DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 12/9/2025 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending and claims 16-20 are canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15 and 21-25 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 and 4/7/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the plasma nozzle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, “the plasma nozzle” will be interpreted as “a plasma nozzle”.
Claims 3-7 depend on claim 1 and inherit it’s deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2004/0169020 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 63-293952 A) as cited in the IDS of 4/7/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Fig. 3), the method comprising:
providing a first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) in a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
providing a first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
performing a first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142) on the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) to first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) bonded to the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135);
bringing the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) onto, or in proximity to, first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) located on the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is directed to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135), whereby the first substate side substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140); and
bonding(¶0142) the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while, or after, the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Yamauchi is not relied on to teach a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa. Yamauchi does teach the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is ~21 kPa(atmospheric pressure, ¶0012, wherein the partial pressure of oxygen at atmospheric pressure is ~21 kPa).
Yamada teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Figs. 1-3), wherein a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa(10^-4 to 10^-1 torr =1.3 X 10^-5 to 0.012 kPa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi, to include a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa, as taught by Yamada, so that solder balls can be formed with high reliability without using flux(page 2, ¶0017).
Regarding claim 2, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is generated by a plasma treatment system(10, ¶0139) having a plasma nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150) that is directed(Fig. 8) to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 3, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein the plasma nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150) of the plasma treatment system(10, ¶0139) is directed to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) along a non-vertical direction(Fig. 8) throughout the first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142).
Regarding claim 4, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 2, wherein the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) moves along a vertical direction(Z) toward the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) in a first plasma treatment step(cleaning of bumps 4, ¶0142) during the first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142).
Regarding claim 6, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 4, wherein:
the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) remains stationary after the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) is brought onto, or in proximity to, the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) ; and
the first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142) comprises a second plasma treatment step(cleaning of pads 5, ¶0142) during which the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) and the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are simultaneously treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi teaches method of Claim 4, wherein:
the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is generated by the plasma treatment system(10, ¶0139) having a respective the plasma nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150); and the plasma nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150) of the first plasma treatment system(10, ¶0139) changes a respective nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150) direction such that the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is directed at the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) during a vertical movement of the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 8, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) are not in contact with any flux material prior to, and during, the first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142).
Regarding claim 9, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) and the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are not in contact with any flux material during bonding(¶0142) of the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 10, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Yamauchi does not explicitly state providing a second packaging substrate in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
providing a second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012); performing a second plasma package-treatment process on the second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a second plasma jet to second solder material portions bonded to the second semiconductor package;
bringing the second solder material portions onto, or in proximity to, second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) located on the second packaging substrate while the second plasma jet is directed to the second solder material portions, whereby the second substrate side bonding structures are treated with the second plasma jet; and
bonding(¶0142) the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate while, or after, the second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet.
However, duplicating the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi would result in
a second packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
providing a second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
performing a second plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142) on the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a second plasma jet(9, ¶0140) to second solder material portions(4, ¶0135) bonded to the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135);
bringing the second solder material portions(4, ¶0135) onto, or in proximity to, second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) located on the second packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while the second plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is directed to the second solder material portions(4, ¶0135), whereby the second substate side substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet(9, ¶0140); and
bonding(¶0142) the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the second packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while, or after, the second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi to duplicate the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi to provide a second packaging substrate in the low-oxygen ambient; providing a second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient; performing a second plasma package-treatment process on the second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient by directing a second plasma jet to second solder material portions bonded to the second semiconductor package;
bringing the second solder material portions onto, or in proximity to, second substrate-side bonding structures located on the second packaging substrate while the second plasma jet is directed to the second solder material portions, whereby the second substrate side bonding structures are treated with the second plasma jet; and
bonding the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate while, or after, the second substrate-side bonding structures are treated with the second plasma jet, because such duplication would have been considered a mere duplication of parts and has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 12, Yamauchi teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Fig. 3), the method comprising:
providing a wafer comprising at least a first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) and a second packaging substrate in a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012);
performing a first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142) on a first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) to first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) bonded to the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135);
bonding(¶0142) the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while, or after, first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Yamauchi does not explicitly state performing a second plasma package-treatment process on a second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a second plasma jet to second solder material portions bonded to the second semiconductor package; and
bonding(¶0142) the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate while, or after, second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet.
However, duplicating the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi would result in performing a second plasma package-treatment process on a second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) by directing a second plasma jet(9, ¶0140) to second solder material portions(4, ¶0135) bonded to the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135); and
bonding(¶0142) the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the second packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) while, or after, second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet(9, ¶0140). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi to duplicate the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi to provide performing a second plasma package-treatment process on a second semiconductor package in the low-oxygen ambient by directing a second plasma jet to second solder material portions bonded to the second semiconductor package; and bonding the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate while, or after, second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet, because such duplication would have been considered a mere duplication of parts and has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Yamauchi is not relied on to teach a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa. Yamauchi does teach the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is ~21 kPa(atmospheric pressure, ¶0012, wherein the partial pressure of oxygen at atmospheric pressure is ~21 kPa).
