the limitation obvious for the purpose of improving the overall integrity of the device by improving accessing speeds in highly integrated devices (para 0024 of Wu), which is common and well known in the art to avoid points of failure that could otherwise hinder a complex system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US 2017/0249990 ‒hereinafter Bauer) in view of Dupuis et al. (US 4,829,476 ‒hereinafter Dupuis).
The disclosure of fig(s). 5A/5B of Bauer is incorporated into an embodiment as considered below, since elements are analogous and similarly referenced (para 0087). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the figure(s) with the embodiment as taught for the purpose of improving the overall performance by controlling accessing schemes (para 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 20, Bauer does not expressly disclose the device, wherein the write-current is 10 milliamp.
Dupuis discloses write-current is 10 milliamp (current in writing of 10 mA; column/line(s): 9/8-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Bauer is modifiable as taught by Dupuis for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by selectively providing bias to the device to enhance performance operations (column/line(s): 4/11-19 of Dupuis).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) 1-8 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) 14-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant submits that Bauer fails to disclose a plurality of 5 or more electrical contacts, wherein the plurality of 5 more electrical contacts are disclose peripherally, further configurable for receiving a current write-pulse, reading a current read-pulse, or measuring resistance (on page 8 of the response, regarding the pending claim(s)).
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments. It is common and well known in the art that electrical contacts are terminals which can facilitate electrical propagation. Bauer discloses such terminals, in which the 5 or more terminals function to communicate electrically (fig. 5B). Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. Therefore, it is reasonable to interpret that the terminals of Bauer are electrical contacts that are configurable for receiving a current write-pulse (para 0060, 0087, further fig. 11-12 para 0190), reading a current read-pulse (para 0141+), or measuring resistance (para 0080, 0104, 0183+).
In addition, the electrical contacts are disposed peripherally (i.e. in a vicinity, auxiliary or supplementary to) and/or on (i.e. indicating proximity, position, support) with respect to other elements as disclosed by Bauer.
For at least the aforementioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and made final.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (Effects of multi-layer Ti/Al electrode and ohmic groove etching on ohmic characteristics of AlGaN/GaN HEMT devices): teaches electrical contacts peripherally on a layer comprising aluminum.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN SMET/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824______