Yamada teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Figs. 1-3), wherein a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa(10^-4 to 10^-1 torr =1.3 X 10^-5 to 0.012 kPa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi, to include a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa, as taught by Yamada, so that solder balls can be formed with high reliability without using flux(page 2, ¶0017).
Regarding claim 13, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 12, further comprising bringing the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) onto, or in proximity to, the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) while the least one first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is directed to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135), whereby the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) at least prior(¶0142) to bonding(¶0142) the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 14, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 13.
Yamauchi does not explicitly state bringing the second solder material portions onto, or in proximity to, the second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) while the least one second plasma jet is directed to the second solder material portions, whereby the second substate side substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet at least prior to bonding the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate.
However, duplicating the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi would result in bringing the second solder material portions(4, ¶0135) onto, or in proximity to, the second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) while the least one second plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is directed to the second solder material portions(4, ¶0135), whereby the second substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the second plasma jet(9, ¶0140) at least prior(¶0142) to bonding(¶0142) the second semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the second packaging substrate(3, ¶0135). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi to duplicate the mounting device, Fig. 3 of Yamauchi to provide bringing the second solder material portions onto, or in proximity to, the second substrate-side bonding structures while the least one second plasma jet is directed to the second solder material portions, whereby the second substate side substrate-side bonding structures are treated with the second plasma jet at least prior to bonding the second semiconductor package to the second packaging substrate, because such duplication would have been considered a mere duplication of parts and has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 21, Yamauchi teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Fig. 3), the method comprising:
providing a first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) and a first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) within a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012),
performing a first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142) on first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) bonded to the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) by directing a first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135);
simultaneously(¶0142) performing a first substrate-treatment process by directing the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) onto or in proximity to first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) located on the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135); and
bonding(¶0142) the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) in the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) while, or after, the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) and the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Yamauchi is not relied on to teach a low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa. Yamauchi does teach the low-oxygen ambient(air, ¶0012) having an oxygen partial pressure that is ~21 kPa(atmospheric pressure, ¶0012, wherein the partial pressure of oxygen at atmospheric pressure is ~21 kPa).
Yamada teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Figs. 1-3), wherein a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa(10^-4 to 10^-1 torr =1.3 X 10^-5 to 0.012 kPa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi, to include a low-oxygen ambient having an oxygen partial pressure that is lower than 17 kPa, as taught by Yamada, so that solder balls can be formed with high reliability without using flux(page 2, ¶0017).
Regarding claim 22, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 21, wherein the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) and the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) are not in contact with any flux material prior to, during, or after bonding(¶0142) of the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) to the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 23, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 21, wherein the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140) is generated by a plasma treatment system(10, ¶0139) having a plasma nozzle(13, 51, Fig. 8, ¶0138, ¶0150) that is directed to the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) along non-vertical direction(Fig. 8) throughout the first plasma package-treatment process(cleaning, ¶0142).
Regarding claim 25, Yamauchi teaches the method of Claim 21, further comprising performing a second plasma treatment step(cleaning of pads 5, ¶0142) after the first semiconductor package(2, ¶0135) is brought onto the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) , during which the first solder material portions(4, ¶0135) and the first substrate-side bonding structures(5, ¶0135) remain stationary and are treated with the first plasma jet(9, ¶0140).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2004/0169020 A1) and Yamada et al. (JP 63-293952 A) as cited in the IDS of 4/7/2025 as applied to claims 1 and 10, further in view of Suga et al. (US 2015/0048523 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yamauchi, in view of Yamada, teaches the method of Claim 10, but are not relied on to teach the first packaging substrate(3, ¶0135) and the second packaging substrate are provided within a same wafer and are laterally spaced apart from each other.
Suga teaches a method of forming a bonded assembly(Fig. 13) wherein the first packaging substrate(portion of WT1 corresponding to CP11) and the second packaging substrate(portion of WT1 corresponding to CP11) are provided within a same wafer(WTI) and are laterally spaced apart from each other(Fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yamauchi, so that the first packaging substrate and the second packaging substrate are provided within a same wafer and are laterally spaced apart from each other, as taught by Suga, in order to efficiently finished-chip-products including chips having various sizes(¶0254)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15 and 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the plasma treatment system moves along the vertical direction at a same speed as the first semiconductor package during the first plasma treatment step”.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the plasma treatment system is disposed over an assembly of the first semiconductor package and the first packaging substrate during the second plasma package treatment process on the second semiconductor package with an areal overlap with the first packaging substrate along a vertical direction”.
Regarding dependent claim 24, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the plasma treatment system moves along the vertical direction at a same speed as the first semiconductor package during the first plasma treatment step”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Diep et al. (US 8,844,793 B2) Discoes a method of forming a bonded assembly.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892